DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action for U.S. Patent Application No. 18/287,281 is responsive to communications filed on 11/26/2025, in reply to the Non-Final Rejection of 08/28/2025. Currently, claims 50-70 are pending.
Response to Arguments
In regard to claim 62, this claim was rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite. The Applicant submits that the amendments to the claim are sufficient to overcome this rejection. The Examiner respectfully agrees. As such, the rejection of claim 62 under 35 US.C. 112(b) has been withdrawn.
In regard to claim 50, the Applicant submits that the Office Action, at best, discloses the well known MMVD mode in VVC, and that the MMVD mode of Xu and the GMVD mode in the claim limitations are two different coding modes, and as such, the operation of refining merge mode motion information based on MVD disclosed in Xu does not correspond to the operation of determining motion information based on GMVD as specified in the claimed features. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As discussed in paragraphs 106, 152, 157, etc. of Xu, there are many possible prediction modes, one of which being MMVD, but also other options, such as triangle inter prediction mode, advanced motion vector predictor mode, etc. It can be seen that many of these are geometric partitioning modes (such as triangle), and as discussed in paragraphs 12, 157, these partition modes use motion vector difference information. As such, it can be seen that the teachings of Xu include geometric partitioning modes that use motion vector difference that are different than the disclosed MMVD mode. As such, the teachings of Xu include all of the limitations presented in claim 50.
In regard to claims 68 and 69, the Applicant submits similar arguments to those presented above regarding claim 50. Since the arguments relating to claim 50 have been found to be insufficient to overcome the claim’s rejection, these claims shall also remain rejected for similar reasons to those discussed above in regard to claim 50.
In regard to claims 51-67, these claims are dependent upon the independent claim 50. Since the arguments relating to claim 50 have not placed the claim in condition for allowance, these dependent claims are not allowable by virtue of their dependency upon an allowable base claim, and as such, shall also remain rejected.
In regard to claim 70, this claim has been newly added, and as such, its rejection can be found in the rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 50-61, and 68-70 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xu et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2020/0221108), hereinafter referred to as Xu.
In regard to claim 50, Xu teaches a method for video processing (Xu abstract noting methods and apparatuses for video encoding/decoding), comprising:
determining, during a conversion between a target block of a video and a bitstream of the video (Xu paragraphs 87 and 95 noting video encoder configured to receive a processing block within a current video picture in a sequence of video pictures, and encode the processing block into a coded picture that is part of a coded video sequence), first motion information of a plurality of geometric partitions of the target block based on a geometric partitioning mode (GPM) with motion vector differences (GMVD) (Xu paragraphs 120-121 noting motion information is refined by the signaled motion vector difference (MVD) information; Xu paragraphs 106, 152, 157, etc. of Xu, there are many possible prediction modes, one of which being MMVD, but also other options, such as triangle inter prediction mode, advanced motion vector predictor mode, etc. It can be seen that many of these are geometric partitioning modes (such as triangle), and as discussed in paragraphs 12, 157, these partition modes use motion vector difference information), and
performing the conversion between the target block and the bitstream based on the first motion information, the bitstream including a first set of indications of GMVD information associated with the target block (Xu paragraphs 120-121 noting the derived motion information is used in generation of the current CU, and noting motion information is refined by the signaled motion vector difference (MVD) information).
In regard to claim 51, Xu teaches all of the limitations presented in claim 50 as discussed above. In addition, Xu teaches determining second motion information of the plurality of geometric partitions based on a GPM; and determining the first motion information based on the second motion information and motion vector difference (MVD) information for the plurality of geometric partitions (Xu paragraphs 120-121 noting the derived motion information is used in generation of the current CU, and noting motion information is refined by the signaled motion vector difference (MVD) information; and Xu paragraph 151 noting the CU is split in triangle partition mode).
In regard to claim 52, Xu teaches all of the limitations presented in claim 50 as discussed above. In addition, Xu teaches wherein the first set of indications of the GMVD information comprise a second set of indications of an offset generated based on a GPM and a merge mode with motion vector differences (MMVD) (Xu paragraphs 120-123 noting merge mode, merge mode with motion vector differences (MMVD) and noting a distance index used to specify motion magnitude information and indicate the pre-defined offset from a starting point, and Table 1 showing relation of distance index and offset).
