DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendments to the claims received on April 9th, 2026 have been entered. Claim 1 has been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 9th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues, regarding claim 1, that the reference of Petri (US 2009/0114757 A1) does not disclose that the rotation of the second parent real occurs “before” any overlap between the first and second web materials happen, but rather occurs only after the overlap has begun. It should be noted that interpretation of “during” or "while", as understood in the previous Office Action, is reasonable and consistent with the ordinary meaning of the term as encompassing a time interval rather than a single instantaneous event. The word “during” or “while” refers to a time span, while “before” or “after” refer to a single point in time. Thus, the words “during” or “while” suggest that the rotation can begin before overlap actually occurs. Further, the reference of Petri discloses initiating rotation "while" the overlap phase of the tail ends, and the overlap phase necessarily occurs before overlap is fully achieved which is found in in Petri’s ¶34 where it clearly states “In the first case, said overlap takes place while both the reels 2 and 2' are rotating about their respective axes.” Accordingly, because the rotation begins at a point within the broader guidance interval, that disclosure reasonably teaches rotation commencing prior to overlap.
The argument improperly construes during as requiring coincidence with the exact moment of the overlap. However, the disclosed language does not impose such a narrowed temporal limitation. Instead, the disclosed sequence in the prior art demonstrates:
(1) guidance of the material ends, followed by;
(2) initiation of rotation while overlap is ongoing; and only thereafter
(3) overlap of the materials is complete.
Thus, the initiation of rotation occurs "while” the guidance process even though overlap occurs, and is completed, later within the same continuous operation. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation standard, the examiner properly interprets the reference as teaching the claimed temporal relationship because the disclosed “during” or "while" language compasses actions initiated with an ongoing process that later results in overlap.
The applicant further argues, regarding claims 5 and 11, that neither Petri or Gelli (US 2008/0258001 A1) disclose or teach compressed air via nozzles. It should be noted that the claimed invention, according to claims 5 and 11, require that “the adhesion of the second web material to the guide surface is carried out by means of compressed air supplied by nozzles oriented towards said surface or by suction operated through the guide surface by means of a suction box.” The prior art reference of Petri discloses a “suction device 98” disposed on “a plane 95”, thus fulfilling the requirement of a suction operation. The claim merely requires the guidance to be operated by either compressed air, via nozzle, or by suction via suction box (which is clearly disclosed in Petri), and does not require both of the elements. The teachings of Gelli is proposed to show that the guidance mechanism of compressed air and a nozzle is also known within the art and thus can be taught in as opposed to a suction box.
The applicant further argues, regarding claim 7, that it would not be obvious to one skilled in the art to substitute nonwoven webs into Petri. Absent structural differences between a claim and a prior art material or article, a recitation of the claimed material or article’s intended use cannot alone patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. See MPEP 2114 I-II, citing, e.g., Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (BPAI 1987). Thus, if the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, as Petri is, it meets the claim. See MPEP 2111.02 II, citing In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997). Furthermore, the applicant admits in page 8 of the argument, the Petri’s system relies on precise tension control and ply-bonding, and while the prior art points to the optimization for paper, one skilled in the art may adjust the precision control to accommodate for nonwoven webs since the prior art has similar structure to that of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-10, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Petri (US 2009/0114757 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Petri discloses method for unwinding web materials from two corresponding parent reels (Fig. 1, reels 2, 2’), wherein a first parent reel in a depletion phase is replaced by a second parent reel which takes the place of the first parent reel at the end of the replacement, wherein during said replacement a first and a second web material are unwound from both parent reels, wherein the first parent reel and the second parent reels have respective longitudinal axes (Pg. 3, claim 1), wherein before the completion of said replacement the first web material is joined to the second web material (Pg. 3 ¶33 & Pg. 4, claim 5 stating that the joining of the tail portions of the new reel 2’ and the nearly empty reel 2 occurs during the substitution phase indicating that the joining of the tails happens before the complete replacement of the reel) and then the first web material is cut (Pg. 3, ¶34), wherein the joining of said web materials is preceded by a step of inserting the second web material in a joining area where the two web materials are joined, wherein during the step of inserting the second web material in said joining area the second web material is guided on a guide surface which guides it towards said joining area, wherein the second parent reel is put into rotation about the respective longitudinal axis before the second web material reaches the joining area and while the second web material is still being guided on the guide surface toward the joining area, and before any overlap between the first and second web materials occurs, and wherein, (Pg.3 ¶¶33-34) in said insertion step, the second web material adheres pneumatically to said guide surface (Pg. 3, ¶36 describing adhesion via suction plane).
