DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-13 are pending. Claims 11-13 are new. Claims 1-10 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the claim limitations of claims 4 and 11 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). Figures 2 and 3 do not show the layering configurations as claimed in claims 4 and 11. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim has a second “a” in line 2. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim uses British English spelling of characterized. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim needs to end in a period not a semicolon. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jorgensen (US 6,170, 278 B1) in view of MacCracken (4,294,078) and Diez et al. (EP 0168504 A1), hereafter referred to as “Diez.”
Regarding Claim 1: Jorgensen teaches an artificial skating rink (10) comprising: a slab (the structures of Figures 1 and 3) comprising: first layer (20) that supports ice covering the slab (see Figures 1 and 3); and a refrigeration device (Column 2, lines 47-52) connected to the first refrigerant network (cooling pipes 22) wherein a refrigerant fluid circulates within the first refrigerant network (Column 4, lines 27-29); wherein the refrigerant fluid is provided by said refrigeration device (Column 2, lines 47-52).
Jorgensen fails to teach a second layer comprising a first refrigerant network of multiple tubes disposed through a phase-change material, wherein the first layer is positioned on top of the second layer; and wherein the phase-change material keeps the ice covering the slab at a temperature below the melting point of the ice by the circulation of the refrigerant fluid via the first network.
MacCracken teaches a layer (interior of thermal storage 2) comprising a first refrigerant network of multiple tubes (8) disposed through a phase-change material (24) and wherein the phase-change material (PCM 24) keeps an ice covering a slab at a temperature below the melting point of the ice by the circulation of the refrigerant fluid via the first network (functional limitations of the use of the PCM).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a second layer comprising a first refrigerant network of multiple tubes disposed through a phase-change material and wherein the phase-change material keeps the ice covering the slab at a temperature below the melting point of the ice by the circulation of the refrigerant fluid via the first network to the structure of Jorgensen as taught by MacCracken in order to advantageously provide improved heat transfer (see MacCracken, Column 2, lines 10-31).
Diez teaches a first layer (13) is positioned on top of a second layer (2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the first layer is positioned on top of the second layer to the structure of Jorgensen modified supra as taught by Jorgensen modified supra in order to advantageously protect the refrigerant pipes from corrosion (see page 4 of the machine translation of Diez).
Regarding Claim 2: Jorgensen teaches wherein the slab (see Figure 3) comprises: a third layer (32) comprising thermal insulation material (Column 2, lines 58-60), wherein the third layer (32) is disposed below the second layer (60).
Regarding Claim 3: Jorgensen teaches wherein the first layer (20) rests directly on said second layer (60).
Regarding Claim 7: Jorgensen modified supra teach wherein the phase-change material (PCM of MacCracken, Column 9, lines 25-29) has a melting point between - 10° C and -25° C (see MacCracken, Column 9, lines 25-29).
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jorgensen (US 6,170, 278 B1) in view of MacCracken (4,294,078), and Diez et al. (EP 0168504 A1), hereafter referred to as “Diez,” as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Heinzelman (2,301,780).
Regarding Claim 4: Jorgensen teaches an another layer (26) comprising a second refrigerant network of multiple tubes (34) disposed in the another layer (see Figures 1 and 3) and wherein the another layer (26) is disposed below a heat conducting layer (56, bars) and above the third layer (32).
Jorgensen modified supra fails to teach comprising: a heat conducting layer comprising a heat conducting material, wherein the heat conducting layer is positioned directly below the second layer comprising the phase-change material; and another layer comprising phase-change material, the another layer comprising a second refrigerant network of multiple tubes disposed in the phase-change material of the another layer, wherein the another layer is disposed below the heat conducting layer and above the third layer.
Heinzelman teaches a heat conducting layer (13) comprising a heat conducting material (13 is a metal pan), wherein the heat conducting layer (13) is positioned directly below a second layer (8, 9, 17) comprising a phase-change material (brine).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a heat conducting layer comprising a heat conducting material, wherein the heat conducting layer is positioned directly below the second layer comprising the phase-change material to the structure of Jorgensen modified supra as taught by Heinzelman in order to advantageously provide a refrigeration device configures to provide the necessary cooling for an ice rink (see Heinzelman, abstract).
MacCracken teaches a layer (interior of thermal storage 2) comprising a refrigerant network of multiple tubes (8) disposed through a phase-change material (24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided and another layer comprising phase-change material, the another layer comprising a second refrigerant network of multiple tubes disposed in the phase-change material of the another layer to the structure of Jorgensen as taught by MacCracken in order to advantageously provide improved heat transfer (see MacCracken, Column 2, lines 10-31).
