Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO-2020023696 to Frinault et al. in view of U.S. Patent No. 5,223,547 to Harada et al.
As to claims 1 and 4, Frinault discloses a two-component polyurethane adhesive comprising an NCO-terminated prepolymer derived from 4,4-MDI that contains less than 2wt% of monomeric diisocyanate component (0073) and a second component that comprises a polyol and 0.5 to 10 wt% of a tertiary amine containing polyol (0075, Examples).
Frinault does not expressly disclose wherein the tertiary amine containing polyol comprises at least 3 tertiary amine groups.
Harada within the same field of endeavor pertaining to polyurethanes having improved adhesive properties (1:22, 25:26-39, Table 9) comprising a tertiary amine component represented by the following formula that has 3.3 to 13.5 tertiary amine groups (Table 1):
At the time of filing it would have been obvious to substitute one known tertiary amine component (taught in Frinault) with another known tertiary amine component (taught in Harada) because they are taught as suitable alternatives in analogous condensation reactions and further the use of the tertiary amine polyols of Harada avoid common problems associated with conventional urethane catalysts including skin irritation, odor, and work environment problems (1:46-52).
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO-
2020023696 to Frinault et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2022/0010182 will be used for citations) in view of U.S. Patent No. 5,223,547 to Harada et al. and U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2022/0017677 to Guo et al.
As to claims 2-3, Frinault discloses a two-component polyurethane adhesive comprising a NCO-terminated prepolymer derived from 4,4-MDI component that contains zero to less than 2 wt% of monomeric diisocyanate component (0073) and a second component that comprises a polyol and 0.5 to 10 wt% of a polyol that includes a tertiary amine (0075, Examples).
Frinault does not expressly disclose the addition of phosphate functional polyols.
Within the same field of endeavor, Guo discloses a two-component adhesive wherein the polyol component includes 5 to 20 weight % of a polyurethane polyol (0121) and 1.5 to 10 weight % of a phosphate ester polyol 0118.
At the time of filing it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to add the phosphate ester polyol and polyurethane polyol of Guo to the adhesive composition of Frinault to increase curing rates, provide improved pot life and enhance performance including increased bond strength (0171-0172).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL L LEONARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763