Detailed Office Action
Indefiniteness Rejection
3. Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to claim 5, to the extent disclosed and claimed, the examiner has been unable to determine the metes and bounds of polycarboxylates further characterized by the ether language.
With respect to claim 6, applicant has failed to define the asterisk symbol at each end of the claimed structural units and has further failed to define variable M, appearing within structural unit S1 and the definition of variable Rv. Furthermore, the language denoted by “especially” and “preferably” renders the claim indefinite, because it is unclear if or to what extent this language further modifies the corresponding language not denoted by “especially” or “preferably”.
Prior Art Rejection
5. Claims 1-3, 7-11, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Burckhardt (US 2010/0015450 A1).
Burckhardt discloses a step-wise method, wherein an isocyanate functional prepolymer composition is firstly produced by reacting a polyol with a polyisocyanate, and secondly, the prepolymer is reacted with an aldimine in the presence of water in order thereby to obtain a prepolymer composition having a low content of monomeric polyisocyanate. Within Example 1, 50 parts of a prepolymer, derived from the reaction of MDI and a crystalline polyester polyol are provided (meeting instant claims 2 and 10) and heated to 100°C, then 7.57 parts (15% relative to the prepolymer, meeting instant claim 7) of a dialdimine A-1, and 0.19 part (0.38% relative to the prepolymer, meeting instant claim 8; 2.48% relative to the dialdimine, meeting instant claim 9) of water, and 0.2 part of an additive (meeting instant claim 11) are reacted. The resulting composition of Example 1 has a residual content of monomeric MDI of 0.23% (see Table 2), meeting instant claim 3. Regarding the instantly claimed polycarboxylate, to the extent claimed, since the dialdimine of Example 1 has two lauryl ester groups, it constitutes a polycarboxylate. Applicant’s attention is further drawn to the disclosures within paragraphs [0153]-[0157], [0163]-[0179].
6. Claims 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burckhardt (US 2010/0015450 A1).
Burckhardt discloses a step-wise method, wherein an isocyanate functional prepolymer composition is firstly produced by reacting a polyol with a polyisocyanate, and secondly, the prepolymer is reacted with an aldimine in the presence of water in order thereby to obtain a prepolymer composition having a low content of monomeric polyisocyanate. Within Example 1, 50 parts of a prepolymer, derived from the reaction of MDI and a crystalline polyester polyol are provided and heated to 100°C, then 7.57 parts (15% relative to the prepolymer) of a dialdimine A-1, and 0.19 part (0.38% relative to the prepolymer; 2.48% relative to the dialdimine) of water, and 0.2 part of an additive are reacted. The resulting composition of Example 1 has a residual content of monomeric MDI of 0.23% (see Table 2). Regarding the instantly claimed polycarboxylate, to the extent claimed, since the dialdimine of Example 1 has two lauryl ester groups, it constitutes a polycarboxylate. Applicant’s attention is further drawn to the disclosures within paragraphs [0153]-[0157], [0163]-[0179].
7. Regarding claim 4, though the reference is largely silent regarding the claimed reaction time, the position is taken that determining an optimal or suitable reaction time frame, such as a time corresponding to that claimed, would have been obvious and well within the abilities of the to the skilled artisan, given that the objective of decreasing excess isocyanate monomer is common to both the reference and the instant invention.
8. Regarding claim 12, though the reference discloses within paragraph [0170] that catalysts may be employed to accelerate the reaction of isocyanate groups, the reference fails to disclose that the catalyst is added prior to step b); however, the position is taken in light of this disclosure and the disclosed reaction of polyisocyanates and polyols to produce the prepolymer that one would have been motivated to incorporate such catalysts prior to step b), so as to promote initial reaction of the isocyanates to form the prepolymer.
Allowable Subject Matter
9. Claims 5 and 6 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action. The prior art fails to disclose polymer P of claim 6, and to the extent the examiner has been able to interpret the polycarboxylate ether of claim 5, the prior art is silent with respect to a polycarboxylate having ether groups used as claimed.
Conclusion
/RABON A SERGENT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765