DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: punctuation error.
Claim 5 recites “First communication device as claimed in First communication device as claimed in wherein the circuitry is further configured to transmit the release indication, transmitted to the third communication device, as part of data, or as part of control information, or. as part of a PHY header, or as part of a MAC header, or as frame aggregated to a data frame, or as last data frame, or as part of a buffer status report.” The underlined “or.” Includes an incorrect punctuation where the period is supposed to be a comma. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the trigger from the first or second communication to the third communication device" in line 10 of claim 15. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is noted that claim 15 recites “a trigger frame” in line 8, but that trigger frame is transmitted by the third communication device as opposed to the first or second communication device as “the trigger” in line 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 8-9, 12 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nezou (US 2023/0413176) in view of Ho (US 2022/0070772).
Nezou discloses the following features.
Regarding claim 1, first communication device (see AP in Fig. 4) configured to communicate with a third communication device (see STA1 in Fig. 4), the first communication device comprising circuitry configured to:
perform data exchange with the third communication device during a first portion of a scheduling interval (see Low Latency TWT SP 404 in Fig. 4, the first portion being the portion of the LL TWT SP 404 used for multi-user transmission scheme), wherein data exchange between the first and the third communication device is planned during the scheduling interval (wherein the low latency HE TB PPDUs 411, 412, 413, 421, 422, 423 being planned by the TF/TRS frames 410 and 420 in Fig. 4), the first communication device being a primary user of the scheduling interval (see Fig. 4, wherein the AP being the primary user that is allowed to schedule a multi-user transmission as shown in paragraph [0056]); and
transmit a release indication indicating that the remaining portion of the scheduling interval is released for use by a second communication device (see Fig. 4, wherein STA3 use the remaining portion of the Low Latency TWT SP 404 to transmit PPDU 430), the second communication device being a secondary user of the scheduling interval (see “the AP may also let the medium free for some registered LL STAs that have some peer-to-peer low-latency traffic to exchange with some other registered STAs (430) in single user (SU) mode” recited in paragraph [0093], wherein the other registered STAs, such as STA3 in Fig. 4 being a secondary user).
Regarding claim 8, second communication device (see STA3 in Fig. 4) configured to communicate with a third communication device (see STA3 communicating with STA4 in block 430 of Fig. 4), the second communication device comprising circuitry configured to
stay awake during a scheduling interval (see Fig. 4, wherein STA3 being a registered station for the low latency TWT SP staying awake without turning on its NAV set), wherein data exchange between the third communication device and a first communication device is planned during the scheduling interval (see STA4 being scheduled by the TF/TRS 410 and 420 to communicate with the AP in Fig. 4), the first communication device being a primary user of the scheduling interval (see Fig. 4, wherein the AP being the primary user sending the MU transmission to STA1, STA2 and STA4);
listen to a release indication indicating that the remaining portion of the scheduling interval is released for use by the second communication device (see “the AP may also let the medium free for some registered LL STAs that have some peer-to-peer low-latency traffic to exchange with some other registered STAs (430) in single user (SU) mode” recited in paragraph [0093], wherein the other registered STAs, such as STA3 in Fig. 4 being a secondary user); and
contend for channel access and/or perform data exchange with the third communication device during at least the remaining portion of the scheduling interval (see Fig. 4, wherein STA3 contends after the SIFS following the PPDU frames 421-423 and sends the SU PPDU 430) if
i) a release indication is received (see paragraph [0093], wherein the medium is released, and the release indication taught by Ho as shown below) or
ii) no data exchange between the first communication device and the third communication device is observed for at least an inactivity interval.
