DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the Applicant’s filing dated May 4th, 2026.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/US22/25074 filed on April 15th, 2022; and has a PRO of 63/316,575 filed on March 4th, 2022, 63/274,171 filed on November 1st, 2021 and 63/176,228 filed on April 17th, 2021.
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 3-6, 8, 10-12, 15-17, 19, 22, 24, 27, 29, 32, 34, 38, 51, 53, 62, 65, 67, 69, 74, 76-77 and 118 are pending in the instant application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I in the reply filed on May 4th, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 77 and 118 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on May 4th, 2026.
Applicant’s election of CAS RN: 2415092-81-6 shown below as the ionizable lipid of the pharmaceutical composition in the reply filed on May 4th, 2026 is acknowledged:
which is a compound of Formula (I) wherein Z1 is C2 alkylene; wherein Z2 is OH; wherein R1 is an unbranched C9 alkyl; wherein X1 is C6 alkylene; wherein X2 is absent; and wherein each R2 is C8 alkoxy. Applicant further elected DSPC as the neutral lipid, cholesterol as the helper lipid and PEG-2K-DMG as the PEG lipid. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
A prior art search was conducted for the elected species.
This search retrieved prior art.
Therefore, the Examiner’s search will not be extended unnecessarily to additional species of Formula (I) in/for/during this Office action.
Claims 1, 3-6, 8, 10-12, 15-17, 19, 22, 24, 27, 29, 32, 34, 38, 51, 53, 62, 65, 67, 69, 74 and 76 read on the elected species and will be examined herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-6, 8, 10-12, 15-16, 22, 24, 27, 32, 51, 53, 62, 65, 67, 69, 74 and 76 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Parmar et al (WO 2020/072605 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 3-6, 8, 10-12, 15-16, 22, 24, 27, 32, 62, 65, 67, 69, 74 and 76, Parmar teaches Compound 10 shown below (pages 76-77, Example 10; page 135, claim 54, 5th compound):
Compound 10 is the instantly elected ionizable lipid compound.
Parmer further teaches a lipid nanoparticle (LNP) composition comprising 50% Compound 10 as the ionizable (amine) lipid (pages 113-114, Example 55, Table 10); further comprising 10% DSPC; 38.5% cholesterol and 1.5% PEG-2K-DMG; wherein the concentrations are expressed as mol % (page 103, Example 2, first paragraph; page 107, Example 2, first paragraph). Parmer further discloses the LNP compositions are formulated at a 1:1 w/w ratio of single guide RNA and Cas9 mRNA.
It is noted that the formulation taught by Parmer teaches cholesterol making up 38.5% of the formulation and does not explicitly state the instantly claimed 39%. However, due to the “about” language present in the instant claims being defined in the specification (page 65, lines 16-21) as encompassing up to 25% of a stated reference value in either direction, the 38.5% falls well within the stated reference value of 39% ± 25% and thus anticipates this claim limitation.
Regarding claims 51 and 53, Parmer anticipates claims 1, 3-6, 8, 10-12, 15-16, 22, 24, 27, 32, 62, 65, 67, 69, 74 and 76 as discussed in the above rejection.
Parmer further discloses the LNP composition exhibited a polydispersity (PDI) of 0.049 (page 114, Example 55, Table 10, 6th column) and has a N:P ratio of 6.0 (page 113, Example 55, first paragraph).
Thus, the teachings of Parmer anticipate the composition of instant claims 1, 3-6, 8, 10-12, 15-16, 22, 24, 27, 32, 51, 53, 62, 65, 67, 69, 74 and 76.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17, 19, 29, 34 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parmar et al (WO 2020/072605 A1).
Regarding claims 17, 19, 29, 34 and 38, Parmer anticipates claims 1, 3-6, 8, 10-12, 15-16, 22, 24, 27, 32, 51, 53, 62, 65, 67, 69, 74 and 76 as discussed in the above rejection.
Parmer does not teach a composition with the recited concentrations of instant claims 17, 19, 29, 34 and 38.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the amounts of each component in the composition comprising Compound 10 taught by Parmer as a starting point for optimizing the composition utilized for genome editing since Parmer teaches the composition comprising Compound 10 is useful for genome editing (page 1, lines 25-28; page 113-114, Example 55; page 144, claim 88) and because dosage and treatment regimen are result-effective variables, i.e. a variable that achieves a recognized result. Therefore, the determination of the optimum or workable dosages would have been well within the practice of routine experimentation by the skilled artisan. Furthermore, absent any evidence demonstrating a patentable difference between the compositions and the criticality of the claimed dosage range, the determination of the optimum or workable dosing regimen given the guidance of the prior art would have been generally prima facie obvious to the skilled artisan. Please see MPEP 2144.05 [R-2](II)(A) and In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). ("[W]here the general conditions of claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.").
Taken together, all of this would result in the composition of instant claims 17, 19, 29, 34 and 38 with a reasonable expectation of success.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3-6, 8, 10-12, 15-17, 19, 22, 24, 27, 29, 32, 34, 38, 51, 53, 62, 65, 67, 69, 74 and 76 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 61, 65, 68, 71, 74-75, 79 and 87 of copending Application No. 17/282,157 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference application claims a Lipid NanoParticle (LNP) composition comprising a lipid component that comprises a compound represented by Formula I of which has significant overlap with the instant claims, specifically see claim 105 of the reference application where the compound claimed is the instantly elected compound CAS RN: 2415092-81-6. The LNP composition of the reference application further comprises a neutral lipid, a helper lipid and a PEG lipid in the lipid component; as well as a nucleic acid component, comprising a Cas nuclease mRNA and gRNA; all of which are present in the instant claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Claims 1, 3-6, 8, 10-12, 15-17, 19, 22, 24, 27, 29, 32, 34, 38, 51, 53, 62, 65, 67, 69, 74 and 76 are rejected.
No claim is allowed.
/C.L.J./Examiner, Art Unit 1691
/RENEE CLAYTOR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1691