DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicant's submission filed on 16 June 2026 has been entered, and the arguments presented therein have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Supplemental Amendment of 16 June 2026 is Entered
The examiner placed a telephone call to representative of applicant Charles Landrum on 13 August 2026 to ask about which claims are to be examined. In that telephone call, representative of applicant verbally confirmed to the examiner that the claims submitted on 16 June 2026 are intended for examination.
As such, the supplemental amendment on 16 June 2026 has been entered. The claims submitted on 16 June 2026 are pending and subject to substantive examination.
The examiner further notes that claims were submitted on 18 February 2026. These claims are NOT subject to substantive examination in this office action.
In this office action, the examiner has substantively addressed the response to arguments submitted on 16 June 2026. The examiner has not substantively addressed the response to arguments submitted on 18 February 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b) – Indefiniteness
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 is drawn to an antimicrobial PVP coated metallic bismuth nanoparticle. However, claim 12 also recites an average diameter. As best understood by the examiner, the concept of an average diameter applies to a population of particles, but not to a single particle. As claim 12 appears to be drawn to a particle, it is unclear how the subject matter of claim 12 further limits the scope of claim 1.
For the purposes of examination under prior art, the examiner will proceed with the understanding that claim 12 is drawn to a population of particles, and that population has an average size of 8-9 nm. Particles sized outside the recited 8-9 nm are understood to be permitted provided that the average particle size of the population remains at 8-9 nm. Additionally, the examiner understands the size of 8-9 nm to include both the bismuth itself as well as the PVP coating.
Response to Arguments Regarding Indefiniteness Issues
The examiner notes that the most recent version of the claims; namely, that presented on 16 June 2026, recites a single particle rather than a population of particles. As such, the claim amendment fails to overcome the indefiniteness issue identified by the examiner with respect to claims 12-13. As such, applicant’s arguments that the claim amendments overcome this issue, as presented on page 4 of applicant’s response on 16 June 2026, are not persuasive.
Claim Interpretation – Product-by-Process
The examiner notes the following regarding claims 12-13.
Claim 12 is a product-by-process claim. Such claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only to the structure implied by the steps. See MPEP 2113(I). The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. See MPEP 2113(I). Once the examiner provides a rationale tending to show that the claimed product appears to be the same or similar to that of the prior art, although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing a nonobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product. See MPEP 2113(II).
As best understood by the examiner, while a step of adding the chelator and reducing agent is required by claim 1, the skilled artisan would not have been expected these to have been in the final product of claim 12. This is because (a) the reducing agent would have been consumed in the method of reducing bismuth in the +3 oxidation state to bismuth metal and would therefore not have been present; and (b) the chelator would have successfully chelated bismuth ions in the +3 oxidation state but would not have been expected to have successfully chelated bismuth metal. As such, the examiner has proceeded with the understanding that the chelator and reducing agent need not be present in the product of claim 12. Similarly, the alkaline solution in which the bismuth nitrate is present in claim 1 need not be present in the final product, especially because the isolation procedure by centrifugation and washing of claims 6-8 would have removed the alkali.
Claim 13 is drawn to a method of using the product made by the method of claim 1. As such, the limitations in claim 1 further limiting the method by which the product used in the method of claim 13 do not further limit the method of ameliorating bacterial growth. As such, these limitations limiting the method by which the product used in the method of claim 13 has been made will be understood to be product-by-process limitations and will be interpreted in accordance with the two paragraphs above.
Claim 10-11 are drawn to a method of storing the product made by the method of claim 12, as per the examiner’s interpretation of indefinite claims 10-11. As such, the limitations in claim 12 further limiting the method by which the product stored in the method of claims 10-11 do not further limit storage method of claims 10-11. As such, these limitations limiting the method by which the product used in the method of claims 10-11 has been made will be understood to be product-by-process limitations and will be interpreted in accordance with the two paragraphs above.
Withdrawn Anticipation Rejections
Vazquez-Munoz Reference: Previously in the prosecution history, the examiner rejected the instant claims as being anticipated by Vazquez-Munoz et al. (MethodsX, 2020, 100894, pages 1-7). This rejection has been withdrawn in view of the declaration under 37 C.F.R. 1.130(A) added to the file record on 8 December 2025.
