DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Restriction requirement mailed 04/01/2026 has been withdrawn due to applicant’s amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitaura et al (JP 2016-120662).
Regarding claims 1 and 6, Kitaura discloses a stampable sheet (0001) comprising polypropylene resin, i.e. thermoplastic resin, (0001, 0008), a flame retardant (0054) or phosphorus based antioxidant, i.e. flame retardant, (0057), acid modified copolymer, i.e. dispersant (0044), and glass or carbon fiber, i.e. inorganic fiber, (0031, 0038) wherein the inorganic fiber has a content of 3 to 60% by weight (0037) or 10 to 50 % by weight (0042) and the dispersant in an amount of 0.4 to 13 % by weight to obtain impact strength and strength of the resin composition (0052).
Kitaura does not disclose the dispersant has a content of more than 0 to 25 parts by mass or less based on 100 parts by mass of flame retardant. Since the instant specification is silent to unexpected results, the specific amount of dispersant is not considered to confer patentability to the claims. As the impact strength and the strength of the resin composition is a variable that can be modified, among others, by adjusting the amount of dispersant (0052), the precise amount would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed amount cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the amount of dispersant in the sheet to obtain the impact strength and the strength of the resin composition (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Regarding claim 2, Kitaura discloses the stampable sheet of claim 1 wherein the dispersant is copolymer of olefin and unsaturated carboxylic acid (0044).
Regarding claims 3-4, Kitaura discloses the stampable sheet of claim 1 wherein the flame retardant is phosphorus based flame retardant, i.e. intumescent flame retardant, (0057).
Regarding claim 5, Kitaura discloses the stampable sheet of claim 1 wherein the inorganic fiber length is 0.1 to 20 mm or 5 mm or more, i.e. average length of 0.1 mm or more, (0008).
Regarding claim 7, Kitaura discloses the stampable sheet of claim 1 wherein the thermoplastic resin is polypropylene based resin and the polypropylene resin has a content of 40 to 97 % by weight (0008).
Regarding claim 8, Kitaura discloses the stampable sheet of claim 1 wherein the flame Kitaura is silent regarding flame retardant amount.
Since the instant specification is silent to unexpected results, the specific amount of the flame retardant is not considered to confer patentability to the claims. As the thermal stability and heat aging resistance is a variable that can be modified, among others, by adjusting the amount of flame retardant (0057), the precise amount would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed amount cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the amount of flame retardant in the sheet to obtain the thermal stability and heat aging resistance (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Regarding claim 9, Kitaura discloses the stampable sheet of claim 1, obtained by impregnating mat consisting of the inorganic fiber with a resin composition of the thermoplastic resin, flame retardant and the dispersant (0009, 0064).
Regarding claim 10, Kitaura discloses the stampable sheet of claim 1, wherein the mat is produced by needle punching a swirl mat of a continuous glass or inorganic fiber (0010, 0041).
Regarding claim 11, Kitaura discloses a molded article obtained by stamping the stampable sheet of claim 1 (0011).
Regarding claim 12, Kitaura discloses a battery housing made of the molded article according to claim 11 (0012).
Regarding claim 13, Kitaura discloses the stampable sheet of claim 1, wherein the thermoplastic resin is polypropylene based resin and the polypropylene resin has a content of 40 to 97 % by weight (0008), the inorganic fiber has a content of 3 to 60% by weight (0037) or 10 to 50 % by weight (0042) and the dispersant in an amount of 0.4 to 13 % by weight to obtain impact strength and strength of the resin composition (0052).
Kitaura does not disclose the dispersant has a content of 0.01 o 10 parts by mass or less based on 100 parts by mass of flame retardant. Since the instant specification is silent to unexpected results, the specific amount of dispersant is not considered to confer patentability to the claims. As the impact strength and the strength of the resin composition is a variable that can be modified, among others, by adjusting the amount of dispersant (0052), the precise amount would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed amount cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the amount of dispersant in the sheet to obtain the impact strength and the strength of the resin composition (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Regarding flame retardant content, as the thermal stability and heat aging resistance is a variable that can be modified, among others, by adjusting the amount of flame retardant (0057), the precise amount would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed amount cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the amount of flame retardant in the sheet to obtain the thermal stability and heat aging resistance (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Conclusion
/SAMIR SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787