DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adachi [US 6,743,994] in view of Hamada et al. [Hamada hereinafter, US 2015/0253914].
In regard to claims 1 and 9, Adachi discloses [in Fig. 1] a device, comprising: a layer [2]; a switch section [5-10] situated on a back surface side of the layer [2], wherein the switch section includes a plurality of contact points [5, 8] including a vertically movable contact point [5], a junction layer [11] interposed between the layer [2] and the switch section, wherein the junction layer [11] is an adhesive or a pressure-sensitive adhesive; a resin layer [4] interposed between the layer [2] and the junction layer [11]; the layer [2] is configured such that when pushed, the layer [2] elastically deforms and the plurality of contact points [5,8] switch between a continuous state and a non-continuous state, and a space [Fig. 1] between the layer [2] and the switch section. Adachi does not disclose a glass layer having a thickness of 20 µm or greater and 150 µm or less. Hamada teaches [in Fig. 1 and Par. 0036] a glass layer [4] having a thickness of 20 µm or greater and 150 µm or less. It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a glass layer that is 20 µm or greater and 150 µm or less to enable light-weighting while imparting flexibility [Hamada, par. 0036].
In regard to claim 10, Adachi discloses [in Fig. 1] some of the limitations of the switch device according to claim 1, wherein the switch section is a membrane switch.
In regard to claim 11, Adachi discloses [in Fig. 1] some of the limitations of the switch device according to claim 1, wherein the switch section is a tactile switch.
Claims 2-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adachi [US 6,743,994] in view of Hamada et al. [Hamada hereinafter, US 2015/0253914] further in view of Van Zeeland et al. [Van Zeeland hereinafter, US 5,747,757]
In regard to claim 2, Adachi and Hamada teach the limitations of the switch device of claim 1. Adachi and Hamada do not teach a support section on the back surface side of the glass layer, the support section supporting the glass layer. Van Zeeland teaches [in Figs. 2-5] a support section [38] on the back surface side of the glass layer [24], the support section [38] supporting the glass layer [24]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the support section of Van Zeeland with the switch device of Adachi, as modified by Hamada, in order to provide increased stability to the switch device during actuation.
In regard to claim 3, Adachi and Hamada teach some of the limitations of the switch device of claim 2. Adachi and Hamada do not teach that the support section is constituted by part or an entirety of the switch section. Van Zeeland teaches [in Figs. 2-5] that the support section [38] is constituted by part or an entirety of the switch section [at 34]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the support section of Van Zeeland with the switch device of Adachi, as modified by Hamada, in order to provide increased stability to the switch device during actuation.
In regard to claim 4, Adachi and Hamada teach some of the limitations of the switch device of claim 2. Adachi and Hamada do not teach that the support section is situated on an outer side of the switch. Van Zeeland teaches [in Figs. 2-5] that the support section [38] is situated on an outer side of the switch section. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the support section of Van Zeeland with the switch device of Adachi, as modified by Hamada, in order to provide increased stability to the switch device during actuation.
In regard to claims 5 and 6, Adachi and Hamada teach some of the limitations of the switch device of claim 1. Adachi and Hamada do not teach a plurality of switch sections, each of the plurality of switch sections being the switch section, wherein the switch sections are arranged two-dimensionally. Van Zeeland teaches [in Figs. 2-5] a plurality of switch sections [at 34], each of the plurality of switch sections being the switch section, wherein the switch sections are arranged two-dimensionally. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a plurality of switch sections arranged two-dimensionally, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/LHEIREN MAE A CAROC/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831