Lei Reference – Anticipation Rejection Withdrawn: Previously in the prosecution history, the examiner rejected claim 12 as being anticipated by Lei et al. (Advanced Functional Materials, Vol. 27, 2017, 1702018, pages 1-10, supplemental cover page, and supplemental pages 1-21). This rejection has been withdrawn in view of the amendment to claim 12 reciting particles with an average diameter of 8 to 9 nm. In contrast, the average diameter of the particles of Lei appears to be between about 2.5 nm and 3.0 nm, as of Lei, page 3, figure 1(b), reproduced below.
As such, the particle size of the composition of Lei differs from the claimed particle size, and overcomes the previously applied anticipation rejection over Lei. This decision does not relate to obviousness rejections which include Lei in the statement of rejection.
Additionally, Lei is not understood to anticipate claim 1. The examiner notes the following differences between the method of Lei and that of claim 1.
First, Lei teaches dissolving Bi(NO3)3 in a mixture of glycerol and ethanol. This does not read on the required alkaline solution. The term alkaline is understood to refer to high pH solution, or a solution with a concentration of hydroxide ion greater than that in neutral pH water. This would not have occurred in the glycerol/ethanol solution of Lei.
Secondly, while Lei teaches Bi(NO3)3 as well as PVP and a reducing agent, it is unclear as to whether Lei teaches a chelator that is separate from these ingredients. Even if, purely en arguendo, the glycerol of Lei was to read on the required chelator, it is still the case that Lei fails to teach the required alkaline solution. As such, the examiner’s understanding of Lei’s use of a solvent system that does not contain water in order to solubilize the Bi(NO3)3 starting material would appear to preclude the presence of both an alkaline solution and a chelator, both of which are required by the instant claims.
Third, the instant claims require adding the reducing agent dropwise at a temperature of 60 to 75°C. In contrast, Lei teaches adding the reducing agent (sodium borohydride) quickly. Lei is also silent regarding the temperature at which this step occurs, which the examiner understands to indicate that this method step occurs at room temperature.
Luo Reference – Anticipation Rejection Withdrawn: The instant claims were previously rejected as being anticipated by Luo et al. (Journal of Materials Science: Materials in Medicine, Vol. 23, 2012, pages 2563-2573). The anticipation rejection of claim 12 has been withdrawn because the particles of Luo appear to be larger than the claimed particles. In support of this position, the examiner cites Luo, page 2566, right column and page 2567, left column, relevant text reproduced below with highlighting by the examiner.
The bismuth containing particles described above appear to be sized larger than the 8-9 nm size range required by instant claim 12. The examiner notes that the above-reproduced paragraph does describe particles sized 10 nm; however, these particles appear to be Fe3O4 nanoparticles and CdSe/ZnS quantum dots, not bismuth containing nanoparticles.
Luo also is not understood to anticipate claim 1. The examiner notes the following differences between the method of Lei and that of claim 1.
First, Luo teaches dissolving Bi(NO3)3 in N,N-dimethylformamide (DMF). The DMF solution of Luo does not read on the required alkaline solution. The term alkaline is understood to refer to high pH solution, or a solution with a concentration of hydroxide ion greater than that in neutral pH water. This would not have occurred in the DMF solution of Luo.
Secondly, while Luo teaches Bi(NO3)3 as well as PVP and a reducing agent (NaBH4), it does not appear as if Luo teaches a chelator.
Third, the instant claims require adding the reducing agent dropwise at a temperature of 60 to 75°C. Luo does not appear to teach this.
The examiner notes that the reasons for withdrawing rejections applies only to anticipation rejections, and not to obviousness rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 – Obviousness
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei et al. (Advanced Functional Materials, Vol. 27, 2017, 1702018, pages 1-10, supplemental cover page, and supplemental pages 1-21) in view of Gomez et al. (WO 2020/007822 A1).
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo et al. (Journal of Materials Science: Materials in Medicine, Vol. 23, 2012, pages 2563-2573) in view of Gomez et al. (WO 2020/007822 A1).
