DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuo et al. (US 20180256434 A1), in view of Simmons (US 20140083289 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Matsuo discloses an artificial muscle actuator device (¶0060 discloses a muscle actuator 100) comprising: a first artificial muscle unit; a second artificial muscle unit (fig. 3 annotated below illustrates a first and second artificial muscle unit 10); wherein the artificial muscle actuator device is configured to be attached to a body part corresponding to a skeleton (fig. 3 illustrates a muscle actuator device attached to a leg/thigh) in which a first bone and a second bone are linked by a joint (fig. 3 illustrates a muscle actuator device attached to a body part in which a first and second bone, femur and tibia, are linked at the knee), and to perform a bending motion and a stretching motion with the first artificial muscle unit and the second artificial muscle unit (fig. 4b illustrates and ¶ 0022 discloses a first and second artificial muscle unit used to perform a bending motion/seating position and ¶ 0055 discloses the apparatus used in a standing/stretched position), the first artificial muscle unit includes a first balloon that is inflated and deflated by fluid pressure of a first working fluid (¶ 0039 discloses that an inner tube/balloon 11 expands when a pressurizing means is driven which supplied fluid into the inner tube/balloon), a first joining tube (fig. 3 illustrates a transfer tube/joining tube 40), and a first net that covers an outer periphery of the first balloon (figs. 1-2b illustrate an outer sleeve/net that covers the periphery of the balloon) and is attached to the body part (fig. 3 illustrates the entire muscle actuator device 100 attached to the body part), the second artificial muscle unit includes a second balloon (fig. 3 annotated below illustrates a second artificial muscle unit 10 including a second balloon) that is deflated and inflated by fluid pressure of a second working fluid (as applied above to the first artificial muscle unit ¶ 0039 discloses that an inner tube/balloon 11 expands when a pressurizing means is driven which supplied fluid into the inner tube/balloon), a second joining tube (fig. 3 illustrates a transfer tube/joining tube 40), and a second net that covers an outer periphery of the second balloon (as applied to the first artificial muscle unit figs. 1-2b illustrate an outer sleeve/net that covers the periphery of the balloon) and is attached to the body part (fig. 3 illustrates the entire muscle actuator device 100 attached to the body part). Matsuo fails to disclose an actuator unit, that the first joining tube joins the first balloon and the actuator unit to each other, that second joining tube joins the second balloon and the actuator unit to each other, and that the actuator unit includes a housing to which each of the first joining tube and the second joining tube is joined, a piston disposed in the housing, and a solenoid that moves the piston back and forth, and is configured to perform a first motion of pushing the first working fluid toward the first balloon and drawing the second working fluid from the second balloon via a forward movement of the piston, and a second motion of pushing the second working fluid toward the second balloon and drawing the first working fluid from the first balloon via a backward movement of the piston.
Simmons also discloses an artificial muscle actuator device (fig. 1 illustrates an artificial muscle actuator device) comprising: a first artificial muscle unit (32); a second artificial muscle unit (35), that a the artificial muscle actuator device is configured to be attached to a part in which a first bone and a second bone are linked by a joint (¶ 0020 discloses that the artificial muscle actuator of fig. 1 can be attached to joints of a robot’s arm or leg), the first artificial muscle unit (32) includes a first balloon that is inflated and deflated by fluid pressure of a first working fluid (¶ 0013 discloses that a tube 32 is inflated/contracts as it receives hydraulic fluid), a first joining tube (31), the second artificial muscle unit includes a second balloon that is deflated and inflated by fluid pressure of a second working fluid (¶ 0013 discloses that a tube 35 is deflated/relaxed as hydraulic fluid is transported out), and a second joining tube (34). Simmons teaches an actuator unit (10), that the first joining tube joins the first balloon and the actuator unit to each other (fig. 1 illustrates a first joining tube 31 that joins the first balloon 32 and the actuator unit 10 together), that second joining tube joins the second balloon and the actuator unit to each other (fig. 1 illustrates a second joining tube 34 that joins the second balloon 35 and the actuator unit 10 together), and that and the actuator unit includes a housing to which each of the first joining tube and the second joining tube is joined (fig. 1 illustrates a actuator unit 10 with housing 13 