DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendments filed on 07/29/2026 are entered. The amendments overcome the previously presented claim objection of claim 5, 35 U.S.C. 112 rejection of claim 15 and 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections of claims 12-16 and 19. Corresponding rejections/objections are withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, the Applicant first argues (last paragraph of page 13 and first paragraph of page 14 of the response filed on 07/29/2026) that previously cited reference, Ho, discloses releasing the wireless medium for general contention but does not indicate that he remaining portion of the scheduling interval is released for use by a particular second communication device that is a secondary user of that interval. However, the claim does not specify a "designated" or "particular" secondary user as argued by the applicant. Any other users contending for the released medium may be considered as the claimed "secondary user".
The Applicant then argues (second paragraph of page 14 of the response filed on 07/29/2026) that previously cited reference, Nezou, discloses an invention that protects the service period from transmissions originating from non-registered station and legacy station, such that modifying Nezou, based on Ho, with the contention-free end frame defeats the purpose of Nezou to reserve the service period for the registered station. However, Ho discloses the use of the contention-free end frame after detection of an absence of data transmission (paragraph [0093]) and therefore would not affect the transmission of the registered users of the restricted TWT SP of Nezou.
Regarding claim 8, the Applicant argues (page 15 of the response flied on 07/29/2026) that Ho describes that an access point transmits a contention-free end frame that resets the network allocation vector of the receiving stations, which opens the medium for general contention as opposed to the release indication of the kind that claim 8 requires the second communication device to listen for. However, the claim simply recites a “release indication indicating the remaining portion of the scheduling interval is released for use by the second communication device”. Since the contention-free end frame ends the contention-free period and allow the second communication device to contend for the medium, it is no different from the claimed “release indication”.
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant’s response, filed 07/29/2026, with respect to currently amended claims 12 and 19 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections of claims 12-16 and 19 has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 8-9, 17-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nezou (US 2023/0413176) in view of Ho (US 2022/0070772).
Nezou discloses the following features.
Regarding claim 1, circuitry configured to be implemented in a first communication device (see AP in Fig. 4) configured to communicate with a third communication device (see STA1 in Fig. 4), the circuitry comprising circuitry configured to:
perform data exchange with the third communication device during a first portion of a scheduling interval (see Low Latency TWT SP 404 in Fig. 4, the first portion being the portion of the LL TWT SP 404 used for multi-user transmission scheme), wherein data exchange between the first and the third communication device is planned during the scheduling interval (wherein the low latency HE TB PPDUs 411, 412, 413, 421, 422, 423 being planned by the TF/TRS frames 410 and 420 in Fig. 4), the first communication device being a primary user of the scheduling interval (see Fig. 4, wherein the AP being the primary user that is allowed to schedule a multi-user transmission as shown in paragraph [0056]); and
transmit a release indication indicating that the remaining portion of the scheduling interval is released for use by a second communication device (see Fig. 4, wherein STA3 use the remaining portion of the Low Latency TWT SP 404 to transmit PPDU 430), the second communication device being a secondary user of the scheduling interval (see “the AP may also let the medium free for some registered LL STAs that have some peer-to-peer low-latency traffic to exchange with some other registered STAs (430) in single user (SU) mode” recited in paragraph [0093], wherein the other registered STAs, such as STA3 in Fig. 4 being a secondary user).
Regarding claim 8, circuitry configured to be implemented in a second communication device (see STA3 in Fig. 4) configured to communicate with a third communication device (see STA3 communicating with STA4 in block 430 of Fig. 4), the circuitry comprising circuitry configured to
stay awake during a scheduling interval (see Fig. 4, wherein STA3 being a registered station for the low latency TWT SP staying awake without turning on its NAV set), wherein data exchange between the third communication device and a first communication device is planned during the scheduling interval (see STA4 being scheduled by the TF/TRS 410 and 420 to communicate with the AP in Fig. 4), the first communication device being a primary user of the scheduling interval (see Fig. 4, wherein the AP being the primary user sending the MU transmission to STA1, STA2 and STA4);
listen to a release indication indicating that the remaining portion of the scheduling interval is released for use by the second communication device (see “the AP may also let the medium free for some registered LL STAs that have some peer-to-peer low-latency traffic to exchange with some other registered STAs (430) in single user (SU) mode” recited in paragraph [0093], wherein the other registered STAs, such as STA3 in Fig. 4 being a secondary user); and
contend for channel access and/or perform data exchange with the third communication device during at least the remaining portion of the scheduling interval (see Fig. 4, wherein STA3 contends after the SIFS following the PPDU frames 421-423 and sends the SU PPDU 430) if
i) a release indication is received (see paragraph [0093], wherein the medium is released, and the release indication taught by Ho as shown below) or
ii) no data exchange between the first communication device and the third communication device is observed for at least an inactivity interval.
