DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendment filed on 11/5/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bauer (DE 4208812 and see also the machine translation).
Regarding claim 8, Bauer discloses a panel production method comprising (it being noted comprising is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements or method steps see MPEP 2111.03): transferring (e.g. at least via the rollers 11), in a transfer direction, a panel having a core member (2) that includes a thermoplastic resin and is formed in a corrugated shape (of a hexagonal honeycomb), and a first faceplate (3) that includes a thermoplastic resin, is formed in a plate shape, and is joined to a surface on a first side of the core member; supplying a second faceplate (4) toward a surface on a second side of the core member, the first and second sides of the core member being opposite sides, the second faceplate including a thermoplastic resin and being formed in a plate shape; heating at least one surface of respective surfaces of the core member and the second faceplate that face each other; and pressurizing and welding the core member of the panel and the second faceplate; wherein the heating is performed with a heating part (12), the pressurizing and welding is performed with a pressurizing part (15), and the heating part is disposed such that at least a portion of the heating part is arranged between the pressurizing part and the core member with respect to a vertical direction (Figure 2 and Abstract and Pages 4 and 5 of the machine translation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bauer in view of Park et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2005/0095405).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Bauer discloses a panel production device comprising: a transfer part (rollers 11 and considered the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof of rollers or belt) configured to transfer a first material or article worked upon (comprising 2 and 3) in a transfer direction; a second material or article worked upon (comprising 4) supplied toward a surface on a second side of the first material or article worked upon; a heating part (12 and regarding claim 2 wherein the heating part has a wedge shape that tapers toward a space between the first material or article worked upon and the second material or article worked upon) configured to heat at least one surface of respective surfaces of the first material or article worked upon and the second material or article worked upon that face each other; and a pressurizing part (15) configured to pressurize the first material or articled worked upon and the second material or article worked upon, wherein the heating part is disposed such that at least a portion of the heating part is arranged between the pressurizing part and the first material or article worked upon with respect to a vertical direction (Figure 2 and Abstract and Pages 4 and 5 of the machine translation).
As to the limitation in claim 1 of “a supply part configured to supply a second faceplate”, Bauer does not expressly teach a supply part configured to supply the second material or article worked upon (comprising 4) wherein guide roll(s) (16) is easily embodied by those skilled in the art for the purpose of gently guiding the second material or article worked (1) upon from a source as evidenced by Park (Paragraph 0034). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the device taught by Bauer further comprise a supply part (guide rolls 16 and considered the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof of rollers) configured to supply the second material or article worked upon toward the surface on the second side of the first material or article worked upon as is easily embodied by those skilled in the art for the purpose of gently guiding the second material or article worked upon from a source as evidenced by Park.
As to the limitations in claim 1 of to transfer “the panel having a core member that includes a thermoplastic resin and is formed in a corrugated shape, and a first faceplate that includes a thermoplastic resin, is formed in a plate shape, and is joined to a surface on a first side of the core member”, to supply “a second faceplate toward a surface on a second side of the core member, the first and second sides of the core member being opposite sides, the second faceplate including a thermoplastic resin and being formed in a plate shape”, to heat “at least one surface of respective surfaces of the core member and the second faceplate that face each other” and to pressurize “and weld the core member of the panel and the second faceplate” and in claim 6, claims 1 and 6 are directed to an apparatus/device wherein these limitations are directed to the materials or articles worked upon by the apparatus and/or functional limitations. Inclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims (see MPEP 2115). Further, a claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. If an examiner concludes that a functional limitation is an inherent characteristic of the prior art, then to establish a prima case of anticipation or obviousness, the examiner should explain that the prior art structure inherently possesses the functionally defined limitations of the claimed apparatus. The burden then shifts to applicant to establish that the prior art does not possess the characteristic relied on (see MPEP 2114). Bauer as modified by Park teaches all of the structural limitations of the claims as set forth above which structure is capable of to transfer “the panel having a core member that includes a thermoplastic resin and is formed in a corrugated shape, and a first faceplate that includes a thermoplastic resin, is formed in a plate shape, and is joined to a surface on a first side of the core member”, to supply “a second faceplate toward a surface on a second side of the core member, the first and second sides of the core member being opposite sides, the second faceplate including a thermoplastic resin and being formed in a plate shape”, to heat “at least one surface of respective surfaces of the core member and the second faceplate that face each other” and to pressurize “and weld the core member of the panel and the second faceplate” wherein the device is operated with as the transferred first material or article worked upon is a panel having a core member that includes a thermoplastic resin and is formed in a corrugated shape, and a first faceplate that includes a thermoplastic resin, is formed in a plate shape, and is joined to a surface on a first side of the core member and (regarding claim 6) wherein the panel further has a foam material provided in a space partitioned by the core member and the first faceplate and as the supplied second material or article worked upon is a second faceplate supplied toward a surface on a second side of the core member, the first and second sides of the core member being opposite sides, the second faceplate including a thermoplastic resin and being formed in a plate shape and wherein the heating part heats the thermoplastic of respective surfaces of the core member and the second faceplate facing each other for pressurizing and welding the core member of the panel and the second faceplate.