Lei et al. (hereafter referred to as Lei) is drawn to bismuth nanodots protected by polyvinylpyrrolidone, as of Lei, page 1, title and abstract. Lei teaches that the nanodots were prepared by the following process, as of Lei, supplemental page 2, relevant text reproduced below.
As such, the skilled artisan would have understood that the resultant product would have been that of bismuth nanoparticles coated with PVP.
Luo et al. (hereafter referred to as Luo) is drawn to surface modified bismuth nanoparticles, as of Luo, page 2563, title and abstract. Luo teaches the following, as of page 2565, left column, relevant paragraph reproduced below.
The skilled artisan would have understood that the product formed by this method would have been a polyvinylpyrrolidone (PVP) coated bismuth nanoparticle.
Neither Lei nor Luo teach using bismuth nanoparticles in an antibacterial method, as required by claim 13. Also, Lei and Luo do not anticipate the required particle size.
Gomez et al. (hereafter referred to as Gomez) is drawn to bismuth metal nanoparticles, as of Gomez, title and abstract. Gomez teaches that bismuth metal particles can be used as an antibacterial, as of Gomez, page 15, lines 9-11, relevant text reproduced below.
Gomez is not understood to be anticipatory because, although Gomez teaches polyvinylpyrrolidone as a capping agent of the bismuth, it is taught either in a list of (e.g. as of Gomez, page 53 line 24) or in prior art reviewed by Gomez.
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have used the nanoparticles of Lei or Luo to have ameliorated bacterial growth. Lei and/or Luo are drawn to bismuth nanoparticles capped by polyvinylpyrrolidone. Lei and/or Luo teaches using these as imaging agents or anticancer agents; nevertheless, Gomez also teaches that bismuth nanoparticles may be used to kill bacteria. As such, the skilled artisan would have been motivated to have used the bismuth nanoparticles of Lei and/or Luo to have predictably killed bacteria, thereby predictably ameliorating bacterial growth with a reasonable expectation of success.
As to claim 12, the claim requires an antimicrobial bismuth nanoparticle. The examiner takes the position that the skilled artisan would have expected the compositions of Lei and Luo to have been antimicrobial even if not taught for this purpose by Lei and Luo. This is because the bismuth in Lei and Luo appears to be the same bismuth required by the instantly claimed subject matter. Something which is old (e.g. the compositions of Lei and Luo) does not become patentable upon the discovery of a new property, and this property need not have been recognized at the time of filing. See MPEP 2112(I & II). Additionally, where the structure in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, the claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. See MPEP 2112.01(I). In this case, although there are differences in size between the particles of Lei and Luo and the claimed particle, it is nevertheless the case that the bismuth metal in Lei and Luo appears to be chemically the same as that in the claimed invention. As such, the skilled artisan would have expected the antibacterial properties of Lei and Luo to have been inherent in the claimed composition. Additionally, Gomez teaches antibacterial properties.
As to claim 12, the claim requires a particular particle size. The particle sizes taught by the prior art are not the same as the claimed particle size. Nevertheless, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). In this case, the general conditions of bismuth metal nanoparticles coated with PVP have been taught by the prior art. As such, it would not have been inventive for the skilled artisan to have discovered the optimum or workable ranges of particle size via routine experimentation. Additionally, it is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, … is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A), end of paragraph. As best understood by the examiner, a change in the particle size between the prior art and claimed invention would appear to be a change of form, proportions, or degree that would not have been sufficient to sustain a patent.
As to claim 12, the examiner notes that the process described by Lei and Luo differs from the process by which the claimed particles have been formed. Nevertheless, claim 12 is a product-by-process claim, and such claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only to the structure implied by the steps. See MPEP 2113(I). Once the examiner provides a rationale tending to show that the claimed product appears to be the same or similar to that of the prior art, although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing a nonobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product. See MPEP 2113(II). In this case, both the product of Lei/Luo and the claimed product are of bismuth nanoparticles coated by PVP, though the claimed product has been produced by a different process than that of Lei/Luo. Nevertheless, this is sufficient to shift the burden to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing a nonobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product in accordance with MPEP 2113(II). See the section above entitled “Claim Interpretation – Product-by-Process Issues” for more information regarding this issue.