Regarding claim 12, third communication device (see AP in Fig. 4) configured to communicate with a first and/or second communication device (see STA4 and/or STA3 in Fig. 4), the third communication device comprising circuitry configured to
perform data exchange with the first communication device during a first portion of a scheduling interval (see communication 413 and 423 between the AP and STA4 within the low latency TWT SP in Fig. 4), wherein data exchange between the third communication device and the first communication device is planned during the scheduling interval (see TF/TRS 410 and 420 that triggers the communication 413 and 423 in Fig. 4); and
i) receive a first release indication from the first communication device indicating that the first communication device has finished data exchange with the third communication device during the scheduling interval and transmit a second release indication indicating that the remaining portion of the scheduling interval is released for use by a second communication device the second communication device being a secondary user of the scheduling interval, or
ii) transmit a first release indication indicating that the third communication device has finished data exchange with the first communication device during the scheduling interval, receive a second release indication from the first communication device indicating that the remaining portion of the scheduling interval is released for use by a second communication device, and repeat the transmission of the second release indication, or
iii) transmit a second release indication or other information indicating or allowing a second communication device to determine that the remaining portion of the scheduling interval is released for use by a second communication device (see “the AP may also let the medium free for some registered LL STAs that have some peer-to-peer low-latency traffic to exchange with some other registered STAs (430) in single user (SU) mode” recited in paragraph [0093], wherein STA3 determines the release and contends and use the remaining portion of the low latency TWT SP as shown in Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 17, first communication method of a first communication device (see AP in Fig. 4) configured to communicate with a third communication device (see STA1 in Fig. 4), the first communication method comprising
performing data exchange with the third communication device during a first portion of a scheduling interval (see Low Latency TWT SP 404 in Fig. 4, the first portion being the portion of the LL TWT SP 404 used for multi-user transmission scheme), wherein data exchange between the first and the third communication device is planned during the scheduling interval (wherein the low latency HE TB PPDUs 411, 412, 413, 421, 422, 423 being planned by the TF/TRS frames 410 and 420 in Fig. 4), the first communication device being a primary user of the scheduling interval (see Fig. 4, wherein the AP being the primary user that is allowed to schedule a multi-user transmission as shown in paragraph [0056]); and
transmitting a release indication indicating that the remaining portion of the scheduling interval is released for use by a second communication device (see Fig. 4, wherein STA3 use the remaining portion of the Low Latency TWT SP 404 to transmit PPDU 430), the second communication device being a secondary user of the scheduling interval (see “the AP may also let the medium free for some registered LL STAs that have some peer-to-peer low-latency traffic to exchange with some other registered STAs (430) in single user (SU) mode” recited in paragraph [0093], wherein the other registered STAs, such as STA3 in Fig. 4 being a secondary user).
Regarding claim 18, second communication method of a second communication device (see STA3 in Fig. 4) configured to communicate with a third communication device (see STA3 communicating with STA4 in block 430 of Fig. 4), the second communication method comprising
staying awake during a scheduling interval (see Fig. 4, wherein STA3 being a registered station for the low latency TWT SP staying awake without turning on its NAV set), wherein data exchange between the third communication device and a first communication device is planned during the scheduling interval (see STA4 being scheduled by the TF/TRS 410 and 420 to communicate with the AP in Fig. 4), the first communication device being a primary user of the scheduling interval (see Fig. 4, wherein the AP being the primary user sending the MU transmission to STA1, STA2 and STA4);
listening to a release indication indicating that the remaining portion of the scheduling interval is released for use by the second communication device (see “the AP may also let the medium free for some registered LL STAs that have some peer-to-peer low-latency traffic to exchange with some other registered STAs (430) in single user (SU) mode” recited in paragraph [0093], wherein the other registered STAs, such as STA3 in Fig. 4 being a secondary user); and
contending for channel access and/or perform data exchange with the third communication device during at least the remaining portion of the scheduling interval (see Fig. 4, wherein STA3 contends after the SIFS following the PPDU frames 421-423 and sends the SU PPDU 430) if
i) a release indication is received (see paragraph [0093], wherein the medium is released, and the release indication taught by Ho as shown below) or
ii) no data exchange between the first communication device and the third communication device is observed for at least an inactivity interval.
