DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-6 in the reply filed on 3/24/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Regarding claims 1-6, the phrase "type" renders the claim(s) indefinite because the claim(s) include(s) elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "type"), thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 1, this shows up as both “cigarette type” and “a type of the cigarette.”
Regarding claims 2, 3, and 5, this shows up as “the type of the cigarette.”
For purposes of examination for all claims, any aerosol generating substrate will be considered a “type” of cigarette.
Claims 4 and 6 are rejected for depending from a rejected base claim.
Claim 1 repeats the limitation "an aerosol-generating substrate " (emphasis added) in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The prior ‘aerosol generating substrate’ of line 1 is also noted as ‘an’, so is the substrate of line 7 the same or different than that of line 1. Further it introduces a lack of clarity as it is unclear if the aerosol generating substrate of line 1 is part of the recited cigarette or a separate element. For purposes of examination, both aerosol generating substrates will be treated as the same element, and as part of the cigarette.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "a user" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In the instant case it is unclear if this is to be the same or a different user than the “a user” in line 5 of claim 1. For purposes of examination, these will be treated as the same user.
Regarding claim 5, the phrase "cut tobacco type" renders the claim(s) indefinite because the claim(s) include(s) elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "type"), thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 5, the phrase "granular type" renders the claim(s) indefinite because the claim(s) include(s) elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "type"), thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 5, the phrase "liquid type" renders the claim(s) indefinite because the claim(s) include(s) elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "type"), thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fernando et al. (US 2016/0302488) in view of Anderson et al. (US 2020/0000143).
Regarding claims 1 and 6, Fernando teaches heating an aerosol-generating substrate (Fernando para 35) performed by an electronic device (Fernando para 93, 97) and thereby constitutes a ‘method of heating’. Fernando further teaches detecting the presence of an inserted aerosol-generating substrate, such as a cigarette (Fernando para 40, 70, 96), displaying information (Fernando para 96), determining a corresponding heating profile based on user input, such as a button (Fernando para 12, 45, 60), and heating the aerosol-generating substrate, including cigarettes, based on the heating profile (Fernando para 12, 60).
Fernando is silent with respect to the display showing specifically an icon relating to a supported cigarette type.
Fernando and Anderson are related in the field of heating aerosol-generating substrates. Anderson teaches using a display to show an icon relating to a supported aerosol-generating substrate, including, but not limited to information about the inserted substrate/cartridge, battery information, draws remaining, etc. (Anderson para 660). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the information displayed by the display of Fernando to include an icon correlating to the cigarette inserted.
Regarding claims 2 and 5, Fernando in view of Anderson teaches a method of heating an aerosol-generating substrate as above for claim 1. Fernando further teaches detecting an inserted cigarette, including if it is cut tobacco, granular, or liquid, that is, potential ‘types’, via a sensor (Fernando para 17, 35, 36, 37).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Fernando in view of Anderson teaches a method of heating an aerosol-generating substrate as above for claim 1. Fernando further teaches that a heating profile may be altered by a user (e.g. via a program) and that heating profiles comprise at least one of heating time and temperature (Fernando para 57, 60).
4Conclusion
/LAURA B FIGG/Examiner, Art Unit 1781 8/8/26