In regard to claim 53, Xu teaches all of the limitations of claim 52 as discussed above. In addition, Xu teaches wherein the second set of indications comprise one indication, the one indication being a variable or signaled in a syntax element (Xu paragraphs 120-123 noting merge mode, merge mode with motion vector differences (MMVD) and noting a distance index used to specify motion magnitude information and indicate the pre-defined offset from a starting point, and Table 1 showing relation of distance index and offset).
the one indication comprises a GMVD index, the GMVD index being derived from a GMVD direction index and a GMVD distance index; and the offset is derived by indexing from a table, the table being a one-dimensional table with the GMVD index as an input and a GMVD offset as an output (Xu paragraphs 120-123 noting merge mode, merge mode with motion vector differences (MMVD) and noting a distance index used to specify motion magnitude information and indicate the pre-defined offset from a starting point, and Table 1 showing relation of distance index and offset).
In regard to claim 54, Xu teaches all of the limitations of claim 52 as discussed above. In addition, Xu teaches wherein the second set of indications comprise an indication of an MMVD direction index and an indication of a MMVD distance index; the offset is derived based on indexing from a plurality of tables, the plurality of tables being indexed by the MMVD direction index and the MMVD distance index, respectively; and the MMVD direction index is signaled in a syntax element, and/or the MMVD distance index is signaled in a syntax element (Xu paragraphs 120-123 noting merge mode, merge mode with motion vector differences (MMVD) and noting a distance index used to specify motion magnitude information and indicate the pre-defined offset from a starting point, and Table 1 showing relation of distance index and offset).
In regard to claim 55, Xu teaches all of the limitations of claim 50 as discussed above. In addition, Xu teaches wherein the bitstream further includes a third set of indications of GPM information associated with the target block; the plurality of geometric partitions of the target block comprise two geometric partitions of the target block (Xu paragraph 150 noting when the triangle partition mode is used, a CU is split evenly into two triangle-shaped partitions, using either the diagonal split or the anti-diagonal split); and the GPM information comprises at least one of: a split direction of the target block (Xu paragraph 151 noting the CU (1810) is split from top-left corner to bottom-right corner (referred to as diagonal direction) into two triangular prediction units, and the CU (1820) is split from top-right corner to bottom-left corner (referred to as inverse diagonal direction)), a GPM merge candidate index of a geometric partition of the plurality of geometric partitions of the target block (Xu paragraph 178 noting in some examples, two variables, m and n, are defined to indicate the merge candidate indices for the two prediction units in the triangular prediction), or one or more GPM merge candidate indexes of the plurality of geometric partitions of the target block (Xu paragraph 178 noting in some examples, two variables, m and n, are defined to indicate the merge candidate indices for the two prediction units in the triangular prediction).
In regard to claim 56, Xu teaches all of the limitations of claim 55 as discussed above. In addition, Xu teaches wherein the first set of indications of the GMVD information comprise at least one of: a GMVD flag for the target block to indicate that the GMVD is used for the target block, a GMVD flag for a geometric partition of the plurality of geometric partitions of the target block to indicate that the GMVD is used for the geometric partition of the plurality of geometric partitions of the target block, or one or more GMVD flags for one or more geometric partitions of the plurality of geometric partitions of the target block to indicate that the GMVD is used for the one or more geometric partitions of the plurality of geometric partitions of the target block (Xu paragraph 149-150 noting triangular prediction is used in VTM3 for inter prediction. The mode that uses the triangular prediction is referred to as triangle partition mode. In some examples, the triangle partition mode is only applied to CUs that satisfies certain conditions, such as have a size of 8×8 or larger and are coded in skip or merge mode. For a CU that satisfies these conditions, a CU-level flag is signaled to indicate whether the triangle partition mode is applied or not. When the triangle partition mode is used, a CU is split evenly into two triangle-shaped partitions, using either the diagonal split or the anti-diagonal split).
