DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 6, filed 03/26/2026, with respect to claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112 have been fully considered, along with amendments, and are persuasive. The rejections of claims 5 and 9 under 35 U.S.C. 112 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, beginning on page 6, filed 03/26/2026, with respect to rejections of claims 1-7 and 10-15 under 35 U.S.C. 102/103 have been fully considered, along with amendments, and are not persuasive.
Beginning on page 7, Applicant states that “Yamamoto only acquires position information from satellites and not from magnetic field information”. This is not persuasive because although Yamamoto begins by acquiring reference data from satellites, Yamamoto uses the satellite data to determine the closest marker with reference to a marker coordinate table (Yamamoto [0071] Upon receiving a marker detection signal (S101: YES), the navigation unit 11 acquires, by computation, positioning position coordinates (GX, GY) serving as an actual measured position measured by positioning based on satellite radio waves (S102). Then, the positioning position coordinates (GX, GY) are used to select the nearest laying position coordinates (Xn, Yn) with reference to the marker coordinate table (FIG. 5) (S103).). Yamamoto then uses the first found marker and the next to determine more accurate positioning (Yamamoto [0076] When the magnetic marker 5 has been detected, the laying position located nearest to the actual measured position measured by the GPS positioning circuit 11A is selected from among the laying positions of a plurality of magnetic markers 5, and the own vehicle position is captured on the basis of this laying position. [0077] Further, in the own vehicle position estimation section falling in a gap between adjacent magnetic markers 5, the own vehicle position is estimated by inertial navigation in a state where the own vehicle position captured upon detection of the magnetic marker 5 is set as a reference position.).
On page 8, Applicant then states that Yamamoto does not require distinguishing among the different magnetic anchors to acquire the position information associated with each. This is not persuasive because Yamamoto teaches a that every marker’s information and position are stored in a table (see Yamamoto Fig. 5 and [0056] (6) Laying position storage device: Storage device that has stored therein the laying position of each magnetic marker 5 and forms a marker database (marker DB) 114 that has stored therein a marker coordinate table illustrated in FIG. 5.). Figure 5 of Yamamoto clearly shows a table of different markers, each with their own identifier and position. The position detection is triggered by marker detection, for more accurate positioning.
On page 9, Applicant states that because Yamamoto employs identical markers, Yamamoto cannot teach that “each of the magnetic anchors is configured such that magnetic information detected by a magnetometer differs among the magnetic anchors due to the magnet arrangement pattern, thereby enabling identification of a magnetic anchor based on detected magnetic information”. However, this is not persuasive, because even though Yamamoto does employ identical markers, part of identifying the marker and its position is based on the detected strength of the magnetic field.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 9 and 10, filed 03/26/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 8 and 9 under 35 U.S.C. 103 has been fully considered, along with amendments and are persuasive. The rejections of claims 8 and 9 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites: to acquire position information of a terminal device. It is not clear whether this is the same terminal device of the at least one terminal device derived from its claim 7 dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 10-12, 14, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamamoto et al. (US 20200320870 A1), hereinafter “Yamamoto”.
