DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Application
Claims 27-47 are currently pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 27, 45, and 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 27, 45, and 46 recite the limitation, “wherein the first flag comprises a third flag indicating whether to enable a construction of a prediction mode candidate list for the current video unit based on information of a neighbouring block of the current block, the neighbouring block being not coded with an intra mode.” In regards to the “third flag”, the specification states:
[0316] In some embodiments, the first flag is one of the following: a second flag indicating whether to enable a construction of a first candidate list for the video unit based on a plurality of intra prediction modes (IPMs), the number of the plurality of IPMs being smaller than a preset value, or a third flag indicating whether to enable a construction of a second candidate list for the video unit based on information of a neighbouring block of the current block, the neighbouring block being not coded with an intra mode.
[0339] Clause 18. The method of clause 1, wherein the first flag is one of the following: a second flag indicating whether to enable a construction of a first candidate list for a current DIMD block based on a plurality of intra prediction modes (IPMs), the number of the plurality of IPMs being smaller than a preset value, or a third flag indicating whether to enable a construction of a second candidate list for a current block based on information of a neighbouring block of the current block, the neighbouring block being not coded with an intra mode.
One of ordinary skill in the art would not understand what is being claimed with “the first flag comprises a third flag.” The specification states that the first flag is either the second flag or the third flag and does not state that the third flag is contained with or within the first flag. The claim language is unclear.
Further, the specification states:
[0240] 2. During the DIMD candidate (e.g., MPM) list construction process, a pre-defined IPM may be used as the IPM of a neighbouring block when the neighbouring block is not coded with intra mode (e.g., inter-coded/IBC/PLT mode).
[0242] 3. During the DIMD candidate (e.g., MPM) list construction process, a propagated IPM for a non-intra coded neighbouring block (e.g., inter-coded/IBC/PLT mode) may be used to construct the DIMD candidate list.
One of ordinary skill in the art would not understand if the third flag is enabling construction of the list based on information of a neighbouring block of the current block even when the neighbouring block of the current block is not coded with intra mode or the third flag is enabling construction of the list based on information of a neighbouring block of the current block only when the neighbouring block of the current block is not coded with intra mode. The specification and the claim language are unclear.
Response to Arguments
Presented arguments have been fully considered, but are rendered moot in view of new ground(s) of rejection necessitated by amendment(s) initiated by the applicant(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 27-34, 39, 40, and 43-46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU et al. (Hereafter, “Liu”) [US 2017/0353730 A1] in view of Li et al. (Hereafter, “Li”) [US 2022/0201281 A1].
In regards to claim 27, Liu discloses a method of processing video data ([Abstract] A method and apparatus for video coding using template-based Intra prediction are disclosed.), comprising: determining at least one syntax element of a video ([0131] L: Signaling of DIMD.), the at least one syntax element indicating at least one of the following: a first flag indicating whether to derive an intra prediction mode based on neighbouring samples of a current video unit of the video ([0022] In the contribution JVET-C-0061, a decoder side Intra prediction mode derivation method is proposed, where the neighboring reconstructed samples of the current block are used as a template. [0131] L: Signaling of DIMD. [0132] It is proposed to signal a DIMD_flag at each CU/PU/TU to indicate whether this mode is used or not. When the DIMD_flag is 0, it indicates that this mode is not used. When the DIMD_flag is 1, it indicates that this mode is used.), or at least one parameter to be used for deriving the intra prediction mode based on the neighbouring samples of the current video unit ([0029] According to one method, whether to apply the template-based Intra prediction to the current block or parameter(s) associated with the template-based Intra prediction to apply to the current block is determining according to block size associated with the current block. [0030] In the above method, the parameter(s) associated with the template-based Intra prediction can be selected from a group comprising an Intra mode set searched by the template-based Intra prediction, a set size associated with the Intra mode set and a total number of iterations to apply the template-based Intra prediction.); and performing a conversion between the video and a bitstream with the at least one syntax element ([0029] If the template-based Intra prediction is used for the current block, a target Intra mode or an Intra-mode candidate set is derived from a template matching candidate set for the current block using the template-based Intra prediction and the current block is encoded or decoded using Intra prediction with a current Intra mode selected from an Intra mode group comprising the target Intra mode or the Intra-mode candidate set. [0264] FIG. 22 illustrates a flowchart of an exemplary coding system with template-based Intra prediction enabled according to an embodiment of the present invention. The steps shown in the flowchart, as well as other following flowcharts in this disclosure, may be implemented as program codes executable on one or more processors (e.g., one or more CPUs) at the encoder side and/or the decoder side. The steps shown in the flowchart may also be implemented based hardware such as one or more electronic devices or processors arranged to perform the steps in the flowchart.), ([0007] DC mode and Planar mode are also considered in MPM set to fill the available spot in the MPM, especially if the above or top neighboring blocks are not available or not coded in Intra prediction, or the Intra prediction modes in neighboring blocks are not directional.).