Regarding claim 19, third communication method of a third communication device (see AP in Fig. 4) configured to communicate with a first and/or second communication device (see STA4 and/or STA3 in Fig. 4), the third communication method comprising
performing data exchange with the first communication device during a first portion of a scheduling interval (see communication 413 and 423 between the AP and STA4 within the low latency TWT SP in Fig. 4), wherein data exchange between the third communication device and the first communication device is planned during the scheduling interval (see TF/TRS 410 and 420 that triggers the communication 413 and 423 in Fig. 4); and
i) receiving a first release indication from the first communication device indicating that the first communication device has finished data exchange with the third communication device during the scheduling interval and transmit a second release indication indicating that the remaining portion of the scheduling interval is released for use by a second communication device the second communication device being a secondary user of the scheduling interval, or
ii) transmitting a first release indication indicating that the third communication device has finished data exchange with the first communication device during the scheduling interval, receive a second release indication from the first communication device indicating that the remaining portion of the scheduling interval is released for use by a second communication device, and repeat the transmission of the second release indication, or
iii) transmitting a second release indication or other information indicating or allowing a second communication device to determine that the remaining portion of the scheduling interval is released for use by a second communication device (see “the AP may also let the medium free for some registered LL STAs that have some peer-to-peer low-latency traffic to exchange with some other registered STAs (430) in single user (SU) mode” recited in paragraph [0093], wherein STA3 determines the release and contends and use the remaining portion of the low latency TWT SP as shown in Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 20, a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium that stores therein a computer program product, which, when executed by a processor (see communication device 200 including CPU 201 and memory 203), causes the method according to claims 17, 18 or 19 to be performed.
Nezou does not disclose the following features: regarding claims 1 and 17, transmit a release indication indicating that the remaining portion of the scheduling interval is released for use by a second communication device (Nezou shows the release of the medium but does not show the transmission of a release indication); regarding claim 2, wherein the circuitry is further configured to transmit the release indication after the first communication device has finished data exchange with the third communication device or has empty transmit buffer, and/or to transmit the release indication after reception of an acknowledgement of data reception from the third communication device or after reception of a release indication from the third communication device indicating that the third communication device has finished data exchange with the first communication device; regarding claim 4, wherein the circuitry is further configured to transmit the release indication in an existing transmission opportunity established between the first communication device and the third communication device or in a new transmission opportunity newly established between the first communication device and the second and/or third communication devices; Regarding claim 5, wherein the circuitry is further configured to transmit the release indication, transmitted to the third communication device, as part of data, or as part of control information, or, as part of a PHY header, or as part of a MAC header, or as frame aggregated to a data frame, or as last data frame, or as part of a buffer status report; regarding claims 8 and 18, listen to a release indication indicating that the remaining portion of the scheduling interval is released for use by the second communication device (Nezou shows in Fig. 3 and paragraph [0093], that the STA3 detects the release of the Low latency TWT SP, but does not show a release indication as required in claim 8 of the current application); regarding claim 9, wherein the circuitry is further configured to start contending for channel access and/or perform data exchange with the third communication device during the remaining portion of the scheduling interval only if the release indication has been received from the first or third communication device, and/or to continue data exchange with the third communication device beyond the current scheduling interval, if it is a primary user of the subsequent scheduling interval or if there is no overlap with a subsequent scheduling interval of which the second communication device is not a primary user; regarding claims 12 and 19, iii) transmit a second release indication or other information indicating or allowing a second communication device to determine that the remaining portion of the scheduling interval is released for use by a second communication device (Nezou shows the release of the medium but does not show the transmission of a release indication).
Ho discloses the following features.
Regarding claims 1 and 17, transmit a release indication indicating that the remaining portion of the scheduling interval is released for use by a second communication device (see “releasing control of the wireless medium may include transmitting a contention-free end (CF-END) frame on the wireless medium” recited in paragraph [0008] and shown in Fig. 13B).
Regarding claim 2, wherein the circuitry is further configured to transmit the release indication after the first communication device has finished data exchange with the third communication device or has empty transmit buffer (see step 802 in Fig. 8, wherein the absence of data transmissions from the STAs is detected before releasing the wireless medium and sending the CF-END message as shown in Fig. 13B), and/or to transmit the release indication after reception of an acknowledgement of data reception from the third communication device or after reception of a release indication from the third communication device indicating that the third communication device has finished data exchange with the first communication device.
Regarding claim 4, wherein the circuitry is further configured to transmit the release indication in an existing transmission opportunity established between the first communication device and the third communication device (see Fig. 13A-13B, wherein the CF-END is transmitted within the restricted TWT SP for the communication between the AP and STA1a and STA1b) or in a new transmission opportunity newly established between the first communication device and the second and/or third communication devices.
Regarding claim 5, wherein the circuitry is further configured to transmit the release indication, transmitted to the third communication device, as part of data, or as part of control information (see “CF-END (CF-END) frame” recited in paragraph [0008] and shown in Fig. 13B, which is considered control information), or, as part of a PHY header, or as part of a MAC header, or as frame aggregated to a data frame, or as last data frame, or as part of a buffer status report.