Regarding Claim 1, Yamamoto teaches a terminal device that is held by a terminal holding object, comprising:
a magnetic detection unit configured to detect magnetic field produced from a magnetic anchor made of magnet (Yamamoto [0006] A first aspect of the present invention is directed to a position capture method for capturing an own vehicle position by using a positioning part that measures a position of a vehicle and a plurality of magnetic markers laid on a traveling path of the vehicle with their laying positions specified. Also see [0049] The marker detection unit 15 is a detection unit for the magnetic marker 5 including a detection substrate 150 that executes a process for detecting the magnetic marker 5. Electrically connected to the marker detection unit 15 is a sensor unit 17 having a plurality of magnetic sensors 170 (see FIG. 3) arrayed.); and
a position information acquisition unit configured to acquire position information that corresponds to magnetic information detected by the magnetic detection unit by referring to correspondence between magnetic information and position information prepared in advance (Yamamoto [0007] upon detection of any of the plurality of magnetic markers, selecting, from among the laying positions of the plurality of magnetic markers, the laying position located nearest to an actual measured position measured by the positioning part. Also see [0056] (3) Position capture circuit 11C: Circuit that captures the own vehicle position by using the magnetic marker 5. When the magnetic marker 5 has been detected, the position capture circuit 11C captures the own vehicle position on the basis of the laid position of the magnetic marker 5.);
wherein the correspondence comprises a magnetic position correspondence table that stores, for each of a plurality of magnetic anchors, (i) magnetic information and (ii) position information associated with the magnetic information (Yamamoto [0056] (6) Laying position storage device: Storage device that has stored therein the laying position of each magnetic marker 5 and forms a marker database (marker DB) 114 that has stored therein a marker coordinate table illustrated in FIG. 5. See Fig. 5. Table has ID information and position information), and
wherein the position information acquisition unit is configured to identify one of the plurality of magnetic anchors based on the magnetic information detected by the magnetic detection unit by referring to the magnetic position correspondence table, and acquire the position information associated with the identified magnetic anchor (Yamamoto [0076] When the magnetic marker 5 has been detected, the laying position located nearest to the actual measured position measured by the GPS positioning circuit 11A is selected from among the laying positions of a plurality of magnetic markers 5, and the own vehicle position is captured on the basis of this laying position. [0077] Further, in the own vehicle position estimation section falling in a gap between adjacent magnetic markers 5, the own vehicle position is estimated by inertial navigation in a state where the own vehicle position captured upon detection of the magnetic marker 5 is set as a reference position. A marker is identified based on a reference position provided by GPS, then the table is used to match the stored position with the identified marker.).
Regarding Claim 2, the Examiner notes that the terminal holding object is not a positively recited element of the terminal device, and therefore does not carry patentable weight, nonetheless, Yamamoto further teaches wherein the terminal holding object is a person, a motor vehicle, or a robot that can travel autonomously (Yamamoto [0041] As shown in FIG. 1, the navigation system 1 is a system that is able to capture an own vehicle position by positioning based on the GPS (Global Positioning System) and can also capture the own vehicle position with high accuracy by using magnetic markers 5 laid along a lane in which a vehicle 4 travels. See Fig. 4, 4).
Regarding Claim 4, Yamamoto further teaches wherein the position information acquisition unit acquires the position information by using information of vehicle dead reckoning (Yamamoto [0035] In this case, the own vehicle position can be estimated with high accuracy even when the vehicle is located in between adjacent ones of the magnetic markers. Further, when another one of the magnetic markers has been detected during estimation of an own vehicle position by inertial navigation, an own vehicle position captured upon detection of the magnetic marker and an own vehicle position estimated by inertial navigation may be compared with each other. Making such a comparison makes it possible to grasp errors or the like in measured values such as vehicle speed, acceleration, and yaw rate that are used in inertial navigation as information representing a motion of the vehicle. Being able to grasp errors or the like in the measured values makes it possible to acquire a guideline for correcting the measured values and improve the accuracy of subsequent inertial navigation.).