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 8-9 and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gomez et al. (WO 2020/007822 A1) in view of Ma et al. (Colloids and Surfaces A: Physiochem. Eng. Aspects, Vol. 395, 2012, pages 276-283).
Gomez et al. (hereafter referred to as Gomez) provides various teachings regarding the synthesis of bismuth nanoparticles, as of Gomez, title and abstract.
As to claim 1, the claim requires alkaline Bi(NO3)3 as a starting material. While most of the methods taught by Gomez utilize organic solvent, Gomez teaches an aqueous solution; see e.g. Gomez, page 5, lines 18-22, reproduced below.
As to claim 1, the claim requires a chelator. Gomez teaches tartaric acid and EDTA as of the above-reproduced paragraph; these are understood to be chelators. Gomez also teaches dimercaptopropanol on page 9, lines 13-15.
As to claim 1, the claim requires polyvinylpyrrolidone. Gomez teaches this as of page 5, lines 7-10.
As to claim 1, the claim requires a reducing agent. Gomez teaches this at least as of page 5, lines 8-10, wherein sodium borohydride as a reducing agent is taught.
Gomez is understood to differ from the claimed invention because, although Gomez teaches an aqueous solution in which Bi(NO3)3 is dissolved, it is unclear that this aqueous solution is alkaline.
Ma et al. (hereafter referred to as Ma) is drawn to a method of synthesis of bismuth nanoparticles, as of Ma, page 276, title and abstract. The method of Ma entails the following, as of Ma, page 277, left column, section 2.2, relevant text reproduced below.
As best understood by the examiner, the above-reproduced paragraph describes a synthesis in aqueous environment, with NaOH rendering the environment basic. Ma teaches H2C4H4O6, which is tartaric acid and is understood to be a chelator. Ma teaches sodium hypophosphite (NaH2PO2 with one water of hydration), which is understood to be a reducing agent.
Ma fails to teach polyvinylpyrrolidone.
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined the polyvinylpyrrolidone of Gomez with the aqueous bismuth nanoparticle method of Ma. Ma teaches a method of synthesis of bismuth nanoparticles; however, this method does not include polyvinylpyrrolidone. Gomez teaches that polyvinylpyrrolidone is useful as a stabilizing agent, as of Gomez, page 5, end of top paragraph. As such, the skilled artisan would have been motivated to have included polyvinylpyrrolidone in the method of Ma in order to have predictably stabilized the bismuth nanoparticles with a reasonable expectation of success.
As to claim 1, the claim requires alkaline Bi(NO3)3 as a starting material. This is taught by Ma.
As to claim 1, the claim requires a chelator. The tartaric acid of Ma as well as the dimercaptopropanol of Gomez, page 9, lines 13-15, are understood to read on this requirement.
As to claim 1, the claim requires polyvinylpyrrolidone. Gomez teaches this as of page 5, lines 7-10.
As to claim 1, the claim requires a reducing agent. Ma teaches sodium hypophosphite as a reducing agent. Gomez teaches sodium borohydride as a reducing agent as of at least page 5 lines 5-10.
As to claim 1, the claim requires heating to 60 to 75°C. Ma teaches heating to 90°C, as of the above-reproduced text from Ma, page 277, left column, section 2.2. Nevertheless, generally, differences in temperature between the prior art and claimed invention will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such temperature is critical. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). In this case, no evidence of criticality has been provided. Additionally, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). In this case, the general conditions of heating bismuth nitrate in aqueous base along with a chelator and a reducing agent have been taught by the prior art. As such, it would not have been inventive for the skilled artisan to have determined the optimum or workable temperature range by routine experimentation.
As to claim 1, the claim requires that the reducing agent be added dropwise. This does not appear to have been taught by the prior art. Nevertheless, the skilled artisan would have been motivated to have added a component dropwise that would have been likely to have engaged in an exothermic reaction. The skilled artisan would have understood that hydrides such as sodium borohydride, which has been taught by Gomez, are unstable in water because the hydride would react with hydrogen ions in water to form H2 hydrogen gas. As such, the skilled artisan would have been motivated to have added a hydride reducing agent dropwise to have prevented excessive heat release in an excessively exothermic reaction.
