DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction Requirement
Applicant’s election of Group I. (claims 1-17, 32-38, and 41) in the reply filed on 06/08/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 18-29 and 39 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 3. 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention or nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 04/07/2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 33-37 are objected to because of the following informalities in claim 33: “and a second set of sacrificial void occupiers adapted to temporarily occupy the second set of voids until tissue grows therein” should be “the second set”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7, 9, 10-15, 32-36, and 40-41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Seidner et al. US 20210353831 A1, herein referred to as Seidner.
Regarding claim 1, Seidner discloses a breast implant (Fig 9a-c, 900) comprising a reinforced matrix ([0054] & [0006]), wherein the implant comprises a surface ([0007]), a core ([0006]), a back area (Figs 9a-c) for placement on the chest wall of a patient (limitation aimed at intended use; [0053]), a front area opposite the back area (Figs 9a-c), the front area comprising a front bottom (Figs 9a-c) for placement in the lower pole of a breast (intended use; [0053]), a front top (Figs 9a-c) for placement in the upper pole of the breast (intended use; [0053]), and a front intermediate-region (Figs 9a-c) for placement under skin of the patient (limitation aimed at intended use; [0053]),
and wherein the reinforced matrix comprises a load bearing macroporous network ([0006], size of pores qualify) with an open cell structure (Fig 9a-c, 908) at least partly filled with one or more degradable hydrogels, degradable water-soluble polymers, or combinations thereof ([0032]).
Regarding claim 7, Seidener discloses wherein the implant further comprises an opening for insertion of tissue into the implant ([0023]).
Regarding claim 9, Seidener discloses wherein the implant further comprises one or more anchors, fasteners or tabs to fixate the implant in the breast ([0023]).
Regarding claim 10, Seidener discloses wherein the load bearing macroporous network is degradable or comprises one or more absorbable polymers ([0007]).
Regarding claim 11, Seidener discloses wherein the one or more absorbable polymers comprises, or is prepared from, one or more monomers selected from the group: glycolic acid, lactic acid ([0006]).
Regarding claim 12, Seidener discloses wherein the load bearing macroporous network comprises
Regarding claim 14, Seidener discloses wherein the load bearing microporous network is absorbable ([0007]).
Regarding claim 15, Seidener discloses wherein one or more of the degradable hydrogels or one or more of the water-soluble polymers degrades faster than the load bearing macroporous network with an open cell structure (Fig 9a-c; [0032]).
Regarding claim 32, Seidener discloses a breast implant (Fig 9a-c, 900) comprising a reinforced macroporous network([0054] & [0006]) defining a plurality of interconnected voids (908); and a first set of sacrificial void occupiers adapted to temporarily occupy a first set of voids until tissue grows therein ([0032]), wherein the first set of sacrificial void occupiers is formed of at least one of a hydrogel, a water-soluble polymer, or a combination thereof ([0032]).
Regarding claim 33, Seidener discloses further comprising a second set of voids ([0050], hydrogel cited for mesh or implant) arranged to surround the first set of voids ([0032], as the coating forming the first void occupier is absorbs the next void occupier is exposed), and a second set of sacrificial void occupiers adapted to temporarily occupy the second set of voids until tissue grows therein ([0032]), and wherein the second set of void occupiers is absorbable prior to the first set of void occupiers ([0050] and [0032]).
Regarding claim 34, Seidener discloses wherein the first set of sacrificial void occupiers is a first hydrogel ([0032]).
Regarding claim 35, Seidener discloses wherein the first and second set of sacrificial void occupiers, and macroporous network are fabricated and arranged together to form the implant by 3D printing ([0057]; The claimed phrase “macroporous network are fabricated and arranged together to form the implant by 3D printing” is being treated as a product by process limitation; that is a “macroporous network joined by 3D printing” . As set forth in MPEP 2113, product by process claims are not limited to the manipulation of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. Once a product appearing to be substantially the same or similar is found, a 35 USC 102/103 rejection may be made and the burden is shifted to applicant to show an unobvious difference. MPEP 2113.).
Regarding claim 36, Seidener discloses wherein the second set of sacrificial void occupiers is a second hydrogel ([0050] and [0032]).
