DETAILED ACTION
CONTINUING DATA
This application is a 371 of PCT/EP2022/059801 04/12/2022
FOREIGN APPLICATIONS
EP 21169034.2 04/17/2021
This office action is in response to Applicant’s amendment submitted August 10, 2026. Claims 1-10 are pending.
The rejection of claims 8-10 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment to include active method steps.
The rejection of claim(s) 1-10 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Jia is withdrawn. Applicant’s argument is persuasive. The examiner regrets the error.
The following rejection of record is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Unemoto (EP0382206A1, 1990, cited on IDS) in view of Ritter (EP3650446A1, 2020, cited on IDS), Liu (J. Phys. Org. Chem. 2001; 14: 81-89, cited on IDS) and Yus (Tetrahedron 59 (2003) 2083-2092).
Unemoto teaches the following compound in Example 15:
The compound is used for introducing a perfluoroalkyl group into an organic compound (claim 9). Organic compounds into which the perfluoroalkyl group can be introduced include aromatic compounds (page 7, lines 44-46) or compounds containing C=O groups (Table 2). The compound is prepared as in Examples 4, 8, and 15:
Unemoto’s compound contains an oxygen and a sulfur atom, not two sulfur atoms as in the current claims.
Liu teaches the following thianthrenium triflates for reacting with hydrocarbon nucleophiles (page 82 and Table 1):
Compound 3a was prepared by reaction of Th with methyl formate and triflic acid (page 82, right column).
Ritter teaches the following compound for direct C-H functionalization (see abstract):
The resulting compound was then used to transfer the aromatic group to a methyl group (page 45) or an aromatic group (page 46). In one example, the triflate salt was converted to the PF6- salt [0106].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to replace the oxygen in Unemoto’s compound with a sulfur in order to obtain a compound useful for transferring a trifluoromethyl group to an organic compound. Simple substitution of S for O would have resulted in the claimed invention, and the results would have been predictable because both Unemoto’s compound and the thianthrene compounds taught by Ritter or Liu are used for C-H functionalization. The skilled artisan would have prepared the thianthrene analog as Unemoto’s compound was prepared, using a thioether analog of the ether starting material. The thioether starting material was known at the art before the application was filed, as illustrated by Yus on page 2084 (compound 14), so the skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in preparing the compound. Alternatively, the skilled artisan would have prepared the compound using the same methods used for preparing Liu’s compounds, which would imply the use of trifluoromethyl formate instead of methyl formate.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that the cited references fail to demonstrate that the claimed compound is preparable and has utility. This argument is not persuasive because the rejection above states the skilled artisan would have prepared the compound with the expectation that it would be useful for transferring a trifluoromethyl group to an organic compound. The above rejection also explains one or more methods by which the compound could be prepared. The above rejection takes into account only what was disclosed by the references.
Applicant argues that a substitution of S for O would not have been predictable because it would alter the oxidation potential, sulfonium cation stability, and reactivity profile. This argument has been considered but is not persuasive because the prior art teaches successful transfer of an alkyl group to an organic group in either case. MPEP 2144 states: The Board affirmed the rejection finding “there was a ‘reasonable expectation’ that the tri- and tetra-orthoester fuel compositions would have similar properties based on ‘close structural and chemical similarity’ between the tri- and tetra-orthoesters and the fact that both the prior art and Dillon use these compounds ‘as fuel additives’.” In this instance, the cited references teach compounds which are of close structural similarity and are used for the same purpose. MPEP 2144 also states that obviousness does not require absolute predictability, only a reasonable expectation of success. In this instance, there is a reasonable expectation of success based on the compounds’ close structural similarities and common utilities.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Unemoto (EP0382206A1, 1990, cited on IDS) in view of Ritter (EP3650446A1, 2020, cited on IDS), Liu (J. Phys. Org. Chem. 2001; 14: 81-89, cited on IDS) and Wang (CCS Chem. 2010, 2, 1710-1717).
Unemoto, Ritter, and Liu teach as set forth above, and Liu teaches preparing the thianthrenium compounds using alkyl formates.
Liu does not teach preparing the thianthrenium compound using triflic acid anhydride as the trifluoromethyl group transfer agent.
Wang teaches trifluoromethylation reagents on page 1710, including triflic acid anhydride.
It would have been obvious too one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to prepare the claimed compounds as set forth in the rejection above, and to prepare the compound using triflic acid anhydride. Liu teaches the use of alkyl formates for preparing the compounds, which implies the use of trifluoromethyl formate. An alternative trifluoromethylation agent is triflic acid anhydride, as taught by Wang. Simple substitution of one trifluoromethylation agent for another would have resulted in the claimed invention, and the results would have been predictable because both agents are used for trifluoromethylation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments are the same as those addressed above.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAYLA D BERRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1693