DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The following is a FINAL Office Action in response to Applicant’s amendments filed on 12/08/2025.
Claims 1, 3, 7, 19, 21, 23, 28 are amended
Claims 5-6, 9, 12, 15, 18, 22, 25, 27, 33, 37-60 are previously cancelled
10-11, 13-14, 16-17, 34-36 are previously withdrawn from consideration
Overall, Claims 1-4, 7-8, 19-21, 23-24, 26, 28-32 are pending and have been considered below.
Priority
The application claims foreign priority to application CN202110412860.6, filed on 04/16/2021. The priority is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement (IDS)
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/08/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, such IDS is being considered by Examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 21 objected to because of the following claim limitation is a duplicate “the second client sending a digital currency cashing request to a second currency management apparatus corresponding to the second client, the digital currency cashing request indicating the third digital currency or the circulation identifier;” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
35 USC 101 reads as follows:
Claims 1-4, 7-8, 19-21, 23-24, 26, 28-32 are rejected under 35 USC 101 because the claimed invention is not directed to patent eligible subject matter. The claimed matter is directed to a judicial exception, i.e. an abstract idea, not integrated into a practical application, and without significantly more.
Per Step 1 of the multi-step eligibility analysis, claims 1-2 are directed to a computer implemented method, claims 3-4 are directed to a computer implemented method, claims 7-8 are directed to a computer implemented method, claims 19-20 are directed to a computer implemented method, claim 21 is directed to a computer implemented method, claims 23-24, 26 are directed to a computer implemented method, and claims 28-32 are directed to a computer implemented method.
Thus, on its face, each independent claim and the associated dependent claims are directed to a statutory category of invention.
Per Step 2A.1. Claim 1, (which is representative of Claims 3, 19, 21, 23, 28) is rejected under 35 USC 101 because the claim is directed to an abstract idea, a judicial exception, without reciting additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The limitations of the independent claim 1 recite an abstract idea, shown in bold, while the non-bolded claim elements recite additional element according to MPEP 2106.04(a).
[A] A digital currency payment method, comprising:
[B] a first client sending a transaction amount to a first currency management apparatus corresponding to the first client;
[C] the first currency management apparatus to determining whether the transaction amount is greater than an available balance of a first digital currency used for payment;
[D] in a case where the transaction amount is not greater than the available balance, the first client sending a payment request to a second client, the payment request indicating the first digital currency or a circulation identifier of the first digital currency;
[E] the second client sending a digital currency cashing request to a second currency management apparatus corresponding to the second client,
[F] wherein the digital currency cashing request indicates the first digital currency or the circulation identifier of the first digital currency;
[G] the second currency management apparatus sending the first digital currency or the circulation identifier of the first digital currency to the first currency management apparatus;
[H] the first currency management apparatus performing the following verifications on the first digital currency or the circulation identifier of the first digital currency according to a digital currency record corresponding to the first client, comprising:
[I] determining whether the first digital currency or the circulation identifier is a first digital currency that has been recorded or stored, so as to verify the legitimacy of a source of the first digital currency;
[J] determining, according to an identifier of a currency management apparatus indicated by the first digital currency, whether the identifier of the currency management apparatus is consistent with an identifier of the first currency management apparatus, and verifying the legitimacy of the source of the first digital currency; and
[K] decrypting a signature information of a currency management apparatus in the first digital currency by using a private key corresponding to a public key during generation of signature information, so as to verify the reliability of the signature information;
[L] the first currency management apparatus sending a verification result of the first digital currency or the circulation identifier to the second currency management apparatus; and
[M] the second currency management apparatus generating a second digital currency corresponding to the first digital currency or the transaction amount when verification of the first digital currency or the circulation identifier of the first digital currency is passed.
Claim 1 (which is representative of claims 3, 19, 21, 23, 28) recites: a method for determining transaction amount ([A]-[C]); sending a cashing request ([D]-[F]); sending identifier and performing verification ([G]-[H]); determining currency being recorded and identifier ([I]-[J]); decrypting signature ([K]); sending verification ([L]); and generating transaction amount ([M]), which, based on the claim language and in view of the application disclosure, represents a process aimed at processing transaction.
This overall combination, covers sales activity, because the claim limitation recites determining the identifier and verifying, and sending transaction amount. Such limitation covers Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity, i.e., Commercial or Legal Interactions grouping of abstract ideas (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)).
Accordingly, it is reasonable to conclude that claim 1 (which is representative of claims 3, 19, 21, 23, 28) recites an abstract idea that corresponds to a judicial exception.
Per Step 2A.2. The identified abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements in the independent claims only amount to instructions to apply the judicial exception to a computer, or are a general link to a technological environment (see MPEP 2106.05(f); MPEP 2106.05(h)). For example, the added elements “digital,” “first currency management apparatus,” “second currency management apparatus” and “currency management apparatus” recite computing elements at a high level of generality, which is equivalent to instructions to implement the abstract idea “by a computer” or “on a computer.” The additional elements do not preclude from carrying out the identified abstract idea of processing transaction. Therefore, those additional elements do not serve to integrate the identified abstract idea into practical application.
The additional elements in the independent claims, shown not bolded above, recite: digital ([A], [D]-[K]), first currency management apparatus ([B]-[C], [G]-[H], [J], [L]), second currency management apparatus ([E], [G], [L]-[M]), currency management apparatus ([J]-[K]). When considered individually, they amount to nothing more than reception, transmission and/or general computation (i.e., not specific enough computation) of claim elements that serves merely to implement the abstract idea using computing components for performing computer functions (corresponding to the words “apply it” or an equivalent), or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform the identified abstract idea.
Therefore, the additional steps of claim 1 (which is representative of claims 3, 19, 21, 23, 28) do not integrate the identified abstract idea into a practical application and the claims remain a judicial exception.
Per Step 2B. Claim 1 (which is representative of claims 3, 19, 21 23, 28) does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, when the independent claim is reevaluated as a whole, as an ordered combination under the considerations of Step 2B, the outcome is the same like under Step 2A.2.
Therefore, when considered as a whole and as an ordered combination, the additional elements in the claim amount to instructions to apply the abstract idea on a computer. Moreover, as noted above, there is nothing the computing and additional elements (limitations [A]-[M]), that is significant or meaningful to the underlying abstract idea because the identified abstract idea of processing transaction could have been reasonably performed when provided with the relevant data and/or information. Therefore, it is concluded that independent claims 1, 3, 19, 21, 23, 28 are deemed ineligible.
Dependent Claims: Claims 2, 4, 7-8, 20, 24, 26, 29-32 are analyzed for subject matter eligibility. However, these claims fails to recite patent eligible subject matter for following reasons:
Claim 2, recites the following bolded claim elements as abstract ideas while the non-bolded claim elements recites additional elements according to MPEP 2106.04(a). The claim further recites:
[A] wherein in a case where the second currency management apparatus has cashed the second digital currency, the first currency management apparatus updates the available balance of the first digital currency, and the available balance after updating indicates a difference between the available balance before updating and the transaction amount.
The claim further recites the abstract idea of processing transaction. In other words, it recites limitation grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The non-bolded additional elements fail to recite a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea because it merely serves as a tool to perform the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Claim 4, recites the following bolded claim elements as abstract ideas while the non-bolded claim elements recites additional elements according to MPEP 2106.04(a). The claim further recites:
[A] wherein in a case where the second currency management apparatus has cashed the fifth digital currency, the first currency management apparatus updates a digital currency used for payment to the fourth digital currency;
[B] or, sending a digital currency exporting request to the first currency management apparatus, the digital currency exporting request indicating the denomination of the first digital currency, so as to enable the first currency management apparatus to generate the first digital currency and to record the first digital currency as a digital currency used for payment;
[C] or, before sending the transaction amount to the first currency management apparatus, generating the transaction amount or receiving the transaction amount sent by the second client.
