Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 6, 9-13, 17 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Mao et al. (CN112909445 A).
As to claim 1, Mao et al. discloses a method of manufacturing a battery, comprising:
preparing a battery housing (1) having an open end at a first side and a bottom having a through-hole at a second side opposite the first side (figure 1- the first side is the bottom side of the figure and the second side has a through hole the top of the figure);
fixing an electrode terminal to the through-hole (33-positive electrode external terminal [0053]);
preparing an electrode assembly including a first electrode tab (211 figures 1 and 2) having a first uncoated portion and a second electrode tab (221 (figures 1 and 4)) having a second uncoated portion at upper and lower parts, respectively;
inserting the electrode assembly into the battery housing (figure 1) through the opening at the first side of the battery housing such that the first electrode tab (211) faces the bottom of the battery housing;
electrically connecting the first electrode tab (211) to the electrode terminal (33) [0053]; and
covering the open end with a cap plate (43 battery cover [0054]).
As to claim 2, Mao et al. discloses he method according to claim 1, wherein the electrode terminal includes a terminal insertion portion (terminal 33), and
wherein the fixing the electrode terminal includes:
inserting the terminal insertion portion into the battery housing through the through-hole (figure 1) [0053];
placing an insulation gasket (6-insulating ring) between the electrode terminal (33) and the through-hole; and
performing plastic working on an end edge of the terminal insertion portion in a radial direction such that a diameter of the end edge is larger than a diameter of the through-hole (figure 1 depicts the edge of the terminal larger than the through hole).
As to claim 5, Mao et al. discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the preparing the electrode assembly comprises:
preparing a first electrode having the first uncoated portion at a long side end (figure 2) thereof and a second electrode having the second uncoated portion at a long side end (figure 4) thereof:
forming a plurality of cutout grooves [0062] in the first uncoated portion and the second uncoated portion along a winding direction of the electrode assembly to divide the first uncoated portion and the second uncoated portion into a plurality of sections [0062];
arranging the first electrode and the second electrode such that the first uncoated portion is opposite to the second uncoated portion in the axial direction (figure 1) and winding the first electrode and the second electrode with a separator interposed therebetween around an axis to form the electrode assembly in which a core and a circumferential surface of the electrode assembly are defined [0062]; and
bending each of the first uncoated portion (figure 3) and the second uncoated portion along a radial direction (figure 5) of the electrode assembly to form a bent surface region having a structure in which the uncoated portion is stacked in multiple layers along the axial direction (figures 3 and 5).
As to claim 6. Mao et al discloses the method according to claim 5, wherein the preparing the electrode assembly comprises coupling ([0053]-coupled by welded) a first current collector plate (32) to the bent surface region of the first uncoated portion (figure 3), and
wherein the electrically connecting the first electrode tab comprises coupling the electrode terminal to the first current collector plate to electrically connect the electrode terminal to the first electrode tab [0053].
As to claim 9, Mao et al. discloses the method according to claim 6, further comprising placing an insulator (34) between the first current collector plate (32) and an inner surface of the bottom of the battery housing (figure 1).
As to claim 10, Mao et al. discloses the method according to claim 9, further comprising, before the inserting the electrode assembly:
preparing the insulator (34) to have a through-hole at a center (figure 8) and a shape corresponding to the inner surface of the bottom of the battery housing (figure 1); and
installing the insulator on the inner surface of the bottom of the battery housing such that the through-hole of the insulator surrounds a fixed part of the electrode terminal (figure 1, [0053]).
As to claim 11, Mao et al. discloses the method according to claim 9, further comprising, before inserting the electrode assembly:
preparing the insulator (34) to have a through-hole (figure 8) at a center and a shape corresponding to the inner surface of the bottom of the battery housing (figure 1); and
fixing the insulator (34) onto the first current collector plate (32) such that the through-hole of the insulator is located at the core of the electrode assembly [0053] (figure 1).
As to claim 12, Mao et al. discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
coupling a second current collector plate (42) to the second electrode tab (221) of the electrode assembly (2); and
coupling (welded) at least part of the second current collector plate (42) to an inner surface of the battery housing [0054].
As to claim 13, Mao et al. the method according to claim 12, further comprising:
pressing an outer circumferential surface of the open end of the battery housing inward to form a beading portion (figure 1-see the beaded area);
welding at least part of the second current collector plate to the second electrode tab (221, [0054]); and
contacting a predetermined area of an edge of the second current collector plate to an inner surface of the beading portion (see figure 1).
As to claim 16, Mao et al. discloses the method of according to claim 13, further comprising:
placing a sealing gasket (5-[0023]) between an edge of the cap plate (battery cover) and the open end of the battery housing (figure 1); and
bending the open end of the battery housing in a centripetal direction to form a crimping portion to fix the edge of the cap plate and the sealing gasket at the first end (see figure 1-0054).
As to claim 17, Mao et al. discloses the method according to claim 16, wherein the crimping portion compresses the sealing gasket to bring the predetermined area and the inner surface of the beading portion into contact with each other (see figure 1).
As to claim 22, Mao et al. discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the preparing the battery housing comprises attaching a sidewall to a plate to define the open end and the bottom (figure 1 depicts the bottom and the sidewall).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mao et al. (CN112909445 A) in view of Okutani et al. (US 8439983 B2).
As to claims 3 and 4, Mao et al. discloses the terminal is placed through the through hole but does not disclose the performing plastic working comprises applying pressure to the end edge along an axial direction of the electrode assembly using a jig or the performing plastic working compresses the insulation gasket onto an inner surface of the bottom of the battery housing by the end edge.
