DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 23-33 in the reply filed on 17 July 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the European examiner did not require restriction, and that the review of all claims would not pose an undue burden. This is not found persuasive because the actions of the European patent office are not dispositive. Further, lack of undue burden is not a requirement for restriction under the unity of invention standard.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 34-44 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 17 July 2026.
Claim Objections
Claims 23-33 are objected to because of the following informalities: “thirdpolyisocyanate” in line 10 requires a space. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 23-26, 28, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP 2341110 A1 (“Itoya”).
As to claim 23-26 and 28, Itoya teaches a polyurethane synthesis by reacting IPDI, isophorone diisocyanate, which is an aliphatic polyisocyanate having NCO functionality of 2 as required by claims 23 and 25, with DMPA, dimethyolpropionic acid, an aliphatic polyol having OH functionality of 2 and one COOH group and average molecular weight below 500 g/mol as required by claims 23 and 26, to form a reaction product, with a reaction index of 0.760 as required by claims 23 and 24 (Itoya, para. 0071, 0074, showing calculation of reaction index in same manner as recited for claim 23), and therefore teaches step (i) producing first composition C1.
Itoya teaches reacting this composition with poly(oxatetramethylene)glycol, a polyether polyol carrying no COOH groups (para. 0087) as required by claims 23 and 28. The resulting product is a polyurethane having COOH groups, which is subsequently formed into an aqueous composition (para. 0087). Step (iii) is optional.
As to claim 31, in the first step of Itoya, it is calculated that 1 mol OH is obtained from dimethyolpropionic acid (para. 0071), and in the second step, 243 g of poly(tetramethylene)glycol havin OH equivalent weight of 173 is added (para. 0087), and thus the ratio of hydroxyl groups of BX to hydroxyl groups of B2 is calculated as 1.4/1, which Is within the recited range.
Claim(s) 23-28 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2007/0265389 (“Dorr”).
As to claims 23-26, Dorr teaches a process for preparing an aqueous dispersion of a polyurethane (abstract). Example 3 of Dorr teaches a first step or reacting reacting a polyisocyanate with a hydroxycarboxylic acid, preferably dimethylolpropionic acid, and optionally other polyols (paras. 0040-0043), which meets step (i) forming a first composition C1 as recited.
Dorr further teaches reacting this composition with at least one second polyol and optionally polyisocyanates (paras. 0043-0047), which meets step (ii) to form second composition C2. Dorr further teaches converting by reacting with a polyisocyanate (paras. 0047-0049), thus forming composition C3.
Dorr teaches the resulting polyurethane is carboxyl functional (para. 0037).
Example 3 of Dorr (para. 0106) teaches as a first step reacting 40.2 g dimethyolpropionic acid, an aliphatic polyol having OH functionality of 2 and one COOH group and a number average molecular weight below 500 g/mol as required by claim 26, with 44.21 g isophorone diisocyanate, a polyisocyanate as required by claim 1, having a functionality of 2 as required by claim 25. It is calculated that the ratio of initial NCO groups to OH groups of this reaction mixture is 0.6667. Dorr teaches the first reaction goes to completion, such that no NCO groups are detected, such that the reaction rate is calculated as 1.000. As such, the reaction index of the first step of Example 3 is calculated as 0.6667, which is within the range of claims 23 and 24.
As to claims 27 and 28, example 3 of Dorr teaches a second polyol B2 a polyester of adipic acid and 1,6-hexanediol (para. 0106), which would be expected to provide polyesters having OH functionality of 2, no COOH group, and molecular weight of 840.
As to claim 33, example 3 of Dorr teaches three step synthesis, where the recited ratio is calculated as 1/1.47, which is within the recited range.
Claim(s) 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2007/0265389 (“Dorr”) as evidenced by US 2007/0004856 (“Mazanek”) and US 2014/0295724 (“Sworen”).
The second references are used to show that a recited limitation is inherent in the primary reference. See MPEP 2131.01.
As to claim 29, the discussion of Dorr with respect to claim 23 is incorporated by reference. Dorr teaches a third step of reacting with a polyisocyanate, and in example 3 uses Desmodur Z 4470 M/X (para. 0106), which is an aliphatic polyisocyanate (para. 0099). While the functionality is not explicitly stated by Dorr, it is known that this material is a trimer of isophorone diisocyanate, which would be expected to have an isocyanate functionality of 3, as evidenced by Mazanek, para. 0072, and Sworen, paras. 0061-0062.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2007/0265389 (“Dorr”).
As to claim 30, the discussion of Dorr with respect to claim 23 is incorporated by reference. Example 3 of Dorr does not exemplify the recited ratio in step 1. However, Dorr generally teaches throughout the process of maintaining a ratio of isocyanate to hydroxyl group of 0.5 to 5:1 (para. 0050), which includes values within the recited range, in particular 0.9 to 0.94, which would provide the recited reaction ratio when reacted fully. As such, modifying the method of Dorr, including in the recited NCO/OH ratio and reaction index, is an obvious modification within the ranges suggested by Dorr.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 32 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art, including Dorr, does not teach or suggest the recited relationship between initial NCO content in step 1 and NCO content in a third step.
Conclusion
/KREGG T BROOKS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764