Regarding claim 40, Seidener discloses a breast implant (Fig 9a-c,900) comprising a reinforced matrix ([0054] and [0006]), wherein the implant comprises a surface [0007], a core [0006], a back area (Figs 9a-c) for placement on the chest wall of a patient(limitation aimed at intended use; [0053],, a front area opposite the back area (Fig 9a-c), the front area comprising a front bottom for placement in the lower pole of a breast (Fig 9a-c), a front top for placement in the upper pole of the breast (limitation aimed at intended use; [0053]), and a front intermediate-region for placement under skin of the patient (limitation aimed at intended use; [0053]),, wherein the reinforced matrix comprises a load bearing macroporous network ([0006], size of pores qualify) with an open cell structure (Figs 9a-c, 908),
wherein the reinforced matrix comprises at least a first hydrogel or a first water-soluble polymer [0032], and at least a second hydrogel or a second water-soluble polymer [0050], wherein the second hydrogel or second water-soluble polymer surrounds the first hydrogel
Regarding claim 40, Seidener discloses herein the first hydrogel or first water- soluble polymer includes a first hydrogel and the second hydrogel or water-soluble polymer includes a second water-soluble polymer ([0032] and [0050]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-6 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seider in view of Limem et al. US 20170143872 A1, herein referred to as Limem.
Regarding claim 2, Seidener discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the reinforced matrix comprises a first hydrogel and a second hydrogel, wherein the second hydrogel surrounds the first hydrogel, or the reinforced matrix comprises a first water-soluble polymer and a second water-soluble polymer, wherein the second water-soluble polymer surrounds the first water-soluble polymer, or the reinforced matrix comprises a first hydrogel and a second water-soluble polymer, wherein the first hydrogel surrounds the second water-soluble polymer or the second water-soluble polymer surrounds the first hydrogel.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Limem teaches a breast implant ([0107]) comprising a surface (Figs 20-21) and a reinforced matrix ([0106]), wherein the reinforced matrix comprises a first hydrogel ([0050], hydrogel cited for mesh or implant) and a second hydrogel ([0093] teaches coating in collagen based material), wherein the second hydrogel surrounds the first hydrogel ([0093]), or the reinforced matrix comprises a first water-soluble polymer and a second water-soluble polymer ([0050]), wherein the second water-soluble polymer surrounds the first water-soluble polymer ([]0050).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention modify Seider to incorporate wherein the reinforced matrix comprises a first hydrogel and a second hydrogel, wherein the second hydrogel surrounds the first hydrogel, or the reinforced matrix comprises a first water-soluble polymer and a second water-soluble polymer, wherein the second water-soluble polymer surrounds the first water-soluble polymer, as taught and suggested by Limem in order to decrease the rate of absorption in the body (Limem [0098]).
Regarding claim 3, Seidener as modified by Limem discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 2, and additionally teaches wherein the reinforce matrix comprises a first hydrogel and a second water-soluble polymer and wherein one of the first hydrogel and second water-soluble polymer degrades faster than the other of the first hydrogel and the second water- soluble polymer (Limem [0098]).
Regarding claim 4, Seidener as modified by Limem discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 3, and additionally teaches wherein the reinforced matrix comprises a first hydrogel and a second hydrogel (Limem [0050] and [0090]), and wherein the second hydrogel is surrounded by the third hydrogel (Limem []0016]),
Seidener as modified by Limem does not explicitly discloses wherein the implant further comprises a third hydrogel, and wherein the third hydrogel degrades in vivo faster than the second hydrogel.
However, in another embodiment, Limem also teaches wherein the implant further comprises a third hydrogel ([0017], and wherein the third hydrogel degrades in vivo faster than the second hydrogel ([0098]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to further modify Seider as modified by Limem to incorporate wherein the implant further comprises a third hydrogel, and wherein the third hydrogel degrades in vivo faster than the second hydrogel, as taught and suggested by Limem in order allow to scaffold to be formed using molding (Limem [0120]).
Regarding claim 5, Seidener as modified by Limem discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 2, and additionally teaches wherein the load bearing macroporous network has one or more of the following properties: a compressive strength of at least 0.1 kgf at 30% strain, a compressive modulus of 0.1 kPa to 10 MPa at 5 to 15% strain, and a loss modulus of 0.3 to 100 kPa (Limem [0079]).
