DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-4, 6-9 are originally presented.
Claims 5 and 10 are amended. Support for amendment can be found in originally filed claims.
Claims 11-20 were previously withdrawn.
Claims 1-10 are considered on the merits.
Response to Amendment
Amendment to claims 5 and 10 overcome the 112(b) rejection of record.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the instant application has specific differences from the cited references as follows:
Noumi does not teach a singular, cohesive porous layer comprising both a polyolefin and a product formed by reacting a compound with one or more carboxy group and a compound with one or more epoxy groups. Noumi teaches these two components in separate layers (Remarks pp. 7).
Nowhere does Noumi disclose or suggest that the reaction product is integrated within the same porous layer as the polyolefin.
In response to arguments a-b, the arguments are not commensurate in scope with the claims. Claim 1 requires “A membrane comprising at least one dry-process porous layer that comprises the following: a polyolefin; and a product formed by reacting a compound with one or more carboxy groups and a compound with one or more epoxy groups, wherein the product may be a reaction network, a three-dimensional reaction network, or a cross-linked network”. Noumi teaches a battery separator including a porous substrate and a layer of the crosslinked polymer supported thereon ([0074]). Claim 1 does not require a “singular, cohesive porous layer comprising both a polyolefin and a product formed by reacting a compound with one or more carboxy group and a compound with one or more epoxy groups” as argued. The open-ended language of claim 1 (i.e. “comprising) allows for additional component to be present in any given layer as well as multi component layers. Further, claim 1 is interpreted as requiring a “membrane comprising a dry process porous layer” and also comprising “a polyolefin; and a product formed by reacting a compound with one or more carboxy groups and a compound with one or more epoxy groups, wherein the product may be a reaction network”. The separator taught by Noumi in view of Wei comprises a porous dry process polyolefin film with a product formed by reacting a compound with one or more carboxy groups and a compound with one or more epoxy groups, wherein the product may be a reaction network, a three-dimensional reaction network, or a cross-linked network ([0020]-[0026]; [0044]; [0047]-[0049]; [0074]).
Claim Interpretation
Claim 10 contains the limitation “and, optionally, a coating, wherein the coating may be a ceramic coating, a polymer coating, an adhesive coating, a shutdown coating, or combinations thereof”. Examiner notes that the limitations following “optionally” are merely optional and are not required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noumi et al. (US 20110135988 A1) hereinafter "Noumi", cited on the IDS filed 01/08/2024, in view of Wei et al. (US 8795565 B2) hereinafter "Wei".
Regarding claim 1, Noumi teaches a membrane comprising a porous layer that comprises the following: a polyolefin ([0020]-[0026]; [0041] porous polyolefin resin); and a product formed by reacting a compound with one or more carboxy groups and a compound with one or more epoxy groups, wherein the product may be a reaction network, a three-dimensional reaction network, or a cross-linked network ([0020]-[0026]; [0044]; [0047]-[0049]; [0074]). Noumi teaches a polyolefin porous substrate is formed by extrusion with paraffin, stretching, and removal of the paraffin with decane ([0108]-[0109]).
Noumi does not teach where a porous layer is formed by a dry process porous layer.
However, Wei teaches a porous membrane formed by a dry process, that can be used in a battery separator, wherein the porous membrane can be a polyolefin (column 2 lines 7-15 and lines 36-45; column 3 lines 15-43; Example 4; claim 2). The instant specification defines a dry-process as “one that does not involve the use of solvents or oils, particularly during a casting or extrusion step” (instant specification p. 4).
Both Noumi and Wei teach porous polyolefin films for use in battery separators. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the polyolefin film of Noumi could be substituted for the dry process polyolefin film taught by Wei. One of ordinary skill in the art would have done this with a reasonable expectation of success.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have substituted the porous polyolefin layer taught by Noumi with the porous polyolefin layer taught by Wei to achieve the predictable result of a dry-process porous layer comprising a polyolefin.
Regarding claim 2, modified Noumi teaches the membrane of claim 1. Modified Noumi further teaches wherein the membrane is a monolayer, bilayer, trilayer, or multilayer membrane (Noumi [0072], [0092]; Wei column 5-7 examples 2-3, 6-7, column 4 lines 13-23).
Regarding claim 8, modified Noumi teaches the membrane of claim 1. Modified Noumi teaches wherein the polyolefin is a polyethylene polymer (column 6 lines 35-45 Example 4; column 3 lines 15-43).
Regarding claim 9, modified Noumi teaches the membrane of claim 1. Modified Noumi teaches wherein the polyolefin is a polypropylene polymer (column 6 lines 35-45 Example 4; column 3 lines 15-43).
Claim(s) 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noumi (US 20110135988 A1) in view of Wei (US 8795565 B2), as applied above, in further view of Matsui et al. (US 20110311856) hereinafter “Matsui” and Uetani et al. (US 20060257727 A1) hereinafter “Uetani”.
