DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on 10/16/2023. These drawings are acceptable.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: page 2 lines 10-11, should be amended to “and configured to monitor a current of a battery pack flowing” or “and configured to monitor a battery pack current flowing”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 20 should be amended to “for operation of the first BDU” for consistency. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9, 11-12, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 line 11 recites “for operation of the BDU”. However, it is unclear whether this recitation of BDU refers to the “first BDU” of claim 7 line 5 or the “second BDU” of claim 9 line 3.
Claim 11 lines 4-5 recites “an insulation measuring unit, the first high voltage measuring unit, the first insulation resistance measuring unit” and it is unclear as to which insulation measuring unit is referred to. That is, because the claim twice recites an insulation measuring unit when the parent claims only recite “a first insulation resistance measuring unit”, the claim is unclear.
Claim 12 lines 6-8 recites “an insulation measuring unit, the first high voltage measuring unit, the first insulation resistance measuring unit” and it is unclear as to which insulation measuring unit is referred to. That is, because the claim twice recites an insulation measuring unit when the parent claims only recite “a first insulation resistance measuring unit”, the claim is unclear.
Claim 14 lines 5-6 recites “an insulation measuring unit, the first high voltage measuring unit, the first insulation resistance measuring unit” and it is unclear as to which insulation measuring unit is referred to. That is, because the claim twice recites an insulation measuring unit when the parent claims only recite “a first insulation resistance measuring unit”, the claim is unclear.
Claim 15 lines 6-8 recites “an insulation measuring unit, the first high voltage measuring unit, the first insulation resistance measuring unit” and it is unclear as to which insulation measuring unit is referred to. That is, because the claim twice recites an insulation measuring unit when the parent claims only recite “a first insulation resistance measuring unit”, the claim is unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 7, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al. (CN 112937307, see machine translation) in view of Worry et al. (US 2016/0261127).
Regarding claims 1 and 7, Hong discloses an electric automobile comprising a battery pack with a battery pack breaking unit [battery disconnect unit, BDU] comprising a high voltage control assembly and a high voltage loop (abstract).
The battery pack breaking unit [BDU] is connected to a battery management system BMS [battery pack control module BPCM] (abstract, [0005]). The BMS sends control signals to the high voltage control component [part of BDU] ([0005]-[0006]).
The high-voltage control component includes:
a current acquisition module which is used to detect the total current of the battery pack [current measuring configured to measure the battery pack current based on a result of detecting the battery pack current] ([0009]),
a total voltage detection module for detecting the total volage of the battery pack [high voltage measuring unit configured to measure a battery pack voltage] ([0008]),
an insulation detection module which is used to detect the resistance between the positive and negative terminals of the battery pack and the resistance between the negative terminal of the battery pack and the negative terminal of the object to be charged [insulation resistance measuring unit configured to measure an insulation resistance of the battery pack] ([0010]).
However, Hong does not explicitly disclose the battery management system BMS [battery pack control module BPCM] is configured to diagnose a state of the battery pack based on a battery state information indicating the state of the battery pack, and a first power direct current-direct current (DC-DC) unit configured to generate a power voltage required for operation of the BDU.
Worry discloses a battery management system that controls at least a stack 111 of battery cells 110a-n (abstract, Fig 1). A stack controller 150/502 [BPCM] is configured to control the battery stack 111, and monitors the battery cells 110a-n ([0053], Figs 1 and 5). The stack controller further includes receives and analyzes [diagnoses] the results of measurement and sends control signals based on the results ([0009]). Worry further discloses a power interface 160/602 [battery disconnect unit BDU] that monitors current and voltage as well as control the switches 140a-c ([0055]). The power interface has a regulator 607 which is a DC-DC regulator/converter [first power direct current-direct current unit] that regulates/converts the DC power input to power the components of the power interface 602 ([0124]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the function of analyzing [diagnosing] measurements of sending control signals based on the measurements of the stack controller of Worry with the battery management system [BPCM] of Hong for the purpose of providing control based upon measurements.
