DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 3 be found allowable, claim 6 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
In claim 9, while applicant does not define the terms “tiny” and “large,” the limitation of “polymerization of tiny flocculent suspended matter into large flocs” will be considered to mean polymerization of flocculent suspended particles into relatively larger flocs.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “quickly settled” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “quickly settled” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For examination purposes, any settling time will be considered to read on “quickly settled.”
The term “acceleratedly separated” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “acceleratedly separated” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For examination purposes, any separation time will be considered to read on “acceleratedly separated.”
Claims 2-8 are rejected as depending from a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (CN 106430547, the passages cited below refer to the machine-generated English translation provided with the instant office action) in view of Liu et al. (CN 2033929897, the passages cited below refer to the machine-generated English translation provided with the instant office action).
Per claim 1, Li et al. disclose a method for a continuous-flow aerobic granular sludge (AGS) process (abstract, The invention can realize granulation of aerobic sludge by in continuous flow mode, high working efficiency and low cost.) with an improved two-stage sedimentation (abstract, An adjustable two-stage precipitation cell aerobic granular sludge device), comprising the following steps:
(1) arranging a biochemical reaction tank (A, D; page 2, Further, the main body part of the reaction device is divided into a water inlet section and biochemical section), a granular sludge sedimentation tank (I; abstract, the mud precipitating zone I…), and a plate sedimentation tank (II comprising plate 11; abstract, the sludge settling region II…), wherein the biochemical reaction tank, the granular sludge sedimentation tank, and the plate sedimentation tank are connected sequentially (Fig. 2);
(2) allowing sewage to continuously flow into the biochemical reaction tank (abstract, The invention can realize granulation of aerobic sludge by in continuous flow mode, high working efficiency and low cost.; page 2, the invention claims can realize granulation of aerobic sludge by reaction under continuous water inlet mode,), and
allowing a sludge-water mixture obtained after a biochemical reaction to enter the granular sludge sedimentation tank (Fig. 2), such that wherein heavy sludge in the sludge-water mixture is “quickly” settled in the granular sludge sedimentation tank and returned to the biochemical reaction tank (abstract, zone I of the sludge as the sludge reflux area; the lower part of the sludge reflux area is provided with cone groove and the bottom is provided with a sludge reflux pipe connected with sludge reflux port of the reaction device main body water inlet section;); and
(3) allowing light sludge in the sludge-water mixture in step (2) to flow into the plate sedimentation tank (Fig. 2; page 4, …the lighter sludge through sludge settling zone I in upper part of adjustable water outlet 19 into the sludge settling region II…) and pooled at a lower part of the plate sedimentation tank (page 2, the sludge settling zone II is set at the lower part conical sludge collecting groove and is set on the bottom, the back end of the upper part of the sludge settling region II is provided with a water outlet.), and discharged (via elements 9 and 10). Li et al. do not disclose the plate sedimentation tank being an inclined plate sedimentation tank and arranging an inclined device inside the inclined plate sedimentation tank, the light sludge being light flocculent sludge such that wherein the light flocculent sludge is acceleratedly separated by the inclined plate device.
Liu et al., also directed to an aerobic granular sludge process ([0013] …forming a solid granular activated sludge of aerobic granular sludge), disclose providing an inclined plate sedimentation tank ([0044] 5, inclined plate settling zone 17, through first-stage natural clarifying clear liquid enters the inclined plate depositing of the second stage 17,) and arranging an inclined device ([0044] clear fine particulate contaminants remaining in the inclined plate sedimentation component of middle layer 19 removed in further precipitation) inside the inclined plate sedimentation tank (Figs. 2, 7), such that wherein light flocculent sludge is “acceleratedly” separated by the inclined plate device ([0010] According to the first stage natural clarifying treatment of the clarified liquid into the second-stage inclined plate settling zone 17, through agent spray device 15 medicine adding chemical phosphorous removal and co-coagulating sedimentation treatment. the L type hydraulic mixing device 16 under the hydraulic action, suspending sludge layer 18 slowly rotate to generate sufficient contact flocculation reaction so as to precipitate the fine particulate contaminants of the further precipitate removed in the inclined plate sedimentation component of middle layer 19.; [0044] …the suspended sludge layer 18 slowly rotate to generate sufficient contact flocculation reaction to settle, clear fine particulate contaminants remaining in the inclined plate sedimentation component of middle layer 19 removed in further precipitation, after precipitation from the secondary reservoir 20 to overflow.) in order to, for example, facilitate pooling the sludge at the bottom of the sedimentation tank and returning at least a portion of the sludge to biochemical reaction tank ([0044] …the suspension mud layer 18 deposited at the bottom of the sludge lift pump returns to the biochemical treatment system is composed of a water inlet through mud return pipe 21.).
Accordingly, it would have been readily obvious for the skilled artisan to modify the method of Li et al. such that it comprises the plate sedimentation tank being an inclined plate sedimentation tank and arranging an inclined device inside the inclined plate sedimentation tank, the light sludge being light flocculent sludge such that wherein the light flocculent sludge is “acceleratedly” separated by the inclined plate device in order to, for example, facilitate pooling the sludge at the bottom of the sedimentation tank and returning at least a portion of the sludge to biochemical reaction tank.
Per claim 2, Li et al., as modified by Liu et al., disclose wherein in step (1), the inclined device is arranged at a middle part of the inclined plate sedimentation tank (see Liu et al., Figs. 2, 7).
Per claims 3 and 6, Li et al., as modified by Liu et al., disclose wherein in step (1), the inclined plate device comprises a plurality of inclined plates arranged in parallel (see Liu et al., Figs. 2, 7).
