DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Levitz et al. (US 2014/0224267), herein after Levitz.
Regarding claim 1, Levitz discloses an electronic device (202, fig. 2), comprising: a housing comprising a first surface, a second surface opposite the first surface, and a side surface between the first surface and the second surface, wherein the housing has a length between the first surface and the second surface and a perimeter of the side surface (see the annotated fig. I); and a connecting terminal comprising a first conductive segment disposed at the side surface and extending along the perimeter of the housing (the power receiving coil 204 (or 120 of fig. 1)disposed on the side surface and extended along the perimeter of housing, fig. 2).
Annotated fig. I
Regarding claim 2, Levitz further discloses wherein the first conductive segment is formed substantially throughout the perimeter (fig. 4 shows that the power receiving coil is extended along the side surface).
Regarding claim 3, Levitz further discloses wherein the first conductive segment is connected to at least one of a power source or a ground (the power receiving coil is connected to the power transmitter and the battery too, fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Levitz further discloses wherein the first conductive segment is configured to transmit and/or receive communication data (The battery 106 may include one or more electronic chips controlling and communicating from it, paragraph [0022] where the battery is closely connected to the power receiver coil, the communication chip is connected to the coil too for communication).
Regarding claim 5, Levitz further discloses wherein the connecting terminal further comprises an additional first conductive segment extending along the perimeter of the housing and separated from the first conductive segment in a direction of the length (plurality of the power receiving coils are extended along the perimeter of side surface, fig. 10, paragraph [0036]).
Regarding claim 6, Levitz further discloses wherein the additional first conductive segment is formed substantially throughout the perimeter(plurality of the power receiving coils are extended along the perimeter of side surface, fig. 10, paragraph [0036]).
Regarding claim 7, Levitz further discloses wherein the additional first conductive segment is connected to at least one of a power source or a ground (electronic device is connected to the charging cup which charge the electronic devices, fig. 11, paragraph [0037]).
Regarding claim 8, Levitz further discloses wherein the first conductive segment is disposed on an outer side surface of the side surface (the power receiver coil is at the outer side of the electronic device, fig. 7).
Regarding claim 9, Levitz further discloses wherein the side surface comprises an outer side surface defining an outer perimeter and an inner side surface defining an inner perimeter, and the first conductive segment extends on the inner side surface along the inner perimeter (figs. 4-6, shows the different configuration of the power receiving coil; fig. 5 shows the power receiving coil at the inner perimeter of the side surface).
Regarding claim 10, Levitz further discloses wherein the housing further comprises a depression having the inner side surface (paragraph [0029]-[0031]).
Regarding claim 11, Levitz discloses a charging system (fig. 3), comprising: a first electronic device (202, fig. 3); and a second electronic device (306, fig. 3) configured to charge the first electronic device (paragraph [0028]), wherein the first electronic device comprises:
a first housing comprising a first surface, a second surface opposite the first surface, and a side surface between the first surface and the second surface, wherein the first housing has a first length between the first surface and the second surface and a first perimeter of the side surface; and a first connecting terminal comprising a first conductive segment disposed at the side surface and extending along the first perimeter of the first housing (see the annotated fig. I),
and the second electronic device comprises: a second housing; a recess formed in the second housing, wherein the recess comprises a first recess surface, a second recess surface opposite to the first recess surface, and a side recess surface between the first recess surface and the second recess surface, and the recess has a second length between the first recess surface and the second recess surface and a second perimeter of the side recess surface (see annotated fig. II);
Annotated fig. II
and a second connecting terminal comprising a second conductive segment disposed on the side recess surface, extending along the second perimeter (power transmitter coil is extended along the perimeter of the side recess surface, fig. 3), and configured to be connected to the first conductive segment when the first electronic device and the second electronic device are coupled (The user only needs to insert the receiving coil 204 end of the e-Cig 202 into the base 306 within the retaining wall 308. The base 306 provides a simpler and automated way to align the coils which results in more efficient wireless charging. The base 306 and retaining wall 308 may be made from a variety of materials and only need to be configured to hold the e-Cig 202 and to include the power coil (i.e. "power transmitter"), paragraph [0028]).
Regarding claim 12, Levitz further discloses wherein the second conductive segment is formed substantially throughout the second perimeter (the whole base has the power transmitter coils, fig. 3, 10).
Regarding claim 13, Levitz further discloses wherein the first connecting terminal further comprises an additional first conductive segment extending along the first perimeter of the housing and separated from the first conductive segment in a direction of the first length, and the second connecting terminal further comprises an additional second conductive segment extending along the second perimeter, separated from the second conductive segment in a direction of the second length, and configured to be connected to the additional first conductive segment (figs 10, 11 shows that plurality of power receiving coils and the power transmitting coils disposed all over the side surfaces of the electronic devices).
Regarding claim 14, Levitz further discloses wherein the additional second conductive segment is formed substantially throughout the second perimeter (fig. 11).
Regarding claim 15, Levitz further discloses wherein the second housing comprises a protrusion protruding from the second recess surface, and the second connecting terminal is formed the protrusion (fig. 3, the receiving coil 204 in the e-Cig 202. The charging base 306 may include or be connected with a retaining wall 308 that is designed to receive and stabilize the e-Cig 202 in an orthogonal or upright position, paragraph [0028]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hawes (US 9,936,734).
SADIA . KOUSAR
Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859