DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1-26 have been previously cancelled. Claim 35 has been cancelled. Claims 27-34 and 36-47 are currently pending in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/29/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the non-final rejection on 02/06/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Due to the amendments to the claims, the 35 USC § 112 rejections to claims 27, 45, and 46 have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Presented arguments have been fully considered, but are rendered moot in view of new ground(s) of rejection necessitated by amendment(s) initiated by the applicant(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 27-34, 36, 39, 40, and 43-46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU et al. (Hereafter, “Liu”) [US 2017/0353730 A1] in view of WANG et al. (Hereafter, “Wang”) [US 2022/0224922 A1].
In regards to claim 27, Liu discloses a method of processing video data ([Abstract] A method and apparatus for video coding using template-based Intra prediction are disclosed.), comprising: determining at least one syntax element of a video ([0131] L: Signaling of DIMD.), the at least one syntax element indicating at least one of the following: a first flag indicating whether to derive an intra prediction mode based on neighbouring samples of a current video unit of the video ([0022] In the contribution JVET-C-0061, a decoder side Intra prediction mode derivation method is proposed, where the neighboring reconstructed samples of the current block are used as a template. [0131] L: Signaling of DIMD. [0132] It is proposed to signal a DIMD_flag at each CU/PU/TU to indicate whether this mode is used or not. When the DIMD_flag is 0, it indicates that this mode is not used. When the DIMD_flag is 1, it indicates that this mode is used.), or at least one parameter to be used for deriving the intra prediction mode based on the neighbouring samples of the current video unit ([0029] According to one method, whether to apply the template-based Intra prediction to the current block or parameter(s) associated with the template-based Intra prediction to apply to the current block is determining according to block size associated with the current block. [0030] In the above method, the parameter(s) associated with the template-based Intra prediction can be selected from a group comprising an Intra mode set searched by the template-based Intra prediction, a set size associated with the Intra mode set and a total number of iterations to apply the template-based Intra prediction.); and performing a conversion between the video and a bitstream with the at least one syntax element ([0029] If the template-based Intra prediction is used for the current block, a target Intra mode or an Intra-mode candidate set is derived from a template matching candidate set for the current block using the template-based Intra prediction and the current block is encoded or decoded using Intra prediction with a current Intra mode selected from an Intra mode group comprising the target Intra mode or the Intra-mode candidate set. [0264] FIG. 22 illustrates a flowchart of an exemplary coding system with template-based Intra prediction enabled according to an embodiment of the present invention. The steps shown in the flowchart, as well as other following flowcharts in this disclosure, may be implemented as program codes executable on one or more processors (e.g., one or more CPUs) at the encoder side and/or the decoder side. The steps shown in the flowchart may also be implemented based hardware such as one or more electronic devices or processors arranged to perform the steps in the flowchart.),
Wang discloses a method of processing video data ([Abstract] a method of video processing), comprising: determining at least one syntax element of a video ([0007] information related to DIMD is signalled within the bitstream as a syntax element based upon the unit [0207] the DIMD detection component 4112 may determine whether to apply DIMD to a decoding unit based on a DIMD indicator signaled as syntax element), the at least one syntax element indicating at least one of the following: a first flag indicating whether to derive an intra prediction mode based on neighbouring samples of a current video unit of the video ([0057] signaling of DIMD in video coding [0161] At the decoder side, the DIMD flag can be first parsed, if present. If the DIMD flag is true, the intra-prediction mode can be derived in the reconstruction process using the same previously encoded neighboring pixels. If not, the intra-prediction mode can be parsed from the bitstream as in classical intra coding mode.), or at least one parameter to be used for deriving the intra prediction mode based on the neighbouring samples of the current video unit ([0058] the IPM used for intra-prediction may be derived at the decoder via DIMD… intra mode information (e.g., the IPM) may be derived at both encoder and decoder from the neighbouring reconstructed samples of current block (i.e., previously decoded blocks); and performing a conversion between the video and a bitstream with the at least one syntax element ([0003] An example implementation includes a method of video decoding, comprising determining to apply DIMD to a decoding unit of an encoded bitstream. The method further comprising performing a conversion between a video comprising a plurality of pictures and a bitstream of the video, wherein DIMD is applied to the unit using an intra prediction mode (IPM) based on the determining.), wherein the at least one syntax element is allowed to be comprised in the bitstream ([0160] This process defines a new coding mode called DIMD, whose selection signalled in the bitstream for intra coded blocks using a flag. DIMD can compete with other coding modes at the encoder, including the classic Intra coding mode (where the intra-prediction mode is coded). Note that in one example, DIMD may only apply to luma. For chroma, classical intra coding mode may apply.), and the at least one syntax element is not included in the bitstream if at least one of the following coding tools is used for the current video unit: a block-based delta pulse code modulation (BDPCM), a palette, an intra block copy (IBC), or a matrix based intra prediction (MIP) ([0516] f. In above example, when DIMD is not disallowed to be applied to blocks with certain modes (e.g., MIP, MRL, ISP), indication of usage of the DIMD is not signalled.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Liu with the not signalling the DIMD flag when MIP is the mode of the block as taught by Wang in order to improve the efficiency of intra mode coding [See Wang].