to which a first 31 and second 34 joining tube is joined), a piston disposed in the housing (fig. 1 illustrates a piston disposed in the housing 13), and a solenoid that moves the piston back and forth (fig. 1 illustrates a magnet 15, ¶ 0010 discloses a magnet with wire windings or a coil i.e. a solenoid, and ¶ 0013 discloses that the an applied current moves the coiled magnet/solenoid backwards or forwards thereby moving a piston 16/17 towards a piston seat 18/39), and is configured to perform a first motion of pushing the first working fluid toward the first balloon and drawing the second working fluid from the second balloon via a forward movement of the piston (¶ 0013 discloses that a first fluid is forced by a piston 17 through a tube 31 into the first balloon 32 and that fluid is drawn by piston 16 through a tube 34 out of the second balloon 35), and a second motion of pushing the second working fluid toward the second balloon and drawing the first working fluid from the first balloon via a backward movement of the piston (¶ 0015 discloses that the second fluid is forced by a piston 16 through a tube 34 into the second balloon 35 and that the fluid is drawn by piston 17 through a tube 31 out of the first balloon 32).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the artificial muscle actuator device of Matsuo of to include an actuator unit, that the first joining tube joins the first balloon and the actuator unit to each other, that second joining tube joins the second balloon and the actuator unit to each other, and that and the actuator unit includes a housing to which each of the first joining tube and the second joining tube is joined, a piston disposed in the housing, and a solenoid that moves the piston back and forth, and is configured to perform a first motion of pushing the first working fluid toward the first balloon and drawing the second working fluid from the second balloon via a forward movement of the piston, and a second motion of pushing the second working fluid toward the second balloon and drawing the first working fluid from the first balloon via a backward movement of the piston as taught by Simmons in order to have an arm and actuator perform functions such as that of a joint (Simmons ¶ 0021).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuo et al. (US 20180256434 A1) in view of Simmons (US 20140083289 A1), and Poul (CN 101878389 A).
Regarding claim 2, Matsuo discloses an artificial muscle actuator device (¶0060 discloses a muscle actuator 100) comprising: a first artificial muscle unit; a second artificial muscle unit (fig. 3 annotated above illustrates a first and second artificial muscle unit 10); and an actuator unit, wherein the artificial muscle actuator device is configured to be attached to a body part corresponding to a skeleton (fig. 3 illustrates a muscle actuator device attached to a leg/thigh) in which a first bone and a second bone are linked by a joint (fig. 3 illustrates a muscle actuator device attached to a body part in which a first and second bone, femur and tibia, are linked at the knee), and to perform a bending motion and a stretching motion with the first artificial muscle unit and the second artificial muscle unit (fig. 4b illustrates and ¶ 0022 discloses a first and second artificial muscle unit used to perform a bending motion/seating position and ¶ 0055 discloses the apparatus used in a standing/stretched position), the first artificial muscle unit includes a first balloon that is inflated and deflated by fluid pressure of a first working fluid (¶ 0039 discloses that an inner tube/balloon 11 expands when a pressurizing means is driven which supplied fluid into the inner tube/balloon), a first joining tube (fig. 3 illustrates a transfer tube/joining tube 40) that joins the first balloon and the actuator unit to each other, and a first net that covers an outer periphery of the first balloon (figs. 1-2b illustrate an outer sleeve/net that covers the periphery of the balloon) and is attached to the body part (fig. 3 illustrates the entire muscle actuator device 100 attached to the body part), the second artificial muscle unit includes a second balloon (fig. 3 annotated below illustrates a second artificial muscle unit 10 including a second balloon) that is deflated and inflated by fluid pressure of a second working fluid (as applied above to the first artificial muscle unit ¶ 0039 discloses that an inner tube/balloon 11 expands when a pressurizing means is driven which supplied fluid into the inner tube/balloon), a second joining tube (fig. 3 illustrates a transfer tube/joining tube 40) that joins the second balloon and the actuator unit to each other, and a second net that covers an outer periphery of the second balloon (as applied to the first artificial muscle unit figs. 1-2b illustrate an outer sleeve/net that covers the periphery of the balloon) and is attached to the body part (fig. 3 illustrates the entire muscle actuator device 100 attached to the body part).