The claim further recites the abstract idea of processing transaction. In other words, it recites limitation grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The non-bolded additional elements fail to recite a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea because it merely serves as a tool to perform the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Claim 7, recites the following bolded claim elements as abstract ideas while the non-bolded claim elements recites additional elements according to MPEP 2106.04(a). The claim further recites:
[A] wherein the first client sending a payment request to a second client comprises:
[B] generating a two-dimensional code or receiving a two-dimensional code sent by a first currency management apparatus corresponding to the first client, the two-dimensional code indicating a first digital currency used for payment or a circulation identifier of the first digital currency; and
[C] providing the two-dimensional code to a second client.
The claim further recites the abstract idea of processing transaction. In other words, it recites limitation grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The non-bolded additional elements fail to recite a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea because it merely serves as a tool to perform the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Claim 8, recites the following bolded claim elements as abstract ideas while the non-bolded claim elements recites additional elements according to MPEP 2106.04(a). The claim further recites:
[A] in a case where the two-dimensional code is an encrypted two-dimensional code, providing a first key corresponding to an encryption method of the two-dimensional code to the second client;
[B] or, in a case where the first digital currency indicated by the two-dimensional code is an encrypted first digital currency,
[C] or in a case where the circulation identifier indicated by the two-dimensional code is an encrypted circulation identifier, providing a second key to the second client according to an encryption method corresponding to a denomination of the first digital currency.
The claim further recites the abstract idea of processing transaction. In other words, it recites limitation grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The non-bolded additional elements fail to recite a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea because it merely serves as a tool to perform the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Claim 20, recites the following bolded claim elements as abstract ideas while the non-bolded claim elements recites additional elements according to MPEP 2106.04(a). The claim further recites:
[A] generating the transaction amount or receiving the transaction amount sent by the first client.
The claim further recites the abstract idea of processing transaction. In other words, it recites limitation grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The non-bolded additional elements fail to recite a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea because it merely serves as a tool to perform the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Claim 24, recites the following bolded claim elements as abstract ideas while the non-bolded claim elements recites additional elements according to MPEP 2106.04(a). The claim further recites:
[A] in a case where the two-dimensional code is an encrypted two-dimensional code, acquiring a first key corresponding to an encryption method of the two-dimensional code before sending the digital currency cashing request to the second currency management apparatus corresponding to the second client; and
[B] decrypting the two-dimensional code with the first key;
[C] or, in a case where the first digital currency indicated by the two-dimensional code is an encrypted first digital currency, or in a case where the circulation identifier indicated by the two-dimensional code is an encrypted circulation identifier, acquiring, according to an encryption method corresponding to a denomination of the first digital currency, a second key corresponding to the encryption method; and
[D] sending the digital currency cashing request to the second currency management apparatus corresponding to the second client, the digital currency cashing request indicating the two-dimensional code, or the first digital currency or the circulation identifier acquired by parsing the two-dimensional code, and the second key.
The claim further recites the abstract idea of processing transaction. In other words, it recites limitation grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The non-bolded additional elements fail to recite a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea because it merely serves as a tool to perform the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Claim 26, recites the following bolded claim elements as abstract ideas while the non-bolded claim elements recites additional elements according to MPEP 2106.04(a). The claim further recites:
[A] wherein the two-dimensional code is generated by the first client or the first currency management apparatus according to the first digital currency or the circulation identifier,
[B] wherein the two- dimensional code further indicates one or more of the following information: an identifier of the first currency management apparatus, and a usage scenario of the first digital currency.
The claim further recites the abstract idea of processing transaction. In other words, it recites limitation grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The non-bolded additional elements fail to recite a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea because it merely serves as a tool to perform the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Claim 29, recites the following bolded claim elements as abstract ideas while the non-bolded claim elements recites additional elements according to MPEP 2106.04(a). The claim further recites:
[A] in a case where the second currency management apparatus has cashed the second digital currency, receiving the second digital currency issued by the second currency management apparatus.
The claim further recites the abstract idea of processing transaction. In other words, it recites limitation grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The non-bolded additional elements fail to recite a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea because it merely serves as a tool to perform the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Claim 30, recites the following bolded claim elements as abstract ideas while the non-bolded claim elements recites additional elements according to MPEP 2106.04(a). The claim further recites:
[A] wherein the second currency management apparatus cashing, for the first currency management apparatus corresponding to the first client, the second digital currency corresponding to the first digital currency comprises:
[B] sending the first digital currency or the circulation identifier to the first currency management apparatus, so as to enable the first currency management apparatus to verify the first digital currency or the circulation identifier; and
[C] in a case where the first digital currency or the circulation identifier passes a verification, generating the second digital currency corresponding to the first digital currency, and
[D] updating a digital currency record corresponding to the second client.
The claim further recites the abstract idea of processing transaction. In other words, it recites limitation grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The non-bolded additional elements fail to recite a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea because it merely serves as a tool to perform the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Claim 31, recites the following bolded claim elements as abstract ideas while the non-bolded claim elements recites additional elements according to MPEP 2106.04(a). The claim further recites:
[A] wherein in a case where the first currency management apparatus is different from the second currency management apparatus, the second currency management apparatus sends the first digital currency or the circulation identifier to the first currency management apparatus via a third party currency management apparatus.
The claim further recites the abstract idea of processing transaction. In other words, it recites limitation grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The non-bolded additional elements fail to recite a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea because it merely serves as a tool to perform the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Claim 32, recites the following bolded claim elements as abstract ideas while the non-bolded claim elements recites additional elements according to MPEP 2106.04(a). The claim further recites:
[A] wherein after the first digital currency or the circulation identifier passes the verification, the first currency management apparatus updates a digital currency record corresponding to the first client; or,
[B] in a case where the first digital currency is an encrypted first digital currency or the circulation identifier is an encrypted circulation identifier, acquiring, according to an encryption method corresponding to a denomination of the first digital currency, a key corresponding to the encryption method; and
[C] sending the digital currency cashing request to the second currency management apparatus corresponding to the second client, the digital currency cashing request indicating the first digital currency or the circulation identifier and the key corresponding to the encryption method.
The claim further recites the abstract idea of processing transaction. In other words, it recites limitation grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The non-bolded additional elements fail to recite a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea because it merely serves as a tool to perform the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
When the dependent claims are considered as a whole, as an ordered combination, the claim elements noted above appear to merely apply the abstract concept to a technical environment in a very general sense, i.e., a computer receives information from another computer, processes that information and then sends a response based on processing results. The most significant elements of the claims, that is the elements that really outline the inventive elements of the claims, are set forth in the elements identified in the independent claims as an abstract idea. The fact that the computing devices are facilitating the abstract concept is not enough to confer subject matter eligibility. Overall, the further elements do not confer subject matter eligibility to the invention since their individual and combined significance are not changing the nature of the abstract concepts at the core of the claimed invention. Therefore, it is concluded that the dependent claims of the instant application do not amount to significantly
more. (See MPEP 2106.05).