Li discloses a method of processing video data ([0002] This disclosure relates to video encoding and video decoding.), comprising: determining at least one syntax element of a video, the at least one syntax element indicating at least one of the following: a first flag indicating whether to derive an intra prediction mode based on neighbouring samples of a current video unit of the video ([Fig. 10 and 0183] Video encoder 200 may encode an indication of whether the current block is predicted using DIMD. For instance, entropy encoding unit 220 may encode, for the current block, a DIMD flag having a value that indicates whether DIMD is enabled for the current block of video data. [0005] To perform intra mode coding with DIMD, a video decoder may implicitly derive intra modes for a current block based on reconstructed samples of neighboring blocks and predict the current block based on a blending of the derived intra modes.), or at least one parameter to be used for deriving the intra prediction mode based on the neighbouring samples of the current video unit; and performing a conversion between the video and a bitstream with the at least one syntax element ([0085] Video encoder 200 may generate a bitstream including encoded video data. [0183] video encoder may encode a DIMD flag), wherein the at least one syntax element is allowed to be comprised in the bitstream ([0085] Video encoder 200 may generate a bitstream including encoded video data. [0183] video encoder may encode a DIMD flag), and wherein the first flag ([Fig. 9B and 10] DIMD flag) comprises a third flag ([Fig. 9B and 10] MPM flag, MPM list construction) indicating whether to enable a construction of a prediction mode candidate list for the current video unit based on information of a neighbouring block of the current block ([0043] construct a MPM list and signal an index into the MPM list),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Liu’s MPM list to include neighboring blocks not coded in intra prediction with the use of an MPM flag for the MPM list construction following the DIMD flag as taught by Li in order to improve coding efficiency for the system [See Li].
In regards to claim 28, the limitations of claim 27 have been addressed. Liu discloses wherein the at least one syntax element is specific to the current video unit ([0022] In the contribution JVET-C-0061, a decoder side Intra prediction mode derivation method is proposed, where the neighboring reconstructed samples of the current block are used as a template. [0132] It is proposed to signal a DIMD_flag at each CU/PU/TU to indicate whether this mode is used or not. When the DIMD_flag is 0, it indicates that this mode is not used. When the DIMD_flag is 1, it indicates that this mode is used.), or wherein the at least one syntax element is included in a general constraint information syntax structure, or wherein the at least one syntax element is included in one of: a video parameter set (VPS), a sequence parameter set (SPS), a picture parameter set (PPS), a dependency parameter set (DPS), a decoding capability information (DCI), an adaptation parameter set (APS), a sequence header, a picture header, a sub-picture header, a slice header, or a tile header.
In regards to claim 29, the limitations of claim 27 have been addressed. Liu discloses wherein the at least one syntax element is included at one of the following: a sequence level, a group of pictures level, a picture level, a slice level, or a tile group level ([0132] It is proposed to signal a DIMD_flag at each CU/PU/TU to indicate whether this mode is used or not. When the DIMD_flag is 0, it indicates that this mode is not used. When the DIMD_flag is 1, it indicates that this mode is used.).
