DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0135706 Terasaki.
Regarding claim 1, Terasaki teaches a copper/ceramic bonded body (paragraph 0095), comprising:
a copper member 122,123 consisting of copper or a copper alloy (paragraph 0100 discussing 122 and paragraph 0101 discussing 123); and
a ceramic member 11 consisting of silicon nitride (paragraph 0099), which is bonded to the copper member (paragraph 0095),
wherein the copper member is bonded to each of one surface and the other surface of the ceramic member (figure 9),
an active metal nitride layer (intermetallic compound phase 33) is formed on a side of the ceramic member of the copper member, where in a region of 0 to 20 microns (within 20 microns) from the active metal nitride layer to a side of the copper member (paragraph 0108), an area rate of an active metal compound containing Si and an active metal is set to 5% or less (figures 13a and b showing that layer 33 is less than 1 micron thick such that 1 micron out of 0 to 20 is 5% or less), and
a ratio A1/A2 of an area rate Al of the active metal compound in the copper member bonded to a side of the one surface to an area rate A2 of the active metal compound in the copper member bonded to a side of the other surface is 1 (paragraphs 0107 and 0110-0121 discussing that the materials and bonding method on both sides is the same such that the area rates on both sides would be the same).
“In the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists,” (MPEP 2144.05 Section I). Therefore, absent evidence of criticality, the taught range of 0 to 20 microns reads on the claimed range of 0 to 10 microns.
Regarding claim 4, Terasaki teaches most of the limitations with respect to claim 1 above. Terasaki further teaches an insulating circuit substrate 110 comprising a ceramic substrate 11 (paragraph 0095) and a copper sheet (paragraphs 0110 and 0111).
Regarding claims 2 and 5, Terasaki teaches that a thickness ta1 of the active metal nitride layer formed on the side of the one surface of the ceramic member and a thickness ta2 of the active metal nitride layer formed on the side of the other surface of the ceramic member are set in a range of less than 1 micron (figures 13a and 13b), and
a thickness ratio ta1/ta2 is 1 (paragraphs 0107 and 0110-0121 discussing that the materials and bonding method on both sides is the same such that the thickness on both sides would be the same).
“In the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists,” (MPEP 2144.05 Section I). Therefore, absent evidence of criticality, the taught range of less than 1 micron reads on the claimed range of 0.05 to 0.8 microns.
Regarding claims 3 and 6, Terasaki teaches that at a bonded interface between the ceramic member and the copper member, an Ag- Cu alloy layer is formed on the side of the copper member (paragraph 0107), and
a ratio tb1/tb2 of a thickness tb1 of the Ag-Cu alloy layer formed on the side of the one surface of the ceramic member to a thickness tb2 of the Ag-Cu alloy layer formed on the side of the other surface of the ceramic member is 1 (paragraphs 0107 and 0110-0121 discussing that the materials and bonding method on both sides is the same such that the thickness on both sides would be the same).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 28, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that by controlling the cooling rate, certain benefits are achieved. However, this feature is not claimed and is irrelevant. If Applicant believes that the method leads to a structurally significant product, these steps may be claimed, but the advantages achieved need not be the same as or even acknowledged by the prior art in order to read on the claim.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MEGHA M GAITONDE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781