Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by DE 102014101122.
Regarding claim 1, ‘122 discloses a chuck (16) for a cutting tool (12), which has a tool-receiving chamber/socket (20) in which a tool shaft (54) of the cutting tool can be clamped in a radial direction (via circumferential expansion wall 28 (see attached Espacenet English translation, paragraph 52, which recites “The circumferential extension wall 28 is extensible in the radial direction and can thus correspondingly reduce the diameter of the pressure chamber 30), a contact surface (end surface of chuck 16) for a mating contact surface (50) of the cutting tool (14) (figure 4), and a screw thread (24) designed so as to be coaxial with the tool-receiving socket (figure 3) and into which a mating screw thread (26) of the cutting tool can be screwed (figures 1-4 and see attached Espacenet English translation, paragraph 52) . Please note: as shown in figure 3, units 12, 14 and 26 (which is threaded: see English translation) are assembled, thus as a unit represent the tool, therefore the screw thread (portion 26) of the tool, is screwed into the screw thread (24).
Regarding claim 2, ‘122 discloses that the contact surface is arranged on an end face of the chuck (16) (figure 4).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, ‘122 discloses the screw thread (24) is arranged at the bottom of the tool-receiving socket (figure 1).
Regarding claims 4, 5, and 14-17, ‘122 discloses that the chuck (16) is configured as an expansion chuck/ mechanically actuatable clamping elements (28) (figures 3 & 4, see attached Espacenet English translation, paragraph 52, which recites “The circumferential extension wall 28 is extensible in the radial direction and can thus correspondingly reduce the diameter of the pressure chamber 30)
Regarding claim 6, ‘122 discloses a cutting tool, which has a tool shaft provided so as to be clamped in a tool-receiving socket (20) of a chuck (16) according to claim 1, a mating contact surface (50) provided so as to make contact with a contact surface (end surface) of a chuck (16) according to claim 1, and a mating screw thread (26) provided so as to be screwed into a screw thread (24) of a chuck according
to claim 1 (figures 1-4).
Regarding claims 7 and 12, ‘122 discloses the tool shaft has, at least in portions, a cylindrical outer surface (figure 3 and Espacenet English translation, paragraph 53).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, ‘122 discloses the screw thread (26) is arranged at the end of the tool shaft (figure 3).
Regarding claims 9, 19 and 20, ‘122 discloses the mating contact surface (50) is arranged between the tool shaft and a cutting portion (12) of the cutting tool (14) (figure 3).
Regarding claim 10, ‘122 discloses an assembly (10) comprising: a chuck (16) for a cutting tool which has a tool-receiving socket (20) in which a tool shaft of the cutting tool can be clamped in a radial direction, a contact surface (end surface) for a mating contact surface of the cutting tool, and a screw thread (24) designed so as to be coaxial with the tool-receiving socket and into which a mating screw thread (26) of the cutting tool can be screwed (12); and a cutting tool which has a tool shaft provided so as to be clamped in a tool-receiving socket of the chuck (figures 3 and 4), a mating contact surface (50) provided so as to make contact with a contact surface of a chuck, and a mating screw thread (26) provided so as to be screwed into a screw thread (24) of the chuck; the mating screw thread (26) of the cutting tool is screwed into the
screw thread (24) of the chuck (16), the mating contact surface (50) of the cutting tool is
seated against the contact surface of the chuck (12), and the tool shaft is frictionally
torque-transmittingly clamped in the tool-receiving socket (figures 1-4 and see attached Espacenet English translation, paragraphs 52).
Regarding claim 10, ‘122 discloses the contact surface is arranged on
an end face of the chuck (figures 3 and 4).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/6/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s argument that “DE 102014101122 does not teach or suggest a cutting tool having a screw thread let alone a addressed by the invention is cutting tool that screws into a screw thread that adjoins the bottom of the tool receiving socket”, Examiner points out as shown in figure 3, units 12, 14 and 26 (which is threaded: see English translation) are assembled, thus as a unit represent the tool, therefore the screw thread (portion 26) of the tool, is screwed into the screw thread (24)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SARA ADDISU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722 4/3/26