Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 6, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Khoshnevisan, U.S. Patent Publication No. 2026/0143511.
Khoshnevisan teaches:
1. (Currently Amended) A terminal comprising:
a processor (see Fig. 7) that determines a plurality of targets to be monitored from a plurality of candidates that are any of a search space set (search space sets, [0157]), a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) candidate (PDCCH, [0157]), and a control resource set (CORESETs, [0010]); and
a receiver that monitors the plurality of targets (see Fig. 7),
wherein, when determining the plurality of targets, the processor includes, in the plurality of targets, a first candidate based on the first candidate having a linkage with another candidate among the plurality of candidates and selects, among at least one candidate corresponding to a common search space set and at least one candidate corresponding to a user equipment-specific search space set, a second candidate corresponding to the common search space set (UE receives UE-specific search space sets and common search space sets which are linked, [0157]).
5. (Currently Amended) A radio communication method of a terminal, the method comprising:
determining a plurality of targets to be monitored from a plurality of candidates that are any of a search space set (search space sets, [0157]), a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) candidate (PDCCH, [0157]), and a control resource set (CORESETs, [0010]); and
monitoring the plurality of targets (see Fig. 7),
wherein, when determining the plurality of targets, the terminal includes, in the plurality of targets, a first candidate based on the first candidate having a linkage with another candidate among the plurality of candidates and selects, among at least one candidate corresponding to a common search space set and at least one candidate corresponding to a user equipment-specific search space set, a second candidate corresponding to the common search space set (UE receives UE-specific search space sets and common search space sets which are linked, [0157]).
6. (Currently Amended) A base station comprising:
a processor that determines a plurality of targets to be monitored from a plurality of candidates that are any of a search space set (search space sets, [0157]), a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) candidate (PDCCH, [0157]), and a control resource set (CORESETs, [0010]); and
a transmitter that transmits a PDCCH in any of the plurality of targets (see Fig. 7),
wherein, when determining the plurality of targets, the processor preferentially includes, in the plurality of targets, a first candidate based on the first candidate having a linkage with another candidate among the plurality of candidates and selects, among at least one candidate corresponding to a common search space set and at least one candidate corresponding to a user equipment-specific search space set, a second candidate corresponding to [[a]]the common search space set (UE receives UE-specific search space sets and common search space sets which are linked, [0157]).
9. (New) A system comprising a terminal and a base station, wherein:
the terminal comprises:
a processor that determines a plurality of targets to be monitored from a plurality of candidates that are any of a search space set (search space sets, [0157]), a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) candidate (PDCCH, [0157]), and a control resource set (CORESETs, [0010]); and
a receiver that monitors the plurality of targets (see Fig. 7),
wherein, when determining the plurality of targets, the processor includes, in the plurality of targets, a first candidate based on the first candidate having a linkage with another candidate among the plurality of candidates and selects, among at least one candidate corresponding to a common search space set and at least one candidate corresponding to a user equipment-specific search space set, a second candidate corresponding to the common search space set (UE receives UE-specific search space sets and common search space sets which are linked, [0157]), and the base station comprises:
a transmitter that transmits a PDCCH in any of the plurality of targets (see Fig. 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoshnevisan as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of 3GPP document R1-2101662.
Khoshnevisan teaches setting search spaces for a wireless communications system. Khoshnevisan does not teach setting priorities for said search spaces. However, R1-2101662 teaches setting priorities for search spaces. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the filing to modify the teachings of Khoshnevisan to incorporate the known technique of setting priorities as taught by R1-2101662 in order to obtain the predictable result of appropriate search space selection.
The combination teaches:
2. (Previously Presented) The terminal according to claim 1, wherein the processor gives priority to the first candidate and then gives priority to the second candidate (to start transmission as soon as possible, it is straightforward to take the first PDCCH as a reference, Time reference, R1-2101662).
3. (Previously Presented) The terminal according to claim 1, wherein the processor gives priority to the second candidate and then gives priority to the first candidate (for other scenarios, it may be suitable to define the second PDCCH candidate as a reference, Time reference, R1-2101662).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoshnevisan as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Saber, U.S. Patent Publication No. 2024/0205938.
Khoshnevisan teaches setting search spaces for a wireless communications system. Khoshnevisan does not teach transmitting multiple PDCCH candidates in the same slot. However, Saber teaches transmitting multiple PDCCH candidates in the same slot. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify the teachings of Khoshnevisan to incorporate the known technique of transmitting multiple PDCCH candidates in the same slot as taught by Saber in order to obtain the predictable result of minimizing extraneous transmissions.
The combination teaches:
4. (Previously Presented) The terminal according to claim 1, wherein the first candidate and the other candidate are in a same slot or in a same span (UE receives two PDCCHs in the same slot, [0057], Saber).
Claim(s) 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoshnevisan in view of R1-2101662 as applied to claims 2 and 3 above, and further in view of Saber.
Khoshnevisan teaches setting search spaces for a wireless communications system. Khoshnevisan does not teach setting priorities for said search spaces. However, R1-2101662 teaches setting priorities for search spaces. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the filing to modify the teachings of Khoshnevisan to incorporate the known technique of setting priorities as taught by R1-2101662 in order to obtain the predictable result of appropriate search space selection.
Khoshnevisan in view of R1-2101662 teaches setting search spaces for a wireless communications system. The combination does not teach transmitting multiple PDCCH candidates in the same slot. However, Saber teaches transmitting multiple PDCCH candidates in the same slot. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify the combination of Khoshnevisan in view of R1-2101662 to incorporate the known technique of transmitting multiple PDCCH candidates in the same slot as taught by Saber in order to obtain the predictable result of minimizing extraneous transmissions.
The combination teaches:
7. (Previously Presented) The terminal according to claim 2, wherein the first candidate and the other candidate are in a same slot or in a same span (UE receives two PDCCHs in the same slot, [0057], Saber).
8. (Previously Presented) The terminal according to claim 3, wherein the first candidate and the other candidate are in a same slot or in a same span (UE receives two PDCCHs in the same slot, [0057], Saber).
Conclusion
PETER G. SOLINSKY
Examiner
Art Unit 2463
/Peter G Solinsky/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463