In regards to claim 30, the limitations of claim 27 have been addressed. Liu discloses wherein the at least one syntax element is included in a region containing at least one sample or pixel, the region being one of the following: a prediction block (PB), a transform block (TB), a coding block (CB), a prediction unit (PU), a transform unit (TU), a coding unit (CU) ([0132] It is proposed to signal a DIMD_flag at each CU/PU/TU to indicate whether this mode is used or not. When the DIMD_flag is 0, it indicates that this mode is not used. When the DIMD_flag is 1, it indicates that this mode is used.), a virtual pipeline data unit (VPDU), a coding tree unit (CTU), a CTU row, a slice, a tile, or a sub-picture.
In regards to claim 31, the limitations of claim 27 have been addressed. Liu discloses wherein the at least one the syntax element is associated with coded information ([0031] In one embodiment, the template-based Intra prediction can be applied to the current block if the block size is greater than a minimum block size. For example, the template-based Intra prediction can be disabled for the current block if the current block is a 4×4 block. The block size can be measured as a longer side, a shorter side or an area of the current block.).
In regards to claim 32, the limitations of claim 31 have been addressed. Liu discloses wherein the coded information comprises at least one of the following: a block size ([0031] In one embodiment, the template-based Intra prediction can be applied to the current block if the block size is greater than a minimum block size. For example, the template-based Intra prediction can be disabled for the current block if the current block is a 4×4 block. The block size can be measured as a longer side, a shorter side or an area of the current block.), a colour format, a single/dual tree partitioning, a colour component, a slice type, or a picture type.
In regards to claim 33, the limitations of claim 27 have been addressed. Liu discloses wherein the at least one syntax element is one of the following: gci_no_dimd_constraint_flag, gci_no_timd_constraint_flag, sps_dimd_enabled_flag sps_timd_enabled_flag, dimd_flag ([0022] In the contribution JVET-C-0061, a decoder side Intra prediction mode derivation method is proposed, where the neighboring reconstructed samples of the current block are used as a template. [0131] L: Signaling of DIMD. [0132] It is proposed to signal a DIMD_flag at each CU/PU/TU to indicate whether this mode is used or not. When the DIMD_flag is 0, it indicates that this mode is not used. When the DIMD_flag is 1, it indicates that this mode is used.), or timd_flag.
In regards to claim 34, the limitations of claim 27 have been addressed. Liu discloses wherein if at least one specific coding tool is used for the current video unit, the at least one syntax element is not included in the bitstream or determined to be a default value ([0131] L: Signaling of DIMD. [0132] It is proposed to signal a DIMD_flag at each CU/PU/TU to indicate whether this mode is used or not. When the DIMD_flag is 0, it indicates that this mode is not used. When the DIMD_flag is 1, it indicates that this mode is used.).
In regards to claim 39, the limitations of claim 27 have been addressed. Liu discloses wherein the first flag is signalled following a matrix based intra prediction (MIP) flag, or wherein the first flag indicates whether a decoder-side intra mode derivation is enabled ([0131] L: Signaling of DIMD. [0132] It is proposed to signal a DIMD_flag at each CU/PU/TU to indicate whether this mode is used or not. When the DIMD_flag is 0, it indicates that this mode is not used. When the DIMD_flag is 1, it indicates that this mode is used.).
In regards to claim 40, the limitations of claim 39 have been addressed. Liu discloses wherein the at least one parameter is to be used by the decoder-side intra mode derivation ([0029] According to one method, whether to apply the template-based Intra prediction to the current block or parameter(s) associated with the template-based Intra prediction to apply to the current block is determining according to block size associated with the current block. [0030] In the above method, the parameter(s) associated with the template-based Intra prediction can be selected from a group comprising an Intra mode set searched by the template-based Intra prediction, a set size associated with the Intra mode set and a total number of iterations to apply the template-based Intra prediction.).
