DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-7, 12-13, 26-28, 31-32, 36, 37-40, 42, and 47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Pub. 2022/0232573 to Farag et al. (hereinafter Farag).
In regard claim 1, Farag teaches or discloses a method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving a configuration for a unified transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state that includes a TCI state identifier and a path loss reference signal (PLRS) identifier (see paragraphs [0004], [0005], [0007], and [0063], to an indication of UL parameters and pathloss reference signal (PL-RS) induced in or associated with TCI state. The UE includes a transceiver configured to receive configuration information for TCI states, configuration information for a number of entries, wherein each of the number of entries includes an index and a number of parameters, information indicating associations between indexes for the number of entries and the TCI states, respectively, and a TCI state identifier (ID) for a first of the TCI states. One or more of the gNBs 101-103 includes circuitry, programing, or a combination thereof, for an indication or association of UL parameters and/or PL-RS in or with TCI state);
receiving a PLRS associated with the PLRS identifier (see paragraphs [0079], [0176], and [0180], the processor 340 is also capable of executing other processes and programs resident in the memory 360, such as processes for an indication or association of UL parameters and/or PL-RS in or with TCI state. The UE expects, when the PL RS is not included/not associated/not linked in the TCI state, that the source RS is a periodic DL RS. If the source RS is not a periodic DL RS, it may depend on the UE's implementation to measure/estimate the pathloss. In a variant example, if the PL RS is not included/not associated/not linked in the TCI state, and the source RS is not a periodic RS, the UE doesn't report a pathloss measurement/estimate);
transmitting an uplink channel transmission associated with the PLRS and the TCI state identifier (see paragraphs [0178], and [0180], if the source RS for determining the UL spatial domain transmit filter, (e.g., source RS of QCL Type-D in the TCI state), is not a DL periodic RS, the UE uses the PL RS included in or associated with or linked to the TCI state for measuring/estimating the pathloss. A UE expects that for an UL TCI state or a Joint TCI state (as applicable), when the source RS for determining the UL spatial domain transmit filter, (e.g., source RS of QCL Type-D or spatial relation in the TCI state) is not a DL periodic RS, that a PL RS is included in, associated with or linked to the TCI state. The indication of a TCI state to the UE is an indication of the PL RS included in or associated with the TCI state. The UE applies the PL RS in response to the TCI state indication).
In regard claim 2, Farag teaches or discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the uplink channel transmission corresponds to at least one of an uplink control channel, an uplink shared channel, or a sounding reference signal (see paragraphs [0089], [0113], and [0117], the unified (master or main) TCI state is TCI state of UE-dedicated reception on PDSCH/PDCCH or UE-dedicated transmission on dynamic-grant/configured-grant based PUSCH and all of dedicated PUCCH resources. The unified (master or main) TCI can also apply to other DL and/or UL channels and/or signals e.g., non-UE dedicated channel and sounding reference signal (SRS)).
In regard claim 3, Farag teaches or discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the PLRS identifier indicates a PLRS from a common PLRS list, wherein the common PLRS list indicates a common PLRS for any uplink channel transmission (see paragraph [0260], a network configures a list (array) of the UL transmission parameters, e.g., power control parameters and/or PL-RS and/or time alignment offset (TA offset). A TCI state is linked or associated to an element of the List or array for power control parameters and/or PL-RS and/or time alignment offset (TA offset)).
In regard claim 6, Farag teaches or discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the PLRS identifier indicates a PLRS from a PLRS list specific to a type of the uplink channel transmission (see paragraph [0260], a network configures a list (array) of the UL transmission parameters, e.g., power control parameters and/or PL-RS and/or time alignment offset (TA offset). A TCI state is linked or associated to an element of the List or array for power control parameters and/or PL-RS and/or time alignment offset (TA offset)).
In regard claim 7, Farag teaches or discloses the method of claim 6, further comprising receiving one or more other configurations of multiple PLRS lists, each of the multiple PLRS lists being for one of multiple types of uplink channel transmissions, wherein the one or more other configurations include the PLRS list specific to the type of the uplink channel transmission (see paragraph [0260], a network configures a list (array) of the UL transmission parameters, e.g., power control parameters and/or PL-RS and/or time alignment offset (TA offset). A TCI state is linked or associated to an element of the List or array for power control parameters and/or PL-RS and/or time alignment offset (TA offset)).