Regarding claims 3-4, modified Noumi teaches the membrane of claim 1.
Modified Noumi does not teach wherein the compound with one or more epoxy groups has from 1 to 10 or 1 to 5 epoxy groups.
However, Uetani teaches a porous polyolefin film supporting a reactive polymer where the reactive polymer may contain an epoxy group, for example, the reactive polymer may be glycidyl(meth)acrylate ([abstract]; [0017]; [0021]; [0032]; [0048]). Uetani teaches where the reactive polymer is obtained by reacting a crosslinkable polymer with a polycarboxylic acid so that it is partially crosslinked ([0042]) where the polycarboxylic acid is an organic compound having two or more carboxyl groups in the molecule more preferably 2 to 4 carboxyl groups ([0043]-[0047]). Uetani further teaches that low proportions of insoluble matter leads to substantial dissolution/diffusion when immersed in an electrolyte solution ([0059]). Uetani teaches that crosslinking with a polycarboxylic acid increases insoluble content, thereby avoiding the reactive polymer dissolving in an electrolytic solution and diffusing thereinto when it is immersed therein ([0060]). The polycarboxylic acid crosslinking agents taught by Uetani are art recognized as suitable for crosslinking epoxy group-containing reactive polymers used in separator membranes.
Further, Matsui teaches the use of polyethylene glycol (PEG) with terminal epoxy groups as a crosslinking agent in polyolefin-based porous separators (Abstract; [0009]-[0013]; [0029]-[0030]). Matsui teaches where polyethylene glycol (PEG) with an epoxy group at both ends (i.e. linear PEG with 2 epoxy groups) is preferred as the crosslinking agent ([0048]) and is reactive with carboxyl groups ([0030]).
Noumi teaches wherein a reactive polymer may have carboxyl groups and epoxy groups ([0044]-[0048]; [0057]-[0058]; [0026]). The polycarboxylic acid crosslinking agents taught by Uetani are art recognized as suitable for crosslinking epoxy group-containing reactive polymers used in separator membranes. Matsui teaches a crosslinking agent, linear PEG with 2 epoxy groups, that is reactive with carboxyl groups ([0048]; [0030]). Therefore, epoxy-functional PEG is recognized by the art as a suitable crosslinker for carboxyl-functional polymers included in separator membranes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the membrane taught by modified Noumi by crosslinking the reactive polymer with a crosslinking agent, such as linear PEG with 2 epoxy groups, that is reactive with carboxyl groups as taught by Matsui.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to crosslink the reactive polymer taught by Noumi with the crosslinking agents of Uetani and Matsui to increase solid content and prevent undesired dissolution/diffusion in an electrolyte (Uetani [0059]-[0060]). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to control the degree of crosslinking in order to achieve an optimal content of insoluble matter in the separator and employing a combination of the crosslinking agents taught by Uetani and Matsui and would allow for greater control over the degree of crosslinking.
Further, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) (see MPEP §2144.05).
Regarding claim 5, modified Noumi teaches the membrane of claim 1.
Modified Noumi does not teach wherein the compound with one or more epoxy groups is a polyethylene oxide (PEO) having two or more epoxy groups or polyethylene glycol(PEG) having two or more epoxy groups.
However, Uetani teaches a porous polyolefin film supporting a reactive polymer where the reactive polymer may contain an epoxy group, for example, the reactive polymer may be glycidyl(meth)acrylate ([abstract]; [0017]; [0021]; [0032]; [0048]). Uetani teaches where the reactive polymer is obtained by reacting a crosslinkable polymer with a polycarboxylic acid so that it is partially crosslinked ([0042]) where the polycarboxylic acid is an organic compound having two or more carboxyl groups in the molecule more preferably 2 to 4 carboxyl groups ([0043]-[0047]). Uetani further teaches that low proportions of insoluble matter leads to substantial dissolution/diffusion when immersed in an electrolyte solution ([0059]). Uetani teaches that crosslinking with a polycarboxylic acid increases insoluble content, thereby avoiding the reactive polymer dissolving in an electrolytic solution and diffusing thereinto when it is immersed therein ([0060]). The polycarboxylic acid crosslinking agents taught by Uetani are art recognized as suitable for crosslinking epoxy group-containing reactive polymers used in separator membranes.
Further, Matsui teaches the use of polyethylene glycol (PEG) with terminal epoxy groups as a crosslinking agent in polyolefin-based porous separators (Abstract; [0009]-[0013]; [0029]-[0030]). Matsui teaches where polyethylene glycol (PEG) with an epoxy group at both ends (i.e. linear PEG with 2 epoxy groups) is preferred as the crosslinking agent ([0048]) and is reactive with carboxyl groups ([0030]).
