DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, claims 82-86, 88-91, 94 in the reply filed on 11/10/25 is acknowledged.
Claims 62-64, 66-67, 70-74 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/10/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 84-85, 90-91 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 84-85: “second” raised platform is indefinite, since no first platform is recited. Note that claim 84 does not depend from claim 83, where a first platform was recited.
Claim 90: Unclear what is being further added, since the top surface is already opposite to the skin facing surface where the heating pad is located.
Claim 90 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 90: Does not further limit the subject matter.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claims 82-86, 88-91, 94 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101).
Claim 82 recites “wherein in a secured orientation, the electrode is positioned closer to a hand of the user than the heating pad”, which would encompass a human organism within the scope of an apparatus claim, since this limitation cannot be met without the hand of the user. Examiner suggests reciting only device structures relative to other device structures, e.g. the electrode and heating pad are aligned perpendicular to the band, or similar phrasing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 82, 84-86, 88, 94 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peeters (US 10,448,843) in view of Hatschek (US 5,299,570).
Regarding claim 82, Peeters discloses substantially the same invention as claimed (Figures 1A and 3 shown above for example), including a wrist wearable physiological monitoring device (Figures 1A, 3; abstract) comprising a body comprising a skin facing surface, said skin facing surface comprising a heating pad (Figure 1A: 140; Figure 3: 380) wherein said skin facing surface further comprises an electrode (Col. 14, lines 33-61), and a band configured to secure the body to a wrist of a user (Figure 3), wherein in a secured orientation, the electrode is positioned closer to a hand of the user than the heating pad (Figures 1A-C: in light of the 101 above, although Peeters shows the heating element closer to the hand than the electrical temperature sensor, the band can be worn in either orientation, and Peeters meets the structural limitation such that the electrode and heating pad are aligned perpendicular to the band; Col. 15, lines 54+: additional upstream electrical temperature sensors also read upon the recited intended use).
Further regarding claim 82, Peeters discloses additional sensors may be included, including optical sensors (Col. 20, line 53+). Peeters does not disclose where the sensors are located, and does not specifically disclose the heating pad including a plurality of openings configured to provide access to one or more sensor components. However, Hatschek teaches sensor components arranged within a plurality of openings of a heating pad (Figures 1, 2: light emitter zone 31 and light reception zone 41), in order to perform optical sensor measurements augmented by heat. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Peeters as taught by Hatschek to include the a plurality of openings in the heating pad configured to provide access to one or more sensor components as recited, in order to perform optical sensor measurements augmented by heat.
Regarding claims 84-85, Peeters discloses the electrode is positioned on a raised platform (Col. 14, lines 55-56) separate from the heating pad (Figure 3) as recited.
Regarding claim 86, Peeters or Hatschek do not disclose a length larger than a width as recited. However, absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration is significant, changes in shape are considered an obvious matter of design choice. See In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) and MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Peeters and Hatschek to include a length and width as recited, since such a modification would have amounted to merely an obvious matter of design choice.
Regarding claim 88, Peeters discloses a top surface comprising an indicator as recited (Figure 3).
Regarding claim 94, Peeters discloses an electrode housing integrated with a buckle of the band (Figure 3).
Claim(s) 83 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peeters (US 10,448,843) and Hatschek (US 5,299,570) in view of Li (US 2018/0256100).
Regarding claim 83, Peeters or Hatschek do not disclose the heating pad is on a raised platform as recited. However, Li teaches a heating pad on a raised platform (Figure 4: 412B; Paragraph 50), in order to better contact the patient’s skin. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Peeters as taught by Hatschek to include a raised heating platform as recited, in order to better contact the patient’s skin.
Claim(s) 89-90 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peeters (US 10,448,843) and Hatschek (US 5,299,570) in view of Matsumara (US 5,050,612).
Regarding claims 89-90, Peeters discloses tracking ambient temperature (Col. 8, lines 21-22). Peeters does not disclose an ambient temperature sensor on the top surface as recited. However, Matsumara teaches a top surface of a wrist wearable physiological monitor including an ambient temperature sensor as recited (Figure 8: second temperature sensor), in order to more accurately determine the user’s temperature on the skin side of the device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Peeters and Hatschek as taught by Matsumara to include an ambient temperature sensor as recited, in order to more accurately determine the user’s temperature on the skin side of the device. The ambient temperature sensor on the top surface would be considered opposite to the heating pad on the skin facing surface.
Claim(s) 91 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peeters (US 10,448,843) and Hatschek (US 5,299,570) and Matsumara (US 5,050,612) in view of Tebben (US 2,169,904).
Regarding claim 91, Peeters or Hatschek or Matsumara do not disclose a spoke design to protect the temperature sensor as recited. However, Tebben teaches a spoke design for a temperature sensor (Figures 1-4), in order to protect the sensor from contact and allow air to circulate. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Peeters and Hatschek and Matsumara as taught by Tebben to include a spoke design as recited, in order to protect the sensor from contact and allow air to circulate.
Double Patenting
Claims 82-86, 88-91, 94 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over:
Claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,134,859
Claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,504,020
Claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,186,064
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the Patent anticipate the claims of the instant application.
Claims 82-86, 88-91, 94 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2-21 of copending Application No. 18/958,780 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the copending application anticipate the claims of the instant application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gupta (US 2020/0170521) shows a heating pad surrounding an optical sensor.
Smith (US 2020/0050248) shows a sensor with a heating pad (Figure 3C).
Smith (US 2022/0096317) shows electrodes on a heating pad and a sensor through a window on a heating pad.
/Eugene T Wu/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796