Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3 February 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant suggests that R1 fails to disclose a priority rule that prioritizes candidates with a linkage over candidates not having a linkage. While this may or may not be true, there is no language in the claims which suggest such a priority is required to exist. Applicant refers to several paragraphs in the specification which address the possibility of a prioritization. However, none of this language is in the claims. Document R1 anticipates each an every limitation in the claims.
Additionally, the language “preferentially includes” under a broadest reasonable interpretation does not require any language following the term to actually occur. I prefer to use a blue pen, does not require that I actually utilize a blue pen, only that I would rather have a blue pen than not. The portion of the claim following “preferentially includes” does not add any subject matter that requires evaluation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 - 3, 5, and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by 3GPP document R1-2101662.
R1-2101662 teaches:
1. (Currently Amended) A terminal comprising:
a processor that determines a plurality of targets to be monitored from a plurality of candidates that are any of a search space set, a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) candidate, and a control resource set (two PDCCH candidates are monitored, 2. Enhancement on PDCCH); and
a receiver that monitors the plurality of targets, wherein the processor preferentially includes, in the plurality of targets, a first candidate having a linkage with another candidate among the plurality of candidates and a second candidate corresponding to a common search space set (two PDCCH candidates are monitored and candidates are linked, 2. Enhancement on PDCCH).
2. (Currently Amended) The terminal according to claim 1, wherein the processor gives priority to the first candidate and then gives priority to the second candidate (to start transmission as soon as possible, it is straightforward to take the first PDCCH candidate as a reference, Time reference).
3. (Currently Amended) The terminal according to claim 1, wherein the processor gives priority to the second candidate and then gives priority to the first candidate (for other scenarios, it may be suitable to define the second PDCCH candidate as a reference, Time reference).
5. (Previously Presented) A radio communication method of a terminal, the method comprising:
determining a plurality of targets to be monitored from a plurality of candidates that are any of
a search space set, a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) candidate, and a control resource set (two PDCCH candidates are monitored, 2. Enhancement on PDCCH); and
monitoring the plurality of targets, wherein the terminal preferentially includes, in the plurality of targets, a first candidate having a linkage with another candidate among the plurality of candidates and a second candidate corresponding to a common search space set (two PDCCH candidates are monitored and candidates are linked, 2. Enhancement on PDCCH).
6. (Currently Amended) A base station comprising:
a processor that determines a plurality of targets to be monitored from a plurality of candidates that are any of a search space set, a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) candidate, and a control resource set (two PDCCH candidates are monitored, 2. Enhancement on PDCCH); and
a transmitter that transmits a PDCCH in any of the plurality of targets, wherein the processor preferentially includes, in the plurality of targets, a first candidate having a linkage with another candidate among the plurality of candidates and a second candidate corresponding to a common search space set (two PDCCH candidates are monitored and candidates are linked, 2. Enhancement on PDCCH).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 7, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over R1-2101662 as applied to claims 1, 2, and 3 above, and further in view of Saber, U.S. Patent Publication No. 2024/0205938.
R1-2101662 teaches enhancements to PDCCH transmissions in a 3GPP compliant network. R1-2101662 does not teach transmitting multiple PDCCH candidates in the same slot. However, Saben teaches transmitting multiple PDCCH candidates in the same slot. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the filing to modify the teachings of R1-2101662 to incorporate the known technique of transmitting multiple PDCCH candidates in the same slot as taught by Saber in order to obtain the predictable result of minimizing extraneous transmissions.
The combination teaches:
4. (Previously Presented) The terminal according to claim 1, wherein the first candidate and the other candidate are in a same slot or in a same span (UE receives two PDCCHs in the same slot, [0057], Saber).
7. (Previously Presented) The terminal according to claim 2, wherein the first candidate and the other candidate are in a same slot or in a same span (UE receives two PDCCHs in the same slot, [0057], Saber).
8. (Previously Presented) The terminal according to claim 3, wherein the first candidate and the other candidate are in a same slot or in a same span (UE receives two PDCCHs in the same slot, [0057], Saber).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
PETER G. SOLINSKY
Examiner
Art Unit 2463
/Peter G Solinsky/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463