DETAILED ACTION
CONTINUING DATA
This application is a 371 of PCT/EP2022/059801 04/12/2022
FOREIGN APPLICATIONS
EP 21169034.2 04/17/2021
Claims 1-10 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 is drawn to a method of using a compound of Formula (I), but does not recite any active steps. Attempts to claim a process without setting forth any steps involved in the process generally raises an issue of indefiniteness under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. MPEP 2173.05(q). Claims 9 and 10 depend from claim 8 and also do not recite any active steps.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Jia (J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2021, 143, 7623-7628, published May 14, 2021, and supporting information).
Jia teaches the following compound on page 7623:
This is a compound of formula (I) where R1-R8 are all H and X- is triflate. The compound was prepared by reacting formula (II) withj a trifluoromethyl group transfer agent which is triflkic acid anhydride. See page 7624.
Compound 1 was reacted with an anion exchange reagent NaBF4 to obtain a compound wherein X- is BF4-. Page S11.
Formula I was reacted with an aliphatic hydrocarbon or aromatic hydrocarbon or heteroaromatic hydrocarbon in Scheme 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Unemoto (EP0382206A1, 1990, cited on IDS) in view of Ritter (EP3650446A1, 2020, cited on IDS), Liu (J. Phys. Org. Chem. 2001; 14: 81-89, cited on IDS) and Yus (Tetrahedron 59 (2003) 2083-2092).
Unemoto teaches the following compound in Example 15:
The compound is used for introducing a perfluoroalkyl group into an organic compound (claim 9). Organic compounds into which the perfluoroalkyl group can be introduced include aromatic compounds (page 7, lines 44-46) or compounds containing C=O groups (Table 2). The compound is prepared as in Examples 4, 8, and 15:
Unemoto’s compound contains an oxygen and a sulfur atom, not two sulfur atoms as in the current claims.
Liu teaches the following thianthrenium triflates for reacting with hydrocarbon nucleophiles (page 82 and Table 1):
Compound 3a was prepared by reaction of Th with methyl formate and triflic acid (page 82, right column).
Ritter teaches the following compound for direct C-H functionalization (see abstract):
The resulting compound was then used to transfer the aromatic group to a methyl group (page 45) or an aromatic group (page 46). In one example, the triflate salt was converted to the PF6- salt [0106].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to replace the oxygen in Unemoto’s compound with a sulfur in order to obtain a compound useful for transferring a trifluoromethyl group to an organic compound. Simple substitution of S for O would have resulted in the claimed invention, and the results would have been predictable because both Unemoto’s compound and the thianthrene compounds taught by Ritter or Liu are used for C-H functionalization. The skilled artisan would have prepared the thianthrene analog as Unemoto’s compound was prepared, using a thioether analog of the ether starting material. The thioether starting material was known at the art before the application was filed, as illustrated by Yus on page 2084 (compound 14), so the skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in preparing the compound. Alternatively, the skilled artisan would have prepared the compound using the same methods used for preparing Liu’s compounds, which would imply the use of trifluoromethyl formate instead of methyl formate.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Unemoto (EP0382206A1, 1990, cited on IDS) in view of Ritter (EP3650446A1, 2020, cited on IDS), Liu (J. Phys. Org. Chem. 2001; 14: 81-89, cited on IDS) and Wang (CCS Chem. 2010, 2, 1710-1717).
Unemoto, Ritter, and Liu teach as set forth above, and Liu teaches preparing the thianthrenium compounds using alkyl formates.
Liu does not teach preparing the thianthrenium compound using triflic acid anhydride as the trifluoromethyl group transfer agent.
Wang teaches trifluoromethylation reagents on page 1710, including triflic acid anhydride.
It would have been obvious too one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to prepare the claimed compounds as set forth in the rejection above, and to prepare the compound using triflic acid anhydride. Liu teaches the use of alkyl formates for preparing the compounds, which implies the use of trifluoromethyl formate. An alternative trifluoromethylation agent is triflic acid anhydride, as taught by Wang. Simple substitution of one trifluoromethylation agent for another would have resulted in the claimed invention, and the results would have been predictable because both agents are used for trifluoromethylation.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/LAYLA D BERRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1693