In regard to claim 57, Xu teaches all of the limitations of claim 55 as discussed above. In addition, Xu teaches the first set of indications of the GMVD information are signaled before the third set of indications of the GPM information; and the first set of indications of the GMVD information are signaled after the third set of indications of the GPM information, or the first set of indications of the GMVD information are interlaced with the third set of indications of the GPM information (Xu paragraph 120 noting where the implicitly derived motion information is directly used for prediction samples generation of the current CU, the merge mode with motion vector differences (MMVD) is introduced in VVC. In some examples, a MMVD flag is signaled right after sending a skip flag and a merge flag to specify whether MMVD mode is used for a CU; and Xu paragraph 191 noting in some embodiments, instead of signaling individual flags for each tool, an index may be signaled to indicate which tool is used. When a tool is used, additional syntax elements related to that tool may be signaled after the index.)
In regard to claim 58, Xu teaches all of the limitations of claim 57 as discussed above. In addition, Xu teaches the first set of indications of GMVD information comprise at least a first indication of the GMVD information, the third set of indications of the GPM information comprise at least a second indication of the GPM information and a third indication of the GPM, and the second indication of the GPM information is followed by the first indication of the GMVD information, the first indication of the GMVD information followed by the third indication of the GPM information; or the first set of indications of GMVD information comprise at least a first indication of the GMVD information and a fourth indication of the GMVD information, the third set of indications of the GPM information comprise at least a second indication of the GPM information, and the first indication of the GMVD information is followed by the second indication of the GPM information, the second indication of the GPM information followed by the fourth indication of the GMVD information (Xu paragraphs 121-122 noting in MMVD, after a merge candidate is selected, the motion information is further refined by the signaled motion vector difference (MVD) information. In some examples, the information includes a merge candidate flag, an index to specify motion magnitude, and an index for indication of motion direction. In MMVD mode, one of the first two candidates in the merge list is selected to be used as MV basis. The merge candidate flag is signaled to specify which one is used. In some examples, a distance index is used to specify motion magnitude information and indicate the pre-defined offset from a starting point.)
In regard to claim 59, Xu teaches all of the limitations of claim 55 as discussed above. In addition, Xu teaches the third set of indications of the GPM information comprise one or more GPM merge candidate indexes for one or two geometric partitions of the two geometric partitions of the target block; and the one or more GPM merge candidate indexes comprise two GPM merge candidate indexes for the two geometric partitions of the target block. (Xu paragraph 178 noting in some examples, two variables, m and n, are defined to indicate the merge candidate indices for the two prediction units in the triangular prediction).
In regard to claim 60, Xu teaches all of the limitations of claim 59 as discussed above. In addition, Xu teaches wherein the maximum number of GPM merge candidates is equal to 2, or binarization of the two GPM merge candidate indexes is same (Xu paragraph 132 noting in some examples, such as in VTM3, a maximum of two inherited affine candidates can be used).
In regard to claim 61, Xu teaches all of the limitations of claim 59 as discussed above. In addition, Xu teaches the one or more GPM merge candidate indexes comprise a GPM merge candidate index for the two geometric partitions of the target block; and the GPM merge candidate index indicates a position of a merging candidate in a merging candidate list for the GPM (Xu paragraph 178 noting in some examples, two variables, m and n, are defined to indicate the merge candidate indices for the two prediction units in the triangular prediction).