In regards to claim 43, the limitations of claim 27 have been addressed. Liu discloses wherein performing the conversion comprises decoding the video from the bitstream with the at least one syntax element ([0029] If the template-based Intra prediction is used for the current block, a target Intra mode or an Intra-mode candidate set is derived from a template matching candidate set for the current block using the template-based Intra prediction and the current block is encoded or decoded using Intra prediction with a current Intra mode selected from an Intra mode group comprising the target Intra mode or the Intra-mode candidate set. [0131] L: Signaling of DIMD. [0132] It is proposed to signal a DIMD_flag at each CU/PU/TU to indicate whether this mode is used or not. When the DIMD_flag is 0, it indicates that this mode is not used. When the DIMD_flag is 1, it indicates that this mode is used. [0264] FIG. 22 illustrates a flowchart of an exemplary coding system with template-based Intra prediction enabled according to an embodiment of the present invention. The steps shown in the flowchart, as well as other following flowcharts in this disclosure, may be implemented as program codes executable on one or more processors (e.g., one or more CPUs) at the encoder side and/or the decoder side. The steps shown in the flowchart may also be implemented based hardware such as one or more electronic devices or processors arranged to perform the steps in the flowchart.).
In regards to claim 44, the limitations of claim 27 have been addressed. Liu discloses wherein performing the conversion comprises encoding the video into the bitstream with the at least one syntax element ([0029] If the template-based Intra prediction is used for the current block, a target Intra mode or an Intra-mode candidate set is derived from a template matching candidate set for the current block using the template-based Intra prediction and the current block is encoded or decoded using Intra prediction with a current Intra mode selected from an Intra mode group comprising the target Intra mode or the Intra-mode candidate set. [0131] L: Signaling of DIMD. [0132] It is proposed to signal a DIMD_flag at each CU/PU/TU to indicate whether this mode is used or not. When the DIMD_flag is 0, it indicates that this mode is not used. When the DIMD_flag is 1, it indicates that this mode is used. [0264] FIG. 22 illustrates a flowchart of an exemplary coding system with template-based Intra prediction enabled according to an embodiment of the present invention. The steps shown in the flowchart, as well as other following flowcharts in this disclosure, may be implemented as program codes executable on one or more processors (e.g., one or more CPUs) at the encoder side and/or the decoder side. The steps shown in the flowchart may also be implemented based hardware such as one or more electronic devices or processors arranged to perform the steps in the flowchart.).
Claim 45 lists all the same elements of claim 27, but in device form rather than method form. Therefore, the supporting rationale of the rejection to claim 1 applies equally as well to claim 15. Furthermore, regarding claim 45, Liu discloses an electronic device for processing video data ([0264] one or more electronic devices), comprising: a processing unit ([0269] processing unit); and a memory coupled to the processing unit and having instructions stored thereon which, when executed by the processing unit [0263-0264].
Claim 46 lists all the same elements of claim 27, but in non-transitory computer-readable storage medium form rather than method form. Therefore, the supporting rationale of the rejection to claim 27 applies equally as well to claim 46.
Claim(s) 35-38, 41, 42, and 47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Li in further view of LI et al. (Hereafter, “Li780”) [US 2020/034780 A1].
In regards to claim 35, the limitations of claim 27 have been addressed. Liu fails to explicitly disclose wherein the at least one syntax element is not included in the bitstream if at least one of the following coding tools is used for the current video unit: a block-based delta pulse code modulation (BDPCM), a palette, an intra block copy (IBC), or a matrix based intra prediction (MIP).
Li780 discloses wherein the at least one syntax element is not included in the bitstream if at least one of the following coding tools is used for the current video unit: a block-based delta pulse code modulation (BDPCM), a palette, an intra block copy (IBC), or a matrix based intra prediction (MIP) ([0091] prediction may by IBC mode and/or palette mode).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Liu with the teachings of Li780 in order to improve and enhance image coding efficiency [See Li780].