Regarding claim 2, Petri discloses before carrying out said replacement, the second parent reel is placed in a waiting and temporary unwinding position above another position occupied by the first parent reel (Pg. 2, ¶24).
Regarding claim 3, Petri discloses the first parent reel is rotated by a motorized belt acting on it by contact in a position occupied by the first parent reel (Pg. 2, ¶25).
Regarding claim 4, Petri discloses the guide surface consists of motorized belts which, while guiding the second web material towards said joining area, cause the rotation of the second parent reel around the respective longitudinal axis (Pg. 3, ¶36).
Regarding claim 6, Petri discloses said web- like materials are made of paper (Pg. 1, ¶1).
Regarding claim 8, Petri discloses an unwinder configured for unwinding web materials from respective parent reels comprising: a structure on which support members adapted to support a first parent reel and a second parent reel in different positions are formed (Pg. 2, ¶20), said support members being configured for supporting the parent reels during rotation of the same about respective longitudinal axes (Pg. 2, ¶26), motorized dragging means configured to control the rotation of said parent reels with a predetermined angular speed around the respective longitudinal axes (Pg. 2, ¶23), joining means for joining together the web materials unwound from the parent reels when one of them, in a phase of depletion, must be replaced with the other, means for transferring a parent reel of the parent reels from a waiting position to an operating position when the diameter of the parent reel arranged in the operating position reaches a predetermined minimum value (Pg. 3, ¶36), means for transferring the parent reel from the operating position to a removal position when the other parent reel is transferred from the waiting position to the operating position, a guide surface configured to guide the web unwound from the reel of the waiting position towards said joining means, pneumatic means that can be activated to produce, on the web material unwound from the reel of the waiting position, a pressure or suction directed towards the guide surface while the latter guides it towards the joining means (Pg. 3, ¶¶36-37), wherein the motorized dragging means drag into rotation the parent reel of the waiting position when the parent reel of the waiting position is transferred from the waiting position to the operative position (Pg. 3, ¶¶33-34).
Regarding claim 9, Petri discloses said guide surface is a movable surface supported by an arm controlled to arrange the guide surface in contact with the reel of the waiting position to drag the reel of the waiting position into rotation around the respective longitudinal axis (Pg. 2, ¶¶20, 26).
Regarding claim 10, Petri discloses said positions are formed by concave supports with the concavity facing upwards, a support is formed on a carriage which can be moved alternatively between the waiting position and the operating position, and a support is formed on another carriage which can be moved alternately between the removal position and the operating position (Fig. 3, shaped part 12).
Regarding claim 12, Petri discloses said means for joining the web-like materials comprise a ply-bonding unit (Pg. 4, claim 7).
Regarding claim 13, Petri discloses comprising cutting means suitable for cutting the web material unwound from the reel which occupies the operating position (Pg. 3, ¶34).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Petri (US 2009/0114757 A1), in view of Gelli (US 2008/0258001 A1).
Regarding claims 5 and 11, Petri discloses characterized in that the adhesion of the second web material to the guide surface is carried out by means of suction via suction box (Pg. 3, ¶36, suction device 98), but fails to disclose wherein the compressed air is supplied via nozzles. However, Gelli teaches wherein the compressed air is supplied by nozzles oriented towards said surface or by suction operated through the guide surface by means of a suction box (Pg. 4-5, ¶53). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the compressed air being supplied by nozzles to the guide surface to provide precise gripping and movement of the web material.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Petri (US 2009/0114757 A1), in view of Matsuo (US 2009/0283504 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Petri discloses wherein the web materials are paper or other materials in web form (Pg.1, ¶1) but does not necessarily specify the web material being non-woven fabrics. However, Matsuo teaches said web- like materials are non-woven fabric webs (Pg. 3, ¶54). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated nonwoven fabric webs into the unwinding machine as it is known in the art that unwinding mechanisms, such as the one described by the applicant, may be used for any web-like material such as nonwoven fabrics.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ERMIA E. MELIKA
Examiner
Art Unit 3654
/ERMIA E. MELIKA/ Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/Victoria P Augustine/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654