In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the regulator [DC-DC converter] of the power interface of Worry with the battery pack breaking unit [BDU] of Hong for the purpose of powering the BDU.
With further regards to claim 7, while Hong discloses a battery pack [a main battery device including a main battery pack] (abstract, see Fig 2), Hong does not explicitly disclose a sub-battery device that includes a sub-battery pack connected to the main battery pack.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add an additional battery pack [sub-battery pack] for the purpose of increasing the amount of power or energy available, and such a modification would amount to a mere duplication of parts (see MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B)).
Alternatively or in support of, Worry further teaches additional battery stacks 210a-n, cell interfaces 220a-n, stack controllers 250a-n, and/or power interfaces 260a-n ([0063], Fig 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an additional battery pack [sub-battery pack] for the purpose of increasing the amount of power or energy available.
Regarding claim 2, modified Hong discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Hong teaches that the current sensor in the high-voltage circuit [part of the BDU] is a shunt [shunt-type current sensor] to detect the current in the battery pack ([0043]-[0044]).
Regarding claims 4 and 10, modified Hong discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Hong discloses a the high-voltage control assembly includes relays ([0012]). The first relay and third relay [either or both are a main positive contactor] are connected in parallel to the positive electrode of the battery pack ([0012], see Figs 1-2, wherein the first and third relay are to the right of point a in reproduced Fig 1 below), and the second relay [main negative electrode contactor] is connected to the negative electrode of the battery pack ([0012], see Figs 1-2). The high-voltage control component includes a relay drive module [contact controller] is used to control the relays and close according to the control signals ([0007], [0012], [0033]).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al. (CN 112937307, see machine translation) in view of Worry et al. (US 2016/0261127), as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Nallapa et al. (US 2015/0307082).
Regarding claim 3, modified Hong discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Hong teaches that the current sensor in the high-voltage circuit [part of the BDU] is a shunt [shunt-type current sensor] or a Hall element [Hall-type current sensor] to detect the current in the battery pack ([0043]-[0044]). Further, it would have been obvious to use both type current sensors in order to measure the current.
While Hong discloses a battery management system [BPCM] is connected to the high-voltage control component of the battery pack breaking unit [BDU] ([0024]), Hong does not explicitly disclose wherein battery management system [BPCM] includes a current measuring unit configured to measure the battery pack current based on a result of the battery pack current detected from the Hall-type current sensor.
Nallapa discloses an electric vehicle having a traction battery or battery pack 114 (abstract, [0031]). A battery control module BCM 208 monitors and controls the performance of the battery 200, and monitors several battery pack level characteristics such as pack current measured by a current sensor 206, pack voltage 210, and pack temperature 212 ([0036]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the current measuring device of the battery control module of Nallapa with the battery management system [BPCM] of modified Hong for the purpose of measuring the current.
Claim(s) 5 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al. (CN 112937307, see machine translation) in view of Worry et al. (US 2016/0261127), as applied to claim 1 or 7 above, and further in view of Hammerschmidt et al. (US 2019/0184834).
Regarding claims 5 and 13, modified Hong discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. While Hong discloses a second fuse that is a detonating fuse between the battery pack and a load ([0029], Fig 1) which is controlled by a high-voltage component and fuse drive module [fuse controller] ([0041]), Hong does not explicitly disclose a detonating fuse as a pyro fuse that blocks a connection due to an impact.
Hammerschmidt discloses a pyrotechnic switch 10 for switching off and establishing electric circuits includes a first electrical conductor, a second electrical conductor, and an ignition element (abstract). The ignition element 16 has a detonator ([0049]). Pyrotechnic switches, which are also called pyrotechnic fuses, serve to interrupt an electrical circuit in a targeted and safe manner when certain conditions occur ([0010]). Pyrotechnic switches have a rapid disconnection response, this allowing the high-voltage battery to be safely disconnected from the high-voltage electrical system of a vehicle within an extremely short time after said vehicle is involved in a crash ([0010]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a pyrotechnic fuse that activates after a crash as taught by Hammerschmidt as the detonating fuse of Hong for the purpose of safely disconnecting a battery after a crash or impact.
