DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “12” has been used to designate both an outer housing and inlet; and reference character “14” has been used to designate both an inlet and outlet in the Specification, paragraphs [0048], [0049]. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 8, 11, 12, 15-17, and 26-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Richard et al. (US 2021/0404363).
Regarding claim 1, the reference Richard et al. discloses an electrical heater assembly (19) (see paras. [0051]; [0052]; [0075]; Figs. 1-4) comprising:
a heater body (20) defined with respect to an axial direction and a radial direction, the heater body comprising:
a diameter or cross-sectional dimension extending in the radial direction (see paras. [0062]-[0075]; Figs. 1-2);
a resistive portion (32, 33) (see paras. [0068]-[0070]; Fig. 2);
a plurality of slits (49.1-49.8) in the resistive portion that electrically disconnects sections of the resistive portion from each other to define a serpentine current-carrying path through the resistive portion (see paras. [0103]-[0109]; Fig. 2);
an electrode attachment portion (55, 57) connected at an end of the serpentine current-carrying path (see para. [0114]; Fig. 2), and
an electrode (35, 37) comprising a first end that is electrically connected to the heater body at the electrode attachment portion, wherein the first end extends in a transverse direction from the heater body that is transverse to the diameter or cross-sectional dimension (i.e., in the embodiment wherein elements 35, 37 are attached to the large upstream face 39 of the heater body 20) (see para. [0077]; Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 2, the reference Richard et al. discloses the electrical heater assembly, wherein the first end of the electrode extends in an axial direction from the heater body (i.e., in the embodiment wherein elements 35, 37 are attached to the large upstream face 39 of the heater body 20) (see para. [0077]; Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 4, the reference Richard et al. discloses the electrical heater assembly, wherein the resistive portion (32, 35) comprises an outer periphery that is intersected by the plurality of slits (49.1-49.8), wherein the outer periphery corresponds to a superimposed shape defined by tracing continuously over both the outer periphery and intersections of the slits with the outer periphery, and wherein the electrode attachment portion is completely radially contained within the superimposed shape (see paras. [0062]-[0070]; Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, the reference Richard et al. discloses the electrical heater assembly, wherein the resistive portion comprises an outer periphery that is intersected by the plurality of slits, wherein the outer periphery corresponds to a superimposed shape defined by tracing continuously over both the outer periphery and intersections of the slits with the outer periphery, and wherein the electrode is completely radially contained within the superimposed shape (i.e., in the embodiment wherein elements 35, 37 are attached to the large upstream face 39 of the heater body 20) (see para. [0077]; Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 7, the reference Richard et al. discloses the electrical heater assembly, wherein the electrode attachment portion comprises a first electrode attachment portion (55) and a second electrode attachment portion (57) located at opposite ends of the serpentine current-carrying path (see para. [0114]; Fig. 2), and the electrode comprises a first electrode (35) and a second electrode (37) connected to the heater body (20) respectively at the first electrode attachment portion (55) and the second electrode attachment portion (57) (see paras. [0075]-[0077]; [0114]; Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 8, the reference Richard et al. discloses the electrical heater assembly, wherein the resistive portion comprises a foamed material (see paras. [0118]-[0130]).
Regarding claim 11, the reference Richard et al. discloses the electrical heater assembly, wherein the resistive portion comprises a plurality of channels, openings, voids, pores, or fluid flow paths therethrough (see paras. [0118]-[0130]).
Regarding claim 12, the reference Richard et al. discloses the electrical heater assembly, wherein the resistive portion and the electrode attachment portion are integrally formed together (see paras. [0172]; [0235]-[0238]).
Regarding claim 15, the reference Richard et al. discloses a fluid treatment assembly (1) comprising the electrical heating assembly (19) and an aftertreatment component (17) contained together in a tubular housing (15) (see paras. [0051]-[0056]; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 16, the reference Richard et al. discloses a fluid treatment assembly, wherein the electrode extends axially through the tubular housing (i.e., in the embodiment wherein elements 35, 37 are attached to the large upstream face 39 of the heater body 20) (see para. [0077]; Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 17, the reference Richard et al. discloses a fluid treatment assembly, wherein the aftertreatment component comprises a catalyst-carrying substrate (see para. [0056]).
Regarding claim 26, the reference Richard et al. discloses an electrical heater assembly (19) (see paras. [0051]; [0052]; [0075]; Figs. 1-4) comprising:
a heater body (20) comprising:
a resistive portion (32, 33) (see paras. [0068]-[0070]; Fig. 2);
a plurality of slits (49.1-49.8) in the resistive portion that electrically disconnects sections of the resistive portion from each other to define a serpentine current-carrying path through the resistive portion, wherein the resistive portion comprises an outer periphery that is intersected by the plurality of slits(see paras. [0103]-[0109]; Fig. 2); and
an electrode attachment portion (55, 57) connected at an end of the serpentine current-carrying path (see para. [0114]; Fig. 2),
wherein the outer periphery corresponds to a superimposed shape defined by tracing continuously over both the outer periphery and intersections of the slits with the outer periphery (see paras. [0062]-[0070]; Fig. 2), and
wherein the electrode attachment portion (57, 57) is completely radially contained within the superimposed shape (see paras. [0062]-[0070]; Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 27, the reference Richard et al. discloses that the electrical heater assembly may further comprise an electrode (35, 37) comprising a first end that is connected to the heater body (20) at the electrode attachment portion (55, 57), wherein the first end extends in a transverse direction from the heater body (20) (i.e., in the embodiment wherein elements 35, 37 are attached to the large upstream face 39 of the heater body 20) (see para. [0077]; Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 28, the reference Richard et al. discloses the electrical heater assembly, wherein the first end of the electrode extends in an axial direction from the heater body (i.e., in the embodiment wherein elements 35, 37 are attached to the large upstream face 39 of the heater body 20) (see para. [0077]; Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 29, the reference Richard et al. discloses the electrical heater assembly, wherein the superimposed shape is a regular geometric shape (see paras. [0062]-[0072]; Fig. 2).