In sum, Claims 1-4, 7-8, 19-21, 23-24, 26, 28-32 are rejected under 35 USC 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7-8, 19-20, 23-24, 26, 28-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (US 20190325407 A1), in view of Grassadonia (US 20190034888 A1), in further view of Jang (US 20220141036 A1).
Regarding Claims 1, 19, 23, 28. Zhou discloses:
A digital currency payment method, applied to a first client and comprising: a first client sending a transaction amount to a first currency management apparatus corresponding to the first client, [see at least Fig. 3 (0053) Upon submission of a transaction in the crypto digital currency, each of nodes of nodes of the Blockchain may run a calculation based on an existing ledger of all transactions. Two-thirds of the nodes may determine the transaction to be legitimate for the transaction to be executed and written to the Blockchain.]
in a case where the transaction amount is not greater than the available balance, the first client sending a payment request to a second client, the payment request indicating the first digital currency or a circulation identifier of the first digital currency; [see at least Fig. 3 (0062) The method 300 may further include an operation 306, at which based on the retrieving, an optical code encoding the payment data and the transfer amount is generated. At operation 308, the optical code may be provided on a screen of the mobile and wearable device. The optical code may include one or more of the following: a linear dimensional code, a two-dimensional code, a snap tag code, a QR code, 3D CDCcode, and so forth. (0065) receiving a transfer receiving request to perform a payment transaction associated with the user at operation 310. The transaction request may include at least the payment data, the transfer amount, and recipient identification data associated with a recipient.]
the second client sending a digital currency cashing request to a second currency management apparatus corresponding to the second client, wherein the digital currency cashing request indicates the first digital currency or the circulation identifier of the first digital currency; [see at least (0064) On obtaining the payment data and the transfer amount, a transfer receiving request may be created using the payment data, the transfer amount, and the recipient identification data. (0065) receiving a transfer receiving request to perform a payment transaction associated with the user at operation 310. The transaction request may include at least the payment data, the transfer amount, and recipient identification data associated with a recipient. The recipient identification data may be retrieved from the device associated with the recipient.]
the second currency management apparatus sending the first digital currency or the circulation identifier of the first digital currency to the first currency management apparatus; [(0097) The transfer request may be authorized upon receiving authorization data from a sender having a sender account from which funds are transferred from. The authorization data may include a password, a PIN code, and biometric data comprising a face of the sender]
the first currency management apparatus performing the following verifications on the first digital currency or the circulation identifier of the first digital currency according to a digital currency record corresponding to the first client, comprising: determining whether the first digital currency or the circulation identifier is a first digital currency that has been recorded or stored, so as to verify the legitimacy of a source of the first digital currency; [(0097) The authorization data may include a password, a PIN code, and biometric data comprising a face of the sender. Based on the receiving, the sender may be authorized to provide the transfer request when the authorization data provided for the transfer request matches previously registered corresponding authorization data.]
determining, according to an identifier of a currency management apparatus indicated by the first digital currency, whether the identifier of the currency management apparatus is consistent with an identifier of the first currency management apparatus, and verifying the legitimacy of the source of the first digital currency; and [(0097) The authorization data may include a password, a PIN code, and biometric data comprising a face of the sender. Based on the receiving, the sender may be authorized to provide the transfer request when the authorization data provided for the transfer request matches previously registered corresponding authorization data.]
the second currency management apparatus generating a second digital currency corresponding to the first digital currency or the transaction amount when verification of the first digital currency or the circulation identifier of the first digital currency is passed. [see at least Fig. 3 (0059) Transfer request may include a transfer amount in crypto digital currency and user identification data associated with the user. The crypto digital currency may be issued based on the transfer request in the amount corresponding to the transfer amount and deposited to an account associated with the user. (0060) the user may be prompted to enter user authentication information. The user authentication information may be received from the user by the processor.]
Zhou discloses performing transaction, however, Zhou does not disclose:
the first currency management apparatus to determining whether the transaction amount is greater than an available balance of a first digital currency used for payment;
Nonetheless, Grassadonia discloses:
the first currency management apparatus determining whether the transaction amount is greater than an available balance of a first digital currency used for payment; and [see at least (0051) customer profile 132 can include preferences for maintaining balances in cryptocurrency. In such embodiments, payment service 108 can automatically debit fiat currency ledger 206 to increase cryptocurrency ledger 204, or a payment card associated with customer profile whenever cryptocurrency balances fall below a stated level. (reads on: maintaining a balance if the available balance falls below certain level)]
In addition, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the features of Zhou to include the features of Grassadonia. A person a having the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to accurately complete transaction using the transferring technique of Zhou with cashing technique of Grassadonia. Zhou discloses transferring amount to the recipient. Grassadonia teaches transferring currencies to reach the transaction amount. Because both Zhou as well as Grassadonia are implemented through field of processing transaction and both references addresses completing transactions with the accurate amount of currency. Moreover, since the features disclosed by Zhou as well as Grassadonia would function in the same manner in combination as they do in their separate embodiments, it would be reasonable to conclude that their resulting combination would be predictable. Accordingly, the claimed subject matter is obvious over Zhou/Grassadonia.
The combination of Zhou in view of Grassadonia discloses processing transaction,
however, the above combination of Zhou, Grassadonia does not disclose:
decrypting a signature information of a currency management apparatus in the first digital currency by using a private key corresponding to a public key during generation of signature information, so as to verify the reliability of the signature information;
the first currency management apparatus sending a verification result of the first digital currency or the circulation identifier to the second currency management apparatus; and
However, Jang discloses:
decrypting a signature information of a currency management apparatus in the first digital currency by using a private key corresponding to a public key during generation of signature information, so as to verify the reliability of the signature information; [(0070) The server may decrypt encryption data included the obtained signature data 45 (e.g., encryption data 46 encrypted based on a private key (e.g., private key 44 of FIG. 4) by an electronic device).]
the first currency management apparatus sending a verification result of the first digital currency or the circulation identifier to the second currency management apparatus; and [(0070) The server may store first authentication information (e.g., an OTP value or a nonce value) 61 transmitted to the electronic device of a user. The server may generate the second hash value 51 from the stored first authentication information 61 using a hash function. The server may verify validity of the digital signature, based on the result of comparing the generated second hash value 51 and decrypted data 52 in which the encryption data 46 is decrypted. For example, when the decrypted data and the second hash value 51 are matched with each other, the electronic device or the server may determine that the digital signature is performed by an authenticated user to identify that the digital signature is valid. When the decrypted data and the second hash value 51 are not matched with each other, the electronic device or the server may identify that the digital signature is not valid.]
In addition, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the features of Zhou, Grassadonia to include the features of Jang. A person a having the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to securely complete transaction using the transferring technique of Zhou, Grassadonia with verification technique of Jang. Zhou, Grassadonia discloses transferring amount to the recipient. Jang teaches decrypting data. Because both Zhou, Grassadonia as well as Jang are implemented through field of processing transaction and both references addresses completing transactions with the correct user by verifying the data. Moreover, since the features disclosed by Zhou, Grassadonia as well as Jang would function in the same manner in combination as they do in their separate embodiments, it would be reasonable to conclude that their resulting combination would be predictable. Accordingly, the claimed subject matter is obvious over Zhou, Grassadonia/Jang.