In regard to claim 68, Xu teaches an apparatus for processing video data (Xu abstract noting methods and apparatuses for video encoding/decoding) comprising a processor and a non-transitory memory with instructions thereon, wherein the instructions upon execution by the processor, cause the processor to (Xu paragraph 102 noting the video encoders (303), (503), and (503), and the video decoders (310), (410), and (710) can be implemented using one or more processors that execute software instructions):
determine first motion information of a plurality of geometric partitions of a target block of the video (Xu paragraphs 87 and 95 noting video encoder configured to receive a processing block within a current video picture in a sequence of video pictures, and encode the processing block into a coded picture that is part of a coded video sequence) based on a geometric partitioning mode (GPM) with motion vector differences (GMVD) Xu paragraphs 120-121 noting motion information is refined by the signaled motion vector difference (MVD) information; Xu paragraphs 106, 152, 157, etc. of Xu, there are many possible prediction modes, one of which being MMVD, but also other options, such as triangle inter prediction mode, advanced motion vector predictor mode, etc. It can be seen that many of these are geometric partitioning modes (such as triangle), and as discussed in paragraphs 12, 157, these partition modes use motion vector difference information); and
generate the bitstream based on the first motion information, the bitstream including a first set of indications of GMVD information associated with the target block (Xu paragraphs 120-121 noting the derived motion information is used in generation of the current CU, and noting motion information is refined by the signaled motion vector difference (MVD) information).
In regard to claim 69, Xu teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that cause a processor to: (Xu abstract noting methods and apparatuses for video encoding/decoding; and Xu paragraph 102 noting the video encoders (303), (503), and (503), and the video decoders (310), (410), and (710) can be implemented using one or more processors that execute software instructions):
determine first motion information of a plurality of geometric partitions of a target block of the video (Xu paragraphs 87 and 95 noting video encoder configured to receive a processing block within a current video picture in a sequence of video pictures, and encode the processing block into a coded picture that is part of a coded video sequence) based on a geometric partitioning mode (GPM) with motion vector differences (GMVD) (Xu paragraphs 120-121 noting motion information is refined by the signaled motion vector difference (MVD) information; Xu paragraphs 106, 152, 157, etc. of Xu, there are many possible prediction modes, one of which being MMVD, but also other options, such as triangle inter prediction mode, advanced motion vector predictor mode, etc. It can be seen that many of these are geometric partitioning modes (such as triangle), and as discussed in paragraphs 12, 157, these partition modes use motion vector difference information); and
generate the bitstream based on the first motion information, the bitstream including a first set of indications of GMVD information associated with the target block (Xu paragraphs 120-121 noting the derived motion information is used in generation of the current CU, and noting motion information is refined by the signaled motion vector difference (MVD) information).
In regard to claim 70, Xu teaches all of the limitations of claim 50 as discussed above. In addition, Xu teaches storing the bitstream in a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium (Xu paragraph 17 noting aspects of the disclosure also provide a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions which when executed by a computer for video decoding cause the computer to perform the method for video decoding).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 62-67 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2020/0221108), hereinafter referred to as Xu, in view of Zhang et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2021/0006787), hereinafter referred to as Zhang.
In regard to claim 62, Xu teaches all of the limitations of claim 55 as discussed above. However, Xu does not expressly disclose wherein at least one of the two geometric partitions of the target block uses the GMVD; or one geometric partition of the two geometric partitions uses the GMVD, and the other geometric partition of the two geometric partitions uses a GPM without MVD.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches wherein at least one of the two geometric partitions of the target block uses the GMVD; and one geometric partition of the two geometric partitions uses the GMVD, and the other geometric partition of the two geometric partitions uses a GPM without MVD (Zhang paragraph 16 noting the first block being coded with geometry partition mode; determining motion information of at least one sub-portion of the first block; performing the conversion of the first block using the motion information of the at least one sub-portion; wherein determining motion information of at least one sub-portion comprises using at least one history based motion vector prediction (HMVP) candidate which includes motion information based on a previously coded block to construct a motion candidate list and determining the motion information from the motion candidate list. As such, it can be seen that at least one of the sub-portion is converted using HMVP, which suggests that one portion could be converted without determining motion information with HMVP).
It would have been obvious, for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Xu with the teachings of Zhang, because both disclosures relate to the field of methods for video processing that use motion vector prediction, and disclose HMVP candidates, and perform conversion of blocks using determined motion information based on processes involving geometric partition modes and motion vector prediction. As such, modified to incorporate the teachings of Zhang, the teachings of Xu include all of the limitations presented in claim 62.