Regarding claims 8 and 18, listen to a release indication indicating that the remaining portion of the scheduling interval is released for use by the second communication device (see “releasing control of the wireless medium may include transmitting a contention-free end (CF-END) frame on the wireless medium” recited in paragraph [0008] and shown in Fig. 13B, wherein STA2 listens and detects the CF-END and therefore is able to transmits data at time t2);
contend for channel access and/or perform data exchange with the third communication device during at least the remaining portion of the scheduling interval (see Fig. 4, wherein STA3 contends after the SIFS following the PPDU frames 421-423 and sends the SU PPDU 430) if
i) a release indication is received (see Fig. 13B, wherein STA2 transmits data after receiving the CF-END) or
ii) no data exchange between the first communication device and the third communication device is observed for at least an inactivity interval (see Fig. 13B, wherein STA2 transmits data after receiving the CF-END as a result of the AP detecting an absence of data transmissions “for more than a certain time period of the restricted TWT SP” recited in paragraph [0093]).
Regarding claim 9, wherein the circuitry is further configured to start contending for channel access and/or perform data exchange with the third communication device during the remaining portion of the scheduling interval only if the release indication has been received from the first or third communication device (see Fig. 13B, wherein STA2 only transmits data after the CF-END in the remaining portion of the restricted TWT SP), and/or to continue data exchange with the third communication device beyond the current scheduling interval, if it is a primary user of the subsequent scheduling interval or if there is no overlap with a subsequent scheduling interval of which the second communication device is not a primary user.
Regarding claims 12 and 19, iii) transmit a second release indication or other information indicating or allowing a second communication device to determine that the remaining portion of the scheduling interval is released for use by a second communication device (see “releasing control of the wireless medium may include transmitting a contention-free end (CF-END) frame on the wireless medium” recited in paragraph [0008] and shown in Fig. 13B, wherein STA2 determines the release based on the CF-END and transmits data in the remaining portion of the restricted TWT SP).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the current application to modify the system of Nezou using features, as taught by Ho, in order to signal an end of the respective restricted TWT SP (see paragraph [0077] of Ho).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nezou and Ho as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Xing (US 2017/0257902).
Nezou and Ho disclose the features as shown above.
Nezou does not disclose the following features: regarding claim 3, wherein the circuitry is further configured to refrain from transmitting a release indication if the remaining portion of the scheduling interval is shorter than a transmission duration threshold and/or to refrain from transmitting any data during the remaining portion of the scheduling interval.
Xing discloses the following features.
Regarding claim 3, wherein the circuitry is further configured to refrain from transmitting a release indication if the remaining portion of the scheduling interval is shorter than a transmission duration threshold and/or to refrain from transmitting any data during the remaining portion of the scheduling interval (see “It should be noted that the duration of the TXOP or service period is limited, i.e., a time threshold, and time occupied by multi-user multi-frame exchange cannot exceed the time threshold. That is, when the STA1˜STA4 has sent all the N multi-user radio frames, although more data is indicated as 1, in order to prevent the transmission time exceeding the time threshold of the TXOP or service period, in the feedback frame for acknowledgement/paging of the multi-user data fed back to the STA1˜STA4, the AP sets paging indications of all the stations as false and sets the duration value as 0 for completing the multi-user multi-frame transmission” recited in paragraph [0094]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the current application to modify the system of Nezou and Ho using features, as taught by Xing, in order to prevent the transmission time exceeding the time threshold of the service period (see paragraph [0094] of Xing).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7, 10-11, 13-14 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ma (US 2024/0040646) discloses the use of a trigger frame and an STA that releases the low latency TWT SP when the buffer completes ahead of time (Fig. 18). However, MA does not disclose the transmission of an release indication or that the release allows a secondary user of the TWT SP to use the remaining portion of the LL TWT SP.
Nezou ‘424 (US 2023/0354424) discloses the use of a trigger frame and an STA transmits a resource release frame (Fig. 3a). However, Nezou does not disclose that the release indication allows a secondary user of the TWT SP to use the remaining portion of the LL TWT SP.
/JUTAI KAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473