DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to amendment filed on 10/20/25. Regarding the amendment, claim 4 is canceled, claims 1-3, 5-23 are present for examination.
The amended specification is accepted and recorded in file.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remark, filed 10/20/25, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 4 under 102 rejection of Zhou base on figure 22 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view Zhou, Zhuang, and Carpentier as rejected below.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: “wherein elements” should be change to –wherein cylindrical elements--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 7, 14-16, 18-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhou (WO 2018129857 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhou teaches a stator (1-2) for an electrical radial flux machine (fig 1) having an internal rotor design with a distributed winding, comprising:
a toothed star-shaped element (2) having multiple teeth (22), wherein stator grooves (Slot between teeth 22) are provided between the teeth (22) in a circumferential direction and wherein the teeth (22) are connected by bridges (21, fig 2) in a region facing an air gap (23) between the stator (1-2) and the rotor (not shown); and
a yoke ring (1), wherein the toothed star-shaped element (2) is accommodated, at least in sections, within the yoke ring (1), wherein
the teeth (22) of the toothed star-shaped element (2) are connected by means of at least two bridges (211, 212), and a recess (213) is formed between and by the at least two bridges (211, 212, fig 2).
Regarding claim 5, Zhou teaches cylindrical elements (Teflon insertion) are located in the recess (213) between the bridges (211, 212).
Regarding claim 7, Zhou teaches the toothed star-shaped element (2) is configured in such a way that the toothed star-shaped element (2), in addition to the segmentation around its circumference, is segmented by a plurality of rings (fig 3) in the axial direction.
Regarding claim 14, Zhou teaches a winding (not shown) with a distributed arrangement is accommodated in the stator grooves.
Regarding claim 15, Zhou teaches electrical radial flux machine (10) having an internal rotor (not shown) design with a stator (1-2).
Regarding claim 16, Zhou teaches method for assembling a stator (1-2) for an electrical radial flux machine having an internal rotor design with a distributed winding, comprising the steps of:
providing a toothed star-shaped element (2) having multiple teeth (22), wherein stator grooves (slot) are provided between the teeth (22) in a circumferential direction and wherein the teeth (22) are connected by means of one or more bridges (21) in a region facing an air gap (23) between the stator and the rotor,
the teeth (22) of the toothed star-shaped element (2) being connected by means of at least two bridges (211, 212), and a recess (213) is formed between and by the at least two bridges (211, 212, fig 2); and
attaching a yoke ring (1) along the rotational axis of the motor around the toothed star-shaped element (2).
Regarding claim 18, Zhou teaches the recess (213) is configured in a circular manner or limited by one or more partially circular contours (fig 2).
Regarding claim 19, Zhou teaches the cylindrical elements (Teflon insertion) are bolts, rods and/or tubes ( para 1 page 5).
Regarding claim 20, Zhou teaches the cylindrical elements (Teflon insertion) are electrically non-conductive or have reduced electrical conductivity.
Regarding claim 21, Zhou teaches the segments of the toothed star-shaped element (22) are arranged so as to be staggered with respect to each other in the axial direction (fig 3).
Regarding claim 22, Zhou teaches the intervals are regular intervals (fig 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 9, 11-13, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view of Zhuang (CN 104065184 A).
Regarding claim 2, Zhou teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1, except for the added limitation of the toothed star-shaped element and/or the yoke ring has a plurality of segments in the circumferential direction.
Zhuang teaches a split motor stator iron core having yoke ring (101) with a plurality of segments in the circumferential direction (fig 1) to reduce the amount of cogging and improve the manufacturability of the electric motor (abs).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhou’s stator with the toothed star-shaped element and/or the yoke ring has a plurality of segments in the circumferential direction as taught by Zhuang. Doing so would reduce the amount of cogging and improve the manufacturability of the electric motor (abs).
Regarding claim 3, Zhou in view of Zhuang teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 2, Zhou further teaches the toothed star-shaped element (2) is made of grain-oriented electrical steel sheet (para 1 page 5). However, Zhou does not teach the toothed star-shaped element configured in a segmented manner, which is composed of a plurality of segments.