Regarding Claim 5: Jorgensen teaches wherein the first refrigerant network (22) and the second refrigerant network (34) are connected such that the refrigerant fluid first flows through the second refrigerant network and then flows through the first refrigerant network (Column 4, lines 18-28).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jorgensen (US 6,170, 278 B1) in view of MacCracken (4,294,078) and Diez et al. (EP 0168504 A1), hereafter referred to as “Diez,” as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Dilk et al. (US 2005/0188710 A1), hereafter referred to as “Dilk.”
Regarding Claim 6: Jorgensen modified supra fails to teach wherein the refrigeration device comprises a plurality of heat exchangers, a plurality of pumps and a plurality of compressors that cause the refrigerant fluid to circulate through the first refrigerant network.
Dilk teaches a refrigeration device (40) comprises a plurality of heat exchangers (74, 86, 88, 242), a plurality of pumps (230, 250, 260,280) and a plurality of compressors (90,92) that cause the refrigerant fluid to circulate through a first refrigerant network (see Figure 1b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the refrigeration device comprises a plurality of heat exchangers, a plurality of pumps and a plurality of compressors that cause the refrigerant fluid to circulate through the first refrigerant network to the structure of Jorgensen modified supra as taught by Dilk in order to advantageously provide a refrigeration device configures to provide the necessary cooling for an ice rink (see Dilk, paragraph [0039]).
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jorgensen (US 6,170, 278 B1) in view of MacCracken (4,294,078) and Diez et al. (EP 0168504 A1), hereafter referred to as “Diez,” and Dilk et al. (US 2005/0188710 A1), hereafter referred to as “Dilk,” as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Strathman (4,367,633).
Regarding Claim 8: Jorgensen modified supra fails to teach wherein the skating rink comprises photovoltaic panels intended to power said refrigeration device electrically.
Strathman teaches photovoltaic panels (118) intended to power a refrigeration device (10) electrically (Column 7, lines 45-61).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the skating rink comprises photovoltaic panels intended to power said refrigeration device electrically to the structure of Jorgensen modified supra as taught by Strathman in order to advantageously provide stored energy when alternative power sources are not available and to accumulate power in the battery from other power sources for storage (see Strathman, Column 3, lines 37-41 and Column 7, lines 45-61).
Regarding Claim 9: Jorgensen modified supra fails to teach characterised in that it comprises an electrical storage battery.
Strathman teaches an electrical storage battery (24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided characterised in that it comprises an electrical storage battery to the structure of Jorgensen modified supra as taught by Strathman in order to advantageously provide stored energy when alternative power sources are not available and to accumulate power in the battery from other power sources for storage (see Strathman, Column 3, lines 37-41 and Column 7, lines 45-61).
Regarding Claim 10: Jorgensen modified supra fails to teach wherein the refrigeration device is configured to be powered at least in part by a plurality of photovoltaic panels and/or by a storage battery
Strathman teaches a refrigeration device (10) is configured to be powered at least in part by photovoltaic panels (118) and/or by a storage battery (24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the refrigeration device is configured to be powered at least in part by a plurality of photovoltaic panels and/or by a storage battery to the structure of Jorgensen modified supra as taught by Strathman in order to advantageously provide stored energy when alternative power sources are not available and to accumulate power in the battery from other power sources for storage (see Strathman, Column 3, lines 37-41 and Column 7, lines 45-61).
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jorgensen (US 6,170, 278 B1) in view of MacCracken (4,294,078), Diez et al. (EP 0168504 A1), hereafter referred to as “Diez,” and Heinzelman (2,301,780).
Regarding Claim 11: Jorgensen teaches an artificial skating rink (10) comprising: a slab (the structures of Figures 1 and 3) comprising: first layer (20) that supports ice covering the slab (see Figures 1 and 3); another layer (26), the another layer comprising a second refrigerant network (34) of multiple tubes (see Figures 1 and 3); and a third layer (32) comprising thermal insulation material (Column 2, lines 58-60), wherein the third layer (32) is disposed below a second layer (60), and a refrigeration device (Column 2, lines 47-52) connected to the first refrigerant network (22, Column 4, lines 27-29) wherein a refrigerant fluid circulates within the first refrigerant network (22); wherein the refrigerant fluid is provided by said refrigeration device (Column 2, lines 47-52 and Column 4, lines 27-29).