As to claim 2, Gomez teaches dimercaptopropanol, as of page 9, lines 13-15.
As to claim 3, Gomez teaches sodium borohydride, as of page 5, lines 8-10.
As to claim 6, Gomez teaches the following, as of page 62, relevant text reproduced below.
Gomez teaches a wash as of the above-reproduced text.
As to claim 8, Gomez teaches 4000 rpm centrifugation, as of the above-reproduced text. It is unclear if this would have read on the claimed requirements because the claims recite centrifugal force in “g”, whereas Gomez teaches centrifugal speed in rpm (i.e. revolutions per minute). Nevertheless, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). In this case, the general conditions of centrifugation are taught by Gomez. As such, it would not have been inventive for the skilled artisan to have discovered the optimum or workable centrifugal speed or g-force via routine experimentation.
As to claim 9, the rationale provided by the examiner regarding claim 6 is also understood to be applicable to claim 9.
As to claim 12, the skilled artisan would have understood the composition formed by the method of Gomez, when using polyvinylpyrrolidone, to have had all of the features required by claim 12.
As to claim 12, the claim requires a particular particle size. Gomez teaches the following, as of page 49, relevant text reproduced below.
This overlaps with the claimed size range of 8-9 nm. While the prior art does not disclose the exact claimed values, but does overlap: in such instances even a slight overlap in range establishes a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
As to claim 13, Gomez teaches that bismuth metal particles can be used as an antibacterial, as of Gomez, page 15, lines 9-11, relevant text reproduced below.
As such, the skilled artisan would have been motivated to have used the particles of Gomez in a method of ameliorating bacterial growth.
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gomez et al. (WO 2020/007822 A1) in view of Ma et al. (Colloids and Surfaces A: Physiochem. Eng. Aspects, Vol. 395, 2012, pages 276-283), the combination further in view of Wang et al. (Journal of Physical Chemistry B, Vol. 109, 2005, pages 7067-7072) and Beresini et al. (US 2019/0177366 A1).
Gomez is drawn to methods of making bismuth metal nanoparticles. Ma is drawn to a method of making bismuth metal nanoparticles utilizing polyvinylpyrrolidone.
Neither Gomez nor Ma teach the molecular weight of the polyvinylpyrrolidone.
Wang et al. (hereafter referred to as Wang) is drawn to a method of making bismuth nanoparticles protected by polyvinylpyrrolidone (PVP), as of Wang, page 7067, title and abstract. The method of Wang utilizes PVP with a molecular weight of 55,000 Daltons, as of Wang, page 7067, right column, section 2.1.
Beresini et al. (hereafter referred to as Beresini) is drawn to PCSK9 inhibitors, as of Beresini, title and abstract. Beresini teaches 10 kDa (i.e. 10,000 Dalton) polyvinylpyrrolidone as a stabilizer, as of paragraph 0369.
Wang fails to teach the required alkaline solution of bismuth nitrate, and Beresini is not drawn to bismuth nanoparticles.
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have optimized the polyvinyl pyrrolidone of Gomez to have had the molecular weight required by the instant claims. Gomez is drawn to the use of polyvinyl pyrrolidone as a stabilizer for bismuth nanoparticles, but is silent as to the molecular weight of the polyvinyl pyrrolidone. Wang teaches polyvinylpyrrolidone with a molecular weight of about 58,000 Daltons for making and stabilizing Bismuth nanoparticles. While this molecular weight exceeds the claimed molecular weight, Beresini teaches the use of 10 kDa (i.e. 10,000 Dalton) polyvinylpyrrolidone as a stabilizer. As such, the skilled artisan would have been motivated to have optimized the molecular weight of the polyvinylpyrrolidone to have been 10,000 Daltons to have predictably stabilized the bismuth nanoparticles of Gomez with a reasonable expectation of success.
