Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 16-30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16-18, 21, 23-26 and 31-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Loh (US 20030173138) in view of Loh.
Regarding claim 16, Loh teaches a power steering assembly 10 for electromechanical power steering in a motor vehicle (Abstract, [0013] and [0028], Fig. 1; See 103 rejection of Loh in view of Loh below), comprising:
a steering gear 16 ([0017], Fig. 1), wherein the steering gear 16 is configured to transmit a rotational movement introduced by a steering device 12 through an input side 14 of the steering gear 16, to an output side 22 of the steering gear 16 ([0017]-[0018]), and wherein the power steering assembly 10 is configured to convert a movement derived from the output side of the steering gear into a rotational movement of at least one wheel 18 of the motor vehicle about a steering axle ([0018]), via a mechanical connection between the steering gear and the at least one wheel ([0018]; “Opposite ends of shaft 22 are connected through appropriate linkages to wheels 18 so that movement of the shaft changes the steering angle of the wheels”);
an adjustable absorption unit 50 for at least partial absorption of road-induced shocks received through the at least one wheel 18 of the motor vehicle ([0020], Fig. 3); and
a separate preload unit (the spring biasing mechanism), wherein the separate preload unit is configured to interact with the adjustable absorption unit 50 such that a predetermined preload force is applied to the adjustable absorption unit 50 ([0026] and [0028]).
In its primary embodiment, Loh teaches a power steering assembly for hydraulic power steering in a motor vehicle (Abstract, [0013], Fig. 1).
However, Loh additionally teaches that the power steering can alternatively be assisted by electrical assist forces from an electric motor ([0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power steering assembly of Loh to be a power steering assembly for electromechanical power steering in a motor vehicle as Loh alternatively teaches in order to advantageously provide a power-steering system that optimizes driving comfort and safety (Abstract).
Regarding claim 17, Loh as modified teaches wherein the separate preload unit comprises at least one first compensation washer 44 ([0019], Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 18, Loh as modified teaches wherein the separate preload unit further comprises at least one second compensation washer 46, a second thickness of which differs from a first thickness of the first compensation washer 44 ([0019], Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 21, Loh as modified teaches wherein the separate preload unit (the spring biasing mechanism) and the adjustable absorption unit 50 are at least partially movable in relation to one other, in an assembled state, in an axial direction ([0023] and [0026]).
Regarding claim 23, Loh as modified teaches wherein the separate preload unit has an end face 42a, wherein the end face 42a forms a contact surface for directly bearing against the adjustable absorption unit 50, for applying the predetermined preload force to the adjustable absorption unit 50 ([0011] and [0019]-[0022], Figs. 3-4).
Regarding claim 24, Loh teaches a method for configuring a power steering assembly 10 for electromechanical power steering in a motor vehicle (Abstract, [0013] and [0028], Fig 1; See 103 rejection of Loh in view of Loh below), comprising:
integrating an adjustable absorption unit 50 for the at least partial absorption of road-induced shocks received through a wheel 18 of the motor vehicle into a conversion path of a steering movement of the power steering assembly 10 ([0017]-[0018]);
providing a separate preload unit ([0026]; the spring biasing mechanism is the separate preload unit);
finally setting a predetermined preload force, wherein the predetermined preload force is applied to the adjustable absorption unit 50, wherein the separate preload unit compresses the adjustable absorption unit 50 ([0023] and [0026], Fig. 3); and
providing a mechanical connection between the power steering assembly 10 and the wheel 18 ([0018], Fig. 1).
In its primary embodiment, Loh teaches a power steering assembly for hydraulic power steering in a motor vehicle (Abstract, [0013], Fig. 1).
However, Loh additionally teaches that the power steering can alternatively be assisted by electrical assist forces from an electric motor ([0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power steering assembly of Loh to be a power steering assembly for electromechanical power steering in a motor vehicle as Loh alternatively teaches in order to advantageously provide a power-steering system that optimizes driving comfort and safety (Abstract).
Regarding claim 25, Lou as modified teaches wherein, as the separate preload unit, a first compensation washer 44 is provided adjacent to the adjustable absorption unit 50 for preloading the adjustable absorption unit by targeted compression ([0019] and [0022], Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 26, Lou as modified teaches wherein, a second compensation washer 46 is provided adjacent to the adjustable absorption unit 50 for preloading the adjustable absorption unit 50 by targeted compression ([0019] and [0022], Fig. 3), wherein, the second compensation washer 46 has a second thickness that differs from a first thickness of the first compensation washer 44 ([0019], Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 31, Loh as modified teaches wherein the separate preload unit is configured to interact with the adjustable absorption unit 50 such that a predetermined preload force is applied to the adjustable absorption unit ([0026] and [0028]).
Regarding claim 32, Loh as modified teaches wherein the separate preload unit is configured to interact with the adjustable absorption unit 50 such that a predetermined preload force is applied to the adjustable absorption unit ([0026] and [0028]).
Claims 19-20, 22, and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Loh in view of Loh, and further in view of Magnus (US 20020189888).
Regarding claim 19, Loh as modified teaches that a clamping member 42 can be adjusted to impose preload on a damping member 50 ([0019]-[0022]), but does not teach wherein the preload unit comprises a preload nut.