Claims 1, 2, 6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Bauer.
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Park discloses a panel production device comprising: a transfer part (middle pair of press rolls 15 and considered the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof of rollers or belt) configured to transfer a first material or article worked upon (comprising 3 and 2) in a transfer direction; a supply part (guide rolls 16 and considered the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof of rollers) configured to supply a second material or article worked upon (comprising 1) toward a surface on a second side of the first material or article worked upon; a heating part (14b and regarding claim 2 wherein the heating part has a wedge shape that tapers toward a space between the first material or article worked upon and the second material or article worked upon) configured to heat at least one surface of respective surfaces of the first material or article worked upon and the second material or article worked upon that face each other; and a pressurizing part (first pair of press rolls 15) configured to pressurize the first material or articled worked upon and the second material or article worked upon (Figures 1, 2, and 4 and Paragraphs 0001 and 0034-0038).
As to the limitation in claim 1 of “wherein the heating part is disposed such that at least a portion of the heating part is arranged between the pressurizing part and the core member with respect to a vertical direction”, Park teaches the heating part is a wedge shape disposed at a place where the second material or article worked upon is supplied toward the first material or article worked upon (Paragraph 0035). It is not expressly clear from Park the heating part is disposed such that at least a portion of the heating part is arranged between the pressurizing part and the core member with respect to a vertical direction. It is known in the same art the heating part is a wedge shape (12) and disposed such that at least a portion of the heating part is arranged between the pressurizing part (15) and the first material or article worked upon (comprising 2) with respect to a vertical direction for intensive heating and increased production speed with directly pressurizing after the heating as taught by Bauer (Figure 2 and Page 5 of the machine translation). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the heating part taught by Park is disposed such that at least a portion of the heating part is arranged between the pressurizing part and the first material or article worked upon with respect to a vertical direction not only as a simple substitution of one known location for the wedge shape heating part for conventional and predictable heating as is consistent with that directed to by Park but for intensive heating and increased production speed with directly pressurizing after the heating as taught by Bauer.
As to the limitations in claim 1 of to transfer “the panel having a core member that includes a thermoplastic resin and is formed in a corrugated shape, and a first faceplate that includes a thermoplastic resin, is formed in a plate shape, and is joined to a surface on a first side of the core member”, to supply “a second faceplate toward a surface on a second side of the core member, the first and second sides of the core member being opposite sides, the second faceplate including a thermoplastic resin and being formed in a plate shape”, to heat “at least one surface of respective surfaces of the core member and the second faceplate that face each other” and to pressurize “and weld the core member of the panel and the second faceplate” and in claim 6, claims 1 and 6 are directed to an apparatus/device wherein these limitations are directed to the materials or articles worked upon by the apparatus and/or functional limitations (see MPEP 2115 and 2114 as discussed above). Park as modified by Bauer teaches all of the structural limitations of the claims as set forth above which structure is capable of to transfer “the panel having a core member that includes a thermoplastic resin and is formed in a corrugated shape, and a first faceplate that includes a thermoplastic resin, is formed in a plate shape, and is joined to a surface on a first side of the core member”, to supply “a second faceplate toward a surface on a second side of the core member, the first and second sides of the core member being opposite sides, the second faceplate including a thermoplastic resin and being formed in a plate shape”, to heat “at least one surface of respective surfaces of the core member and the second faceplate that face each other” and to pressurize “and weld the core member of the panel and the second faceplate” wherein the device is operated with as the transferred first material or article worked upon is a panel having a core member that includes a thermoplastic resin and is formed in a corrugated shape, and a first faceplate that includes a thermoplastic resin, is formed in a plate shape, and is joined to a surface on a first side of the core member and (regarding claim 6) wherein the panel further has a foam material provided in a space partitioned by the core member and the first faceplate and as the supplied second material or article worked upon is a second faceplate supplied toward a surface on a second side of the core member, the first and second sides of the core member being opposite sides, the second faceplate including a thermoplastic resin and being formed in a plate shape and wherein the heating part heats the thermoplastic of respective surfaces of the core member and the second faceplate facing each other for pressurizing and welding the core member of the panel and the second faceplate.