Matsuo fails to disclose an actuator unit, and that an actuator unit includes a housing to which each of the first joining tube and the second joining tube is joined, a first piston disposed in the housing, a first solenoid that moves the first piston back and forth, a second piston disposed in the housing, and a second solenoid that moves the second piston back and forth, and is configured to perform a first motion of pushing the first working fluid toward the first balloon and drawing the second working fluid from the second balloon via a motion of separating the first piston and the second piston away from each other, and a second motion of pushing the second working fluid toward the second balloon and drawing the first working fluid from the first balloon via a motion of bringing the first piston and the second piston close to each other.
Simmons also discloses an artificial muscle actuator device (fig. 1 illustrates an artificial muscle actuator device) comprising: a first artificial muscle unit (32); a second artificial muscle unit (35), that a the artificial muscle actuator device is configured to be attached to a part in which a first bone and a second bone are linked by a joint (¶ 0020 discloses that the artificial muscle actuator of fig. 1 can be attached to joints of a robot’s arm or leg), the first artificial muscle unit (32) includes a first balloon that is inflated and deflated by fluid pressure of a first working fluid (¶ 0013 discloses that a tube 32 is inflated/contracts as it receives hydraulic fluid), a first joining tube (31), the second artificial muscle unit includes a second balloon that is deflated and inflated by fluid pressure of a second working fluid (¶ 0013 discloses that a tube 35 is deflated/relaxed as hydraulic fluid is transported out), and a second joining tube (34). Simmons teaches an actuator unit (10), the actuator unit including a housing (13) to which each of the first joining tube and second joining tube is joined (fig. 1 illustrates a first joining tube 31 that joins the first balloon 32 and a second joining tube 34 that joins the second balloon 35 that both join to an actuator unit 10). Simmons also teaches a piston disposed in the housing (fig. 1 illustrates a piston disposed in the housing 13). Simmons teaches a first piston disposed in the housing (fig. 1 illustrates a first piston 16 disposed in the housing 13), a solenoid that moves the first piston back and forth (fig. 1 illustrates a magnet 15, ¶ 0010 discloses a magnet with wire windings or a coil i.e. a solenoid, and ¶ 0013 discloses that an applied current moves the coiled magnet/solenoid backwards or forwards thereby moving a piston 16 towards a piston seat 39), and a second piston disposed in the housing (fig. 1 illustrates a first piston 17 disposed in the housing 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the artificial muscle actuator device of Matsuo of to include an actuator unit, the actuator unit including a housing to which each of the first joining tube and second joining tube is joined, a first piston disposed in the housing, a solenoid that moves the first piston back and forth, and a second piston disposed in the housing as taught by Simmons in order to have an arm and actuator perform functions such as that of a joint (Simmons ¶ 0021).
Matsuo in view of Simmons fails to disclose a second solenoid that moves the second piston back and forth, and that artificial muscle actuator is configured to perform a first motion of pushing the first working fluid toward the first balloon and drawing the second working fluid from the second balloon via a motion of separating the first piston and the second piston away from each other, and a second motion of pushing the second working fluid toward the second balloon and drawing the first working fluid from the first balloon via a motion of bringing the first piston and the second piston close to each other.