Additionally, the examiner notes that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). In this case, the general conditions of bismuth nanoparticles stabilized by polyvinyl pyrrolidone have been taught by the prior art. As such, it would not have been inventive for the skilled artisan to have discovered the optimum or workable ranges of the molecular weight of the polyvinyl pyrrolidone via routine experimentation.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gomez et al. (WO 2020/007822 A1) in view of Ma et al. (Colloids and Surfaces A: Physiochem. Eng. Aspects, Vol. 395, 2012, pages 276-283), the combination further in view of Brown et al. (Chemistry of Materials, Vol. 16, 2014, pages 2266-2274).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gomez et al. (WO 2020/007822 A1) in view of Ma et al. (Colloids and Surfaces A: Physiochem. Eng. Aspects, Vol. 395, 2012, pages 276-283), the combination further in view of Jiang et al. (Applied Catalysis B: Environmental, Vol. 205, 2017, pages 523-540).
Gomez is drawn to methods of making bismuth metal nanoparticles. Ma is drawn to a method of making bismuth metal nanoparticles utilizing polyvinylpyrrolidone.
Neither Gomez nor Ma teach the required storage conditions.
Brown et al. (hereafter referred to as Brown) is drawn to bismuth nanoparticles, as of Brown, title and abstract. Brown teaches storage at 4 °C, as of Brown, page 2268, left column, top paragraph.
Jiang et al. (hereafter referred to as Jiang) teaches bismuth nanoparticles, as of Jiang, title and abstract. Jiang teaches storage of said nanoparticles in a manner that they are protected from light, as of Jiang, page 533, right column, top paragraph.
Neither Brown nor Jiang teach PVP.
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have stored the nanoparticles of Gomez in view of Ma at 4°C, as of Brown, or free from light, as of Jiang. The combination of Gomez in view of Ma is drawn to bismuth nanoparticles. Brown and Jiang are also drawn to bismuth nanoparticles, and teach storing said nanoparticles either at 4°C or free from light. As such, the skilled artisan would have been motivated to have stored the nanoparticles of Gomez in view of Ma either at 4°C or free from light in order to have predictably stored said particles in a manner that they remain stable for a long period of time with a reasonable expectation of success.
Response to Arguments
Applicant has presented arguments regarding the previously applied rejection, as of applicant’s response on 16 June 2026 (hereafter referred to as applicant’s response). These arguments are addressed below.
Arguments over the previously applied anticipation rejection over Vazquez-Munoz et al. (MethodsX, 2020, 100894, pages 1-7) were provided on page 5 of applicant’s response. These arguments are understood to be moot in view of the withdrawal of this rejection and have not been addressed substantively.
Applicant has presented arguments have been presented regarding the previously-applied anticipation rejections over Lei et al. (Advanced Functional Materials, Vol. 27, 2017, 1702018, pages 1-10, supplemental cover page, and supplemental pages 1-21) and Luo et al. (Journal of Materials Science: Materials in Medicine, Vol. 23, 2012, pages 2563-2573). The previously applied anticipation rejections over these references have been withdrawn. Therefore, it would appear at first glance that the arguments presented in part B of applicant’s response on page 5 through the top of page 7 would be moot. With that being said, some of the arguments presented in this section of applicant’s response still appear to be relevant, and are substantively addressed below.
Applicant makes the following argument regarding the Lei reference, as of page 6, lines 2-4, reproduced below.
The examiner’s best understanding of this argument is that applicant is arguing that the product of claim 12 comprises a chelator, which is not found in prior art references Lei and/or Luo. To the extent that this is applicant’s argument, it is not persuasive.
The examiner notes the following: first, claim 12 recites a product made by the method of claim 1, and the method of claim 1 recites the step of adding a chelator. Nevertheless, this would not necessarily result in a chelator being present in the final product of claim 12. As best understood by the examiner, a chelator can chelate with metal ions, but not necessarily with metals with an oxidation state of zero. This is because chelators interact with metals via dative covalent bonds, in which electron rich chelators form bonds with electron poor metal ions. However, metals with a zero oxidation state are not electron-poor in the same manner that metal ions are electron poor. As such, the skilled artisan would not have expected the chelator added in claim 1 to have bound to bismuth in its metallic oxidation state. In contrast, the skilled artisan would have expected the chelator to have bound to bismuth in its trivalent (i.e. +3) oxidation state, but not to have remained bound to bismuth after its reduction to the zero oxidation state.