In regard claim 12, Farag teaches or discloses a method for wireless communication at a network node, comprising:
transmitting a configuration for a unified transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state that includes a TCI state identifier and a path loss reference signal (PLRS) identifier (see paragraph [0260], a network configures a list (array) of the UL transmission parameters, e.g., power control parameters and/or PL-RS and/or time alignment offset (TA offset). A TCI state is linked or associated to an element of the List or array for power control parameters and/or PL-RS and/or time alignment offset (TA offset));
transmitting a PLRS associated with on the PLRS identifier (see paragraphs [0118], and [0122], UL transmission related parameters associated with or linked to a TCI state: (1) signaling of a PL-RS associated with or linked to a TCI State; and/or (2) signaling of UL parameters that are associated with, linked to or depend on a TCI state);
receiving an uplink channel transmission associated with the PLRS and the TCI state identifier (see paragraphs [0079], [0449], and [0450], the processor 340 is also capable of executing other processes and programs resident in the memory 360, such as processes for an indication or association of UL parameters and/or PL-RS in or with TCI state. The UE receives information indicating associations between indexes for the number of entries and the TCI states, respectively (step 4215). The UE then receives a TCI state ID for a first of the TCI states (step 4220). In step 4220, a PLRS may be included in the first TCI state or associated with the first TCI state).
In regard claim 13, Farag teaches or discloses the method of claim 12, wherein the uplink channel transmission corresponds to at least one of an uplink control channel, an uplink shared channel, or a sounding reference signal (see paragraphs [0113], [0117], [0121], [0210], and [0267]).
In regard claim 26, Farag teaches or discloses an apparatus for wireless communication (see Fig. 3), comprising:
a transceiver (see Fig. 3, element 310);
one or more memories configured to, individually or in combination, store instructions (see Fig. 3); and
one or more processors communicatively coupled with the one or more memories, wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to (see Fig. 3):
receive a configuration for a unified transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state that includes a TCI state identifier and a path loss reference signal (PLRS) identifier (see paragraphs [0004], [0005], [0007], and [0063], to an indication of UL parameters and pathloss reference signal (PL-RS) induced in or associated with TCI state. The UE includes a transceiver configured to receive configuration information for TCI states, configuration information for a number of entries, wherein each of the number of entries includes an index and a number of parameters, information indicating associations between indexes for the number of entries and the TCI states, respectively, and a TCI state identifier (ID) for a first of the TCI states. One or more of the gNBs 101-103 includes circuitry, programing, or a combination thereof, for an indication or association of UL parameters and/or PL-RS in or with TCI state);
receive a PLRS associated with the PLRS identifier (see paragraphs [0079], [0176], and [0180], the processor 340 is also capable of executing other processes and programs resident in the memory 360, such as processes for an indication or association of UL parameters and/or PL-RS in or with TCI state. The UE expects, when the PL RS is not included/not associated/not linked in the TCI state, that the source RS is a periodic DL RS. If the source RS is not a periodic DL RS, it may depend on the UE's implementation to measure/estimate the pathloss. In a variant example, if the PL RS is not included/not associated/not linked in the TCI state, and the source RS is not a periodic RS, the UE doesn't report a pathloss measurement/estimate); and
transmit an uplink channel transmission associated with the PLRS and the TCI state identifier (see paragraphs [0178], and [0180], if the source RS for determining the UL spatial domain transmit filter, (e.g., source RS of QCL Type-D in the TCI state), is not a DL periodic RS, the UE uses the PL RS included in or associated with or linked to the TCI state for measuring/estimating the pathloss. A UE expects that for an UL TCI state or a Joint TCI state (as applicable), when the source RS for determining the UL spatial domain transmit filter, (e.g., source RS of QCL Type-D or spatial relation in the TCI state) is not a DL periodic RS, that a PL RS is included in, associated with or linked to the TCI state. The indication of a TCI state to the UE is an indication of the PL RS included in or associated with the TCI state. The UE applies the PL RS in response to the TCI state indication).
In regard claim 27, Farag teaches or discloses the apparatus of claim 26, wherein the uplink channel transmission corresponds to at least one of an uplink control channel, an uplink shared channel, or a sounding reference signal (see paragraphs [0089], [0113], and [0117], the unified (master or main) TCI state is TCI state of UE-dedicated reception on PDSCH/ PDCCH or UE-dedicated transmission on dynamic-grant/configured-grant based PUSCH and all of dedicated PUCCH resources. The unified (master or main) TCI can also apply to other DL and/or UL channels and/or signals e.g., non-UE dedicated channel and sounding reference signal (SRS)).
In regard claim 28, Farag teaches or discloses the apparatus of claim 26, wherein the PLRS identifier indicates a PLRS from a common PLRS list, wherein the common PLRS list indicates a common PLRS for any uplink channel transmission (see paragraph [0260], a network configures a list (array) of the UL transmission parameters, e.g., power control parameters and/or PL-RS and/or time alignment offset (TA offset). A TCI state is linked or associated to an element of the List or array for power control parameters and/or PL-RS and/or time alignment offset (TA offset)).