Regarding Claim 2. Zhou, Grassadonia, Jang discloses the limitations of Claim 1. Grassadonia further discloses:
wherein in a case where the second currency management apparatus has cashed the second digital currency, the first currency management apparatus updates the available balance of the first digital currency, and the available balance after updating indicates a difference between the available balance before updating and the transaction amount. [see at least Figs. 7A-7B (0112) cryptocurrency wallet 235 could send a message to transfer cryptocurrency to cryptocurrency wallet 215 of payment service 108. Thereafter, cryptocurrency wallet 215 can send a message to transfer cryptocurrency to cryptocurrency wallet 237 of merchant profile 130]
In addition, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the features of Zhou, Grassadonia, Jang to include the additional features of Grassadonia. A person a having the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to accurately complete transaction using the transferring technique of Zhou, Grassadonia, Jang with cashing technique of Grassadonia. Zhou, Grassadonia, Jang discloses transferring amount to the recipient. Grassadonia further teaches transferring currencies to reach the transaction amount. Because both Zhou, Grassadonia, Jang as well as Grassadonia are implemented through field of processing transaction and both references addresses completing transactions with the accurate amount of currency. Moreover, since the subject matter is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element would have performed the same function it performed separately, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding Claim 7. Zhou, Grassadonia, Jang discloses the limitations of Claim 1. Zhou further discloses:
The digital currency payment method, applied to a first client and comprising: generating a two-dimensional code or receiving a two-dimensional code sent by a first currency management apparatus corresponding to the first client, the two-dimensional code indicating … [see at least (0032) the system 200 may generate an optical code encoding the payment data and the transfer amount and transmit the optical code to the mobile and wearable device 130 … The optical code may include a linear dimensional code, a two-dimensional code, a snap tag code, a barcode, a QR code, and a three-dimensional (3D) CDCcode. The optical code may be integrated in a virtual payment card in the form of a virtual currency note. The virtual payment card may be personalized with an image associated with the user 120.]
providing the two-dimensional code to a second client. [(0032) The optical code may be provided on a screen of the mobile and wearable device 130 to be scanned by the device 150 associated with the recipient 140. The optical code may include a linear dimensional code, a two-dimensional code.]
Grassadonia further discloses:
a first digital currency used for payment or a circulation identifier of the first digital currency; and [(0070) Payment application 210 can instruct customer device 103 hardware to communicate (308) information declaring that customer 104 would like to pay utilizing cryptocurrency, customer 104 alias, and encrypted customer profile information. The encrypted customer profile information can include at least some data useable by payment service 108 to identify customer profile 132]
In addition, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the features of Zhou, Grassadonia, Jang to include the additional features of Grassadonia. A person a having the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to accurately complete transaction using the transferring technique of Zhou, Grassadonia, Jang with cashing technique of Grassadonia. Zhou, Grassadonia, Jang discloses transferring amount to the recipient. Grassadonia further teaches transferring currencies to reach the transaction amount. Because both Zhou, Grassadonia, Jang as well as Grassadonia are implemented through field of processing transaction and both references addresses completing transactions with the accurate amount of currency. Moreover, since the subject matter is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element would have performed the same function it performed separately, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding Claim 8. Zhou, Grassadonia, Jang discloses the limitations of Claim. Zhou further discloses:
in a case where the two-dimensional code is an encrypted two-dimensional code, providing a first key corresponding to an encryption method of the two-dimensional code to the second client; or, in a case where the first digital currency indicated by the two-dimensional code is an encrypted first digital currency, or in a case where the circulation identifier indicated by the two-dimensional code is an encrypted circulation identifier, providing a second key to the second client according to an encryption method corresponding to a denomination of the first digital currency. [see at least (0078) the method 300 may include encrypting the transfer request to obtain an encrypted transfer request. The encrypting of the transfer request may include generating a one-time code. The one-time code may encode at least the user identification data and the transfer amount. (0097) the crypto digital currency may be encrypted (i.e., encrypted digital key) by assigning a unique key to the transferring and signing the crypto digital currency using a cryptographic signature the amount from the sender account to the recipient account. ]
Regarding Claim 20. Zhou, Grassadonia, Jang discloses the limitations of Claim 19. Zhou further discloses:
generating the transaction amount or receiving the transaction amount sent by the first client. [(0032) the system 200 may generate an optical code encoding the payment data and the transfer amount and transmit the optical code to the mobile and wearable device 130. The optical code may be provided on a screen of the mobile and wearable device 130 to be scanned by the device 150 associated with the recipient 140.]
Regarding Claim 24. Zhou, Grassadonia, Jang discloses the limitations of Claim 23. Zhou further discloses:
in a case where the two-dimensional code is an encrypted two-dimensional code, acquiring a first key corresponding to an encryption method of the two-dimensional code before sending the digital currency cashing request to the second currency management apparatus corresponding to the second client; and decrypting the two-dimensional code with the first key; or, in a case where the first digital currency indicated by the two-dimensional code is an encrypted first digital currency, or in a case where the circulation identifier indicated by the two-dimensional code is an encrypted circulation identifier, acquiring, according to an encryption method corresponding to a denomination of the first digital currency, a second key corresponding to the encryption method; and sending the digital currency cashing request to the second currency management apparatus corresponding to the second client, the digital currency cashing request indicating the two-dimensional code, or the first digital currency or the circulation identifier acquired by parsing the two-dimensional code, and the second key.
[see at least (0032) The optical code may be provided on a screen of the mobile and wearable device 130 to be scanned by the device 150 associated with the recipient 140. The optical code may include a linear dimensional code, a two-dimensional code, a snap tag code, a barcode, a QR code, and a three-dimensional (3D) CDCcode. (0097) Based on the transfer request, prior to transferring, the crypto digital currency may be encrypted by assigning a unique key to the transferring and signing the crypto digital currency using a cryptographic signature the amount from the sender account to the recipient account.]
Regarding Claim 26. Zhou, Grassadonia, Jang discloses the limitations of Claim 23. Zhou further discloses:
wherein the two-dimensional code is generated by the first client or the first currency management apparatus according to the first digital currency or the circulation identifier, wherein the two-dimensional code further indicates one or more of the following information: an identifier of the first currency management apparatus, and a usage scenario of the first digital currency. [(0062) The transfer request may be sent to the system 200 via the network 110. The system 200 may generate an optical code encoding the payment data and the transfer amount in crypto digital currency. (reads on: payment data and amount reads on usage for the currency)]
Regarding Claim 29. Zhou, Grassadonia, Jang discloses the limitations of Claim 28. Zhou further discloses:
in a case where the second currency management apparatus has cashed the second digital currency, receiving the second digital currency issued by the second currency management apparatus. ([0032] the payment data and the transfer amount, the system 200 may generate an optical code encoding the payment data and the transfer amount and transmit the optical code to the mobile and wearable device 130. (reads on: wearable device reads 130 reads on second apparatus)]
Regarding Claim 30. Zhou, Grassadonia, Jang discloses the limitations of Claim 28. Zhou further discloses:
wherein the second currency management apparatus cashing, for the first currency management apparatus corresponding to the first client, the second digital currency corresponding to the first digital currency comprises: [(0032) the system 200 may generate an optical code encoding the payment data and the transfer amount and transmit the optical code to the mobile and wearable device 130. The optical code may be provided on a screen of the mobile and wearable device 130 to be scanned by the device 150 associated with the recipient 140]
sending the first digital currency or the circulation identifier to the first currency management apparatus, so as to enable the first currency management apparatus to verify the first digital currency or the circulation identifier; and [(0032) the system 200 may generate an optical code encoding the payment data and the transfer amount and transmit the optical code to the mobile and wearable device 130. The optical code may be provided on a screen of the mobile and wearable device 130 to be scanned by the device 150 associated with the recipient 140]
Grassadonia further discloses:
apparatus to verify the first digital currency [(0108) payment service 108 can quickly verify that the transfer is legitimate and complete the transaction]
in a case where the first digital currency or the circulation identifier passes a verification, generating the second digital currency corresponding to the first digital currency, and [(0088) Payment service 108 can then debit (334) payment service 108 cryptocurrency ledger 219 and credit merchant profile 130 cryptocurrency ledger 207, and can complete the transaction as addressed with respect to steps 318 and 320 of FIG. 4A.]