Okutani et al. discloses a battery and teaches the use of a jig (pressing die A as seen in figures 3-4) to deform the terminal by applying a pressure to the edge along an axial direction and by this action of the pressing die the insulation gasket (20-spacer) will be compressed to the inner surface of the bottom of the housing (see figure 4 and 3) (col. 9 lines 8-27).
By using this system to form the terminal and welding there is sufficient battery is sealed (col. 3 lines 7-12) thus alleviating an increasing in the internal resistance triggered by poor welding (col. 4 lines 22-28).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to use a die to apply pressure to the edge of the terminal in order to seal the battery and alleviate an increasing in the internal resistance.
Claim(s) 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mao et al. (CN112909445 A) in view of Lee et al. (KR 20170050440 ).
As to claims 7 and 8, Mao discloses the method according to claim 6, but not as two the coupling the first electrode terminal comprises welding the electrode terminal to the first current collector plate using a hollow at a core of the electrode assembly or wherein the welding the first electrode terminal comprises irradiating a welding laser toward a welding area of the first current collector plate facing the electrode terminal through the hollow at the core of the electrode assembly.
Lee discloses a battery with a jelly roll electrode assembly and teaches using a laser welding device to connect the electrode tab to the inner surface of the battery case (abstract). Lee discloses by using this welding technique, provide a welding device capable of ensuring uniformity in welding performance and quality, reducing the cost of replacing consumables, and decreasing manufacturing process time.[0013]
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mao et al. (CN112909445 A) in view of Liu et al. (CN 113346201A)
As to claims 14 and 15, Mao et al. discloses the method according to claim 13, but does not disclose further comprising bending an edge area of the second current collector plate adjacent to the predetermined area such that the predetermined area contacts the inner surface of the beading portion or, further comprising welding the predetermined area to the inner surface of the beading portion.
Liu et al. discloses a battery and teaches he cover plate 4 and the housing 1 are connected by a groove. The periphery of the cover plate 4 and the housing 1 are sealed and fixedly connected by a sealing ring 8. The sealing ring 8 covers the periphery of the cover plate 4. The housing 1 is pressed inward by the outer surface of the sealing ring 8 to press the sealing ring 8 and the cover plate 4 together and seal them. Only the cover plate, the sealing ring 8 and the housing are involved in the sealing part.[0061]. the negative electrode current collector 6 and the cover plate 4 are not connected, the cover plate 4 is not energized, and the casing 1 and the negative electrode current collector 6 are in contact and connected, thus serving as the negative electrode connection terminal.[0062].
The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc.(see MPEP § 2143, B.). In this case, making the case the contact as an alternative to having the cap plate as the electrical contact.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mao et al. (CN112909445 A) in view of Song et al. (CN 212182379 U)
As to claim 18, Mao et al. discloses the method according to claim 1,but does not further comprising forming a venting groove in at least one of two opposing surfaces of the cap plate.
Song et al. discloses a battery housing and teaches the bottom cover 31 has a bottom pressure relief. Song et al. further teaches When the internal pressure of the battery exceeds the set value during use, the internal gas passes through the aluminum perforated plate 34 and acts on the thin aluminum sheet 32, causing the thin aluminum sheet 32 to deform outward from the battery, breaking the current path between the bottom cover 31 and the aluminum perforated plate 34, stopping all charging and discharging processes, and reducing the risk of further battery runaway, as shown in Figure 5; when the internal pressure of the battery continues to increase, the thin aluminum sheet 32 and the bottom cover 31 rupture at the connection point, releasing the pressure, as shown in Figure 6. [0032]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to include the pressure relief at the bottom of the case because this would relieve the pressure of the battery [0032].
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mao et al. (CN112909445 A) in view of Ozaki et al. (US 5344724)
As to claim 19, Mao et al. discloses the method according to claim 1, but not further comprising, before closing the open end: orienting the battery housing such that the bottom of the battery housing faces a ground; and injecting an electrolyte into the battery housing.
Ozaki et al. discloses a secondary cell and teaches the addition of the electrolyte prior to closing the cap plate (col. 8 lines 57-65).
The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results (see MPEP § 2143, A.). In this case the addition of the electrolyte allows the ions to move within the cell.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mao et al. (CN112909445 A) in view of Wynn et al. (US 2017/0256769 A1)
As to claim 20, Mao et al. discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising, after closing the open end: but not orienting the battery housing such that the bottom of the battery housing faces upward; connecting a bus bar to at least one of the electrode terminal and the bottom of the battery housing.
Wynn discloses a battery pack and teaches using a bus bar to connect batteries to obtain the desired voltage and capacity [0033].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to make a battery pack with multiple cells which are connected by bus bars to obtain the desired voltage and capacity.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mao et al. (CN112909445 A) in view of Watanabe et al. (US 2015/0280176 A1)
As to claim 21, Mao et al. discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the preparing the battery housing but does not disclose comprises a drawing process to form the bottom of the battery housing.
Watanabe et al. discloses the a battery cell housing and teaches the drawing process makes the closed portion 11B thicker than the side wall portion 11C in the case body 11 [0023]. Watanabe teaches to suppress a decrease in strength because of the thinness of the case body caused by the formation of the reduced-diameter portion in comparison with a configuration in which a step is formed at a position nearer an opening than a thick portion. [0017].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art the time the application was filed to make the case by the drawing process thus allowing the case to have strength.
Conclusion
/Maria Laios/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1727