In regards to claim 28, the limitations of claim 27 have been addressed. Liu discloses wherein the at least one syntax element is specific to the current video unit ([0022] In the contribution JVET-C-0061, a decoder side Intra prediction mode derivation method is proposed, where the neighboring reconstructed samples of the current block are used as a template. [0132] It is proposed to signal a DIMD_flag at each CU/PU/TU to indicate whether this mode is used or not. When the DIMD_flag is 0, it indicates that this mode is not used. When the DIMD_flag is 1, it indicates that this mode is used.), or wherein the at least one syntax element is included in a general constraint information syntax structure, or wherein the at least one syntax element is included in one of: a video parameter set (VPS), a sequence parameter set (SPS), a picture parameter set (PPS), a dependency parameter set (DPS), a decoding capability information (DCI), an adaptation parameter set (APS), a sequence header, a picture header, a sub-picture header, a slice header, or a tile header.
In regards to claim 29, the limitations of claim 27 have been addressed. Liu discloses wherein the at least one syntax element is included at one of the following: a sequence level, a group of pictures level, a picture level, a slice level, or a tile group level ([0132] It is proposed to signal a DIMD_flag at each CU/PU/TU to indicate whether this mode is used or not. When the DIMD_flag is 0, it indicates that this mode is not used. When the DIMD_flag is 1, it indicates that this mode is used.).
In regards to claim 30, the limitations of claim 27 have been addressed. Liu discloses wherein the at least one syntax element is included in a region containing at least one sample or pixel, the region being one of the following: a prediction block (PB), a transform block (TB), a coding block (CB), a prediction unit (PU), a transform unit (TU), a coding unit (CU) ([0132] It is proposed to signal a DIMD_flag at each CU/PU/TU to indicate whether this mode is used or not. When the DIMD_flag is 0, it indicates that this mode is not used. When the DIMD_flag is 1, it indicates that this mode is used.), a virtual pipeline data unit (VPDU), a coding tree unit (CTU), a CTU row, a slice, a tile, or a sub-picture.
In regards to claim 31, the limitations of claim 27 have been addressed. Liu discloses wherein the at least one the syntax element is associated with coded information ([0031] In one embodiment, the template-based Intra prediction can be applied to the current block if the block size is greater than a minimum block size. For example, the template-based Intra prediction can be disabled for the current block if the current block is a 4×4 block. The block size can be measured as a longer side, a shorter side or an area of the current block.).
In regards to claim 32, the limitations of claim 31 have been addressed. Liu discloses wherein the coded information comprises at least one of the following: a block size ([0031] In one embodiment, the template-based Intra prediction can be applied to the current block if the block size is greater than a minimum block size. For example, the template-based Intra prediction can be disabled for the current block if the current block is a 4×4 block. The block size can be measured as a longer side, a shorter side or an area of the current block.), a colour format, a single/dual tree partitioning, a colour component, a slice type, or a picture type.
In regards to claim 33, the limitations of claim 27 have been addressed. Liu discloses wherein the at least one syntax element is one of the following: gci_no_dimd_constraint_flag, gci_no_timd_constraint_flag, sps_dimd_enabled_flag sps_timd_enabled_flag, dimd_flag ([0022] In the contribution JVET-C-0061, a decoder side Intra prediction mode derivation method is proposed, where the neighboring reconstructed samples of the current block are used as a template. [0131] L: Signaling of DIMD. [0132] It is proposed to signal a DIMD_flag at each CU/PU/TU to indicate whether this mode is used or not. When the DIMD_flag is 0, it indicates that this mode is not used. When the DIMD_flag is 1, it indicates that this mode is used.), or timd_flag.