Regarding Claim 6, Yamamoto teaches a magnetic anchor system comprising:
a plurality of magnetic anchors at different positions (Yamamoto [0006] A first aspect of the present invention is directed to a position capture method for capturing an own vehicle position by using a positioning part that measures a position of a vehicle and a plurality of magnetic markers laid on a traveling path of the vehicle with their laying positions specified. Also see [0049] The marker detection unit 15 is a detection unit for the magnetic marker 5 including a detection substrate 150 that executes a process for detecting the magnetic marker 5. Electrically connected to the marker detection unit 15 is a sensor unit 17 having a plurality of magnetic sensors 170 (see FIG. 3) arrayed.),
wherein each of the magnetic anchors is configured to include a magnet (Yamamoto [0006] A first aspect of the present invention is directed to a position capture method for capturing an own vehicle position by using a positioning part that measures a position of a vehicle and a plurality of magnetic markers laid on a traveling path of the vehicle with their laying positions specified. Magnetic markers inherently include a magnet), and
each of the magnetic anchors has a magnet arrangement pattern in which at least one of the number of the magnets, a type of the magnets, and an arrangement of the magnets is different, thereby producing magnetic field with properties different from those of the other magnetic anchors (Yamamoto [0058] Magnetic markers 5, for example, are laid along the center of a lane that constitutes an example of a traveling path along which the vehicle 4 travels.);
wherein each of the magnetic anchors is configured such that magnetic information detected by a magnetometer differs among the magnetic anchors due to the magnet arrangement pattern, thereby enabling identification of a magnetic anchor based on detected magnetic information (Yamamoto [0060] The marker detection unit 15 executes detection of the magnetic marker 5 and computation of the lateral shift amount by using the sensor signals from the eleven magnetic sensors 170 of the sensor unit 17. For example, during passage of the vehicle 4 over the magnetic marker 5, a distribution illustrated in FIG. 6 is obtained as a distribution of magnetic strengths represented by the sensor signals from each separate magnetic sensor 170. Each marker will have a different detected signal strength due to position configuration.).
Regarding Claim 7, Yamamoto further teaches further comprising at least one terminal device comprising a magnetic detection unit configured to detect magnetic field produced from a magnetic anchor made of magnet and a position information acquisition unit configured to acquire position information that corresponds to magnetic information detected by the magnetic detection unit by referring to correspondence between magnetic information and position information prepared in advance (Yamamoto [0007] upon detection of any of the plurality of magnetic markers, selecting, from among the laying positions of the plurality of magnetic markers, the laying position located nearest to an actual measured position measured by the positioning part. Also see [0056] (3) Position capture circuit 11C: Circuit that captures the own vehicle position by using the magnetic marker 5. When the magnetic marker 5 has been detected, the position capture circuit 11C captures the own vehicle position on the basis of the laid position of the magnetic marker 5.).
Regarding Claim 10, Yamamoto teaches a position determination method by a terminal device that is held in a terminal holding object, using a plurality of magnetic anchors each configured from a magnet at different positions,
the method comprising:
detecting, by a magnetic detection unit, magnetic field produced from the magnetic anchors (Yamamoto [0006] A first aspect of the present invention is directed to a position capture method for capturing an own vehicle position by using a positioning part that measures a position of a vehicle and a plurality of magnetic markers laid on a traveling path of the vehicle with their laying positions specified. Also see [0049] The marker detection unit 15 is a detection unit for the magnetic marker 5 including a detection substrate 150 that executes a process for detecting the magnetic marker 5. Electrically connected to the marker detection unit 15 is a sensor unit 17 having a plurality of magnetic sensors 170 (see FIG. 3) arrayed.); and
acquiring, by a position information acquisition unit, position information that corresponds to magnetic information detected by the magnetic detection unit by referring to correspondence between magnetic information and position information prepared in advance (Yamamoto [0007] upon detection of any of the plurality of magnetic markers, selecting, from among the laying positions of the plurality of magnetic markers, the laying position located nearest to an actual measured position measured by the positioning part. Also see [0056] (3) Position capture circuit 11C: Circuit that captures the own vehicle position by using the magnetic marker 5. When the magnetic marker 5 has been detected, the position capture circuit 11C captures the own vehicle position on the basis of the laid position of the magnetic marker 5.);
wherein the correspondence comprises a magnetic position correspondence table that stores, for each of a plurality of magnetic anchors, (i) magnetic information and (ii) position information associated with the magnetic information (Yamamoto [0056] (6) Laying position storage device: Storage device that has stored therein the laying position of each magnetic marker 5 and forms a marker database (marker DB) 114 that has stored therein a marker coordinate table illustrated in FIG. 5. See Fig. 5. Table has ID information and position information), and
wherein the position information acquisition unit is configured to identify one of the plurality of magnetic anchors based on the magnetic information detected by the magnetic detection unit by referring to the magnetic position correspondence table, and acquire the position information associated with the identified magnetic anchor (Yamamoto [0076] When the magnetic marker 5 has been detected, the laying position located nearest to the actual measured position measured by the GPS positioning circuit 11A is selected from among the laying positions of a plurality of magnetic markers 5, and the own vehicle position is captured on the basis of this laying position. [0077] Further, in the own vehicle position estimation section falling in a gap between adjacent magnetic markers 5, the own vehicle position is estimated by inertial navigation in a state where the own vehicle position captured upon detection of the magnetic marker 5 is set as a reference position. A marker is detected, then identified based on a reference position provided by GPS, then the table is used to match the actual stored position of the identified marker.).
