DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-24, 26, 27 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 21 recites “a processor” in line 6. However, a processor is already introduced in line 4. Therefore it is unclear whether the process in line 6 is the same or different than the processor in line 4. For purposes of examination they are considered to be the same processor.
Claim 22-24 and 26 also recite “a processor” but depend on claim 21 where the processor has already been introduced. Therefore it is unclear whether the processors of claims 22-24 and 26 are the same or different than the one in claim 21. For purposes of examination they are all considered the same processor and the dependent claims should recite –the processor--.
Claim 27 recites the limitation "the warning data" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 8-11, 16-17, 19-24, 26-27, 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (WO 2020068623 A1).
With regard to claim 1, Lee discloses A system for out-patient treatment (Fig. 1), the system comprising: an infusion pump (114, [0026]) for delivering a therapeutic to a patient; a wearable device (100, [0017], can be formed a system that is a wearable injector) configured to be worn by the patient at least one of: (a) before delivery of the therapeutic ([0017] if formed as a wearable delivery system attached to the patient body) and (b) during delivery of the therapeutic ([0017] if formed as a wearable delivery system attached to the patient body or if it formed as a hand-held injector using flexible tubing delivery set that would be attached to the patient during delivery of the therapeutic), the wearable device comprising one or more sensors (116 and 118) configured to acquire sensor data related to detection of patient vital signs ([0032], senses a biological condition by sensing change in level of a biochemical and second sensor can sense core or skin temperature but is not limited to sensing only these conditions); and a wireless communication module (120, [0036]) disposed on the wearable device (100) and configured for remote wireless communication with a healthcare provider based on the acquired sensor data ([0036] wireless communication to a healthcare provider at external computing unit 104).
With regard to claim 2, Lee discloses wherein the infusion pump comprises the therapeutic (in reservoirs 106 and 108).
With regard to claim 3, Lee discloses wherein the therapeutic is known to trigger an immune inflammatory response in the patient, potentially leading to an increased risk factors of (a) cytokine release syndrome (CRS) ([0023]) or (b) neurotoxicity (NT).
With regard to claim 5, Lee discloses wherein the therapeutic comprises at least one of (a) an immunotherapy drug that activates patient T cells to fight cancer ([0023]), (b) an immunotherapy drug including blinatumomab ([0023]), and (c) an immunotherapy drug including acepatamab.
With regard to claim 8, Lee discloses wherein the at least one sensor of the wearable device comprises an optical sensor ([0029]) that is configured to measure oxygen of the patient ([0028]).
With regard to claim 9, Lee discloses wherein the at least one sensor of the wearable device is configured to measure at least one indicator of cytokine release syndrome selected from: (a) heart rate (HR) ([0028]), (b) axillary temperature, (c) respiratory rate (RR), (d) oxygen saturation ([0028]), and (e) blood pressure (BP) ([0028]).
With regard to claim 10, Lee discloses wherein the at least one sensor continuously ([0028], configured to operate continuously over a duration of drug delivery and provide real-time measurements of the biological condition) measures at least one of: (a) heart rate ([0028]), (b) temperature ([0032]), (c) respiratory rate, and (d) oxygen saturation ([0028]).
With regard to claim 11, Lee discloses wherein the wireless communication module (120) of the wearable device is configured to at least one of (a) send messages to the healthcare provider in real time ([0036]), (b) send periodic messages to the healthcare provider based on an interval of a predetermined number of second, minutes, or hours, ([0036]) (c) send periodic messages every ten minutes ([0036]), (d) send an alarm message when oxygen of the patient drops below a predetermined threshold, and (e) send an alarm if the communication is disrupted (claim limitation recites “configured to” implying functional recitation such that the wireless module must only be capable of performing the recited functions. Because Lee discloses the use of wireless communication form the wearable device to an external computing unit it would be capable of sending message in real time or periodically over a certain time period).