Poul discloses an actuator unit (fig. 6 illustrates at least one actuator unit 302/334), the actuator unit including a housing (annotated fig. 6 below illustrates actuator units 302/334 each with a housing), a first (314) and second piston (344) disposed in housings (see annotated fig. 6 below), and a solenoid that moves the piston back and forth (pg. 4 ¶ 8 discloses that valve regulation can be performed, i.e. movement of fluid by movement of pistons, using a solenoid valve). Poul teaches that the first (314) and second piston (344) are housed in two different actuator housings and may act independently (pg. 6 ¶ 7, i.e. use of two solenoid driven valves to drive the independent actuators 314/344 and their valve closing elements 310/340).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the artificial muscle actuator device of Matsuo in view of Simmons to include a second solenoid that moves the second piston back and forth as taught by Poul, in order to regulate hydraulic flow (Poul pg. 4 ¶ 8).
The artificial muscle actuator of Matsuo in view Simmons and further in view of Poul is capable of performing a first motion of pushing the first working fluid toward the first balloon and drawing the second working fluid from the second balloon via a motion of separating the first piston and the second piston away from each other, and a second motion of pushing the second working fluid toward the second balloon and drawing the first working fluid from the first balloon via a motion of bringing the first piston and the second piston close to each other given that the valve actuator system disclosed in Poul has the ability to pull working fluid into a reservoirs within the actuator housing and push working fluid from reservoirs within the actuator housing as well as its versatility in piston movement directions given that actuators may perform dependent or independent to each other.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuo et al. (US 20180256434 A1) and Simmons (US 20140083289 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Masayuki (JP 2017214966 A) and Greenhill (GB 2328981 A).
Regarding claim 3, Matsuo in view of Simmons discloses the invention as claimed as discussed with respect to claim 1. Matsuo further discloses a first and second balloon (see fig. 3 annotated above) and a first and second net (as applied above to claim 1 the artificial muscle unit figs. 1-2b illustrate an outer sleeve/net that covers the periphery of the plurality of balloon) but fails to disclose that both the first balloon and the second balloon are made of oil-resistant elastic rubber, that nets are made of synthetic-fiber cylindrical fabric, that the cylindrical fabric has a plurality of thread-like fibers each being pulled out from both end portions, and that the thread-like fibers are moveable with the cylindrical fabric. Masayuki also discloses muscle actuator device (pg. 3 ¶ 9) comprising a balloon (pg. 3 ¶ 8 discloses an expandable tube/balloon 110), and a net (120 net/knitted sleeve). Masayuki teaches that the balloon is made of an oil-resistant elastic rubber (pg. 3 ¶ 3 discloses that the expandable tube/balloon is made of an oil-resistant rubber) and that the net is made of synthetic-fiber cylindrical fabric (pg. 4 ¶ 6-7 disclose a net/knitted sleeve 120 made of a synthetic-fiber cylindrical fabric such as polyamide, PET, or PBO). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the artificial muscle actuator of Matsuo in view of Simmons to include a balloon made of an oil-resistant elastic rubber as taught by Masayuki in order to repeat contraction and expansion due to hydraulic oil (Masayuki pg. 4 ¶ 5) and a net made of synthetic-fiber cylindrical fabric in order to cover the outer surface of the tube and restrict contraction and expansion (Masayuki pg. 4 ¶ 6).
Matsuo in view of Simmons and further in view of Masayuki fails to disclose that the cylindrical fabric has a plurality of thread-like fibers each being pulled out from both end portions. Greenhill also discloses a muscle actuator device (pg. 2 ¶ 2 and ¶ 8 and fig. 1 disclose a muscle actuator device) comprising a balloon (fig. 4 illustrates an expandable vessel/balloon 3) and a net (fig. 4 illustrates a sheath/net 2). Greenhill teaches that a cylindrical fabric has a plurality of thread-like fibers each being pulled out from both end portions (fig. 1 illustrates a cylindrical fabric 2 with thread-like fibers being pulled out from both ends - see fig. 2 annotated below). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the artificial muscle actuator of Matsuo in view of Simmons in further view of Masayuki to include a cylindrical fabric with a plurality of thread-like fibers being pulled out from both end portions in order to provide a means of attachment to a structure which is to be acted on (Greenhill pg. 2 ¶ 4).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuo et al. (US 20180256434 A1), Simmons (US 20140083289 A1), Masayuki (JP 2017214966 A), and Greenhill (GB 2328981 A) as applied to claim 3 above, further in view of Sugawara (US 20150252821 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Matsuo in view of Simmons, Masayuki, and Greenhill disclose the invention as claimed as discussed with respect to claim 3.