Regarding Claim 11, Yamamoto further teaches wherein the magnetic information comprises at least one of magnetic field strength, a horizontal component and a vertical component of magnetic field, and a three-dimensional vector of magnetic field (Yamamoto [0061] The marker detection unit 15 determines, on the basis of temporal changes in strength of magnetism that acts on the magnetic sensors 170, that the magnetic marker 5 has been detected when the temporal peak value has exceeded a positive or negative threshold set in advance. At least magnetic field strength is used in detecting a magnet).
Regarding Claim 12, Yamamoto further teaches wherein the magnetic information comprises a waveform of a magnetic signal detected by the magnetic detection unit (Yamamoto [0061] The marker detection unit 15 determines, on the basis of temporal changes in strength of magnetism that acts on the magnetic sensors 170, that the magnetic marker 5 has been detected when the temporal peak value has exceeded a positive or negative threshold set in advance. At least magnetic field strength, which is a waveform, is used in detecting a magnet).
Regarding Claim 14, Yamamoto further teaches wherein the magnetic information comprises a waveform of a magnetic signal detected by the magnetic detection unit (Yamamoto [0061] The marker detection unit 15 determines, on the basis of temporal changes in strength of magnetism that acts on the magnetic sensors 170, that the magnetic marker 5 has been detected when the temporal peak value has exceeded a positive or negative threshold set in advance. At least magnetic field strength, which is a waveform, is used in detecting a magnet).
Regarding Claim 15, Yamamoto further teaches wherein the magnetic information comprises at least one of magnetic field strength, a horizontal component and a vertical component of magnetic field, and a three-dimensional vector of magnetic field (Yamamoto [0061] The marker detection unit 15 determines, on the basis of temporal changes in strength of magnetism that acts on the magnetic sensors 170, that the magnetic marker 5 has been detected when the temporal peak value has exceeded a positive or negative threshold set in advance. At least magnetic field strength is used in detecting a magnet).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 5, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto (as stated above).
Regarding Claim 3, Yamamoto (as stated above) does not explicitly teach wherein the position information acquisition unit acquires the position information by using information of pedestrian dead reckoning.
However, Yamamoto teaches using dead reckoning based on vehicle motion data to improve position estimation data (Yamamoto [0035] In this case, the own vehicle position can be estimated with high accuracy even when the vehicle is located in between adjacent ones of the magnetic markers. Further, when another one of the magnetic markers has been detected during estimation of an own vehicle position by inertial navigation, an own vehicle position captured upon detection of the magnetic marker and an own vehicle position estimated by inertial navigation may be compared with each other. Making such a comparison makes it possible to grasp errors or the like in measured values such as vehicle speed, acceleration, and yaw rate that are used in inertial navigation as information representing a motion of the vehicle. Being able to grasp errors or the like in the measured values makes it possible to acquire a guideline for correcting the measured values and improve the accuracy of subsequent inertial navigation.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify Yamamoto (as stated above) to explicitly teach pedestrian dead reckoning, because the concept and application of dead reckoning is the same whether the user is in a vehicle or on foot, as only the value of the variables used such as speed and acceleration change (see MPEP 2143 I. (F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art).
Regarding Claim 5, Yamamoto (as stated above) does not explicitly teach wherein the magnetic anchor is installed at each of two or more different heights in a space (Note the magnetic anchor is not a positively recited element of the terminal device, and therefore does not carry patentable weight), and
the magnetic detection unit detects magnetic field produced from the magnetic anchor installed at any height depending on an arrangement of the magnetic detection unit when held by the terminal holding object.
