DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims 16-35 of the amended claim set received 12/28/2023 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 34-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schabbach (US 2020/0360614).
Regarding Claim 34, Schabbach discloses a drug delivery device (element 1 of Fig. 1, element 2 of Figs. 2 and 4) comprising:
an electronic system 700 (see Fig. 7) comprising:
an electrical power supply 29;
a memory 24;
a processor 23 configured to control operation of the electronic system and coupled to the electrical power supply and to the memory; and
a first light source (Figs. 9-13: LED of 215a as read at para. 0124), a second light source (LED of 215b), a first optical sensor 215a, and a second optical sensor 215b that are in communication with the processor 23 (see Fig. 7); and
a dose setting and drive mechanism (comprising 70 and 210) (see Figs. 4 and 9-13) that is configured to perform a dose dialing operation for selecting a dose to be delivered by the drug delivery device (read para. 0118), and a dose delivery operation for delivering the dose (para. 0095), the dose setting and drive mechanism comprising:
an encoder 70 rotatable in one or more of the dose delivery operation and the dose dialing operation, wherein the encoder 70 comprises a ring of a plurality of light reflecting teeth 70a spaced from each other (see Figs. 9-13), and
wherein the electronic system is arranged such that depending on a rotational position of the encoder, light emitted by one of the first 215a and second 215b light sources is reflected by one of the teeth 70a and detected by the respective first or second optical sensor, while light emitted by the other one of the first and second light sources is not reflected by any of the teeth (the 01 and 10 readings of ‘Gray code’, shown in Fig. 11 and discussed at paras. 0122-0123, corresponding to one sensor aligned with and reflected by a tooth as shown in Fig. 12 and the other sensor not aligned with an of the teeth as shown in Fig. 13).
Regarding Claim 35, Schabbach discloses in Fig. 1, a cartridge 14 containing a medicant (read para. 0088).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-33 are allowable.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 16, Schabbach (US 2020/0360614) as discussed above is considered the closest prior art of record. Schabbach teaches the claimed electrical power supply, memory, processor, first and second light sources, first and second optical sensors, and encoder as discussed in the rejection of claim 34 above. Schabbach further discloses a first low-power-consumption state and at least one further state having a higher power consumption compared with the first low-power-consumption state (read para. 0112). However, transition between the two states is provided by a switch activated by the displacement of an injection button 210 as read at para. 0112, as opposed to the claimed “the processor is configured to (a) poll the first and second optical sensors in the first low-power-consumption state, (b) maintain the first low-power-consumption state when responses of the first and second optical sensors are identical to each other and identical to a preceding response, and (c) switch into the at least one further state when the responses of the first and second optical sensors are different from each other or are different from the preceding response.” No secondary reference is found to reasonably modify Schabbach to includes this processor configuration.
It is noted that the Japanese Patent Office and PCT have each rejected claim 16 over different publications of Schabbach. These rejections lack detail and fall short of showing a teaching of the processor configuration highlighted above. Despite the JPO and PCT assertions, Schabbach is not found to disclose “the processor is configured to (a) poll the first and second optical sensors in the first low-power-consumption state, (b) maintain the first low-power-consumption state when responses of the first and second optical sensors are identical to each other and identical to a preceding response, and (c) switch into the at least one further state when the responses of the first and second optical sensors are different from each other or are different from the preceding response.”
Claims 17-33 are allowable at least by basis on claim 16.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the attached Notice of References Cited.
Contact Information
/R.D.F/Examiner, Art Unit 3741
/PHUTTHIWAT WONGWIAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3741