Noumi teaches wherein a reactive polymer may have carboxyl groups and epoxy groups ([0044]-[0048]; [0057]-[0058]; [0026]). The polycarboxylic acid crosslinking agents taught by Uetani are art recognized as suitable for crosslinking epoxy group-containing reactive polymers used in separator membranes. Matsui teaches a crosslinking agent, linear PEG with 2 epoxy groups, that is reactive with carboxyl groups ([0048]; [0030]). Therefore, epoxy-functional PEG is recognized by the art as a suitable crosslinker for carboxyl-functional polymers included in separator membranes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the membrane taught by modified Noumi by crosslinking the reactive polymer with a crosslinking agent, such as linear PEG with 2 epoxy groups, that is reactive with carboxyl groups as taught by Matsui.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to crosslink the reactive polymer taught by Noumi with the crosslinking agents of Uetani and Matsui to increase solid content and prevent undesired dissolution/diffusion in an electrolyte (Uetani [0059]-[0060]). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to control the degree of crosslinking in order to achieve an optimal content of insoluble matter in the separator and employing a combination of the crosslinking agents taught by Uetani and Matsui and would allow for greater control over the degree of crosslinking.
Claim(s) 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noumi (US 20110135988 A1) in view of Wei (US 8795565 B2), as applied above, in further view of Uetani et al. (US 20060257727 A1) hereinafter “Uetani”.
Regarding claims 6-7, modified Noumi teaches the membrane of claim 1. Noumi teaches a reactive polymer with both carboxyl and epoxy groups ([0026]; [0057]-[0058]; [0044]).
Modified Noumi does not teach wherein the compound with one or more carboxy groups has from 1 to 10 nor from 1 to 5 carboxy groups.
However, Uetani teaches a porous polyolefin film supporting a reactive polymer where the reactive polymer may contain an epoxy group, for example, the reactive polymer may be glycidyl(meth)acrylate ([abstract]; [0017]; [0021]; [0032]; [0048]). Uetani teaches where the reactive polymer is obtained by reacting a crosslinkable polymer with a polycarboxylic acid so that it is partially crosslinked ([0042]) where the polycarboxylic acid is an organic compound having two or more carboxyl groups in the molecule more preferably 2 to 4 carboxyl groups ([0043]-[0047]). Uetani further teaches that low proportions of insoluble matter leads to substantial dissolution/diffusion when immersed in an electrolyte solution ([0059]). Uetani teaches that crosslinking with a polycarboxylic acid increases insoluble content, thereby avoiding the reactive polymer dissolving in an electrolytic solution and diffusing thereinto when it is immersed therein ([0060]).
The polycarboxylic acid crosslinking agents taught by Uetani are art recognized as suitable for crosslinking epoxy group-containing reactive polymers used in separator membranes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the membrane taught by modified Noumi by crosslinking the reactive polymer with a polycarboxylic acid having 2 to 4 carboxyl groups as taught by Uetani.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to crosslink the reactive polymer taught by Noumi with a polycarboxylic acid having 2 to 4 carboxyl groups as taught by Uetani to increase solid content and prevent undesired dissolution/diffusion in an electrolyte ([0059]-[0060]). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to control the degree of crosslinking in order to achieve an optimal content of insoluble matter in the separator. Further, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) (see MPEP §2144.05).
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noumi (US 20110135988 A1) in view of Wei (US 8795565 B2), as applied above, in further view of Zhang et al. (US 20140045033 A1) hereinafter “Zhang”.
Regarding claim 10, modified Noumi teaches a battery separator comprising a membrane according to claim 1 (Noumi [abstract], [0020]-[0026], [0074]; Wei column 2 lines 35-45).
Modified Noumi does not teach an optional coating, wherein the coating may be a ceramic coating, a polymer coating, an adhesive coating, a shutdown coating, or combinations thereof.
However, Zhang teaches ceramic and/or polymeric coatings for porous polyolefin membranes ([0019]-[0020]; [0032]; [0084]; [0021]). Zhang teaches that ceramic coatings can provide improved safety and high temperature performance for porous polyolefin membranes used as a battery separator ([0052]; [0065]; [0093]-[0095]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the battery separator taught by modified Noumi by incorporating a ceramic coating as taught by Zhang.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to further modify the battery separator taught by modified Noumi by incorporating a ceramic coating as taught by Zhang to increase the safety of the separator ([0052]; [0065]; [0093]-[0095]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yamada (EP 2720295 A1) teaches a membrane comprising a porous layer ([0044]-[0046]) that comprises the following: a polyolefin ([0086]); and a product formed by reacting a compound with one or more carboxy groups and a compound with one or more epoxy groups, wherein the product may be a reaction network, a three-dimensional reaction network, or a cross-linked network ([0009]; [0027]; [0030]; [0034]; [0037]). Cited on the IDS filed 01/08/2024.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/F.B.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728