In regard to claim 63, Xu teaches all of the limitations of claim 55 as discussed above. However, Xu does not expressly disclose wherein the two geometric partitions both use the GMVD; and the first set of indications of the GMVD information comprise different GMVD indexes for the two geometric partitions, or the first set of indications of the GMVD information comprise indications of different GMVD offsets of the two geometric partitions.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches wherein the two geometric partitions both use the GMVD; and the first set of indications of the GMVD information comprise different GMVD indexes for the two geometric partitions, or the first set of indications of the GMVD information comprise indications of different GMVD offsets of the two geometric partitions (Zhang paragraph 16 noting the first block being coded with geometry partition mode; determining motion information of at least one sub-portion of the first block; performing the conversion of the first block using the motion information of the at least one sub-portion; wherein determining motion information of at least one sub-portion comprises using at least one history based motion vector prediction (HMVP) candidate which includes motion information based on a previously coded block to construct a motion candidate list and determining the motion information from the motion candidate list.)
It would have been obvious, for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Xu with the teachings of Zhang for the same reasons as discussed above in regard to claim 62.
In regard to claim 64, Xu teaches all of the limitations of claim 55 as discussed above. However, Xu does not expressly disclose template-matching-based GPM is disabled for the target block; or
a geometric partition of the plurality of geometric partitions of the target block uses the GMVD, and a motion vector difference (MVD) for the geometric partition is not equal to zero, and template-matching-based GPM is disabled for the geometric partition.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches template-matching-based GPM is disabled for the target block; or a geometric partition of the plurality of geometric partitions of the target block uses the GMVD, and a motion vector difference (MVD) for the geometric partition is not equal to zero, and template-matching-based GPM is disabled for the geometric partition (Zhang paragraph 273 noting that bi-directional optical flow (BIO) can be disabled and not applied to the processing of a block; and Zhang paragraphs 276-277 noting that in bi-prediction operations, template matching process is applied. Thus, it can be seen that when BIO is disabled, the template matching based process would also be disabled for the block).
It would have been obvious, for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Xu with the teachings of Zhang for the same reasons as discussed above in regard to claim 62.
In regard to claim 65, Xu teaches all of the limitations of claim 55 as discussed above. However, Xu does not expressly disclose template-matching-based GPM is enabled for the target block; and the GMVD is used for a geometric partition of the plurality of geometric partition of the target block, and the first motion information of the geometric partition comprises a motion vector of the geometric partition.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches template-matching-based GPM is enabled for the target block; and the GMVD is used for a geometric partition of the plurality of geometric partition of the target block, and the first motion information of the geometric partition comprises a motion vector of the geometric partition (Zhang paragraphs 276-277 noting applying a bilateral template matching process to refine the motion vectors of block regions).
It would have been obvious, for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Xu with the teachings of Zhang for the same reasons as discussed above in regard to claim 62.
In regard to claim 66, Xu and Zhang teach all of the limitations of claim 65 as discussed above. In addition, Zhang teaches adding a motion vector difference (MVD) for the geometric partition into the motion vector of the geometric partition; and refining the resulted motion vector by the template-matching-based GPM (Zhang paragraph 276 noting in the decoder-side motion vector refinement (DMVR) method, the two motion vectors of the bi-prediction are further refined by a bilateral template matching process).
It would have been obvious, for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Xu with the teachings of Zhang for the same reasons as discussed above in regard to claim 62.
In regard to claim 67, Xu and Zhang teach all of the limitations of claim 65 as discussed above. In addition, Zhang teaches further comprising: refining the motion vector of the geometric partition by the template-matching-based GPM; and adding a motion vector difference (MVD) for the geometric partition to the refined motion vector (Zhang paragraph 276-277 noting in the decoder-side motion vector refinement (DMVR) method, the two motion vectors of the bi-prediction are further refined by a bilateral template matching process).
It would have been obvious, for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Xu with the teachings of Zhang for the same reasons as discussed above in regard to claim 62.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TYLER B. EDWARDS/
Examiner
Art Unit 2488
/SATH V PERUNGAVOOR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2488