updating a digital currency record corresponding to the second client. [see at least Figs. 3, 7A-7B (0112) cryptocurrency wallet 235 could send a message to transfer cryptocurrency to cryptocurrency wallet 215 of payment service 108. Thereafter, cryptocurrency wallet 215 can send a message to transfer cryptocurrency to cryptocurrency wallet 237 of merchant profile 130]
In addition, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the features of Zhou, Grassadonia, Jang to include the additional features of Grassadonia. A person a having the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to accurately complete transaction using the transferring technique of Zhou, Grassadonia, Jang with cashing technique of Grassadonia. Zhou, Grassadonia, Jang discloses transferring amount to the recipient. Grassadonia further teaches transferring currencies to reach the transaction amount. Because both Zhou, Grassadonia, Jang as well as Grassadonia are implemented through field of processing transaction and both references addresses completing transactions with the accurate amount of currency. Moreover, since the subject matter is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element would have performed the same function it performed separately, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding Claim 31. Zhou, Grassadonia, Jang discloses the limitations of Claim 28. Zhou further discloses:
wherein in a case where the first currency management apparatus is different from the second currency management apparatus, the second currency management apparatus sends the first digital currency or the circulation identifier to the first currency management apparatus via a third party currency management apparatus. [(0032) the system 200 may generate an optical code encoding the payment data and the transfer amount and transmit the optical code to the mobile and wearable device 130. The optical code may be provided on a screen of the mobile and wearable device 130 to be scanned by the device 150 associated with the recipient 140]
Claims 3-4, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malhotra (US 20110095086 A1), in view of Grassadonia (US 20190034888 A1), in further view of Zhou (US 20190325407 A1), in further view of Jang (US 20220141036 A1).
Regarding Claims 3, 21. Malhotra discloses:
A digital currency payment method, applied to a first client and comprising: sending a transaction amount to a first currency management apparatus corresponding to the first client, so as to enable the first currency management apparatus to divide, in a case where the transaction amount is less than a denomination of a first digital currency used for payment, the first digital currency into a third digital currency and a fourth digital currency, wherein a denomination of the third digital currency indicates the transaction amount, and a denomination of the fourth digital currency indicates a difference between the denomination of the first digital currency and the transaction amount; [(0060) if a transaction totalled $19.50 and a digital monetary amount for $20 was selected by a user to be debited from the card device 110, a credit of $0.50 will be credited to the denomination non-specific balance 150 on the card device 110. (reads on: $19.50 is the third digital currency, $0.50 is the fourth digital currency, $20 is the first digital currency)]
the first client receiving the third digital currency issued by the first currency management apparatus; and [(0073) The Smart EFTPOS terminal 301 will display the values of every selected denomination and as well as a total value of those selected denominations. When the total value equals to or more than the amount to be paid, the card holder can submit the transaction for processing]
Malhotra discloses denomination of currency, however, Malhotra does not disclose:
the first client sending a payment request to a second client, the payment request indicating the third digital currency or a circulation identifier of the third digital currency,
the second client sending a digital currency cashing request to a second currency management apparatus corresponding to the second client, wherein the digital currency cashing request indicates the third digital currency or the circulation identifier of the third digital currency;
the second currency management apparatus sending the third digital currency or the circulation identifier of the third digital currency to the first currency management apparatus;
the first currency management apparatus performing the following verifications on the third digital currency or the circulation identifier of the third digital currency according to a digital currency record corresponding to the first client, comprising:
determining whether the third digital currency or the circulation identifier is a third digital currency that has been recorded or stored, so as to verify the legitimacy of a source of the third digital currency;
determining, according to an identifier of a currency management apparatus indicated by the third digital currency, whether the identifier of the currency management apparatus is consistent with an identifier of the first currency management apparatus, and verifying the legitimacy of the source of the third digital currency; and
decrypting a signature information of a currency management apparatus in the third digital currency by using a private key corresponding to a public key during generation of signature information, so as to verify the reliability of the signature information;
the first currency management apparatus sending a verification result of the third digital currency or the circulation identifier to the second currency management apparatus; and
the second currency management apparatus generating a fifth digital currency corresponding to the third digital currency or the transaction amount when verification of the third digital currency or the circulation identifier of the third digital currency is passed.
Nonetheless, Grassadonia discloses:
the first client sending a payment request to a second client, the payment request indicating the third digital currency or a circulation identifier of the third digital currency, so as to enable a second currency management apparatus corresponding to the second client to cash, for the first currency management apparatus, a fifth digital currency corresponding to the third digital currency. [Figs. 7A-7B (0112) cryptocurrency wallet 235 could send a message to transfer cryptocurrency to cryptocurrency wallet 215 of payment service 108. Thereafter, cryptocurrency wallet 215 can send a message to transfer cryptocurrency to cryptocurrency wallet 237 of merchant profile 130]
In addition, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the features of Malhotra to include the features of Grassadonia. A person a having the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to accurately complete transaction using the denomination technique of Malhotra with cashing technique of Grassadonia. Malhotra discloses denomination of currency. Grassadonia further teaches transferring currencies to reach the transaction amount. Because both Malhotra as well as Grassadonia are implemented through field of processing transaction and both references addresses completing transactions with the accurate amount of currency. Moreover, since the elements disclosed by Malhotra, as well as Grassadonia would function in the same manner in combination as they do in their separate embodiments, it would be reasonable to conclude that their resulting combination would be predictable. Accordingly, the claimed subject matter is obvious over Malhotra/Grassadonia.
The combination of Malhotra, in view of Grassadonia discloses processing transaction, however, the above combination of Malhotra, Grassadonia does not disclose:
the second client sending a digital currency cashing request to a second currency management apparatus corresponding to the second client, wherein the digital currency cashing request indicates the third digital currency or the circulation identifier of the third digital currency;
the second currency management apparatus sending the third digital currency or the circulation identifier of the third digital currency to the first currency management apparatus;
the first currency management apparatus performing the following verifications on the third digital currency or the circulation identifier of the third digital currency according to a digital currency record corresponding to the first client, comprising:
determining whether the third digital currency or the circulation identifier is a third digital currency that has been recorded or stored, so as to verify the legitimacy of a source of the third digital currency;
determining, according to an identifier of a currency management apparatus indicated by the third digital currency, whether the identifier of the currency management apparatus is consistent with an identifier of the first currency management apparatus, and verifying the legitimacy of the source of the third digital currency; and
decrypting a signature information of a currency management apparatus in the third digital currency by using a private key corresponding to a public key during generation of signature information, so as to verify the reliability of the signature information;
the first currency management apparatus sending a verification result of the third digital currency or the circulation identifier to the second currency management apparatus; and
the second currency management apparatus generating a fifth digital currency corresponding to the third digital currency or the transaction amount when verification of the third digital currency or the circulation identifier of the third digital currency is passed.
