DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Monge (US 2016/0023705) in view of Sigg (CH 234492).
Monge discloses a tilting vehicle, comprising a driver seat (see Figs. 8, 9); a pillion seat that is positioned behind the driver seat (1); and a luggage fastening device for fastening an item of luggage to the tilting vehicle (2), the luggage fastening device being arranged below the pillion seat (see Figs. 1, 2); except does not expressly disclose the particulars of the luggage fastening device as claimed.
However, Sigg discloses a tilting vehicle, comprising: a luggage fastening device for fastening an item of luggage to the tilting vehicle, wherein the luggage fastening device comprises at least one tensioning element (s) which, in an operating position, is configured to at least partially engage around the item of luggage (Fig. 3); and a stowage device (d, g, o, etc.) to which a first end of the at least one tensioning element is connected; a retaining portion of the tilting vehicle (tray shown in Fig. 3), to which a free second end of the tensioning element is configured for releasable connection to the retaining portion, and the stowage device is configured for selective take-up and removal of at least one portion of the at least one tensioning element (via d, etc. Fig. 1).
Because Monge and Sigg both teach cargo securement strap systems for tilting vehciles, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the retractable strap system taught by Sigg for the fixed strap system taught by Monge to achieve the predictable result of securing cargo ti the pillion seat of the tilting vehicle.
Sigg further discloses the at least one tensioning element is configured to be able to be pulled out of the stowage device in order to bring the at least one tensioning element from the stowage position into the operating position (functional/intended use recitation); the at least one tensioning element is a strap or rope (s); the at least one tensioning element comprises, at the free second end, a fastening element configured for a releasable connection to the retaining portion (r); the fastening element is a hook-shaped fastening element (see Fig. 1); the stowage device is configured for the selective winding up or unwinding of the at least one tensioning element (functional/intended use recitation); the stowage device comprises a winder for automatically winding up the at least one tensioning element (d); the stowage device comprises an arrester configured to arrest the at least one tensioning element in a partially or completely unwound state with respect to the stowage device (h).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sigg Monge (US 2016/0023705) in view of Sigg (CH 234492) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Halter (US 5251464).
Monge as modified above discloses all limitations of the claim(s) as detailed above except does not expressly disclose the respective positions of the opening/retaining portions as claimed.
However, Halter teaches a similar device wherein at least one opening (40) of the stowage device is assigned to a first end of the seat (right side Fig. 1) and the retaining portion (240) is assigned to a second end of the seat (left side Fig. 1), the at least one opening is provided for the selective take-up and removal of the at least one tensioning element (col. 1, ll. 58 – col. 2, ll. 12).
Because Sigg and Halter both teach retractable attachment mechanisms, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the coil/receiver attachment point taught by Halter for the coil/attachment point taught by Sigg to achieve the predictable result of securely attaching the retractable attachment mechanism to the receiver attachment point.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sigg Monge (US 2016/0023705) in view of Sigg (CH 234492) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Brickel (US 3990279).
Monge as modified above discloses all limitations of the claim(s) as detailed above and further including the tilting vehicle being a motorbike except does not expressly disclose the pair of tensioning elements as claimed.
However, Brickel teaches a similar device wherein the at least one tensioning element is two tensioning elements each having a free end, so that two free ends of the two tensioning elements are disposed outside the stowage device (14, 16, Fig. 2).
Because Sigg and Brickel both teach retractable attachment mechanisms, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the attachment mechanism with two tensioning elements and free ends as taught by Brickel for the the attachment mechanism with one tensioning element and free end taught by Sigg.
Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a second tensioning element with free end as taught by Brickel, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) s 10-17, 19, and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER N HELVEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734
January 28, 2026