In regards to claim 34, the limitations of claim 27 have been addressed. Liu discloses wherein if at least one specific coding tool is used for the current video unit, the at least one syntax element is not included in the bitstream or determined to be a default value ([0131] L: Signaling of DIMD. [0132] It is proposed to signal a DIMD_flag at each CU/PU/TU to indicate whether this mode is used or not. When the DIMD_flag is 0, it indicates that this mode is not used. When the DIMD_flag is 1, it indicates that this mode is used.).
In regards to claim 36, the limitations of claim 27 have been addressed. Liu fails to explicitly disclose wherein if the first flag indicates the encoder and decoder to derive the intra prediction mode based on the neighbouring samples, at least one further syntax element indicating at least one coding tool is not included in the bitstream, the at least one coding tool comprising at least one of the following: an intra coding tool irrelevant to a decoder-side intra mode derivation, a block-based delta pulse code modulation (BDPCM), a palette, an intra block copy (IBC), a matrix based intra prediction (MIP), an intra sub-partitions (ISP), or a multiple reference line (MRL).
Wang discloses wherein if the first flag indicates the encoder and decoder to derive the intra prediction mode based on the neighbouring samples ([0057] signaling of DIMD in video coding [0161] At the decoder side, the DIMD flag can be first parsed, if present. If the DIMD flag is true, the intra-prediction mode can be derived in the reconstruction process using the same previously encoded neighboring pixels.), at least one further syntax element indicating at least one coding tool is not included in the bitstream, the at least one coding tool comprising at least one of the following: an intra coding tool irrelevant to a decoder-side intra mode derivation, a block-based delta pulse code modulation (BDPCM), a palette, an intra block copy (IBC), a matrix based intra prediction (MIP) ([0514] 3) In one example, the MIP mode may consist of a MIP mode index or/and MIP transposed flag. [0515] ii. Alternatively, above DIMD method cannot be applied with MIP.), an intra sub-partitions (ISP), or a multiple reference line (MRL).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Liu with the non-application/signalling of the MIP flag (MIP mode) when the DIMD method/flag/mode is used as taught by Wang in order to improve the efficiency of intra mode coding [See Wang].
In regards to claim 39, the limitations of claim 27 have been addressed. Liu discloses wherein the first flag is signalled following a matrix based intra prediction (MIP) flag, or wherein the first flag indicates whether a decoder-side intra mode derivation is enabled ([0131] L: Signaling of DIMD. [0132] It is proposed to signal a DIMD_flag at each CU/PU/TU to indicate whether this mode is used or not. When the DIMD_flag is 0, it indicates that this mode is not used. When the DIMD_flag is 1, it indicates that this mode is used.).
In regards to claim 40, the limitations of claim 39 have been addressed. Liu discloses wherein the at least one parameter is to be used by the decoder-side intra mode derivation ([0029] According to one method, whether to apply the template-based Intra prediction to the current block or parameter(s) associated with the template-based Intra prediction to apply to the current block is determining according to block size associated with the current block. [0030] In the above method, the parameter(s) associated with the template-based Intra prediction can be selected from a group comprising an Intra mode set searched by the template-based Intra prediction, a set size associated with the Intra mode set and a total number of iterations to apply the template-based Intra prediction.).
In regards to claim 43, the limitations of claim 27 have been addressed. Liu discloses wherein performing the conversion comprises decoding the video from the bitstream with the at least one syntax element ([0029] If the template-based Intra prediction is used for the current block, a target Intra mode or an Intra-mode candidate set is derived from a template matching candidate set for the current block using the template-based Intra prediction and the current block is encoded or decoded using Intra prediction with a current Intra mode selected from an Intra mode group comprising the target Intra mode or the Intra-mode candidate set. [0131] L: Signaling of DIMD. [0132] It is proposed to signal a DIMD_flag at each CU/PU/TU to indicate whether this mode is used or not. When the DIMD_flag is 0, it indicates that this mode is not used. When the DIMD_flag is 1, it indicates that this mode is used. [0264] FIG. 22 illustrates a flowchart of an exemplary coding system with template-based Intra prediction enabled according to an embodiment of the present invention. The steps shown in the flowchart, as well as other following flowcharts in this disclosure, may be implemented as program codes executable on one or more processors (e.g., one or more CPUs) at the encoder side and/or the decoder side. The steps shown in the flowchart may also be implemented based hardware such as one or more electronic devices or processors arranged to perform the steps in the flowchart.).