Regarding claim 6, Seidener as modified by Limem discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 2, and additionally teaches wherein the implant has a teardrop shape (Seidner [0042]), round shape (Seidner [0042]), dome-like shape (Seidner Fig 9a), or wherein the front bottom of the implant has a convex exterior surface (Seidner 9a).
Regarding claim 13, Seidener as modified by Limem discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 5, and additionally teaches wherein the filaments, fibers or struts have one of the following properties: a tensile strength higher than 25 MPa ([0082]).
Claim(s) 8 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seider in view of Limem, and in further view of Shultz et al. US 20200405489 A1, herein referred to as Schultz.
Regarding claim 8, Seidener as modified by Limem discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 2, but does not disclose wherein the implant further comprises an external shell enclosing the reinforced matrix.
Additionally, in the same field of endeavor, Shultz discloses a porous breast implant (Fig 20, 143), comprising a matrix (Fig 3), further comprising an external shell (144) enclosing the reinforced matrix (Fig 20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to further modify Seider as modified by Limem to incorporate wherein the implant further comprises an external shell enclosing the reinforced matrix, as taught and suggested by Shutz in order to break up geometric patterns in the matrices of a breast implant (Shultz [0070]).
Regarding claim 16, Seidener as modified by Limem and Schultz discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 2 discloses wherein the load bearing macroporous network with an open cell structure comprises unit cells (Shultz Fig 3), and wherein the unit cells are selected from one or more of the following shapes: (i) tetrahedron, cuboid, pentahedron, hexahedron, heptahedron, octahedron, icosahedron, decahedron, dodecahedron, tetradecahedron, and prisms, antiprisms, and truncated polyhedra thereof; (ii) elongated polyhedra, (iii) shapes with 4, 6, 8, 12 or 20 faces; and (iv) rhombic dodecahedron (Shultz Figs 1-9).
Claim(s) 17 and 37-38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seider in view of Limem et al US 20200375726 A1, herein referred to as Limem ‘726.
Regarding claim 17, Seidener discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 1, and but does not explicitly disclose wherein the implant further comprises autologous fat, fat lipoaspirate, injectable fat, adipose cells, fibroblast cells, stem cells, hyaluronic acid, collagen , an antimicrobial agent, an antibiotic, a bioactive agent, and a diagnostic device.
However, in the same field of invention, Limem ‘726 teaches a microporous breast implant (Fig 1, 10) comprising a reinforced matrix ([0185]), wherein the implant further comprises autologous fat, fat lipoaspirate, injectable fat [0013], adipose cells , fibroblast cells, stem cells [0019], hyaluronic acid, collagen [0024], an antimicrobial agent, an antibiotic [0029], a bioactive agent, and a diagnostic device ([0069]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Seidener to incorporate wherein the implant further comprises autologous fat, fat lipoaspirate, injectable fat, adipose cells, fibroblast cells, stem cells, hyaluronic acid, collagen , an antimicrobial agent, an antibiotic, a bioactive agent, and a diagnostic device, as taught and suggested by Limem ‘726 in order to facilitate vascularization and tissue in-growth within the implant of a relatively large volume of breast tissue (Limem ‘726 [0024]).
Regarding claim 37, Seidener discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 36, and but does not explicitly disclose wherein the second set of sacrificial void occupiers is absorbed before the first set of void occupiers, and the macroporous network completely degrades after the first set of void occupiers is degraded.
However, in another embodiment, Limem ‘726 teaches wherein the second set of sacrificial void occupiers (Limem ‘726; Fig 9a [0022]; lattice components) is absorbed before the first set of void occupiers (Seidener [0032]), and the macroporous network completely degrades after the first set of void occupiers is degraded (Limem ‘726 [0020]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Seidener to incorporate wherein the second set of sacrificial void occupiers is absorbed before the first set of void occupiers, and the macroporous network completely degrades after the first set of void occupiers is degraded, as taught and suggested by Limem ‘726 in order to allow complete vascularization of the space over time (Limem ‘726 [0020]).
Regarding claim 38, Seidener as modified by Limem ‘726 discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 37, and additionally teaches wherein first set of void (Lim ‘726; absorbable polymer [0185]) occupiers is absorbed within one year of implantation in the breast (Limem ‘723 [0093]).
Conclusion
/A.F./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/JERRAH EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774