DETAILED ACTION
This application includes independent claims 1, 11, and 19; and dependent claims 2-10, 12-18, and 20.
The Preliminary Amendment has been entered.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The term “sufficiently” in claim 11 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “sufficiently” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 10-14, 18, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zheng et al. (“Effects of monovalent and divalent ions in coal gasification brine on the froth entrainment and flotation kinetics of anthracite coal”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Zheng discloses a process of separating materials by flotation (see abstract), the process comprising: forming a feed slurry (see at least 2.2.1), which includes solid particles in ion managed water (see at least 2.1), in a flotation operation (see at least 2.2.1), wherein the ion managed water has a concentration of dissolved indifferent monovalent ions of at 0.3 wt% to 5 wt% (see table 3) and a concentration of dissolved multivalent ions of no more than 0.3 wt% (see table 3 and the examiner notes that this range includes zero), and recovering the materials including at least one selected from oil, bitumen, hydrocarbon, coal, tar, a halide, a fluoride, a chloride, a carbonate, a silicate, and an oxide (see at least 3.1).
Regarding independent claim 11, Zheng discloses a process of separating materials by flotation (see abstract), the process comprising: treating a source of water to have a first concentration of dissolved indifferent monovalent ions and a second concentration of dissolved multivalent ions in the source water to form an ion managed water (see 2.1 and table 3), combining the ion managed water with crushed ore to form a feed slurry (see at least 2.2.1), which includes solid particles in the ion managed water, in a flotation operation, and recovering the materials including at least one selected from oil, bitumen, hydrocarbon, coal, tar, a halide, a fluoride, a chloride, a carbonate, a silicate, and an oxide (see at least 3.1), wherein the first concentration is sufficiently high and the second concentration is sufficiently low to improve the flotation operation and improve a liquid-solid separation operation (see at least 3.1, 3.2, and 3.3).
Regarding independent claim 19, Zheng discloses a process of separating materials by flotation (see abstract), the process comprising: treating water reclaimed from a tailings storage facility (see 2.1, “Zhaozhuang coal plant”) to form ion managed water (see at least 2.1) having a concentration of dissolved indifferent monovalent ions of 0.3 wt% to 5 wt% (see table 3) and a concentration of dissolved multivalent ions of no more than 0.3 wt% (see table 3 and the examiner notes that this range includes zero), the treating of the water includes adding indifferent monovalent salts to the water to increase a concentration of indifferent monovalent ions dissolved in the water (see 2.1), wherein the indifferent monovalent salts are added in dry form or dissolved in an aqueous medium (see 2.1), forming a feed slurry (see at least 2.2.1), which includes solid particles in the ion managed water, in a flotation operation, and recovering the materials including a fluoride (inherently disclosed since coal contains fluoride).
Regarding dependent claims 2, 3, 7, 10, 12-14, and 18 Zheng discloses that the forming of the feed slurry comprises combining the ion managed water with crushed ore, and wherein the ion managed water is sourced from one or more of: (i) an external make-up water source, (ii) water recovered from a solid-liquid separation process, and/or (iii) water reclaimed from a tailings storage facility (see 2.1, “Zhaozhuang coal plant”). Zheng discloses treating the source of water to form the ion managed water (see 2.1). The source of water is treated by adding indifferent monovalent salts to the source of water to increase the concentration of the dissolved indifferent monovalent ions dissolved in the source of water (see 2.1). Indifferent salt is added in dry form to the flotation operation or dissolved in an aqueous medium and added to the flotation operation (see 2.1). The materials include fluorite (inherently disclosed since coal contains fluoride). The ion managed water is sourced from water recovered from a solid-liquid separation process (see 2.1). The ion managed water is sourced from water reclaimed from a tailings storage facility (see 2.1). The first concentration is in a range of from 0.3 wt% to 5 wt% (see table 3), and the second concentration is no more than 0.3 wt% (see table 3 and the examiner notes that this range includes zero).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6, 8-9, 15-17, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Painter et al. (US 2019/0071332), Ren et al. (US 9,457,295), and Thornton et al. (US 4,693,830) disclose processes of recovering materials from tailings having monovalent and multivalent ions.
/PATRICK H MACKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653