In regards to claim 44, the limitations of claim 27 have been addressed. Liu discloses wherein performing the conversion comprises encoding the video into the bitstream with the at least one syntax element ([0029] If the template-based Intra prediction is used for the current block, a target Intra mode or an Intra-mode candidate set is derived from a template matching candidate set for the current block using the template-based Intra prediction and the current block is encoded or decoded using Intra prediction with a current Intra mode selected from an Intra mode group comprising the target Intra mode or the Intra-mode candidate set. [0131] L: Signaling of DIMD. [0132] It is proposed to signal a DIMD_flag at each CU/PU/TU to indicate whether this mode is used or not. When the DIMD_flag is 0, it indicates that this mode is not used. When the DIMD_flag is 1, it indicates that this mode is used. [0264] FIG. 22 illustrates a flowchart of an exemplary coding system with template-based Intra prediction enabled according to an embodiment of the present invention. The steps shown in the flowchart, as well as other following flowcharts in this disclosure, may be implemented as program codes executable on one or more processors (e.g., one or more CPUs) at the encoder side and/or the decoder side. The steps shown in the flowchart may also be implemented based hardware such as one or more electronic devices or processors arranged to perform the steps in the flowchart.).
Claim 45 lists all the same elements of claim 27, but in device form rather than method form. Therefore, the supporting rationale of the rejection to claim 27 applies equally as well to claim 45. Furthermore, regarding claim 45, Liu discloses an electronic device for processing video data ([0264] one or more electronic devices), comprising: a processing unit ([0269] processing unit); and a memory coupled to the processing unit and having instructions stored thereon which, when executed by the processing unit [0263-0264].
Claim 46 lists all the same elements of claim 27, but in non-transitory computer-readable storage medium form rather than method form. Therefore, the supporting rationale of the rejection to claim 27 applies equally as well to claim 46.
Claim(s) 37, 38, 41, 42, and 47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Wang in further view of LI et al. (Hereafter, “Li780”) [US 2020/034780 A1].
In regards to claim 37, the limitations of claim 27 have been addressed. Liu fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first flag indicates the encoder and decoder to derive the intra prediction mode based on the neighbouring samples and at least one further syntax element for a luma intra prediction mode is not included in the bitstream.
Li780 discloses wherein the first flag indicates the encoder and decoder to derive the intra prediction mode based on the neighbouring samples and at least one further syntax element for a luma intra prediction mode is not included in the bitstream ([0127-0128] intra prediction type is signaled, intra_luma_ref idx is only signalled when used).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Liu with the teachings of Li780 in order to improve and enhance image coding efficiency [See Li780].
In regards to claim 38, the limitations of claim 37 have been addressed. Liu fails to explicitly disclose wherein the at least one further syntax element comprises at least one of the following: a most probable mode (MPM) flag, a secondary MPM flag, a secondary MPM index, a planar flag, an MPM index, or an MPM remainder index.
Li780 discloses wherein the at least one further syntax element comprises at least one of the following: a most probable mode (MPM) flag, a secondary MPM flag, a secondary MPM index, a planar flag ([0009] Yet another object of the present disclosure is to provide a method and an apparatus for performing intra prediction based on an MPM list based on planar flag information representing whether to determine an intra prediction mode for a current block as a planar mode.), an MPM index ([0014] Based on the planar flag information representing that the intra prediction mode for the current block is not derived as the planar mode, the MPM index information may be included in the intra prediction information.), or an MPM remainder index.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Liu with the teachings of Li780 in order to improve coding efficiency for the system.
In regards to claim 41, the limitations of claim 27 have been addressed. Liu discloses wherein the first flag is one of the following: a second flag indicating whether to enable a construction of a first candidate list for the current video unit based on a plurality of intra prediction modes, the number of the plurality of intra prediction modes being smaller than a preset value ([0072] In a third variation, an integer number N is set such that the first N Intra prediction modes with lowest costs during the template matching search are selected. These N modes are used as part of the MPM set during the Intra prediction mode coding. Redundant modes derived by the MPM list construction will be removed so that each of the modes in MPM is unique. [0076] When the template matching is enabled for video data partitioned using the QTBT structures, different number of Intra modes can be used (i.e., searched) according to one method of the present invention.), or a third flag indicating whether to enable a construction of a second candidate list for the current video unit based on information of a neighbouring block of the current block, the neighbouring block being not coded with an intra mode.