Claims 1-3, 6-8, 11, 12, 15-17, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Myers et al. (US 5,695,722).
Regarding claim 1, the reference Myers et al. discloses an electrical heater assembly (11) (see col. 2, lines 22-32; Figs. 1-2) comprising:
a heater body (20) defined with respect to an axial direction and a radial direction, the heater body (20) comprising:
a diameter or cross-sectional dimension extending in the radial direction (see Figs. 1-2);
a resistive portion (76) (see col. 3, lines 38-47; Fig. 2);
a plurality of slits (78) in the resistive portion that electrically disconnects sections of the resistive portion from each other to define a serpentine current-carrying path through the resistive portion (see col. 3, lines 43-47; Fig. 2);
an electrode attachment portion (72, 74) connected at an end of the serpentine current-carrying path (see col. 3, lines 36-40; Fig. 2), and
an electrode (44, 48; 46, 50) comprising a first end that is electrically connected to the heater body at the electrode attachment portion (72, 74), wherein the first end extends in a transverse direction from the heater body (20) that is transverse to the diameter or cross-sectional dimension (see col. 3, lines 11-15; Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 2, the reference Myers et al. discloses the electrical heater assembly, wherein the first end of the electrode (44, 46) extends in an axial direction from the heater body (20) (see col. 3, lines 11-15; Figs. 1-2). .
Regarding claim 3, the reference Myers et al. discloses the electrical heater assembly, wherein the first end of the electrode (44, 48; 46, 50) extends from the heater body at an acute angle from an axial direction (see col. 3, lines 11-15; Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 6, the reference Myers et al. discloses the electrical heater assembly, wherein the electrode (44, 48; 46, 50) comprises a first portion at the first end that extends transversely from the heater body (20), a second portion (56; 58) at a second end opposite to the first end, and an arm connecting the first portion to the second portion, wherein the arm extends in a direction transverse to the first portion and the second portion, such that the first portion and the second portion are at locations aligned with different angles relative to a center of the heater body (see col. 3, lines 11-15; Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 7, the reference Myers et al. discloses the electrical heater assembly, wherein the electrode attachment portion comprises a first electrode attachment portion (74) and a second electrode attachment portion (72) located at opposite ends of the serpentine current-carrying path, and the electrode comprises a first electrode (44, 48) and a second electrode (46, 50) connected to the heater body (20) respectively at the first electrode attachment portion (72) and the second electrode attachment portion (74) (see col. 3, lines 36-40; Figs .1-2).
Regarding claim 8, the reference Myers et al. discloses the electrical heater assembly, wherein the resistive portion (76) comprises an array of intersecting walls (see col. 3, lines 40-43; Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 11, the reference Myers et al. discloses the electrical heater assembly, wherein the resistive portion comprises a plurality of channels, openings, voids, pores, or fluid flow paths therethrough (see col. 3, lines 40-43; Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 12, the reference Myers et al. discloses the electrical heater assembly, wherein the resistive portion and the electrode attachment portion are integrally formed together (see col. 3, lines 36-40; Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 15, the reference Myers et al. discloses a fluid treatment assembly comprising the electrical heating assembly (11) and an aftertreatment component contained together in a tubular housing (10, 12) (see col. 2, lines 22-32; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 16, the reference Myers et al. discloses the fluid treatment assembly, wherein the electrode (44, 48; 46, 50) extends axially through the tubular housing (see col. 3, lines 11-27; Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 17, the reference Myers et al. discloses the fluid treatment assembly, wherein the aftertreatment component comprises a catalyst-carrying substrate (see col. 2, lines 22-32; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 19, the reference Myers et al. discloses the fluid treatment assembly, wherein the tubular housing (10, 12) comprises a first portion (12) having a first diameter and a transitional portion (13) that transitions the tubular housing to a second diameter that is smaller than the first diameter, and wherein the heater body (20) is housed within the first portion (12) of the tubular housing, and wherein the electrode protrudes axially through the second portion (see 3, lines 49-61; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 20, the reference Myers et al. discloses the fluid treatment assembly, wherein the electrode (44, 46) is completely radially contained within the first diameter of the first portion of the tubular housing (see 3, lines 49-61; Figs. 1, 3).
Regarding claim 21, the reference Myers et al. discloses the fluid treatment assembly, wherein the transitional portion (13) is tapered (see 3, lines 49-61; Fig. 1).
Conclusion
/LESSANEWORK SEIFU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774