DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on 12/30/2025.
Claims 7-13 are currently pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 11 does not end with a period marking. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 7-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shapin et al. (US 2024/0008041 A1; hereafter SHAPIN).
With respect to claim 7, SHAPIN discloses a terminal (UE, 12-2, 12-1, 12-3 of FIG. 1) comprising:
a processor (36 of FIG. 2) that multiplexes a first uplink control information having a first priority and a second uplink control information having a second priority lower than the first priority on an uplink shared channel (404, 408A, 408B of FIG. 4; paragraphs [0108] and [0113]); and
a transmitter (30, 34, 32 of FIG. 2) that transmits the first uplink control information and the second uplink control information using the uplink shared channel (404, 408A, 408B of FIG. 4; paragraphs [0108] and [0113]), wherein
the processor performs rate matching of the second uplink control information after performing rate matching (paragraph [0063]) of the first uplink control information based on a priority of each uplink control information (404, 408A, 408B of FIG. 4; paragraphs [0108] and [0113]).
With respect to claim 8, SHAPIN further discloses the terminal of claim 7, wherein
when the first uplink control information includes CSI Part1 and the second uplink control information includes HARQ-ACK (paragraphs [0113] and [0114], see the HARQ-ACK and CSI processing), the processor performs rate matching (paragraph [0063]) of the HARQ-ACK after performing rate matching of the CSI Part1
With respect to claim 9, SHAPIN further discloses the terminal of claim 7, wherein
when the first uplink control information includes HARQ-ACK and the second uplink control information includes CSI Part1 and CSI Part2 (paragraphs [0113] and [0114], see the HARQ-ACK and CSI processing), the processor performs rate matching (paragraph [0063]) of the CSI Part1 and rate matching of the CSI Part2 after performing rate matching of the HARQ-ACK.
With respect to claim 10, SHAPIN further discloses the terminal of claim 7, wherein when the first uplink control information includes first HARQ-ACK and CSI Part1 and the second uplink control information includes second HARQ-ACK (paragraphs [0113] and [0114], see the HARQ-ACK and CSI processing), the processor
performs rate matching (paragraph [0063]) of the second HARQ-ACK after performing rate matching of the first HARQ-ACK and rate matching of CSI Part1.
With respect to claim 11, SHAPIN discloses a base station (22-1, 22-2 of FIG. 1) comprising:
a processor (56 of FIG. 2) that assumes that a first uplink control information having a first priority and a second uplink control information having a second priority lower than the first priority are multiplexed on an uplink shared channel (404, 408A, 408B of FIG. 4; paragraphs [0108] and [0113]); and
a receiver (50, 52, 54 of FIG. 2) that receives the first uplink control information and the second uplink control information using the uplink shared channel (404, 408A, 408B of FIG. 4; paragraphs [0108] and [0113]),
wherein the processor assumes that rate matching of the second uplink control information is performed after rate matching (paragraph [0063]) of the first uplink control information is performed, based on a priority of each uplink control information (404, 408A, 408B of FIG. 4; paragraphs [0108] and [0113])
With respect to claim 12, SHAPIN discloses a radio communication system (10 of FIG. 1) comprising:
a terminal (UE, 12-2, 12-1, 12-3 of FIG. 1); and
a base station (22-1, 22-2 of FIG. 1); wherein
the terminal (UE, 12-2, 12-1, 12-3 of FIG. 1) comprises:
a processor (36 of FIG. 2) that multiplexes a first uplink control information having a first priority and a second uplink control information having a second priority lower than the first priority on an uplink shared channel (404, 408A, 408B of FIG. 4; paragraphs [0108] and [0113]); and
a transmitter (34, 32, 30 of FIG. 2) that transmits the first uplink control information and the second uplink control information to the base station using the uplink shared channel (404, 408A, 408B of FIG. 4; paragraphs [0108] and [0113]), wherein the processor performs rate matching (paragraph [0063]) of the second uplink control information after performing rate matching of the first uplink control information based on a priority of each uplink control information (404, 408A, 408B of FIG. 4; paragraphs [0108] and [0113]).
With respect to claim 13, SHAPIN discloses a radio communication method (Abstract; Title) comprising:
a step of multiplexing, by a terminal (UE, 12-2, 12-1, 12-3 of FIG. 1), a first uplink control information having a first priority and a second uplink control information having a second priority lower than the first priority on an uplink shared channel (404, 408A, 408B of FIG. 4; paragraphs [0108] and [0113]); and
a step of transmitting, by the terminal (UE, 12-2, 12-1, 12-3 of FIG. 1), the first uplink control information and the second uplink control information using the uplink shared channel, wherein in the step of multiplexing, the terminal performs rate matching (paragraph [0063]) of the second uplink control information after performing rate matching of the first uplink control information based on a priority of each uplink control information (404, 408A, 408B of FIG. 4; paragraphs [0108] and [0113]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 7-13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN T O CONNOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465 April 7, 2026