In regard claim 31, Farag teaches or discloses the apparatus of claim 26, wherein the PLRS identifier indicates a PLRS from a PLRS list specific to a type of the uplink channel transmission (see paragraph [0260], a network configures a list (array) of the UL transmission parameters, e.g., power control parameters and/or PL-RS and/or time alignment offset (TA offset). A TCI state is linked or associated to an element of the List or array for power control parameters and/or PL-RS and/or time alignment offset (TA offset)).
In regard claim 32, Farag teaches or discloses the apparatus of claim 31, wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to receive one or more other configurations of multiple PLRS lists, each of the multiple PLRS lists being for one of multiple types of uplink channel transmissions, wherein the one or more other configurations include the PLRS list specific to the type of the uplink channel transmission (see paragraph [0260], a network configures a list (array) of the UL transmission parameters, e.g., power control parameters and/or PL-RS and/or time alignment offset (TA offset). A TCI state is linked or associated to an element of the List or array for power control parameters and/or PL-RS and/or time alignment offset (TA offset)).
In regard claim 36, Farag teaches or discloses the apparatus of any of claim 26, wherein the PLRS is one of a synchronization signal block (SSB) signal or a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) (see paragraph [0450], a PLRS may be included in the first TCI state or associated with the first TCI state. Alternatively, a Type-D QCL source reference signal included in the first TCI state is used as a pathloss reference signal. The Type-D QCL or spatial relation source reference signal is one of a SSB or a NZP CSI-RS).
In regard claim 37, Farag teaches or discloses an apparatus for wireless communication (see Fig. 3), comprising:
a transceiver (see Fig. 3, element 310);
one or more memories configured to, individually or in combination, store instructions (see Fig. 3); and
one or more processors communicatively coupled with the one or more memories, wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to (see Fig. 3):
transmit a configuration for a unified transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state that includes a TCI state identifier and a path loss reference signal (PLRS) identifier (see paragraphs [0118], [0122], [0176], [0177], [0178], [0179], [0336], [0337], and [0338], signaling mechanisms for UL transmission related parameters associated with or linked to a TCI state: (1) signaling of a PL-RS associated with or linked to a TCI State; and/or (2) signaling of UL parameters that are associated with, linked to or depend on a TCI state);
transmit a PLRS associated with on the PLRS identifier (see paragraph [0260], a network configures a list (array) of the UL transmission parameters, e.g., power control parameters and/or PL-RS and/or time alignment offset (TA offset). A TCI state is linked or associated to an element of the List or array for power control parameters and/or PL-RS and/or time alignment offset (TA offset).
receive an uplink channel transmission associated with the PLRS and the TCI state identifier (see paragraphs [0325] – [0338]).
In regard claim 38, Farag teaches or discloses the apparatus of claim 37, wherein the uplink channel transmission corresponds to at least one of an uplink control channel, an uplink shared channel, or a sounding reference signal (see paragraphs [0089], [0113], and [0117], the unified (master or main) TCI state is TCI state of UE-dedicated reception on PDSCH/ PDCCH or UE-dedicated transmission on dynamic-grant/configured-grant based PUSCH and all of dedicated PUCCH resources. The unified (master or main) TCI can also apply to other DL and/or UL channels and/or signals e.g., non-UE dedicated channel and sounding reference signal (SRS)).
In regard claim 39, Farag teaches or discloses the apparatus of claim 37, wherein the PLRS identifier indicates a PLRS from a common PLRS list, wherein the common PLRS list indicates a common PLRS for any uplink channel transmission (see paragraph [0260], a network configures a list (array) of the UL transmission parameters, e.g., power control parameters and/or PL-RS and/or time alignment offset (TA offset). A TCI state is linked or associated to an element of the List or array for power control parameters and/or PL-RS and/or time alignment offset (TA offset)).
In regard claim 42, Farag teaches or discloses the apparatus of claim 37, wherein the PLRS identifier indicates a PLRS from a PLRS list specific to a type of the uplink channel transmission (see paragraph [0260], a network configures a list (array) of the UL transmission parameters, e.g., power control parameters and/or PL-RS and/or time alignment offset (TA offset). A TCI state is linked or associated to an element of the List or array for power control parameters and/or PL-RS and/or time alignment offset (TA offset)).
In regard claim 47, Farag teaches or discloses the apparatus of claim 37, wherein the PLRS is one of a synchronization signal block (SSB) signal or a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) (see paragraph [0450], a PLRS may be included in the first TCI state or associated with the first TCI state. Alternatively, a Type-D QCL source reference signal included in the first TCI state is used as a pathloss reference signal. The Type-D QCL or spatial relation source reference signal is one of a SSB or a NZP CSI-RS).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 29-30, 33-34, 35, 41, and 43-36 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Date: 12/27/2025
/PHIRIN SAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476