In regards to claim 36, the limitations of claim 27 have been addressed. Liu fails to explicitly disclose wherein if the first flag indicates the encoder and decoder to derive the intra prediction mode based on the neighbouring samples, at least one further syntax element indicating at least one coding tool is not included in the bitstream, the at least one coding tool comprising at least one of the following: an intra coding tool irrelevant to a decoder-side intra mode derivation, a block-based delta pulse code modulation (BDPCM), a palette, an intra block copy (IBC), a matrix based intra prediction (MIP), an intra sub-partitions (ISP), or a multiple reference line (MRL).
Li780 discloses wherein if the first flag indicates the encoder and decoder to derive the intra prediction mode based on the neighbouring samples, at least one further syntax element indicating at least one coding tool is not included in the bitstream, the at least one coding tool comprising at least one of the following: an intra coding tool irrelevant to a decoder-side intra mode derivation, a block-based delta pulse code modulation (BDPCM), a palette, an intra block copy (IBC), a matrix based intra prediction (MIP), an intra sub-partitions (ISP), or a multiple reference line (MRL) ([0162] First, it may be determined whether an MRL or an ISP has been used. When the MRL or the ISP is used, a value of the unified_probable_mode_flag may be determined as 1. If the MRL or the ISP is not used, the unified_probable_mode_flag may be parsed. [0163] If the value of the unified_probable_mode_flag is 0, the non_probable_mode_index may be parsed. If the value of the unified_probable_mode_flag is 1, the significant_mode_flag may be parsed. When the value of the significant_mode_flag is 1, the intra prediction mode for the current block may be determined as a significant mode (for example, intra planar mode), and when the value of the significant_mode_flag is 0, the probable_mode_index may be parsed.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Liu with the teachings of Li780 in order to improve and enhance image coding efficiency [See Li780].
In regards to claim 37, the limitations of claim 27 have been addressed. Liu fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first flag indicates the encoder and decoder to derive the intra prediction mode based on the neighbouring samples and at least one further syntax element for a luma intra prediction mode is not included in the bitstream.
Li780 discloses wherein the first flag indicates the encoder and decoder to derive the intra prediction mode based on the neighbouring samples and at least one further syntax element for a luma intra prediction mode is not included in the bitstream ([0127-0128] intra prediction type is signaled, intra_luma_ref idx is only signalled when used).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Liu with the teachings of Li780 in order to improve and enhance image coding efficiency [See Li780].
In regards to claim 38, the limitations of claim 37 have been addressed. Liu fails to explicitly disclose wherein the at least one further syntax element comprises at least one of the following: a most probable mode (MPM) flag, a secondary MPM flag, a secondary MPM index, a planar flag, an MPM index, or an MPM remainder index.
Li discloses wherein the at least one further syntax element comprises at least one of the following: a most probable mode (MPM) flag ([Fig. 9B and 10] MPM flag, MPM list construction), a secondary MPM flag, a secondary MPM index, a planar flag, an MPM index, or an MPM remainder index.
Li780 discloses wherein the at least one further syntax element comprises at least one of the following: a most probable mode (MPM) flag, a secondary MPM flag, a secondary MPM index, a planar flag ([0009] Yet another object of the present disclosure is to provide a method and an apparatus for performing intra prediction based on an MPM list based on planar flag information representing whether to determine an intra prediction mode for a current block as a planar mode.), an MPM index ([0014] Based on the planar flag information representing that the intra prediction mode for the current block is not derived as the planar mode, the MPM index information may be included in the intra prediction information.), or an MPM remainder index.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Liu with the teachings of Li and Li780 in order to improve coding efficiency for the system.
In regards to claim 41, the limitations of claim 27 have been addressed. Liu discloses wherein the first flag further comprises a second flag indicating whether to enable a construction of a first candidate list for the current video unit based on a plurality of intra prediction modes, the number of the plurality of intra prediction modes being smaller than a preset value ([0072] In a third variation, an integer number N is set such that the first N Intra prediction modes with lowest costs during the template matching search are selected. These N modes are used as part of the MPM set during the Intra prediction mode coding. Redundant modes derived by the MPM list construction will be removed so that each of the modes in MPM is unique. [0076] When the template matching is enabled for video data partitioned using the QTBT structures, different number of Intra modes can be used (i.e., searched) according to one method of the present invention.).