However, Magnus teaches a steering system with a preload unit 140 wherein the preload unit 140 comprises a preload nut 182 ([0029], Fig. 9 of Magnus).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified power steering assembly of Loh to use a preload nut to impose preload force as Magnus teaches in order to advantageously adjust and set a specific preload on the damper ([0029] of Magnus).
Regarding claim 20, Loh as modified teaches wherein the separate preload unit (the spring biasing mechanism) is configured to interact with the adjustable absorption unit 50 such that the predetermined preload force is adjustable via two components 66, 42 engaging with one another substantially continuously via an urging gas pressure source ([0026] and [0028], Fig. 4). Loh does not teach that the two components engage with each other via a thread and counter-thread.
However, Magnus teaches a steering system with a preload unit 140 wherein a preload unit 140 is configured to interact with an adjustable absorption unit such that a predetermined preload force is adjustable via two components 144, 182 engaging with one another substantially continuously via a thread and a counter-thread ([0029] of Magnus).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified power steering assembly of Loh to impart preload on the spring by two components in threaded engagement with each other as Magnus teaches as an alternative way of imparting preload on the spring and the device would have operated as predictable and advantageously allowed a user to set an appropriate spring preload in the system ([0029] of Magnus).
Regarding claim 22, Loh as modified does not teach the preload unit being secured in an assembled state to prevent rotation in a circumferential direction, via a securing pin.
However, Magnus teaches wherein the separate preload unit 140 is secured in the assembled state to prevent rotation in a circumferential direction, via a securing pin 150 engaging with a groove 164 ([0027], Fig. 9 of Magnus; “Pin 150 is configured with a slot 163 positioned thereon to allow a portion of retainer 152 to be received therein while maintaining pin 150 slidably disposed in an aperture formed in housing 162 to engage an outside surface of a sleeve 144 when screw 154 is fixed against retainer 152 by tightening screw 154 in threaded aperture 158. Sleeve 144 has a channel 164 configured on a periphery thereof to allow axial translation of sleeve 144 while limiting rotation thereof”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified power steering assembly of Loh to use the pin and groove of Magnus to circumferentially secure the spring biasing mechanism of Loh in order to advantageously rotationally fix the preload mechanism ([0027] of Magnus).
Regarding claim 29, Loh as modified does not teach wherein the preload unit is finally secured to prevent rotation in a circumferential direction.
However, Magnus teaches wherein the separate preload unit 140 is secured in the assembled state to prevent rotation in a circumferential direction, via a securing pin 150 engaging with a groove 164 ([0027], Fig. 9 of Magnus; “Pin 150 is configured with a slot 163 positioned thereon to allow a portion of retainer 152 to be received therein while maintaining pin 150 slidably disposed in an aperture formed in housing 162 to engage an outside surface of a sleeve 144 when screw 154 is fixed against retainer 152 by tightening screw 154 in threaded aperture 158. Sleeve 144 has a channel 164 configured on a periphery thereof to allow axial translation of sleeve 144 while limiting rotation thereof”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified power steering assembly of Loh to use the pin and groove of Magnus to circumferentially secure the spring biasing mechanism of Loh in order to advantageously rotationally fix the preload mechanism ([0027] of Magnus).
Regarding claim 30, Loh as modified teaches wherein securing is achieved by providing a securing pin that engages with a groove in the circumferential direction in a form-fitting manner ([0027], Fig. 9 of Magnus).
Claims 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Loh in view of Loh, and further in view of Kahrs (DE 3843893).
Regarding claim 27, Loh as modified teaches wherein, as the separate preload unit, a clamping member 42 is provided adjacent to an adjustable absorption unit 50 for preloading the adjustable absorption unit 50 by targeted compression ([0019]-[0022]), but does not teach wherein the preload unit comprises a preload nut.
However, Kahrs teaches a power steering system (Abstract of Kahrs) with a preload unit, wherein a preload nut 69 is provided adjacent to an adjustable absorption unit 50 for preloading the adjustable absorption unit 50 by targeted compression (Paragraph 50, Figs. 5 and 9 of Kahrs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified power steering assembly of Loh to use a preload nut to impose preload force as Magnus teaches in order to advantageously adjust and set a specific preload on the damper (Paragraph 50 of Kahrs).
Regarding claim 28, Loh as modified teaches a predetermined preload force is set by urging two components 66, 42 towards one another substantially continuously via an urging gas pressure source ([0026] and [0028], Fig. 4). Loh as modified does not teach that the two components engage with each other via a thread and counter-thread.
However, Kahrs teaches wherein a predetermined preload force is set by rotating a first component 69 with a thread of the separate preload unit and a second component 26 with a counter-thread engaging with the first component 69 with respect to one another (Paragraph 50, Fig. 5 of Kahrs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified power steering assembly of Loh to use a preload nut with a thread and counter-thread connection to urge the nut towards the damper to impose preload force as Kahrs teaches in order to advantageously adjust and set a specific preload on the damper (Paragraph 50 of Kahrs).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.W.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3617
/JOHN OLSZEWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3617