Regarding claim 8, Park as modified by Bauer above discloses a panel production method comprising: transferring (e.g. at least via the middle pair of press rolls 15), in a transfer direction, a panel having a core member (3) that includes a thermoplastic resin and is formed in a corrugated shape, and a first faceplate (2) that includes a thermoplastic resin, is formed in a plate shape, and is joined to a surface on a first side of the core member; supplying (e.g. at least via guide rolls 16) a second faceplate (1) toward a surface on a second side of the core member, the first and second sides of the core member being opposite sides, the second faceplate including a thermoplastic resin and being formed in a plate shape; heating at least one surface of respective surfaces of the core member and the second faceplate that face each other; and pressurizing and welding the core member of the panel and the second faceplate; wherein the heating is performed with a heating part (14b), the pressurizing and welding is performed with a pressurizing part (first pair of press rolls 15), and the heating part is disposed such that at least a portion of the heating part is arranged between the pressurizing part and the core member with respect to a vertical direction.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bauer and Park as applied to claims 1, 2, and 6 above, and further in view of Hung (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2015/0007942). Additionally, claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park and Bauer as applied to claims 1, 2, 6, and 8 above, and further in view of Hung.
Regarding claim 3, Bauer as modified by Park and Park as modified by Bauer above both teach all of the limitations in claim 3 except for a specific teaching of a first temperature sensor and a control unit. Park teaches the temperature adjustment and setting for the heater are of course carried out easily by those skilled in the art (Paragraph 0038) wherein conventional temperature adjustment and setting well understood by one of ordinary skill in the art is a first temperature sensor (302) that measures a temperature of a heated part (the heated material or article worked upon) heated by the heating part (301); and a control unit (with the sensor that automatically adjusts and controls the heat from the heating part based on the temperature sensed such as by driving the heating part to generate more heat see paragraphs 0012 and 0013), that controls the heating by the heating part based on a measurement result of the first temperature sensor as taught by Hung (Figures 3-5 and Paragraphs 0002, 0012, 0013, 0021, 0022, and 0026). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the device taught by Bauer as modified by Park and Park as modified by Bauer further comprises a first temperature sensor capable of that measures a temperature of a heated part (the material or article worked upon) heated by the heating part; and a control unit, capable of that controls the heating by the heating part based on a measurement result of the first temperature sensor as is the conventional temperature adjustment and setting well understood by one of ordinary skill in the art suggested by Park as evidenced by Hung.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bauer and Park as applied to claims 1, 2, and 6 above, and further in view of Swartz (U.S. Patent 4,132,581). Additionally, claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park and Bauer as applied to claims 1, 2, 6, and 8 above, and further in view of Swartz.
Regarding claim 4, Bauer as modified by Park and Park as modified by Bauer above both teach all of the limitations in claim 4 except for a specific teaching of a cooling part wherein it is well understood by one of ordinary skill in the art the device further comprise a temperature controllable cooling part for rapid cooling and solidifying the materials or articles worked upon and thereby increasing production rates as well as ensuring bond formation as taught by Swartz (Column 7, lines 13-15 and Column 8, lines 17-25). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the device taught by Bauer as modified by Park and Park as modified by Bauer further comprises a controllable cooling part capable of that cools the welded materials or articles worked upon (e.g. welded panel and second faceplate) for rapid cooling and solidifying the materials or articles worked upon and thereby increasing production rates as well as ensuring bond formation as taught by Swartz.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bauer, Park, and Swartz as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Hung. Additionally, claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park, Bauer, and Swartz as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Hung.