Claim(s) 6, 8-9, and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al. (CN 112937307, see machine translation) in view of Worry et al. (US 2016/0261127), as applied to claim 1, 7, or 10 above, and further in view of Zheng (CN 209088632, see machine translation).
Regarding claims 6 and 8, modified Hong discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. While Worry teaches the stack controller 502 [BPCM] has a stack bus interface 535 that provides power and/or communication between the stack bus 534 and the stack controller 502 ([0110]), modified Hong does not explicitly disclose wherein the BCPM includes a second power DC-DC unit configured to supply isolated power to the first power DC-DC unit of the BDU.
Zheng discloses an energy storage system 1 comprising a master control cabinet 11 and a plurality of electric cabinets 12 (abstract, Fig 1). Each cabinet 12a-n includes a battery management system 121 [BDU], multiple battery management units 122/BMU 01-m [battery pack control module BPCM], and multiple battery modules 123 ([0010], [0061], Fig 3). Each battery management unit 122/BMU 01-m includes a DC/DC isolated converter [power DC/DC unit to supply isolated power], whose input terminal is connected to a battery module and whose output terminal is connected to the battery management system 121 ([0062], Fig 3). The DC/DC isolator converts the input power to power to supply the battery management system 121 and units 122 ([0062], Fig 3). The battery management system 121 of each electrical cabinet closes a high-voltage relay ([0022], [0072]), and therefore functions as a disconnect unit BDU.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the DC/DC isolated converter of the BMU that supplies power to the management system [a BDU] of Zheng with the battery management system of Hong for the purpose of supplying power to the battery pack breaking unit [battery disconnect unit, BDU].
Regarding claim 9, modified Hong discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. While Hong discloses a battery pack [a main battery device] with a battery pack breaking unit [BDU] and battery management system [BPCM] (abstract, see Fig 2), and as modified above in claim 7 further includes an additional battery device [sub-battery], Hong does not explicitly disclose a second BDU including high voltage operating elements connected to the sub-battery pack, wherein the second BDU includes a second high voltage measuring unit, a second insulation resistance measuring unit, and a second power DC-DC unit.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the additional battery pack [sub-battery pack] with a corresponding battery pack breaking unit [BDU, having the voltage, insulation resistance, and DC/DC unit] for the purpose of increasing the amount of power or energy available, and such a modification would amount to a mere duplication of parts (see MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B)).
Alternatively or in support of, Worry further teaches additional battery stacks 210a-n, cell interfaces 220a-n, stack controllers 250a-n, and/or power interfaces 260a-n ([0063], Fig 2), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an additional battery pack [sub-battery pack] with corresponding battery pack breaking unit [BDU] for the purpose of increasing the amount of power or energy available.
While Worry teaches the stack controller 502 [BPCM] has a stack bus interface 535 that provides power and/or communication between the stack bus 534 and the stack controller 502 ([0110]), modified Hong does not explicitly disclose wherein the BCPM includes a third power DC-DC unit configured to supply isolated power to the second power DC-DC unit of the BDU.
Zheng discloses an energy storage system 1 comprising a master control cabinet 11 and a plurality of electric cabinets 12 (abstract, Fig 1). Each cabinet 12a-n includes a battery management system 121 [BDU], multiple battery management units 122/BMU 01-m [battery pack control module BPCM], and multiple battery modules 123 ([0010], [0061], Fig 3). Each battery management unit 122/BMU 01-m includes a DC/DC isolated converter [power DC/DC unit to supply isolated power], whose input terminal is connected to a battery module and whose output terminal is connected to the battery management system 121 ([0062], Fig 3). The DC/DC isolator converts the input power to power to supply the battery management system 121 and units 122 ([0062], Fig 3). The battery management system 121 of each electrical cabinet closes a high-voltage relay ([0022], [0072]), and therefore functions as a disconnect unit BDU.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the DC/DC isolated converter of the BMU that supplies power to the management system [a BDU] of Zheng with the battery management system of Hong for the purpose of supplying power to the battery pack breaking unit [battery disconnect unit, BDU].
