DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 1-6 in the reply filed on July 27th, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang et al. (High-Performance Electrospun Poly(vinylidene fluoride)/Poly(propylene carbonate) Gel Polymer Electrolyte for Lithium-Ion Batteries).
Regarding Claim 1, Huang meets the claimed,
A gel polymer electrolyte composition, comprising (Abstract teaches a gel polymer electrolyte): an oligomer represented by Formula 1 as shown below (Abstract teaches poly(propylene carbonate), which can be represented by the Formula 1); a reaction additive including phosphate-based compounds (Experimental Section teaches the use of LiPF6, which is a phosphate-based compound); a polymerization initiator (Experimental Section teaches the use of LiPF6, which is a polymerization initiator); a non-aqueous solvent (Experimental Section teaches a non-aqueous solvent of ethylene carbonate and dimethyl carbonate); and a lithium salt (Experimental Section teaches LiPF6, which is a lithium salt):
Regarding Claim 2, Huang does not particularly teach a curing time while under a heat treatment of 55 to 80°C.
However, the examiner notes that this claim is directed towards a product. Product claims are not limited by the manipulation of the recited steps only the structure implied by the steps. Since the product of the prior art is substantially identical to that of the instant claim, the burden shifts to the Applicant to show a nonobvious difference (see MPEP 2113).
Regarding Claim 3, Huang meets the claimed,
The gel polymer electrolyte composition of claim 1, wherein the content of the oligomer is in the range of 0.1 to 30 parts by weight based on the total 100 parts by weight of the gel polymer electrolyte composition (Preparation of Nanofiber Membrane teaches that PVdF and PPC were mixed in ratios of 100:0, 90:10, 80:20, 70:30, and 60:40, with the combination being 12 wt% of the total weight, which results in PPC wt% of 0 wt%, 1.2 wt%, 2.4 wt%, 3.6 wt% and 4.8 wt%).
Regarding Claim 6, Huang meets the claimed,
The gel polymer electrolyte composition of claim 1, wherein the content of the reaction additive is in the range of 0.01 to 10 parts by weight based on the total parts by weight of the gel polymer electrolyte composition (Preparation of Nanofiber Membrane teaches that PVdF and PPC were mixed in ratios of 100:0, 90:10, 80:20, 70:30, and 60:40, with the combination being 12 wt% of the total weight, which results in PPC wt% of 0 wt%, 1.2 wt%, 2.4 wt%, 3.6 wt% and 4.8 wt%).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (High-Performance Electrospun Poly(vinylidene fluoride)/Poly(propylene carbonate) Gel Polymer Electrolyte for Lithium-Ion Batteries) in view of Ahn et al. (US 2018/0323471).
Regarding Claim 4, Huang does not teach a reaction additive represented by Formula 2.
Ahn is analogous as it teaches a secondary battery with a phosphate based electrolyte.
Ahn meets the claimed,
The gel polymer electrolyte composition of claim 1, wherein the reaction additive is represented by Formula 2 as shown below ([0018], [0019], and Formula (1) teach a phosphate-based acrylate. In particular, Ahn meets the claim when R1 and R2 are hydrogen atoms and n is 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use this phosphate-based acrylate in order to achieve higher elasticity which increases coordination with lithium ions in the gel polymer electrolyte; (See Ahn [0022]).
Ahn’s Formula 1:
Regarding Claim 5, Huang does not teach the reaction additive being represented by one or more of the formulas 1 to d.
Ahn is analogous as it teaches a secondary battery with a phosphate based electrolyte.
Ahn meets the claimed,
The gel polymer electrolyte composition of claim 1, wherein the reaction additive is represented by one or more of the following Formulas a to d ([0018], [0019], and Formula (1) teach a phosphate-based acrylate, and having R1 and R2 both independently hydrogen, and having n =1, meets specifically Formula a).
Ahn Formula 1 is attached above.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use this phosphate-based acrylate in order to achieve higher elasticity which increases coordination with lithium ions in the gel polymer electrolyte; (See Ahn [0022]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Okumura et al. (US 2005/0260501) teaches an electrolyte polymer represented by a formula identical to the instant’s Formula 1. Further, [0013] teaches that R1 is a hydrocarbon group with a carbon number of 2 to 7, and n is an integer from 10 to 10,000.
Ahn et al. (US 2015/0079480) teaches a reaction additive that meets the instant Formula 2.
Park et al. (US 2020/0203762) teaches a polymer with a formula that is identical to the instant Formula 1. Further, [0020] and [0021] teach that R1 is an alkylene group with 1 to 5 carbon atoms, and that n is an integer from 10 to 10,000.
/A.Y.H./ Examiner, Art Unit 1744
/MICHAEL M. ROBINSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1744