Regarding claim 17, first communication method of a first communication device (see AP in Fig. 4) configured to communicate with a third communication device (see STA1 in Fig. 4), the first communication method comprising
performing data exchange with the third communication device during a first portion of a scheduling interval (see Low Latency TWT SP 404 in Fig. 4, the first portion being the portion of the LL TWT SP 404 used for multi-user transmission scheme), wherein data exchange between the first and the third communication device is planned during the scheduling interval (wherein the low latency HE TB PPDUs 411, 412, 413, 421, 422, 423 being planned by the TF/TRS frames 410 and 420 in Fig. 4), the first communication device being a primary user of the scheduling interval (see Fig. 4, wherein the AP being the primary user that is allowed to schedule a multi-user transmission as shown in paragraph [0056]); and
transmitting a release indication indicating that the remaining portion of the scheduling interval is released for use by a second communication device (see Fig. 4, wherein STA3 use the remaining portion of the Low Latency TWT SP 404 to transmit PPDU 430), the second communication device being a secondary user of the scheduling interval (see “the AP may also let the medium free for some registered LL STAs that have some peer-to-peer low-latency traffic to exchange with some other registered STAs (430) in single user (SU) mode” recited in paragraph [0093], wherein the other registered STAs, such as STA3 in Fig. 4 being a secondary user).
Regarding claim 18, second communication method of a second communication device (see STA3 in Fig. 4) configured to communicate with a third communication device (see STA3 communicating with STA4 in block 430 of Fig. 4), the second communication method comprising
staying awake during a scheduling interval (see Fig. 4, wherein STA3 being a registered station for the low latency TWT SP staying awake without turning on its NAV set), wherein data exchange between the third communication device and a first communication device is planned during the scheduling interval (see STA4 being scheduled by the TF/TRS 410 and 420 to communicate with the AP in Fig. 4), the first communication device being a primary user of the scheduling interval (see Fig. 4, wherein the AP being the primary user sending the MU transmission to STA1, STA2 and STA4);
listening to a release indication indicating that the remaining portion of the scheduling interval is released for use by the second communication device (see “the AP may also let the medium free for some registered LL STAs that have some peer-to-peer low-latency traffic to exchange with some other registered STAs (430) in single user (SU) mode” recited in paragraph [0093], wherein the other registered STAs, such as STA3 in Fig. 4 being a secondary user); and
contending for channel access and/or perform data exchange with the third communication device during at least the remaining portion of the scheduling interval (see Fig. 4, wherein STA3 contends after the SIFS following the PPDU frames 421-423 and sends the SU PPDU 430) if
i) a release indication is received (see paragraph [0093], wherein the medium is released, and the release indication taught by Ho as shown below) or
ii) no data exchange between the first communication device and the third communication device is observed for at least an inactivity interval.
Regarding claim 20, a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium that stores therein a computer program product, which, when executed by a processor (see communication device 200 including CPU 201 and memory 203), causes the method according to claims 17, 18 or 19 to be performed.
Nezou does not disclose the following features: regarding claims 1 and 17, transmit a release indication indicating that the remaining portion of the scheduling interval is released for use by a second communication device (Nezou shows the release of the medium but does not show the transmission of a release indication); regarding claim 2, wherein the circuitry is further configured to transmit the release indication after the first communication device has finished data exchange with the third communication device or has empty transmit buffer, and/or to transmit the release indication after reception of an acknowledgement of data reception from the third communication device or after reception of a release indication from the third communication device indicating that the third communication device has finished data exchange with the first communication device; regarding claim 4, wherein the circuitry is further configured to transmit the release indication in an existing transmission opportunity established between the first communication device and the third communication device or in a new transmission opportunity newly established between the first communication device and the second and/or third communication devices; Regarding claim 5, wherein the circuitry is further configured to transmit the release indication, transmitted to the third communication device, as part of data, or as part of control information, or, as part of a PHY header, or as part of a MAC header, or as frame aggregated to a data frame, or as last data frame, or as part of a buffer status report; regarding claims 8 and 18, listen to a release indication indicating that the remaining portion of the scheduling interval is released for use by the second communication device (Nezou shows in Fig. 3 and paragraph [0093], that the STA3 detects the release of the Low latency TWT SP, but does not show a release indication as required in claim 8 of the current application); regarding claim 9, wherein the circuitry is further configured to start contending for channel access and/or perform data exchange with the third communication device during the remaining portion of the scheduling interval only if the release indication has been received from the first or third communication device, and/or to continue data exchange with the third communication device beyond the current scheduling interval, if it is a primary user of the subsequent scheduling interval or if there is no overlap with a subsequent scheduling interval of which the second communication device is not a primary user.