Furthermore, Zhou discloses:
the second client sending a digital currency cashing request to a second currency management apparatus corresponding to the second client, wherein the digital currency cashing request indicates the third digital currency or the circulation identifier of the third digital currency; [see at least (0064) On obtaining the payment data and the transfer amount, a transfer receiving request may be created using the payment data, the transfer amount, and the recipient identification data. (0065) receiving a transfer receiving request to perform a payment transaction associated with the user at operation 310. The transaction request may include at least the payment data, the transfer amount, and recipient identification data associated with a recipient. The recipient identification data may be retrieved from the device associated with the recipient.]
the second currency management apparatus sending the third digital currency or the circulation identifier of the third digital currency to the first currency management apparatus; [(0097) The transfer request may be authorized upon receiving authorization data from a sender having a sender account from which funds are transferred from. The authorization data may include a password, a PIN code, and biometric data comprising a face of the sender]
the first currency management apparatus performing the following verifications on the third digital currency or the circulation identifier of the third digital currency according to a digital currency record corresponding to the first client, comprising: determining whether the third digital currency or the circulation identifier is a third digital currency that has been recorded or stored, so as to verify the legitimacy of a source of the third digital currency; [(0097) The authorization data may include a password, a PIN code, and biometric data comprising a face of the sender. Based on the receiving, the sender may be authorized to provide the transfer request when the authorization data provided for the transfer request matches previously registered corresponding authorization data.]
determining, according to an identifier of a currency management apparatus indicated by the third digital currency, whether the identifier of the currency management apparatus is consistent with an identifier of the first currency management apparatus, and verifying the legitimacy of the source of the third digital currency; and [(0097) The authorization data may include a password, a PIN code, and biometric data comprising a face of the sender. Based on the receiving, the sender may be authorized to provide the transfer request when the authorization data provided for the transfer request matches previously registered corresponding authorization data.]
the second currency management apparatus generating a fifth digital currency corresponding to the third digital currency or the transaction amount when verification of the third digital currency or the circulation identifier of the third digital currency is passed. [see at least Fig. 3 (0059) Transfer request may include a transfer amount in crypto digital currency and user identification data associated with the user. The crypto digital currency may be issued based on the transfer request in the amount corresponding to the transfer amount and deposited to an account associated with the user. (0060) the user may be prompted to enter user authentication information. The user authentication information may be received from the user by the processor.]
In addition, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the features of Malhotra, Grassadonia to include the features of Zhou. A person a having the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to accurately complete transaction using the denomination technique of Malhotra, Grassadonia with transferring technique of Zhou. Malhotra, Grassadonia discloses denomination of currency. Zhou further teaches transferring amount to recipient. Because both Malhotra, Grassadonia as well as Zhou are implemented through field of processing transaction and both references addresses completing transactions with the accurate amount of currency. Moreover, since the elements disclosed by Malhotra, Grassadonia as well as Zhou would function in the same manner in combination as they do in their separate embodiments, it would be reasonable to conclude that their resulting combination would be predictable. Accordingly, the claimed subject matter is obvious over Malhotra, Grassadonia/ Zhou.
The combination of Malhotra, in view of Grassadonia, Zhou discloses processing transaction, however, the above combination of Malhotra, Grassadonia, Zhou does not disclose:
decrypting a signature information of a currency management apparatus in the third digital currency by using a private key corresponding to a public key during generation of signature information, so as to verify the reliability of the signature information;
the first currency management apparatus sending a verification result of the third digital currency or the circulation identifier to the second currency management apparatus; and
the second currency management apparatus generating a fifth digital currency corresponding to the third digital currency or the transaction amount when verification of the third digital currency or the circulation identifier of the third digital currency is passed.
However, Jang discloses:
decrypting a signature information of a currency management apparatus in the third digital currency by using a private key corresponding to a public key during generation of signature information, so as to verify the reliability of the signature information; [(0070) The server may decrypt encryption data included the obtained signature data 45 (e.g., encryption data 46 encrypted based on a private key (e.g., private key 44 of FIG. 4) by an electronic device).]
the first currency management apparatus sending a verification result of the third digital currency or the circulation identifier to the second currency management apparatus; and[(0070) The server may store first authentication information (e.g., an OTP value or a nonce value) 61 transmitted to the electronic device of a user. The server may generate the second hash value 51 from the stored first authentication information 61 using a hash function. The server may verify validity of the digital signature, based on the result of comparing the generated second hash value 51 and decrypted data 52 in which the encryption data 46 is decrypted. For example, when the decrypted data and the second hash value 51 are matched with each other, the electronic device or the server may determine that the digital signature is performed by an authenticated user to identify that the digital signature is valid. When the decrypted data and the second hash value 51 are not matched with each other, the electronic device or the server may identify that the digital signature is not valid.]
In addition, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the features of Malhotra, Grassadonia, Zhou to include the features of Jang. A person a having the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to securely complete transaction using the transferring technique of Malhotra, Grassadonia, Malhotra with verification technique of Jang. Malhotra, Grassadonia, Zhou discloses transferring amount to the recipient. Jang teaches decrypting data. Because both Malhotra , Grassadonia, Zhou as well as Jang are implemented through field of processing transaction and both references addresses completing transactions with the correct user by verifying the data. Moreover, since the features disclosed by Malhotra, Grassadonia, Zhou as well as Jang would function in the same manner in combination as they do in their separate embodiments, it would be reasonable to conclude that their resulting combination would be predictable. Accordingly, the claimed subject matter is obvious over Malhotra, Grassadonia, Zhou/Jang.
Regarding Claim 4. Malhotra, Grassadonia, Zhou, Jang discloses the limitations of Claim 3. Malhotra further discloses:
wherein in a case where the second currency management apparatus has cashed the fifth digital currency, the first currency management apparatus updates a digital currency used for payment to the fourth digital currency; or, sending a digital currency exporting request to the first currency management apparatus, the digital currency exporting request indicating the denomination of the first digital currency, so as to enable the first currency management apparatus to generate the first digital currency and to record the first digital currency as a digital currency used for payment; or, before sending the transaction amount to the first currency management apparatus, generating the transaction amount or receiving the transaction amount sent by the second client. [see at least (0060) if a transaction totalled $19.50 and a digital monetary amount for $20 was selected by a user to be debited from the card device 110, a credit of $0.50 will be credited to the denomination non-specific balance 150 on the card device 110.]
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou, in view of Grassadonia, in further view of Jang, as applied to claim 30 above, in further view of Malhotra et al (US 20110095086 A1).
Regarding Claim 32. Zhou, Grassadonia discloses the limitations of Claim 30. Zhou further discloses:
sending the digital currency cashing request to the second currency management apparatus corresponding to the second client, the digital currency cashing request indicating the first digital currency or the circulation identifier and the key corresponding to the encryption method. [see at least Fig. 3 (0062) The method 300 may further include an operation 306, at which based on the retrieving, an optical code encoding the payment data and the transfer amount is generated. At operation 308, the optical code may be provided on a screen of the mobile and wearable device. The optical code may include one or more of the following: a linear dimensional code, a two-dimensional code, a snap tag code, a QR code, 3D CDCcode, and so forth. (0065) receiving a transfer receiving request to perform a payment transaction associated with the user at operation 310. The transaction request may include at least the payment data, the transfer amount, and recipient identification data associated with a recipient.]