Zhuang further teaches the toothed star-shaped element (2) configured in a segmented manner (laminated stack segment) to reduce the amount of cogging and improve the manufacturability of the electric motor (abs).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhou in view of Zhuang’s stator with the toothed star-shaped element configured in a segmented manner, which is composed of a plurality of segments as further taught by Zhuang. Doing so would reduce the amount of cogging and improve the manufacturability of the electric motor (abs).
Regarding claim 9, Zhou teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1, except for the added limitation of the segments of the toothed star-shaped element have connecting portions for mechanically fixing themselves to each other and in the yoke ring.
Zhuang teaches a stator for a brushless motor having the segments (2) of the toothed star-shaped element have connecting portions (2013) for mechanically fixing themselves to each other and in the yoke ring (101) to reduce the amount of cogging and improve the manufacturability of the electric motor (abs).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhou’s stator with the segments of the toothed star-shaped element have connecting portions for mechanically fixing themselves to each other and in the yoke ring as taught by Zhuang. Doing so would reduce the amount of cogging and improve the manufacturability of the electric motor (abs).
Regarding claim 11, Zhou teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1, except for the added limitation of the yoke ring is configured in a segmented manner in such a way that the yoke ring segments have connecting portions for a form-fitting connection.
Zhuang teaches the yoke ring (101) is configured in a segmented manner (fig 4) in such a way that the yoke ring (101) segments have connecting portions (102, 103) for a form-fitting connection to reduce the amount of cogging and improve the manufacturability of the electric motor (abs).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhou’s stator with the yoke ring is configured in a segmented manner in such a way that the yoke ring segments have connecting portions for a form-fitting connection as taught by Zhuang. Doing so would reduce the amount of cogging and improve the manufacturability of the electric motor (abs).
Regarding claim 12, Zhou teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1, except for the added limitation of the yoke ring is configured in a segmented manner in such a way that the yoke ring is segmented in the axial direction, wherein the yoke ring segments have eyelets for fixing the yoke ring as well as the stator by means of rods or tubes.
Zhuang teaches the yoke ring (101) is configured in a segmented manner (fig 9) in such a way that the yoke ring (101) is segmented in the axial direction (fig 9), wherein the yoke ring segments have eyelets (2013) for fixing the yoke ring as well as the stator by means of rods or tubes (para [0010]) to reduce the amount of cogging and improve the manufacturability of the electric motor (abs).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhou’s stator with the yoke ring is configured in a segmented manner in such a way that the yoke ring is segmented in the axial direction, wherein the yoke ring segments have eyelets for fixing the yoke ring as well as the stator by means of rods or tubes as taught by Zhuang. Doing so would reduce the amount of cogging and improve the manufacturability of the electric motor (abs).
Regarding claim 13, Zhou in view of Zhuang teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 11, except for the added limitation of the yoke ring segments are arranged so as to be interleaved with each other in the axial direction, wherein eyelets or connecting portions are alternately aligned.
Zhuang further teaches the yoke ring (101) with the yoke ring segments are arranged so as to be interleaved with each other in the axial direction (fig 9), wherein eyelets (2013) or connecting portions are alternately aligned to reduce the amount of cogging and improve the manufacturability of the electric motor (abs).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhou in view of Zhuang’s stator with the yoke ring segments are arranged so as to be interleaved with each other in the axial direction, wherein eyelets or connecting portions are alternately aligned as further taught by Zhuang. Doing so would reduce the amount of cogging and improve the manufacturability of the electric motor (abs).
Regarding claim 17, Zhou in view of Zhuang teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 3, Zhou further teaches the preferred direction of the grain-oriented electrical steel sheet (2) points in the direction of a rotational axis (R) of the stator (1-2).
Claim(s) 6, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view of Carpentier et al. (US 2015/0028728 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Zhou teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 5, except for the added limitation of the cylindrical elements formed as axially continuous tubes are formed in the recess between the bridges for guiding a cooling medium.
