Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-10, 14, 15, 18 and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 102006046805 A1 in view of KAPLAN et al (US 2016/0045841) (newly cited). DE 102006046805 A1 discloses the production of monoxides in the form of fine particles by injecting a raw material dispersion into a hot gas stream in a thermal; reactor at feeding points by pulsating combustion, spraying and/or atomizing, injecting further fuel into the hot gas stream at a region that is downstream to the feeding point of the dispersion, cooling the hot gas stream at the region, and injecting a coating mixture in gaseous form into the reactor . (See the Abstract of the English translation.) DE 102006046805 A1 further teaches in Paragraph [0036] that natural gas or hydrogen in admixture with oxygen is used to form the hot gas, and in Paragraph [[0053] that the hot gas may be cooled by a heat exchanger. The difference between the process disclosed by DE 102006046805 A1, and that recited in applicant’s claims, is that DE 102006046805 A1 does not disclose that the combustion unit is part of a power plant. KAPLAN et al disclose power plants as a form of fuel combustion in Paragraph [0364]> It would have been obvious from KAPLAN et al to provide the combustion unit of DE 102006046805 A1 in a power plant. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so, since DE 102006046805 A1 suggests that any suitable combustion unit could be used in the process, and power plants would include combustion units since KAPLAN et al suggest that combustion units are included in power plants.
Regarding claim 8, DE 102006046805 A1 discloses in Paragraph [0029] that sulfates or nitrates can be used as the raw material
Regarding claim 9, DE 102006046805 A1 discloses in Paragraph [0036] that the fuel can be natural gas or hydrogen.
Regarding claim 10, DE 102006046805 A1 in Paragraph [0036] that the fuel can be mixed with air or oxygen.
Regarding claim 14, DE 102006046805 A1 discloses combustion temperatures of 750 to 14400 C in Paragraph [0039].
Regarding claim 24, DE 102006046805 A1 discloses in Paragraph [0052] that the particles can be separated with an electrostatic precipitator.
Regarding claim 2, it would have been obvious to premix the components in the process of DE 102006046805 A1 to provide greater contact among the reactants.
Regarding claim 3, DE 102006046805 A1 discloses in Paragraph [0038] that compressed air is used to form droplets.
Regarding claim 4, it would have been obvious to dissolve silver nitrate into the solution of precursor material in the process of DE 102006046805 A1, since DE 102006046805 A1 suggests in Paragraph [0029] that any inorganic nitrate can be used as a raw material.
Regarding claim 5, it would have been obvious to feed the raw material and fuel separately into the combustion unit of DE 102006046805 A1, so long as the components are sufficiently mixed.
Regarding claim 6, it would have been obvious to use liquid fuel in the process of DE 102006046805 A1, since one would have appreciated that such liquid fuel would undergo a phase change at te high combustion temperatures. DE 102006046805 A1 also discloses in Paragraph [0038] that the raw material is in the form of droplets.
Regarding claim 7, the natural gas and hydrogen disclosed in Paragraph [0036] of DE 102006046805 A1 would be gaseous. DE 102006046805 A1 also discloses in Paragraph [0038] that the raw material is in the form of droplets.
Regarding claim 15, it would have been obvious to provide incomplete combustion in the process of DE 102006046805 A1, since the fuel to air ratio in the process does not appear to be critical.
Regarding claim 21, combined heat and power plants are conventional.
Regarding claims 22 and 23, DE 102006046805 A1, it is well-known that burners are used in combustion units.
Regarding claim 24, DE 102006046805 A1 discloses in Paragraph [0052] that the particles can be separated with a suitable separation device.
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 102006046805 A1 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kumar et al (US 2004/0197659). It would have been further obvious from Kumar et al to form lithium titanates in the process of DE 102006046805 A1. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so, since Kumar et al discloses that lithium titanates can be formed by heat treatment of metal oxide precursors in the presence of oxygen (see Paragraph[s [0043], [0100], [0101], [0105] and [0106], and DE 102006046805 A1 suggests in the Abstract that the process is directed broadly to the formation of any monoxides.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument, that DE 102006046805 A1 does not describe a pulsation reactor used for forming fine mono-oxide particles as a combustion unit of a power plant or heat plant, is not convincing. DE 102006046805 A1 teaches in Paragraph [0036] that any gas that is suitable for the production of hot gas is suitable as a fuel gas, and that this can be used in a mixture with oxygen. One would have appreciated from such disclosure that a combustion unit of a power plant would be suitable as such gas. There is no evidence on record of unexpected or even advantageous results which would emanate from carrying out the process of DE 102006046805 A1 in the combustion unit of a power plant, as opposed to a combustion unit which is not associated with a power plant or heat plant.
Conclusion
/WAYNE A LANGEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1736