Li780 discloses wherein the first flag further comprises a second flag indicating whether to enable a construction of a first candidate list for the current video unit based on a plurality of intra prediction modes ([0055] MPM list based on planar flag information [0131] In a more specific example, the decoding apparatus may derive the most probable mode (MPM) list based on the intra prediction mode and additional candidate modes of a neighboring block (for example, a left neighboring block and/or an upper neighboring block) of the current block, select one of the MPM candidates within the derived MPM list based on the received MPM index, or select one of the remaining intra prediction modes not included in the MPM candidates based on the remaining intra prediction mode information. The MPM list may also be represented as an intra prediction mode candidate list, and may also be represented as a candModeList.), the number of the plurality of intra prediction modes being smaller than a preset value ([0135] In an example, the MPM list may include 3 MPM candidates, 5 candidates, or 6 MPM candidates. For example, the MPM list may include candidates which are derived based on the intra prediction mode of the neighboring block, the derived intra prediction mode, and/or the default intra prediction mode. The encoding apparatus/decoding apparatus may search for the neighboring blocks of the current block according to a specific order, and derive the intra prediction mode of the neighboring blocks as the MPM candidates in the derived order. For example, the neighboring blocks may include a left neighboring block, an upper neighboring block, a lower left neighboring block, an upper right neighboring block, and an upper left neighboring block. [0154] Further, if the MPM list does not include the maximum number of MPM candidates, that is, if the number of derived MPM candidates is smaller than the maximum number of candidates, the directional intra prediction mode adjacent to the derived MPM candidate and a predefined default intra prediction mode may be considered as MPM candidates, and the pruning check process may be performed together.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Liu with the teachings of Li780 in order to improve and enhance image coding efficiency [See Li780].
In regards to claim 42, the limitations of claim 41 have been addressed. Liu fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first flag is not included in the bitstream if an encoder and decoder derives an intra prediction mode for the current video unit without constructing a candidate list comprising at least one intra prediction mode, or wherein if either the second flag or the third flag is enabled, a further syntax element is not included in the bitstream, the further syntax element indicating an encoder and decoder to derive an intra prediction mode for the current video unit without constructing a candidate list comprising at least one intra prediction mode.
Li780 discloses wherein the first flag is not included in the bitstream if an encoder and decoder derives an intra prediction mode for the current video unit without constructing a candidate list comprising at least one intra prediction mode ([Abstract] receiving intra prediction information including at least one of most probable mode (MPM) flag information representing whether to derive an intra prediction mode for a current block based on MPM candidates for the current block or planar flag information representing whether to determine the intra prediction mode for the current block as a planar mode), or wherein if either the second flag or the third flag is enabled, a further syntax element is not included in the bitstream, the further syntax element indicating an encoder and decoder to derive an intra prediction mode for the current video unit without constructing a candidate list comprising at least one intra prediction mode.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Liu with the teachings of Li780 in order to improve and enhance image coding efficiency [See Li780].
In regards to claim 47, the limitations of claim 27 have been addressed. Liu fails to explicitly disclose further comprising: storing the bitstream in a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium.
Li780 discloses further comprising: storing the bitstream in a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium ([0081] The transmitter may transmit the encoded image/image information or data output in the form of a bitstream to the receiver of the receiving device through a digital storage medium or a network in the form of a file or streaming. The digital storage medium may include various storage mediums such as USB, SD, CD, DVD, Blu-ray, HDD, SSD, and the like. The transmitter may include an element for generating a media file through a predetermined file format and may include an element for transmission through a broadcast/communication network. The receiver may receive/extract the bitstream and transmit the received bitstream to the decoding apparatus.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Liu with the teachings of Li780 in order to improve and enhance image coding efficiency [See Li780].
Contact Information
/KAITLIN A RETALLICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482