Carpentier teaches a modular cooling arrangement for electric machine having cylindrical elements (30) formed as axially continuous tubes are formed in the recess (46) between the bridges (40) for guiding a cooling medium (fig 2-4) to remove heat generated in the stator (para [0004]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhou’s stator with the cylindrical elements formed as axially continuous tubes are formed in the recess between the bridges for guiding a cooling medium as taught by Carpentier. Doing so would remove heat generated in the stator (para [0004]).
Regarding claim 8, Zhou teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 5, except for the added limitation of the cylindrical elements are configured as bolts and have an axial length greater than the axial length of a segment of the toothed star-shaped element and are located at intervals in a recess between the bridges.
Carpentier teaches a modular cooling arrangement for electric machine having the cylindrical elements (30) are configured as bolts and have an axial length greater than the axial length of a segment of the toothed star-shaped element (fig 1) and are located at intervals in a recess (46) between the bridges (28) to remove heat generated in the stator (para [0004]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhou’s stator with the cylindrical elements are configured as bolts and have an axial length greater than the axial length of a segment of the toothed star-shaped element and are located at intervals in a recess between the bridges as taught by Carpentier. Doing so would remove heat generated in the stator (para [0004]).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view of Zhuang, further in view of Kobayashi (JP 3816789 B2).
Regarding claim 10, Zhou in view of Zhuang teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 3, except for the added limitation of a groove insulation for a winding is provided in the stator grooves, wherein the groove insulation is configured in two parts, wherein segments of the toothed star-shaped element have a stepped recess.
Kobayashi teaches a stator for rotating magnetic field motor having a groove insulation (9-10, fig 4) for a winding (8) is provided in the stator grooves (S), wherein the groove insulation (9-10) is configured in two parts (fig 4), wherein segments of the toothed star-shaped element (6) have a stepped recess (fig 4) to improve winding space factor, and improve insulation (para [0013]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhou in view of Zhuang’s stator with a groove insulation for a winding is provided in the stator grooves, wherein the groove insulation is configured in two parts, wherein segments of the toothed star-shaped element have a stepped recess as taught by Kobayashi. Doing so would improve winding space factor, and improve insulation (para [0013]).
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view of Carpentier, further in view of Zhuang.
Regarding claim 23, Zhou in view of Carpentier teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 8, except for the added limitation of axially successive segments of the toothed star-shaped element are alternately pinned together by means of the bolts.
Zhuang teaches axially successive segments (2011) of the toothed star-shaped element (201, fig 7) are alternately pinned together by means of the bolts (2013) to reduce the amount of cogging and improve the manufacturability of the electric motor (abs).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhou in view of Carpentier’s stator with axially successive segments of the toothed star-shaped element are alternately pinned together by means of the bolts as taught by Zhuang. Doing so would reduce the amount of cogging and improve the manufacturability of the electric motor (abs).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kolomeitsev et al. (US 6844653 B2) teaches a segmented stator for a permanent magnet motor. The stator includes a plurality of stator segments forming an annular stator yoke and a plurality of stator teeth extending from an edge of the stator yoke. At least one coupling is between adjacent stator segments and shaped to allow movement of adjacent teeth in a so-called loose tooth design. Slot wedges are located between adjacent teeth to prevent the conductive windings from moving out of the slots through the slot openings. The slot wedges also prevent movement of adjacent teeth with respect to one another. The segmented stator can comprise an annular yoke with a plurality of discrete teeth or a plurality of assemblies including a rim section and a tooth section. The slot wedges can be keyed wedges that maintain their position through interlocking and/or can be integrated with a stator bobbin.
Shen et al. (US 6,429,568 B1) teaches a machine has an internally located rotor and an externally located stator. The stator is assembled from an outer stator ring and an inner stator ring. The outer stator ring and the inner stator ring are each wound from at least one strip and are connected together mechanically.
/LEDA T PHAM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834