However, Yamamoto (as stated above) teaches the magnetic anchors are installed in space along a path of travel (Yamamoto [0058] Magnetic markers 5, for example, are laid along the center of a lane that constitutes an example of a traveling path along which the vehicle 4 travels. Spacings at which the magnetic markers 5 are laid are set to be 50 m, which is wider than the ±10 m positioning accuracy based on satellite radio waves. Moreover, laying position coordinates (Xn, Yn) representing the laying position of each magnetic marker 5 are recorded in the marker coordinate table illustrated in FIG. 5 stored in the marker database 114. [0059] Furthermore, in Embodiment 1, some of the magnetic markers 5 laid at every constant distance configure an azimuth identification section (which will be described later with reference to FIG. 8) for identifying the traveling direction of the vehicle 4. The magnetic marker 5 configuring the azimuth identification section is managed in the marker coordinate table illustrated in FIG. 5 so as to be distinguishable from other magnetic markers 5. Further, for the magnetic marker 5 configuring the azimuth identification section, section information (span SL, reference azimuth) that is necessary to compute the traveling direction of the vehicle 4 is stored.)to be detected by magnetic detection for position determination (Yamamoto [0060] The marker detection unit 15 executes detection of the magnetic marker 5 and computation of the lateral shift amount by using the sensor signals from the eleven magnetic sensors 170 of the sensor unit 17. For example, during passage of the vehicle 4 over the magnetic marker 5, a distribution illustrated in FIG. 6 is obtained as a distribution of magnetic strengths represented by the sensor signals from each separate magnetic sensor 170.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify Yamamoto (as stated above) to explicitly teach wherein each magnetic anchor of the plurality of magnetic anchors is installed at each of two or more different heights in a space , and
the magnetic detection unit detects magnetic field produced from a magnetic anchor installed at any height depending on an arrangement of the magnetic detection unit when held by the terminal holding object, because the function of the magnetic anchor or marker and its use by the magnetic detection unit is the same whether it is installed over a horizontal or vertical path (see MPEP 2143 I. (F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify Yamamoto (as stated above) to explicitly teach wherein the magnetic anchors are installed at two or more different heights in a space, and
the magnetic anchors are used to acquire position information of different terminal devices for respective heights where the magnetic anchors are installed, because the function of the magnetic anchor or marker and its use by the magnetic detection unit is the same whether it is installed over a horizontal or vertical path (see MPEP 2143 I. (F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art).
Regarding Claim 8, Yamamoto (as stated above) further teaches the magnetic anchor system according to claim 6 or 7,further comprising a terminal device, wherein each terminal device comprises
a magnetic detection unit configured to detect magnetic field produced from a magnetic anchor made of magnet (Yamamoto [0006] A first aspect of the present invention is directed to a position capture method for capturing an own vehicle position by using a positioning part that measures a position of a vehicle and a plurality of magnetic markers laid on a traveling path of the vehicle with their laying positions specified. Also see [0049] The marker detection unit 15 is a detection unit for the magnetic marker 5 including a detection substrate 150 that executes a process for detecting the magnetic marker 5. Electrically connected to the marker detection unit 15 is a sensor unit 17 having a plurality of magnetic sensors 170 (see FIG. 3) arrayed.); and
a position information acquisition unit configured to acquire position information that corresponds to magnetic information detected by the magnetic detection unit by referring to correspondence between magnetic information and position information prepared in advance (Yamamoto [0007] upon detection of any of the plurality of magnetic markers, selecting, from among the laying positions of the plurality of magnetic markers, the laying position located nearest to an actual measured position measured by the positioning part. Also see [0056] (3) Position capture circuit 11C: Circuit that captures the own vehicle position by using the magnetic marker 5. When the magnetic marker 5 has been detected, the position capture circuit 11C captures the own vehicle position on the basis of the laid position of the magnetic marker 5.).
Yamamoto (as stated above) does not explicitly teach a plurality of terminal devices.