Li780 discloses wherein the first flag is one of the following: a second flag indicating whether to enable a construction of a first candidate list for the current video unit based on a plurality of intra prediction modes ([0055] MPM list based on planar flag information [0131] In a more specific example, the decoding apparatus may derive the most probable mode (MPM) list based on the intra prediction mode and additional candidate modes of a neighboring block (for example, a left neighboring block and/or an upper neighboring block) of the current block, select one of the MPM candidates within the derived MPM list based on the received MPM index, or select one of the remaining intra prediction modes not included in the MPM candidates based on the remaining intra prediction mode information. The MPM list may also be represented as an intra prediction mode candidate list, and may also be represented as a candModeList.), the number of the plurality of intra prediction modes being smaller than a preset value ([0135] In an example, the MPM list may include 3 MPM candidates, 5 candidates, or 6 MPM candidates. For example, the MPM list may include candidates which are derived based on the intra prediction mode of the neighboring block, the derived intra prediction mode, and/or the default intra prediction mode. The encoding apparatus/decoding apparatus may search for the neighboring blocks of the current block according to a specific order, and derive the intra prediction mode of the neighboring blocks as the MPM candidates in the derived order. For example, the neighboring blocks may include a left neighboring block, an upper neighboring block, a lower left neighboring block, an upper right neighboring block, and an upper left neighboring block. [0154] Further, if the MPM list does not include the maximum number of MPM candidates, that is, if the number of derived MPM candidates is smaller than the maximum number of candidates, the directional intra prediction mode adjacent to the derived MPM candidate and a predefined default intra prediction mode may be considered as MPM candidates, and the pruning check process may be performed together.), or a third flag indicating whether to enable a construction of a second candidate list for the current video unit based on information of a neighbouring block of the current block, the neighbouring block being not coded with an intra mode.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Liu with the teachings of Li780 in order to improve and enhance image coding efficiency [See Li780].
In regards to claim 42, the limitations of claim 41 have been addressed. Liu fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first flag is not included in the bitstream if an encoder and decoder derives an intra prediction mode for the current video unit without constructing a candidate list comprising at least one intra prediction mode, or wherein if either the second flag or the third flag is enabled, a further syntax element is not included in the bitstream, the further syntax element indicating an encoder and decoder to derive an intra prediction mode for the current video unit without constructing a candidate list comprising at least one intra prediction mode.
Li780 discloses wherein the first flag is not included in the bitstream if an encoder and decoder derives an intra prediction mode for the current video unit without constructing a candidate list comprising at least one intra prediction mode ([Abstract] receiving intra prediction information including at least one of most probable mode (MPM) flag information representing whether to derive an intra prediction mode for a current block based on MPM candidates for the current block or planar flag information representing whether to determine the intra prediction mode for the current block as a planar mode), or wherein if either the second flag or the third flag is enabled, a further syntax element is not included in the bitstream, the further syntax element indicating an encoder and decoder to derive an intra prediction mode for the current video unit without constructing a candidate list comprising at least one intra prediction mode.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Liu with the teachings of Li780 in order to improve and enhance image coding efficiency [See Li780].
In regards to claim 47, the limitations of claim 27 have been addressed. Liu fails to explicitly disclose further comprising: storing the bitstream in a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium.
Li780 discloses further comprising: storing the bitstream in a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium ([0081] The transmitter may transmit the encoded image/image information or data output in the form of a bitstream to the receiver of the receiving device through a digital storage medium or a network in the form of a file or streaming. The digital storage medium may include various storage mediums such as USB, SD, CD, DVD, Blu-ray, HDD, SSD, and the like. The transmitter may include an element for generating a media file through a predetermined file format and may include an element for transmission through a broadcast/communication network. The receiver may receive/extract the bitstream and transmit the received bitstream to the decoding apparatus.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Liu with the teachings of Li780 in order to improve and enhance image coding efficiency [See Li780].
Contact Information
/KAITLIN A RETALLICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482