The combination of Zhou in view of Grassadonia, in further view of Jang discloses processing transaction, however, the above combination of Zhou, Grassadonia, Jang does not disclose:
wherein after the first digital currency or the circulation identifier passes the verification, the first currency management apparatus updates a digital currency record corresponding to the first client; or, in a case where the first digital currency is an encrypted first digital currency or the circulation identifier is an encrypted circulation identifier, acquiring, according to an encryption method corresponding to a denomination of the first digital currency, a key corresponding to the encryption method; and
However, Malhotra discloses:
wherein after the first digital currency or the circulation identifier passes the verification, the first currency management apparatus updates a digital currency record corresponding to the first client; or, in a case where the first digital currency is an encrypted first digital currency or the circulation identifier is an encrypted circulation identifier, acquiring, according to an encryption method corresponding to a denomination of the first digital currency, a key corresponding to the encryption method; and [(0078) During transaction processing, the card holder may input a PIN and the Smart EFTPOS terminal 301 will send the encrypted card data (i.e. Bank Code, card ID, LastTxID or Last Transaction ID and denomination-specific and denomination non-specific balances), as well as the PIN if required, along with the transaction details to the card issuer 700 for processing. After the bank checks the PIN (if required), decrypts denomination-specific and denomination non-specific balances and verifies and processes the transaction, it encrypts updated balances along with other details (including new LastTxID) and sends the result back to the Smart EFTPOS terminal 301.]
In addition, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the features of Zhou, Grassadonia, Jang to include the features of Malhotra. A person a having the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to securely complete transaction using the transferring technique of Zhou, Grassadonia, Jang with denomination technique of Malhotra. Zhou, Grassadonia, Jang discloses transferring amount to the recipient. Malhotra teaches denomination of currencies. Because both Zhou, Grassadonia, Jang as well as Malhotra are implemented through field of processing transaction and both references addresses completing transactions with the correct user by verifying the data. Moreover, since the features disclosed by Zhou, Grassadonia, Jang as well as Malhotra would function in the same manner in combination as they do in their separate embodiments, it would be reasonable to conclude that their resulting combination would be predictable. Accordingly, the claimed subject matter is obvious over Zhou, Grassadonia, Jang/ Malhotra.
Response to Amendments/Arguments
With respect to Applicant’s Remarks as to the claims being rejected under 35 USC § 101.
Applicant submits: “The amended Claim 1 recites the technical feature "the first currency management apparatus performing the following verifications on the first digital currency or the circulation identifier of the first digital currency according to a digital currency record corresponding to the first client, comprising: determining whether the first digital currency or the circulation identifier is a first digital currency that has been recorded or stored, so as to verify the legitimacy of a source of the first digital currency; determining, according to an identifier of a currency management apparatus indicated by the first digital currency, whether the identifier of the currency management apparatus21
is consistent with an identifier of the first currency management apparatus, and verifying the legitimacy of the source of the first digital currency; and decrypting a signature information of a currency management apparatus in the first digital currency by using a private key corresponding to a public key during generation of signature information, so as to verify the reliability of the signature information". The first currency management apparatus performing the verifications on the first digital currency or the circulation identifier: determining whether the first digital currency or the circulation identifier is a first digital currency that has been recorded or stored, so as to verify the legitimacy of a source of the first digital currency; determining, according to an identifier of a currency management apparatus indicated by the first digital currency, whether the identifier of the currency management apparatus is consistent with an identifier of the first currency management apparatus, and verifying the legitimacy of the source of the first digital currency; and decrypting a signature information of a currency management apparatus in the first digital currency by using a private key corresponding to a public key during generation of signature information, so as to verify the reliability of the signature information. The above technical features are the additional elements that integrate the judicial exception (the first digital currency) into a practical application (in the payment technical art, verify the first digital currency or the circulation identifier, as to determine the legitimacy of the first digital currency; verify the identifier of the currency management apparatus, as to determine the legitimacy of the source of the first digital currency; and verify the signature information of a currency management apparatus, as to determine the reliability of the signature information). With the above technical feature of verifications on the first digital currency or the circulation identifier, it is ensured that the first digital currency and the source of the digital currency (the currency management apparatus) are legal. That is to say, Claim 1 recites the above additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Therefore, the amended Claim 1 meets the requirement of 35 U.S.C.§101.”
Examiner Responds: Examiner has fully considered, but doesn’t find Applicant’s argument persuasive. Examiner respectfully disagree with the applicant, the MPEP 2106.04(d) discloses that “an important consideration to evaluate when determining whether the claim as a whole integrates a judicial exception into a practical application is whether the claimed invention improves the functioning of a computer or other technology In short, first the specification should be evaluated to determine if the disclosure provides sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the claimed invention as providing an improvement. The specification need not explicitly set forth the improvement, but it must describe the invention such that the improvement would be apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art Second, if the specification sets forth an improvement in technology. the claim must be evaluated to ensure that the claim itself reflects the disclosed improvement.” (Emphasis added) “That is, the claimed invention may integrate the judicial exception into a practical application by demonstrating that it improves the relevant existing technology although it may not be an improvement over well-understood, routine, conventional activity.” (Emphasis added). Thus, the rejection is proper and has been maintained.
With respect to Applicant’s Remarks as to the claims being rejected under 35 USC § 103.
Applicant submits: “However, Zhou does not refer to "the first currency management apparatus determining whether the transaction amount is greater than an available balance of a first digital currency used for payment", nor does Zhou refer to "in a case where the transaction amount is not greater than the available balance, the first client sending a payment request to a second client". Zhou does not refer to that a second currency management apparatus corresponding to the second client cashes, for the first currency management apparatus, a second digital currency corresponding to the transaction amount. That is, Zhou does not refer to the following operations of "the second currency management apparatus cashes, for the first currency management apparatus, a second digital currency": "the second client sending a digital currency cashing request to a second currency management apparatus corresponding to the second client; the second currency management apparatus sending the first digital currency or the circulation identifier of the first digital currency to the first currency management apparatus; the first currency management apparatus performing the following verifications on the first digital currency or the circulation identifier of the first digital currency; the first currency management apparatus sending a verification result of the first digital currency or the circulation identifier to the second currency management apparatus; and the second currency management apparatus generating a second digital currency corresponding to the first digital currency or the transaction amount … Grassadonia also does not refer to "the first currency management apparatus determining whether the transaction amount is greater than an available balance of a first digital currency used for payment", nor does Grassadonia refer to "in a case where the transaction amount is not greater than the available balance, the first client sending a payment request to a second client". The recharging operation disclosed by Grassadonia is different from the digital currency payment under the participation of the currency management apparatus. Zhou or Grassadoni does not disclose the technical feature (2) recited in the amended Claim 1, which recites "the first currency management apparatus performing the following verifications on the first digital currency or the circulation identifier of the first digital currency according to a digital currency record corresponding to the first client, comprising: determining whether the first digital currency or the circulation identifier is a first digital currency that has been recorded or stored, so as to verify the legitimacy of a source of the first digital currency; determining, according to an identifier of a currency management apparatus indicated by the first digital currency, whether the identifier of the currency management apparatus is consistent with an identifier of the first currency management apparatus, and verifying the legitimacy of the source of the first digital currency; and decrypting a signature information of a currency management apparatus in the first digital currency by using a private key corresponding to a public key during generation of signature information, so as to verify the reliability of the signature information". From the technical feature (2), the first currency management device verifies the digital currency or the circulation identifier of the first digital currency based on the digital currency records corresponding to the first client, for example, including verifying the first digital currency or the circulation identifier, verifying the currency management device of the first digital currency, and verifying the signature information of the currency management device of the first digital currency. Through the aforementioned verification, it achieves verification of the first digital currency itself, verification of the legality of the source of the first digital currency, and verification of the reliability of the signature information of the currency management device of the first digital currency. Therefore, it can effectively verify the legality of the first digital currency used for redemption (conversion and payment), achieving the secure circulation of the digital currency. Through the aforementioned verification process, it can effectively enhance the security and reliability of the digital currency circulation. Zhou or Grassadoni does not disclose the above technical feature (2), and this effect cannot be achieved by Zhou or Grassadoni. The above amended technical features are also not obvious to the skilled person in the art. ”
Examiner response: Examiner has fully considered, but doesn’t find Applicant’s argument persuasive. Examiner respectfully disagree with the applicant, the applicant’s arguments are directed towards the amended claim language and not original set of claims. The combination of Zhou, Grassadoni, Jang does disclose the claim language of claims 1, 19, 23, and 28. The newly cited Jang reference does teach decrypting data. Additionally, the dependent claims 7-8, 20, 24, 26 and 29-32 remain rejected by at least virtue of dependency.