Regarding claim 11, modified Hong discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Worry teaches the regular 607 [first power DC-DC unit] powers the components in the power interface 160/602 ([0124]), and the other components in the power interface 602 include the sensing system 615 having the voltage and current measuring units ([0129]-[0131], Fig 6). Therefore, the combination teaches and suggests the power DC-DC unit as supplying power to the measuring units [including the voltage, current, and insulation resistance, and contactor controller]. However, modified Hong does not explicitly disclose wherein isolated power is transferred from the BPCM (battery management system) to the first DC-DC unit.
Zheng discloses an energy storage system 1 comprising a master control cabinet 11 and a plurality of electric cabinets 12 (abstract, Fig 1). Each cabinet 12a-n includes a battery management system 121 [BDU], multiple battery management units 122/BMU 01-m [battery pack control module BPCM], and multiple battery modules 123 ([0010], [0061], Fig 3). Each battery management unit 122/BMU 01-m includes a DC/DC isolated converter [power DC/DC unit to supply isolated power], whose input terminal is connected to a battery module and whose output terminal is connected to the battery management system 121 ([0062], Fig 3). The DC/DC isolator converts the input power to power to supply the battery management system 121 and units 122 ([0062], Fig 3). The battery management system 121 of each electrical cabinet closes a high-voltage relay ([0022], [0072]), and therefore functions as a disconnect unit BDU.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the DC/DC isolated converter of the BMU that supplies power to the management system [a BDU] of Zheng with the battery management system of Hong for the purpose of supplying power to the battery pack breaking unit [battery disconnect unit, BDU].
Regarding claim 12, modified Hong discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Worry further teaches that in a power interface 900b with regulator 607 [DC-DC unit] has a transformer connected to an output of the regulator ([0201]). The use of a transformer allows for proper function at the stack voltage range [input] of the power interface ([0201]). In addition, the use of a transformer provides galvanic isolation from the input and output which may be at different grounds ([0202]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to also combine the transformer downstream of the regulator [DC-DC unit] as taught by Worry with the battery pack breaking unit [BDU] of Hong for the purpose of powering the BDU and allowing proper function of the input range, and providing galvanic isolation from the input and output.
Further, Worry teaches the regular 607 [first power DC-DC unit] powers the components in the power interface 160/602 ([0124]), and the other components in the power interface 602 include the sensing system 615 having the voltage and current measuring units ([0129]-[0131], Fig 6). Therefore, the combination teaches and suggests the power DC-DC unit as supplying power to the measuring units [including the voltage, current, and insulation resistance, and contactor controller]. However, modified Hong does not explicitly disclose wherein isolated power is transferred from the BPCM (battery management system) to the first DC-DC unit.
However, modified Hong does not explicitly disclose wherein power is transferred from the BPCM (battery management system) to the first DC-DC unit.
Zheng discloses an energy storage system 1 comprising a master control cabinet 11 and a plurality of electric cabinets 12 (abstract, Fig 1). Each cabinet 12a-n includes a battery management system 121 [BDU], multiple battery management units 122/BMU 01-m [battery pack control module BPCM], and multiple battery modules 123 ([0010], [0061], Fig 3). Each battery management unit 122/BMU 01-m includes a DC/DC isolated converter [power DC/DC unit to supply isolated power], whose input terminal is connected to a battery module and whose output terminal is connected to the battery management system 121 ([0062], Fig 3). The DC/DC isolator converts the input power to power to supply the battery management system 121 and units 122 ([0062], Fig 3). The battery management system 121 of each electrical cabinet closes a high-voltage relay ([0022], [0072]), and therefore functions as a disconnect unit BDU.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the DC/DC isolated converter of the BMU that supplies power to the management system [a BDU] of Zheng with the battery management system of Hong for the purpose of supplying power to the battery pack breaking unit [battery disconnect unit, BDU].
