DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 5, 7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “preferably” and substantially” in claim 4,5, 7 and 13 are a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The terms are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over WO (2017/019924).
WO ‘924 (claim 1 and page 12, lines 5-27) a unit-dose laundry detergent, wherein the detergent composition is encapsulated in a water-soluble film comprising polyvinyl alcohol. The encapsulated laundry detergent comprises (D1, table 1, detergent composition 1) among others: 4.5 wt% C12-14 fatty alcohol ethoxylate with 7 EO units, 29.7 wt% linear alkylbenzene sulfonate (LAS), 12.1 wt% C12-14 ethoxylated alkyl sulfate with 3 EO units, 9.5 wt% water.
As this reference teach all of the instantly required it is considered anticipatory.
In the alternative that the above disclosure is insufficient to anticipate the above listed claims, it would have nonetheless been obvious to the skilled artisan to produce the claimed composition, as the reference teaches each of the claimed ingredients within the claimed proportions for the same utility.
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over WO (2013/043857).
WO ‘857 discloses (example 4, composition F) a liquid laundry detergent comprising among others (in the second compartment): 20 wt% isoprenoid surfactant, in particular C16 alkyl ether sulfate with 2 EO units, 1 wt% non-isoprenoid surfactant, in particular a mixture of C16 alkyl ether sulfates with 4 EO units, 10 wt% non-isoprenoid surfactant, in particular bio-based C12-16 alkyl ether sulfate with 1 EO unit, the balance of ca. 78 wt% being water.
As this reference teach all of the instantly required it is considered anticipatory.
In the alternative that the above disclosure is insufficient to anticipate the above listed claims, it would have nonetheless been obvious to the skilled artisan to produce the claimed composition, as the reference teaches each of the claimed ingredients within the claimed proportions for the same utility.
“The Patent Office bears a lesser burden of proof in making out a case of prima facie obviousness for product-by-process claims because of their peculiar nature” than when a product is claimed in the conventional fashion. In re Fessmann, 489 F.2d 742, 744, 180 USPQ 324, 326 (CCPA 1974). Once the examiner provides a rationale tending to show that the claimed product appears to be the same or similar to that of the prior art, although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product.
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102((a)(1)) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Greenwood et al, WO 2020/057845. Greenwood et al, WO 2020/057845, discloses a liquid laundry composition comprising 5-10% by weight of water (see abstract and page 2, lines 33-36), 3% by weight of an anionic surfactant (see page 4, lines 11-14), 2-25% by weight of a nonionic surfactant that contains 8-22 carbon atoms in the alkyl chain and 2-40 moles of ethylene oxide, which is obtained from a green source of carbon (see page 4, line 16-page 5, line 11), that the alcohol ethoxylates are prepared from primary sugars, biomass, waste plastics, municipal solid waste, marine carbon, waste oils, methane capture, and carbon capture (see page 5, line 13-page 8, line 24), and that the composition further contains free perfume and perfume microcapsules (see page 22, line 28-page 33, line 36), per the requirements of the instant invention. Specifically, note Examples 1-2. Furthermore, with respect to instant claims 1-15, the examiner asserts that the subject matter would have been obvious to the skilled artisan because the patentability of a product by process claim does not depend on its method of production and where the examiner has found a similar product, the burden rests with the applicant to prove that that product is patentably distinct. See In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964 (CAFC 1985); In re Marosi et al, 218 USPQ 289; In re Pilkington, 162 USPQ 145. "The lack of physical description in a product-by-process claim makes the determination of the patentability of the claim more difficult, since in spite of the fact that the claim may recite only process limitations, it is the patentability of the product claimed and not the process that must be established. We are therefore of the opinion that when the prior art discloses a product which reasonably appears to be identical with or only slightly different than a product claimed in a product-by-process claim, a rejection based alternatively on either section 102 or 103 of the statute is eminently fair and acceptable. As a practical matter, the Patent Office is not equipped to manufacture products by the myriad processes put before it and then obtain prior art products and make physical comparisons therewith."
In re Brown, 173 USPQ 685,688 (CCPA 1972). Therefore, instant claims 1-15 are anticipated by Greenwood et al, WO 2020/057845.
In the alternative that the above disclosure is insufficient to anticipate the above listed claims, it would have nonetheless been obvious to the skilled artisan to produce the claimed composition, as the reference teaches each of the claimed ingredients within the claimed proportions for the same utility.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-15 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of copending Application No. 18/286,813; 18/286,787; 18/286,828; 18/286,313; 18/286, 825; 18/286,811 and claims 15-27 of 18/286,738; claims 16-28 18/286,731; and claims 1-13 18/286, 157 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because composition comprising an ethoxylated nonionic and anionic surfactant obtained from carbon capture, a fragrance, and adjunct ingredients.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/NECHOLUS OGDEN JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761