DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application, filed 13 October, 2023, is a national stage application of PCT/US2022/024840, filed 14 April, 2022, which claims the benefit of U.S. Provisional Application 63/238,500, filed 30 August, 2021, 63/189,939, filed 18 May, 2021, 63/175,378, filed 15 April, 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 29 April, 2026 is acknowledged and has been considered.
Status of the Application
Receipt is acknowledged of Applicant’s claimed invention, filed 29 April, 2026, in the matter of Application N° 18/286,935. Said documents have been entered on the record.
Claims 17, 24-25, and 28 are amended. Claims 3-5, 32 and 35-37 are canceled. Claim 42 is new. No new matter was introduced.
Therefore, Claims 1-2, 17-18, 20, 22, 24-25, 28, and 42 represent all claims currently under consideration.
Response to Amendments/Arguments
Revision to remove hyperlinks from the Specification are accepted and the objection is withdrawn.
Claims 3-5, 32 and 35-37 have been canceled. Therefore, the rejections of these claims
under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and 103 are moot.
Regarding the remaining rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) and the provisional Non-statutory Double Patenting for Claims 1-2, 17-18, 20, 22, 24-25, and 28, Applicant's arguments filed 29 April, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the “daily amount” disclosed in Stamler and Huang (WO 2016/144901 A1) is not interchangeable with the claimed “maximum total daily dose,” asserting that the former merely reflects a dose administered in practice and does not define an upper dosing limit within a 24-hour period (Remarks, Pg. 6-8).
Stamler and Huang disclose that, with concurrent administration of a CYP2D6 inhibitor, the daily amount is less than or equal to 36 mg/day (‘901, Pg. 8, Para 042), which defines an upper permissible daily dosage amount under the disclosed conditions. Furthermore, Applicant’s additionally cited paragraphs 0435, 0458, and 0484 do not distinguish the claims from Stamler and Huang, but instead reinforce the rejection. Although these paragraphs discuss administration of higher doses in certain circumstances, each additionally states that when the subject is receiving a strong CYP2D6 inhibitor, the maximum daily dose is 36 mg/day. Thus, Stamler and Huang expressly teach a capped upper daily dosage under the same concurrent administration conditions recited in the instant claims. The fact that paragraph 042 uses the terminology “daily amount less than or equal to 36 mg” rather than the exact phrase “maximum total daily dose” does not patentably distinguish the claimed limitation.
As such, the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) and the provisional Non-statutory Double Patenting for Claims 1-2, 17-18, 20, 22, 24-25, and 28 are maintained. The rejections are updated solely to additionally include newly added Claim 42, as the newly recited dosage is likewise taught by the applied reference and does not patentably distinguish over the co-pending claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 (MAINTAINED)
Claims 1-2, 17-18, 20, 22, 24-25, 28 and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stamler and Huang (WO 2016/144901 A1, cited in IDS.)
Regarding Claims 1-2, Stamler and Huang teach a method of treating abnormal involuntary movement in a subject, comprising administering to the subject an initial daily amount of deutetrabenazine of at least about 6 mg per day; (‘901, Pg. 5-6, Para 023), wherein the daily amount of deutetrabenazine administered is less than or equal to about 36 mg for a subject concurrently receiving a strong CYP2D6 inhibitor (‘901, Pg. 8, Para 042.)
Regarding Claims 17-18, 20 and 22, Stamler and Huang teach wherein the abnormal involuntary movement is caused by a movement disorder (‘901, Pg. 6, Para 024), wherein the movement disorder is chosen from chorea, Huntington's Disease, and tardive dyskinesia (‘901, Pg. 6, Para 025.)
Regarding Claims 24, 25, 28 and 42, Stamler and Huang teach daily amount of deutetrabenazine is chosen from about 12 mg, about 18 mg, about 24 mg, and about 30 mg (‘901, Pg. 7, Para 036.) The recitation of “maximum” daily dose does not distinguish over the prior art as Stamler and Huang expressly disclose administration of deutetrabenazine at daily doses at or below the claimed maximum, which necessarily satisfies the claimed limitation.
As such, Stamler and Huang anticipate Claims 1-2, 17-18, 20, 22, 24-25, 28 and 42.
Double Patenting (MAINTAINED)
Claims 1-2, 17-18, 20, 22, 24-25, 28, and 42 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claim 1-5, 19-20, 22, 24, 26, 30, 32, 34, and 38-39 of copending Application No. 18/286,944 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they differ only in the manner in which CYP2D6 impairment is characterized, and would have been obvious variants of one another to a person skilled in the art.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.M.N./ Examiner, Art Unit 1627
/SARAH PIHONAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1627