With regard to claim 16, Lee discloses further comprising an axillary temperature sensor (second sensor 118 can be a temperature sensor ([0032])) for detecting a temperature of the patient during delivery of the therapeutic ([0032]), the axillary temperature sensor communicatively coupled to the wearable device (see Fig. 1).
With regard to claim 17, Lee discloses where in the axillary temperature sensor includes a wireless communication module configured to communicate with the wireless communication module of the wearable device ([0031]).
With regard to claim 19, Lee discloses wherein the healthcare provider comprises a mobile device ([0016], smartphone) configured for wireless communication with the wireless communication module of the wearable device ([0036]).
With regard to claim 20, Lee discloses further comprising a patient-assigned wireless device comprising a mobile application ([0016], mobile device of healthcare provider 104 can communicate with a patient-assigned wireless device “other computer devices associated with the patient 102”) configured to support audio and/or video communication with the mobile device of the healthcare provider (a computing device would be capable of supporting audio and/or video).
With regard to claim 21, Lee discloses A computer-implemented method for out-patient treatment with immunotherapy that activates T cells of a patient to kill cancer ([0012]), the method comprising: receiving, at a processor (Fig. 1, element 120), sensor data (from sensors 116 and 118) in response to the processor executing a sensor data receiving module ([0032]); and generating, using a processor, warning data, based on the sensor data, in response to the processor executing a warning data generation module, wherein a content of the sensor data is based on a likelihood that the immunotherapy will trigger increased risk factors of cytokine release syndrome (0013]-[0015], [0046]).
With regard to claim 22, Lee discloses further comprising: transmitting, using a processor, the sensor data to at least one of (a) a healthcare provider device in response to the processor executing a sensor data transmission module ([0036]), and (b) to a patient device, wherein the sensor data is representative of vital signs of the patient ([0016], mobile device of healthcare provider 104 can communicate with a patient-assigned wireless device “other computer devices associated with the patient 102”).
With regard to claim 23, Lee discloses further comprising: transmitting, using a processor, the warning data to a healthcare provider device (in response to the processor executing a warning data transmission module ([0046]) or (b) when the sensor data exceeds a threshold value, in response to the processor executing a warning data transmission module.
With regard to claim 24, Lee discloses further comprising: transmitting, using a processor, audio/video data between a patient device and a healthcare provider smartphone via a cellular connection ([0016], mobile device of healthcare provider 104 can communicate with a patient-assigned wireless device “other computer devices associated with the patient 102”) in response to the processor executing an audio/video data transmission module ([0049]).
With regard to claim 26, Lee discloses further comprising: transmitting, using a processor, patient-initiated call input data to at least one of: a healthcare provider, or a health management system, in response to the processor executing a patient-initiated call input receiving module ([0049]).
With regard to claim 27, Lee discloses wherein a healthcare provider phone (smartphone, [0016]) is configured to emit a loud audible alarm ([0046], [0049]), based on the warning data, at a periodic interval until a health care provider responds ([0046], [0049]).
With regard to claim 29, Lee discloses wherein the sensor data is representative of at least one indicator of cytokine release syndrome selected from: heart rate (HR) ([0028]), axillary temperature, respiratory rate (RR), oxygen saturation ([0028]), and blood pressure (BP) ([0028]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (WO 2020068623 A1) in view of Nesbitt et al. (WO 2007/033025 A2).
With regard to claim 18, Lee discloses sensing blood pressure ([0028]).
However, Lee does not disclose a blood pressure cuff.
Nesbitt teaches a system for treating CRS similar to Lee ([54]) and further teaches the use of a blood pressure cuff ([31], [43]) for detecting a blood pressure of the patient during delivery of the therapeutic, wherein the blood pressure cuff is communicatively coupled to the wearable device ([43]).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lee with the blood pressure cuff as taught by Nesbitt for the purpose of providing a well-known alternative for measuring blood pressure ([31]).
Conclusion
/Lauren P Farrar/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783