Ho discloses the following features.
Regarding claims 1 and 17, transmit a release indication indicating that the remaining portion of the scheduling interval is released for use by a second communication device (see “releasing control of the wireless medium may include transmitting a contention-free end (CF-END) frame on the wireless medium” recited in paragraph [0008] and shown in Fig. 13B).
Regarding claim 2, wherein the circuitry is further configured to transmit the release indication after the first communication device has finished data exchange with the third communication device or has empty transmit buffer (see step 802 in Fig. 8, wherein the absence of data transmissions from the STAs is detected before releasing the wireless medium and sending the CF-END message as shown in Fig. 13B), and/or to transmit the release indication after reception of an acknowledgement of data reception from the third communication device or after reception of a release indication from the third communication device indicating that the third communication device has finished data exchange with the first communication device.
Regarding claim 4, wherein the circuitry is further configured to transmit the release indication in an existing transmission opportunity established between the first communication device and the third communication device (see Fig. 13A-13B, wherein the CF-END is transmitted within the restricted TWT SP for the communication between the AP and STA1a and STA1b) or in a new transmission opportunity newly established between the first communication device and the second and/or third communication devices.
Regarding claim 5, wherein the circuitry is further configured to transmit the release indication, transmitted to the third communication device, as part of data, or as part of control information (see “CF-END (CF-END) frame” recited in paragraph [0008] and shown in Fig. 13B, which is considered control information), or, as part of a PHY header, or as part of a MAC header, or as frame aggregated to a data frame, or as last data frame, or as part of a buffer status report.
Regarding claims 8 and 18, listen to a release indication indicating that the remaining portion of the scheduling interval is released for use by the second communication device (see “releasing control of the wireless medium may include transmitting a contention-free end (CF-END) frame on the wireless medium” recited in paragraph [0008] and shown in Fig. 13B, wherein STA2 listens and detects the CF-END and therefore is able to transmits data at time t2);
contend for channel access and/or perform data exchange with the third communication device during at least the remaining portion of the scheduling interval (see Fig. 4, wherein STA3 contends after the SIFS following the PPDU frames 421-423 and sends the SU PPDU 430) if
i) a release indication is received (see Fig. 13B, wherein STA2 transmits data after receiving the CF-END) or
ii) no data exchange between the first communication device and the third communication device is observed for at least an inactivity interval (see Fig. 13B, wherein STA2 transmits data after receiving the CF-END as a result of the AP detecting an absence of data transmissions “for more than a certain time period of the restricted TWT SP” recited in paragraph [0093]).
Regarding claim 9, wherein the circuitry is further configured to start contending for channel access and/or perform data exchange with the third communication device during the remaining portion of the scheduling interval only if the release indication has been received from the first or third communication device (see Fig. 13B, wherein STA2 only transmits data after the CF-END in the remaining portion of the restricted TWT SP), and/or to continue data exchange with the third communication device beyond the current scheduling interval, if it is a primary user of the subsequent scheduling interval or if there is no overlap with a subsequent scheduling interval of which the second communication device is not a primary user.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the current application to modify the system of Nezou using features, as taught by Ho, in order to signal an end of the respective restricted TWT SP (see paragraph [0077] of Ho).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nezou and Ho as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Xing (US 2017/0257902).
Nezou and Ho disclose the features as shown above.
Nezou does not disclose the following features: regarding claim 3, wherein the circuitry is further configured to refrain from transmitting a release indication if the remaining portion of the scheduling interval is shorter than a transmission duration threshold and/or to refrain from transmitting any data during the remaining portion of the scheduling interval.
Xing discloses the following features.
Regarding claim 3, wherein the circuitry is further configured to refrain from transmitting a release indication if the remaining portion of the scheduling interval is shorter than a transmission duration threshold and/or to refrain from transmitting any data during the remaining portion of the scheduling interval (see “It should be noted that the duration of the TXOP or service period is limited, i.e., a time threshold, and time occupied by multi-user multi-frame exchange cannot exceed the time threshold. That is, when the STA1˜STA4 has sent all the N multi-user radio frames, although more data is indicated as 1, in order to prevent the transmission time exceeding the time threshold of the TXOP or service period, in the feedback frame for acknowledgement/paging of the multi-user data fed back to the STA1˜STA4, the AP sets paging indications of all the stations as false and sets the duration value as 0 for completing the multi-user multi-frame transmission” recited in paragraph [0094]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the current application to modify the system of Nezou and Ho using features, as taught by Xing, in order to prevent the transmission time exceeding the time threshold of the service period (see paragraph [0094] of Xing).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-16 and 19 are allowed.
Claims 6-7 and 10-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUTAI KAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473