Applicant submits: “Malhotra or Grassadoni does not disclose the technical feature (2) recited in the amended Claim 1, which recites "the first currency management apparatus performing the following verifications on the first digital currency or the circulation identifier of the first digital currency according to a digital currency record corresponding to the first client, comprising: determining whether the first digital currency or the circulation identifier is a first digital currency that has been recorded or stored, so as to verify the legitimacy of a source of the first digital currency; determining, according to an identifier of a currency management apparatus indicated by the first digital currency, whether the identifier of the currency management apparatus is consistent with an identifier of the first currency management apparatus, and verifying the legitimacy of the source of the first digital currency; and decrypting a signature information of a currency management apparatus in the first digital currency by using a private key corresponding to a public key during generation of signature information, so as to verify the reliability of the signature information". From the technical feature (2), the first currency management device verifies the digital currency or the circulation identifier of the first digital currency based on the digital currency records corresponding to the first client, for example, including verifying the first digital currency or the circulation identifier, verifying the currency management device of the first digital currency, and verifying the signature information of the currency management device of the first digital currency. Through the aforementioned verification, it achieves verification of the first digital currency itself, verification of the legality of the source of the first digital currency, and verification of the reliability of the signature information of the currency management device of the first digital currency. Therefore, it can effectively verify the legality of the first digital currency used for redemption (conversion and payment), achieving the secure circulation of the digital currency. Through the aforementioned verification process, it can effectively enhance the security and reliability of the digital currency circulation. Malhotra or Grassadoni does not disclose the above technical feature (2), and this effect cannot be achieved by Malhotra or Grassadoni. The above amended technical features are also not obvious to the skilled person in the art. It follows that the applied art does not disclose or suggest all of the features and relationships recited in the amended Claim 3. Thus the Office Action has not established a case of prima facie obviousness. Further, the Office Action has not established an apparent reason to modify the applied art to include this recited subject matter which is missing from the applied art. Withdrawal of the 35 U.S.C.§103(a) rejections of Claim 3 is respectfully requested. Claim 4, which is dependent from Claim 3 directly, should also be allowable accordingly for the reasons discussed previously with respect to their respective independent claim. Withdrawal of the 35 U.S.C.§103(a) rejections of Claim 4 is respectfully requested.”
Examiner response: Examiner has fully considered, but doesn’t find Applicant’s argument persuasive. Examiner respectfully disagree with the applicant, the applicant’s arguments are directed towards the amended claim language and not original set of claims. The combination of Malhotra, Grassadoni, Zhou, Jang does disclose the claim language of claims 3-4, 21. The newly cited Jang reference does teach decrypting data. Thus the rejection is proper and has been maintained.
Relevant Prior Art Not Relied Upon
The prior art made of record and not relied upon which, however, is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20190102756 A1 Zhou; Andrew H B et al. UN CURRENCY (VIRTUAL PAYMENT CARDS) ISSUED BY CENTRAL BANK OR OTHER ISSUER FOR MOBILE AND WEARABLE DEVICES - The method may include receiving a transfer request with a transfer amount in digital currency and user identification data associated with the user, retrieving payment data of the user associated with the identification data, generating an optical code encoding the payment data and the transfer amount. The method may continue with providing the optical code on a screen of the mobile and wearable device. On scanning of the optical code, a transfer receiving request is created. The method may continue with receiving a transfer receiving request to perform a payment transaction associated with the user, accessing a user account maintained by a currency issuance unit, and transferring the transfer amount in the digital currency from the user account to a recipient account associated with the recipient identification data.
US 20200160292 A1 NAKAGAWA; Sanami VIRTUAL CURRENCY PAYMENT PROXY DEVICE, VIRTUAL CURRENCY PAYMENT PROXY METHOD, AND RECORDING MEDIUM - The present invention enables payment proxy for a virtual currency in a decentralized virtual currency system. A payment proxy device includes: first generation unit for generating a first transaction by use of a balance of a proxy in response to a request from a payment source, the first transaction including first destination information which includes, as destinations, an account of the proxy, an account of the payment source, and payment destination information representing a payment destination, and approval information of the proxy, and being a transaction indicating trading of a virtual currency; acquisition unit for acquiring payment destination identification information transmitted by a payment destination as an evidence of receipt of money and intended for identifying the payment destination; and second generation unit for generating a second transaction using the first transaction as a balance, and a fourth transaction using, as a balance, a third transaction generated by the payment source.
US 20210279705 A1 TAKEMURA; Junichi et al. TRANSACTION SYSTEM, TRANSACTION APPARATUS, AND TRANSACTION METHOD - In order to adjust the amount of money in a transaction apparatus installed in a store, a transaction system includes: a money handling unit that receives money, and recognizes and counts the received money to acquire a first total amount of the received money and a quantity of money for each denomination; a memory that stores therein a transaction condition including a transaction fee rate previously set for each denomination; and a processing unit that calculates, for each denomination, an amount of money by multiplying the quantity of money for each denomination by the transaction fee rate, based on the quantity of money and the transaction condition, and performs processing on a transaction of the received money, based on the first total amount acquired by the money handling unit and on a second total amount calculated by summing up the calculated amounts of money for the respective denominations.
US 20210279704 A1 MATSUHASHI; Ken et al. TRANSACTION SYSTEM, TRANSACTION APPARATUS, AND TRANSACTION METHOD - In order to make a store, which has no right of possession to money being stored in an apparatus installed in the store, able to withdraw and use the money, a transaction system capable of withdrawing money is provided with: a management apparatus that manages information on a withdrawal point that is exchangeable for the money; and a transaction apparatus that receives a request for a withdrawal transaction to be performed by using the withdrawal point and dispenses money for the withdrawal transaction.
US 20240177151 A1 LIANG; Wei et al. Methods and Apparatuses for Generating, Verifying and Storing Transaction Voucher, Devices and System - Methods and apparatuses for generating, verifying and storing a transaction voucher, devices and a system are provided. The method includes: in response to a received transaction request, chain structure data of a digital currency is acquired, the chain structure data including a first currency string (S101); and a transaction voucher corresponding to a denomination of a current transaction is generated based on the chain structure data, the transaction voucher including a second currency string of a corresponding denomination and a second sub-chain, and the second sub-chain including current transaction information of the second currency string (S102). On the one hand, a pay warrant is provided for a transaction, so that the transaction is traceable, and the security of the transaction is ensured. On the other hand, the reading and storage efficiency of transaction data can be improved, and the transaction efficiency and the user experience can also be improved.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.S.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3698
/PATRICK MCATEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3698