Regarding claim 5, Bauer as modified by Park and Swartz and Park as modified by Bauer and Swartz above both teach all of the limitations in claim 5 except for a specific teaching of a second temperature sensor capable of that measures a temperature of a cooled part cooled by the temperature controllable cooling part. Park teaches temperature adjustment and setting such as for the heater are of course carried out easily by those skilled in the art, and Swartz does not expressly require how the cooling part is temperature controlled. Conventional temperature adjustment and setting for a temperature controlled part such as a heating part in such a panel production device is well understood by one of ordinary skill in the art is a first temperature sensor (302) that measures a temperature of a heated part (the material or article worked upon) heated by the heating part (301); and a control unit (with the sensor that automatically adjusts and controls the heat from the heating part based on the temperature sensed such as by driving the heating part to generate more heat see paragraphs 0012 and 0013), that controls the heating by the heating part based on a measurement result of the first temperature sensor as taught by Hung (described above in full detail). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the device taught by Bauer as modified by Park and Swartz and Park as modified by Bauer and Swartz further comprises a second temperature sensor capable of that measures a temperature of a cooled part (the cooled material or article worked upon) cooled by the cooling part; and a control unit capable of that controls the cooling by the cooling part based on a measurement result of the second temperature sensor as is conventional temperature control for a temperature controlled part in such a device as evidenced by Hung and consistent with that directed to by Swartz of a temperature controllable cooling part and with that taught by Park wherein temperature adjustment and setting are of course carried out easily by those skilled in the art.
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bauer and Park as applied to claims 1, 2, and 6 above, and further in view of GB 1,169,701. Additionally, claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bauer in view of GB 1,169,701.
Regarding claims 6-8, Bauer as modified by Park above teach all of the limitations in claim 7 except for a specific teaching of a foam material supply part (the following rejection is made for claim 8 in the event it is somehow considered Bauer teaching the core member is a hexagonal honeycomb is not necessarily considered a teaching the core member “is formed in a corrugated shape” as set forth above). Bauer teaches the first material or article worked upon comprises a panel having a core member that includes a foam and is formed in a shape not limited (such as hexagonal honeycomb) and a first faceplate joined to a surface on one side of the core member. Bauer does not expressly teach a foam forming material supply part. It is well understood in the art the panel has a foam forming material (such as polystyrene) incorporated in the core member as provided in a space partitioned by the core member formed in a corrugated shape and the first faceplate by a foam forming material supply part (hopper 6) capable of that supplies a foam forming material (as a material or article worked upon) to the space partitioned by the core member (1) and the first faceplate (25) before the joining of the core member and the first faceplate to form a corrugated packaging material having greater strength as taught by GB 1,169,701 (Figure 5 and Page 1, lines 24-28 and 56-73 and Page 2, lines 19-22). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the device taught by Bauer as modified by Park and the method taught by Bauer further comprises a foam forming material supply part capable of that supplies a foam forming material (as a material or article worked upon) to a space partitioned by the core member, wherein the core member is formed in a corrugated shape, and the first faceplate of the first material or article worked upon before the joining of the core member and the first faceplate not only as a simple substitution of one known core member shape comprising foam to yield predictable results but as forms a corrugated packaging material having greater strength (including by, regarding claim 6, the panel as the first material or article worked upon has a foam forming material provided in a space partitioned by the core member formed in a corrugated shape and the first faceplate) as taught by GB 1,168,701.
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park and Bauer as applied to claims 1, 2, 6, and 8 above, and further in view of GB 1,169,701.
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Park as modified by Bauer above teach all of the limitations in claim 7 except for a specific teaching of a foam material supply part. Park teaches the first material or article worked upon comprises a panel having a core member formed in a corrugated shape and a first faceplate joined to a surface on one side of the core member and partitioning a space. Park does not expressly teach a foam forming material supply part. It is well understood in the art the panel has a foam forming material (such as polystyrene) provided in a space partitioned by the core member and the first faceplate by a foam forming material supply part (hopper 6) capable of that supplies a foam forming material (as a material or article worked upon) to the space partitioned by the core member (1) and the first faceplate (25) before the joining of the core member and the first faceplate for greater strength as taught by GB 1,169,701 (Figure 5 and Page 1, lines 24-28 and 56-73 and Page 2, lines 19-22). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the device taught by Park as modified by Bauer further comprises a foam forming material supply part capable of that supplies a foam forming material (as a material or article worked upon) to the space partitioned by the core member and the first faceplate of the first material or article worked upon before the joining of the core member and the first faceplate for greater strength (including by, regarding claim 6, the panel as the first material or article worked upon has a foam forming material provided in a space partitioned by the core member and the first faceplate) as taught by GB 1,168,701.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/5/2025 have been fully considered.
In view of the amendments filed on 11/5/2025 the rejections set forth in the Office action mailed on 7/11/2025 are withdrawn. The claims as amended are addressed above in full detail.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN L GOFF II/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746