However, Yamamoto’s disclosure is for vehicle installation and usage (Yamamoto [0006] A first aspect of the present invention is directed to a position capture method for capturing an own vehicle position by using a positioning part that measures a position of a vehicle and a plurality of magnetic markers laid on a traveling path of the vehicle with their laying positions specified).
Additionally, Yamamoto does not explicitly teach wherein the magnetic anchors are installed at two or more different heights in a space, and the detected magnetic fields from the magnetic anchors are used by the position acquisition units of different terminal devices for respective heights where the magnetic anchors are installed.
However, Yamamoto (as stated above) teaches the magnetic anchors are installed in space along a path of travel (Yamamoto [0058] Magnetic markers 5, for example, are laid along the center of a lane that constitutes an example of a traveling path along which the vehicle 4 travels. Spacings at which the magnetic markers 5 are laid are set to be 50 m, which is wider than the ±10 m positioning accuracy based on satellite radio waves. Moreover, laying position coordinates (Xn, Yn) representing the laying position of each magnetic marker 5 are recorded in the marker coordinate table illustrated in FIG. 5 stored in the marker database 114. [0059] Furthermore, in Embodiment 1, some of the magnetic markers 5 laid at every constant distance configure an azimuth identification section (which will be described later with reference to FIG. 8) for identifying the traveling direction of the vehicle 4. The magnetic marker 5 configuring the azimuth identification section is managed in the marker coordinate table illustrated in FIG. 5 so as to be distinguishable from other magnetic markers 5. Further, for the magnetic marker 5 configuring the azimuth identification section, section information (span SL, reference azimuth) that is necessary to compute the traveling direction of the vehicle 4 is stored.)to be detected by magnetic detection for position determination (Yamamoto [0060] The marker detection unit 15 executes detection of the magnetic marker 5 and computation of the lateral shift amount by using the sensor signals from the eleven magnetic sensors 170 of the sensor unit 17. For example, during passage of the vehicle 4 over the magnetic marker 5, a distribution illustrated in FIG. 6 is obtained as a distribution of magnetic strengths represented by the sensor signals from each separate magnetic sensor 170.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify Yamamoto (as stated above) to explicitly teach a plurality of terminal devices, and wherein the magnetic anchors are installed at two or more different heights in a space, and
the magnetic anchors are used to acquire position information of different terminal devices for respective heights where the magnetic anchors are installed, because the system is designed to be able to function in any desired vehicle and the function of the magnetic anchor or marker and its use by the magnetic detection unit is the same whether it is installed over a horizontal or vertical path (see MPEP 2143 I. (F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto (as stated above) in view of Carter et al. (US 20060247847 A1), hereinafter “Carter”.
Regarding Claim 13, Yamamoto (as stated above) is not relied upon to further teach wherein the magnetic detection unit applies a correction to the magnetic information detected by the magnetic detection unit before the position information acquisition unit identifies the magnetic anchor.
Carter teaches wherein the magnetic detection unit applies a correction to the magnetic information detected by the magnetic detection unit before the position information acquisition unit identifies the magnetic anchor (Carter [0060] The heading sensor 202 may comprise a magnetic sensor signal conditioning module 208, which can be used, for example, to detect and correct errors in the magnetic field measurements taken by the magnetic sensors 204. In an embodiment, the signal conditioning module 208 can also perform corrections to remove the effects of extraneous magnetic fields to provide a better estimate of the geomagnetic field.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify Yamamoto (as stated above) in view of Carter, to explicitly teach wherein the magnetic detection unit applies a correction to the magnetic information detected by the magnetic detection unit before the position information acquisition unit identifies the magnetic anchor, to improve the accuracy of the system by correcting possible errors related to the measurements (Carter [0063] In certain embodiments, the sensor signal conditioning module 208 corrects for errors in the magnetic field measurements taken by the magnetic sensors 204. Such errors may come from sources such as random or systematic noise and/or extraneous magnetic or electromagnetic fields.).
The Examiner notes that there is currently no prior art rejection for claim 9.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTIAN T BRYANT/Examiner, Art Unit 2857