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al. (CN 112937307, see machine translation) in view of Worry et al. (US 2016/0261127), and Hammerschmidt et al. (US 2019/0184834), as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Zheng (CN 209088632, see machine translation).
Regarding claim 14, modified Hong discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Worry teaches the regular 607 [first power DC-DC unit] powers the components in the power interface 160/602 ([0124]), and the other components in the power interface 602 include the sensing system 615 having the voltage and current measuring units ([0129]-[0131], Fig 6). Therefore, the combination teaches and suggests the power DC-DC unit as supplying power to the measuring units [including the voltage, current, and insulation resistance, and contactor controller]. However, modified Hong does not explicitly disclose wherein isolated power is transferred from the BPCM (battery management system) to the first DC-DC unit.
Zheng discloses an energy storage system 1 comprising a master control cabinet 11 and a plurality of electric cabinets 12 (abstract, Fig 1). Each cabinet 12a-n includes a battery management system 121 [BDU], multiple battery management units 122/BMU 01-m [battery pack control module BPCM], and multiple battery modules 123 ([0010], [0061], Fig 3). Each battery management unit 122/BMU 01-m includes a DC/DC isolated converter [power DC/DC unit to supply isolated power], whose input terminal is connected to a battery module and whose output terminal is connected to the battery management system 121 ([0062], Fig 3). The DC/DC isolator converts the input power to power to supply the battery management system 121 and units 122 ([0062], Fig 3). The battery management system 121 of each electrical cabinet closes a high-voltage relay ([0022], [0072]), and therefore functions as a disconnect unit BDU.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the DC/DC isolated converter of the BMU that supplies power to the management system [a BDU] of Zheng with the battery management system of Hong for the purpose of supplying power to the battery pack breaking unit [battery disconnect unit, BDU].
Regarding claim 15, modified Hong discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Worry further teaches that in a power interface 900b with regulator 607 [DC-DC unit] has a transformer connected to an output of the regulator ([0201]). The use of a transformer allows for proper function at the stack voltage range [input] of the power interface ([0201]). In addition, the use of a transformer provides galvanic isolation from the input and output which may be at different grounds ([0202]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to also combine the transformer downstream of the regulator [DC-DC unit] as taught by Worry with the battery pack breaking unit [BDU] of Hong for the purpose of powering the BDU and allowing proper function of the input range, and providing galvanic isolation from the input and output.
Further, Worry teaches the regular 607 [first power DC-DC unit] powers the components in the power interface 160/602 ([0124]), and the other components in the power interface 602 include the sensing system 615 having the voltage and current measuring units ([0129]-[0131], Fig 6). Therefore, the combination teaches and suggests the power DC-DC unit as supplying power to the measuring units [including the voltage, current, and insulation resistance, and contactor controller]. However, modified Hong does not explicitly disclose wherein isolated power is transferred from the BPCM (battery management system) to the first DC-DC unit.
However, modified Hong does not explicitly disclose wherein power is transferred from the BPCM (battery management system) to the first DC-DC unit.
Zheng discloses an energy storage system 1 comprising a master control cabinet 11 and a plurality of electric cabinets 12 (abstract, Fig 1). Each cabinet 12a-n includes a battery management system 121 [BDU], multiple battery management units 122/BMU 01-m [battery pack control module BPCM], and multiple battery modules 123 ([0010], [0061], Fig 3). Each battery management unit 122/BMU 01-m includes a DC/DC isolated converter [power DC/DC unit to supply isolated power], whose input terminal is connected to a battery module and whose output terminal is connected to the battery management system 121 ([0062], Fig 3). The DC/DC isolator converts the input power to power to supply the battery management system 121 and units 122 ([0062], Fig 3). The battery management system 121 of each electrical cabinet closes a high-voltage relay ([0022], [0072]), and therefore functions as a disconnect unit BDU.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the DC/DC isolated converter of the BMU that supplies power to the management system [a BDU] of Zheng with the battery management system of Hong for the purpose of supplying power to the battery pack breaking unit [battery disconnect unit, BDU].
Conclusion
/JACOB BUCHANAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725