Jorgensen fails to teach the second layer comprising a first refrigerant network of multiple tubes disposed through a phase-change material, wherein the first layer is positioned on top of the second layer; a heat conducting layer comprising a heat conducting material, wherein the heat conducting layer is positioned directly below the second layer comprising the phase-change material; the another layer comprising phase-change material, the second refrigerant network of multiple tubes disposed in the phase-change material of the another layer; wherein the another layer is disposed below the heat conducting layer and above the third layer; and wherein the phase-change material keeps the ice covering the slab at a temperature below the melting point of the ice by the circulation of the refrigerant fluid via the first network.
Jorgensen teaches an another layer (26) comprising a second refrigerant network of multiple tubes (34) disposed in the another layer (see Figures 1 and 3) and wherein the another layer (26) is disposed below a heat conducting layer (56, bars) and above the third layer (32).
MacCracken teaches a layer (interior of thermal storage 2) comprising a refrigerant network of multiple tubes (8) disposed through a phase-change material (24) and wherein the phase-change material (PCM 24) keeps an ice covering a slab at a temperature below the melting point of the ice by the circulation of the refrigerant fluid via the first network (functional limitations of the use of the PCM).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a second layer comprising a first refrigerant network of multiple tubes disposed through a phase-change material and wherein the phase-change material keeps the ice covering the slab at a temperature below the melting point of the ice by the circulation of the refrigerant fluid via the first network to the structure of Jorgensen as taught by MacCracken in order to advantageously provide improved heat transfer (see MacCracken, Column 2, lines 10-31).
Diez teaches a first layer (13) is positioned on top of a second layer (2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the first layer is positioned on top of the second layer to the structure of Jorgensen modified supra as taught by Jorgensen modified supra in order to advantageously protect the refrigerant pipes from corrosion (see page 4 of the machine translation of Diez).
Heinzelman teaches a heat conducting layer (13) comprising a heat conducting material (13 is a metal pan), wherein the heat conducting layer (13) is positioned directly below a second layer (8, 9, 17) comprising a phase-change material (brine).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a heat conducting layer comprising a heat conducting material, wherein the heat conducting layer is positioned directly below the second layer comprising the phase-change material to the structure of Jorgensen modified supra as taught by Heinzelman in order to advantageously provide a refrigeration device configures to provide the necessary cooling for an ice rink (see Heinzelman, abstract).
MacCracken teaches a layer (interior of thermal storage 2) comprising a refrigerant network of multiple tubes (8) disposed through a phase-change material (24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided and another layer comprising phase-change material, the another layer comprising a second refrigerant network of multiple tubes disposed in the phase-change material of the another layer to the structure of Jorgensen as taught by MacCracken in order to advantageously provide improved heat transfer (see MacCracken, Column 2, lines 10-31).
Regarding Claim 12: Jorgensen teaches wherein the first refrigerant network (22) and the second refrigerant network (34) are connected such that the refrigerant fluid first flows through the second refrigerant network and then flows through the first refrigerant network (Column 4, lines 18-28).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jorgensen (US 6,170, 278 B1) in view of MacCracken (4,294,078), Diez et al. (EP 0168504 A1), hereafter referred to as “Diez,” and Heinzelman (2,301,780), as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Dilk et al. (US 2005/0188710 A1), hereafter referred to as “Dilk.”
Regarding Claim 13: Jorgensen modified supra fails to teach wherein the refrigeration device comprises a plurality of heat exchangers, a plurality of pumps and a plurality of compressors that cause the refrigerant fluid to circulate through first through the second refrigerant network and then through the first refrigerant network.
Dilk teaches a refrigeration device (40) comprises a plurality of heat exchangers (74, 86, 88, 242), a plurality of pumps (230, 250, 260,280) and a plurality of compressors (90,92) that cause the refrigerant fluid to circulate through a refrigerant network (see Figure 1b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the refrigeration device comprises a plurality of heat exchangers, a plurality of pumps and a plurality of compressors that cause the refrigerant fluid to circulate through first through the second refrigerant network and then through the first refrigerant network to the structure of Jorgensen modified supra as taught by Dilk in order to advantageously provide a refrigeration device configures to provide the necessary cooling for an ice rink (see Dilk, paragraph [0039]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Heinzelman (2,878,651).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KIRSTIN U OSWALD/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/LEN TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763