Simmons further discloses a first and second working fluid (¶ 0013 discloses that a first fluid is forced by a piston and ¶ 0015 discloses that the second fluid is forced by a piston 16). Masayuki further teaches working fluids that are flame-retardant working oils (pg. 8 ¶ 9 discloses that a working fluid or hydraulic fluid is flame-retardant). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the muscle actuator device of Matsuo in view of Simmons, Masayuki, and Greenhill to include a first working fluid and the second working fluid are flame-retardant working oils as taught by Masayuki in order to drive the actuator (pg. 8 ¶ 9).
Matsuo further discloses a first and second net (figs. 1-2b illustrate an outer sleeve/net 12 that covers the periphery of the balloon). Masayuki further teaches nets made of carbon fiber, polyester fiber, or polyamide fiber (pg. 4 ¶ 6-7 disclose a net/knitted sleeve 120 made of a synthetic-fiber cylindrical fabric such as polyamide). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the muscle actuator device of Matsuo in view of Simmons, Masayuki, and Greenhill to include a first net and the second net are made of carbon fiber, polyester fiber, or polyamide fiber as taught by Masayuki in order to regulate the expansion motion of a tube within a predetermined range by use of high-strength fibers (pg. 2 ¶ 3).
Matsuo further discloses a first and second balloon (fig. 3 annotated above illustrates a first a second balloon 11). Matsuo in view of Simmons further in view of Masayuki and further in view of Greenhill fail to disclose that the first and second balloon are made of silicone rubber, fluororubber, urethane rubber, or natural rubber. Sugawara also discloses a muscle actuator device (¶ 0004 discloses hydraulic actuator in fig. 1a as being related to an actuator for artificial muscles). Sugawara teaches balloons made of made of silicone rubber, fluororubber, urethane rubber, or natural rubber (¶ 0063 discloses a tubular body made of rubber and ¶ 0082 discloses that the rubber may be selected from a list of examples including silicone rubber, fluorine rubber, urethane rubber, or natural rubber). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the muscle actuator device of Matsuo in view of Simmons, Masayuki, and Greenhill to include a first balloon and second balloon made of silicone rubber, fluororubber, urethane rubber, or natural rubber as taught by Sugawara in order to form an elastic body that expands upon introducing fluid and contract in a longitudinal direction thereof (Sugawara ¶ 0004).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuo et al. (US 20180256434 A1) and Simmons (US 20140083289 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Walsh (US 20160346156 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Matsuo in view of Simmons disclose the invention as claimed as discussed with respect to claim 1. Matsuo further discloses a first attachment tool (21) that attaches, to the body part, a first connection portion of the first joining tube with a first end portion of the first net on a rear end side of the first net (fig. 3 illustrates a first attachment tool 21 attached to the waist of the body with a first connection portion of the first joining tube with a first end portion of the first net and fig. 4a illustrates the connection of the attachment tool on the rear end side of the first net 12) and a second connection portion of the second joining tube with a third end portion of the second net on a rear end side of the second net (fig. 3 illustrates a first attachment tool attached to the body as previously described and further that the a second connection portion of the second joining tube with a third end portion of the second net and fig. 4a as previously described illustrates the connection of the attachment tool on the rear end side of a net). Matsuo further discloses a second attachment tool (22) that attaches, to the body part, a second end portion of the first net and a fourth end portion of the second net (fig. 3 illustrates a second attachment tool 21 attached to the knee in which the second end of the first net and the fourth end of the second net are attached). Matsuo in view of Simmons fails to disclose that the attachment tool attaches to the second and fourth net ends specifically on their front sides.