As such, while compositions of Lei and Luo lack a chelator, that difference is insufficient to distinguish Lei and Luo from the invention of claim 12 because the skilled artisan would not have expected the chelator to have been present in the composition of claim 12.
Applicant then argues that the particles of Lei and Luo are designed for CT imaging or photothermal cancer therapy, and the skilled artisan would not have expected these particles to have had antibacterial properties, see at least the bottom paragraph of page 5 of applicant’s response. This is not persuasive. Something which is old (e.g. the compositions of Lei and Luo) does not become patentable upon the discovery of a new property, and this property need not have been recognized at the time of filing. See MPEP 2112(I & II).
Additionally, where the structure in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, the claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. See MPEP 2112.01(I). In this case, although there are differences in size between the particles of Lei and Luo and the claimed particle, it is nevertheless the case that the bismuth metal in Lei and Luo appears to be chemically the same as that in the claimed invention. As such, the skilled artisan would have expected the antibacterial properties of Lei and Luo to have been inherent in the claimed composition.
The examiner notes that apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does; see MPEP 2114(II) where the examiner understands this rationale to apply to chemical composition claims in the same manner that it applies to apparatus or device claims. As such, the claims (other than claim 13) cover what the composition is (e.g. bismuth nanoparticles), not what the composition does (e.g. act as an antimicrobial).
Also in this vein, the examiner notes that the reason or motivation to modify the reference may often suggest what the inventor has done, but for a different purpose or to solve a different problem. It is not necessary that the prior art suggest the combination to achieve the same advantage or result discovered by applicant. See MPEP 2144(IV). In this case, the fact that the prior art suggested forming bismuth nanoparticles for a different purpose than what is recited by the instant claims is not sufficient to overcome the cited prior art.
Applicant makes arguments regarding “phase pure metallic coated bismuth nanoparticles” as of the last paragraph on page 6. The relevance of this argument to the claimed invention is unclear to the examiner. This is because the text “phase pure” does not appear in the claims. Furthermore, the phrase “metallic coated,” which is discussed in applicant’s arguments, page 5, second to last paragraph, would appear to imply that a metal coats a non-metal, or that a metal in a metallic oxidation state (e.g. an oxidation state of zero) coats a material lacking a metal in a metallic oxidation state. However, this is not what is required by the claims. In contrast, the claims require a metal core particle coated by polyvinyl pyrrolidone. This requires a metal in the center of the particle, not a metal coating.
Applicant then makes the following argument regarding the issue of reaction temperature, as of page 8, second full paragraph in part B, relevant text reproduced below.
This is not persuasive. While applicant has asserted that there are unexpected results associated with the recited temperature range, applicant has not pointed to where in the specification and drawings these are allegedly disclosed. The examiner reviewed the instant specification and drawings, and was unable to find evidence of unexpected results related to the recited temperature range. The burden is on applicant to establish that results are unexpected and significant, and applicant does not appear to have met that burden. See MPEP 716.02(b)(I & II).
Applicant then argues that lower or higher temperatures cause undesired products, as of applicant’s response, page 8, last paragraph in section B. Specifically, applicant argues that overheating causes immediate oxidation and large particles, whereas lower temperatures result in a highly unstable suspension that precipitates within minutes after synthesis. This is not persuasive. To be of probative value, any objective evidence should be supported by actual proof, and attorney argument cannot take the place of evidence. See MPEP 716.01(c)(I & II) as well as MPEP 2145(I). Applicant’s arguments that undesirable effects occur if the temperature is outside the claimed range appears to be attorney argument rather than evidence. This attorney argument is insufficient to provide evidence that conducting a method with a comparative temperature outside the claimed range would have resulted in the formation of an inferior product.
Applicant does not appear to have presented additional arguments regarding claims 4-5 and the secondary references used to reject these claims in part C of applicant’s response on page 8. As such, the previously applied rejection of claims 4-5 has been maintained by the examiner.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
ISAAC . SHOMER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1612
/ISAAC SHOMER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612