Walsh also teaches an artificial muscle actuator device (¶ 0050 discloses a wearable device that includes embedded actuation to monitor or assist a toddler’s movement). Walsh discloses that any force transmission element may be attached/strapped to the body on its front side (¶ 0091 discloses and fig. 8 illustrates an attachment tool 801 attached to the body and attached to the front side of a force transmission element 803). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the artificial muscle actuator device of Matsuo in view of Simmons to include a second attachment tool that attaches to the body part, a second end portion of the first net and a fourth end portion of the second net specifically on their front end sides as taught by Walsh in order to form a wearable garment (Walsh ¶ 0090).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuo et al. (US 20180256434 A1), Simmons (US 20140083289 A1), and Poul (CN 101878389 A) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Masayuki (JP 2017214966 A) and Greenhill (GB 2328981 A).
Regarding claim 6, Matsuo in view of Simmons and Poul disclose the invention as claimed as discussed with respect to 2. Matsuo further discloses a first and second balloon (see fig. 3 annotated above) and a first and second net (as applied above to claim 1 the artificial muscle unit figs. 1-2b illustrate an outer sleeve/net that covers the periphery of the plurality of balloon) but fails to disclose that both the first balloon and the second balloon are made of oil-resistant elastic rubber, that nets are made of synthetic-fiber cylindrical fabric, that the cylindrical fabric has a plurality of thread-like fibers each being pulled out from both end portions, and that the thread-like fibers are moveable with the cylindrical fabric.
Masayuki also discloses muscle actuator device (pg. 3 ¶ 9) comprising a balloon (pg. 3 ¶ 8 discloses an expandable tube/balloon 110), and a net (120 net/knitted sleeve). Masayuki teaches that the balloon is made of an oil-resistant elastic rubber (pg. 3 ¶ 3 discloses that the expandable tube/balloon is made of an oil-resistant rubber) and that the net is made of synthetic-fiber cylindrical fabric (pg. 4 ¶ 6-7 disclose a net/knitted sleeve 120 made of a synthetic-fiber cylindrical fabric such as polyamide, PET, or PBO). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the artificial muscle actuator of Matsuo in view of Simmons to include a balloon made of an oil-resistant elastic rubber as taught by Masayuki in order to repeat contraction and expansion due to hydraulic oil (Masayuki pg. 4 ¶ 5) and a net made of synthetic-fiber cylindrical fabric in order to cover the outer surface of the tube and restrict contraction and expansion (Masayuki pg. 4 ¶ 6).
Matsuo in view of Simmons and further in view of Masayuki fails to disclose that the cylindrical fabric has a plurality of thread-like fibers each being pulled out from both end portions. Greenhill also discloses a muscle actuator device (pg. 2 ¶ 2 and ¶ 8 and fig. 1 disclose a muscle actuator device) and that comprising a balloon (fig. 4 illustrates an expandable vessel/balloon 3) and a net (fig. 4 illustrates a sheath/net 2). Greenhill teaches that a cylindrical fabric has a plurality of thread-like fibers each being pulled out from both end portions (fig. 1 illustrates a cylindrical fabric 2 with thread-like fibers being pulled out from both ends - see fig. 2 annotated above). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the artificial muscle actuator of Matsuo in view of Simmons in further view of Masayuki to include a cylindrical fabric with a plurality of thread-like fibers being pulled out from both end portions as taught by Greenhill in order to provide a means of attachment to a structure which is to be acted on (Greenhill pg. 2 ¶ 4).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuo et al. (US 20180256434 A1), Simmons (US 20140083289 A1), Poul (CN 101878389 A), Masayuki (JP 2017214966 A), and Greenhill (GB 2328981 A) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Sugawara (US 20150252821 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Matsuo in view of Simmons, Poul, Masayuki, and Greenhill disclose the invention as claimed as discussed with respect to claim 6. Simmons further discloses a first and second working fluid (¶ 0013 discloses that a first fluid is forced by a piston and ¶ 0015 discloses that the second fluid is forced by a piston 16). Masayuki further teaches working fluids that are flame-retardant working oils (pg. 8 ¶ 9 discloses that a working fluid or hydraulic fluid is flame-retardant). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the muscle actuator device of Matsuo in view of Simmons, Masayuki, and Greenhill to include a first working fluid and the second working fluid are flame-retardant working oils as taught by Masayuki in order to drive the actuator (pg. 8 ¶ 9).
Matsuo further discloses a first and second net (figs. 1-2b illustrate an outer sleeve/net 12 that covers the periphery of the balloon). Masayuki further teaches nets made of carbon fiber, polyester fiber, or polyamide fiber (pg. 4 ¶ 6-7 disclose a net/knitted sleeve 120 made of a synthetic-fiber cylindrical fabric such as polyamide). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the muscle actuator device of Matsuo in view of Simmons, Masayuki, and Greenhill to include a first net and the second net are made of carbon fiber, polyester fiber, or polyamide fiber as taught by Masayuki in order to regulate the expansion motion of a tube within a predetermined range by use of high-strength fibers (pg. 2 ¶ 3).
Matsuo further discloses a first and second balloon (fig. 3 annotated above illustrates a first a second balloon 11). Matsuo in view of Simmons further in view of Masayuki and further in view of Greenhill fail to disclose that the first and second balloon are made of silicone rubber, fluororubber, urethane rubber, or natural rubber. Sugawara also discloses a muscle actuator device (¶ 0004 discloses hydraulic actuator in fig. 1a as being related to an actuator for artificial muscles). Sugawara teaches balloons made of made of silicone rubber, fluororubber, urethane rubber, or natural rubber (¶ 0063 discloses a tubular body made of rubber and ¶ 0082 discloses that the rubber may be selected from a list of examples including silicone rubber, fluorine rubber, urethane rubber, or natural rubber). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the muscle actuator device of Matsuo in view of Simmons, Masayuki, and Greenhill to include a first balloon and second balloon made of silicone rubber, fluororubber, urethane rubber, or natural rubber as taught by Sugawara in order to form an elastic body that expands upon introducing fluid and contract in a longitudinal direction thereof (Sugawara ¶ 0004).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuo et al. (US 20180256434 A1), Simmons (US 20140083289 A1), and Poul (CN 101878389 A) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Walsh (US 20160346156 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Matsuo in view of Simmons and Poul disclose the invention as claimed as discussed with respect to claim 2. Matsuo further discloses a first attachment tool (21) that attaches, to the body part, a first connection portion of the first joining tube with a first end portion of the first net on a rear end side of the first net (fig. 3 illustrates a first attachment tool 21 attached to the waist of the body with a first connection portion of the first joining tube with a first end portion of the first net and fig. 4a illustrates the connection of the attachment tool on the rear end side of the first net 12) and a second connection portion of the second joining tube with a third end portion of the second net on a rear end side of the second net (fig. 3 illustrates a first attachment tool attached to the body as previously described and further that the a second connection portion of the second joining tube with a third end portion of the second net and fig. 4a as previously described illustrates the connection of the attachment tool on the rear end side of a net). Matsuo further discloses a second attachment tool (22) that attaches, to the body part, a second end portion of the first net and a fourth end portion of the second net (fig. 3 illustrates a second attachment tool 21 attached to the knee in which the second end of the first net and the fourth end of the second net are attached). Matsuo in view of Simmons and Poul fails to disclose that the attachment tool attaches to the second and fourth net ends specifically on their front sides.
Walsh also teaches an artificial muscle actuator device (¶ 0050 discloses a wearable device that includes embedded actuation to monitor or assist a toddler’s movement). Walsh discloses that any force transmission element may be attached/strapped to the body on its front side (¶ 0091 discloses and fig. 8 illustrates an attachment tool 801 attached to the body and attached to the front side of a force transmission element 803). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the artificial muscle actuator device of Matsuo in view of Simmons and Poul to include a second attachment tool that attaches to the body part, a second end portion of the first net and a fourth end portion of the second net specifically on their front end sides as taught by Walsh in order to form a wearable garment (Walsh ¶ 0090).
Conclusion
/A.G.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/MELANIE R TYSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774