Per claim 4, Li et al., as modified by Liu et al., do not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of inclined plates are engineering plastic plates or stainless steel plates.
It is submitted that it would have been a routine matter of design choice to modify the method of Li et al., as modified by Liu et al., such that it comprises wherein the plurality of inclined plates are engineering plastic plates or stainless steel plates in order to, for example, use materials which are inert and not interfere with biological reactions occurring in the process. Further, the examiner notes that applicant has not provided for the record a proper showing of any new and unexpected result obtained by using a plurality of inclined plates comprising engineering plastic plates or stainless steel plates.
Per claim 5, Li et al., as modified by Liu et al., do not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of inclined plates are polypropylene (PP) plates.
It is submitted that it would have been a routine matter of design choice to modify the method of Li et al., as modified by Liu et al., such that it comprises wherein the plurality of inclined plates are polypropylene (PP) plates.in order to, for example, use materials which are inert and not interfere with biological reactions occurring in the process. Further, the examiner notes that applicant has not provided for the record a proper showing of any new and unexpected result obtained by using a plurality of inclined plates comprising polypropylene (PP) plates.
Per claim 7, Li et al., as modified by Liu et al., disclose wherein in step (2), a sludge return pipe communicating with the biochemical reaction tank is provided at a bottom of the granular sludge sedimentation tank (see Li et al., Fig. 2, the conduit at bottom of sedimentation tank I; see Liu et al. Fig. 2, line 21).
Per claim 8, Li et al. do not disclose wherein in step (3), an agent-feeding
device communicating with a front end of the inclined plate sedimentation tank is provided outside the inclined plate sedimentation tank, and when the light flocculent sludge in the sludge-water mixture in step (2) is allowed to flow into the inclined plate sedimentation tank, a coagulant is fed in the front of the inclined plate sedimentation tank through the agent-feeding device.
Liu et al. disclose wherein in step (3), an agent-feeding device (15) communicating with a front end of the inclined plate sedimentation tank is provided outside the inclined plate sedimentation tank (Fig. 2), and when light flocculent sludge in the sludge-water mixture in step (2) is allowed to flow into the inclined plate sedimentation tank, a coagulant is fed in the front of the inclined plate sedimentation tank through the agent-feeding device ([0010] According to the first stage natural clarifying treatment of the clarified liquid into the second-stage inclined plate settling zone 17, through agent spray device 15 medicine adding chemical phosphorous removal and co-coagulating sedimentation treatment. the L type hydraulic mixing device 16 under the hydraulic action, suspending sludge layer 18 slowly rotate to generate sufficient contact flocculation reaction so as to precipitate the fine particulate contaminants of the further precipitate removed in the inclined plate sedimentation component of middle layer 19.; [0044] …the suspended sludge layer 18 slowly rotate to generate sufficient contact flocculation reaction to settle, clear fine particulate contaminants remaining in the inclined plate sedimentation component of middle layer 19 removed in further precipitation, after precipitation from the secondary reservoir 20 to overflow.) in order to, for example, facilitate pooling the sludge at the bottom of the sedimentation tank and returning at least a portion of the sludge to biochemical reaction tank ([0044] …the suspension mud layer 18 deposited at the bottom of the sludge lift pump returns to the biochemical treatment system is composed of a water inlet through mud return pipe 21.) in order to, for example, facilitate enhanced separation of sludge from water.
Accordingly, it would have been readily obvious for the skilled artisan to modify the method of Li et al. such that it comprises wherein in step (3), an agent-feeding device communicating with a front end of the inclined plate sedimentation tank is provided outside the inclined plate sedimentation tank, and when the light flocculent sludge in the sludge-water mixture in step (2) is allowed to flow into the inclined plate sedimentation tank, a coagulant is fed in the front of the inclined plate sedimentation tank through the agent-feeding device in order to, for example, facilitate enhanced separation of sludge from water.
Per claim 9, Li et al. disclose a system for a continuous-flow AGS process with an improved two-stage sedimentation (abstract, The invention can realize granulation of aerobic sludge by in continuous flow mode, high working efficiency and low cost.) with an improved two-stage sedimentation (abstract, An adjustable two-stage precipitation cell aerobic granular sludge device), comprising a biochemical reaction tank (A, D; page 2, Further, the main body part of the reaction device is divided into a water inlet section and biochemical section), a granular sludge sedimentation tank (I; abstract, the mud precipitating zone I…), and a plate sedimentation tank (II comprising plate 11; abstract, the sludge settling region II…), wherein the biochemical reaction tank, the granular sludge sedimentation tank, and the plate sedimentation tank are connected sequentially (Fig. 2); wherein a sludge return pipe communicating with the biochemical reaction tank is provided at a bottom of the granular sludge sedimentation tank (Fig. 2, the conduit at the bottom of sedimentation tank I). Li et al. do not disclose the plate sedimentation tank is an inclined plate sedimentation tank, an inclined device is provided inside the plate sedimentation tank, wherein the inclined device is configured to promote polymerization of tiny flocculent suspended matters into large flocs.
Liu et al., also directed to an aerobic granular sludge system ([0013] …forming a solid granular activated sludge of aerobic granular sludge), disclose providing an inclined plate sedimentation tank ([0044] 5, inclined plate settling zone 17, through first-stage natural clarifying clear liquid enters the inclined plate depositing of the second stage 17,) and providing an inclined device ([0044] clear fine particulate contaminants remaining in the inclined plate sedimentation component of middle layer 19 removed in further precipitation) inside the inclined plate sedimentation tank (Figs. 2, 7) wherein the inclined device is configured to promote polymerization of tiny flocculent suspended matter into large flocs ([0010] According to the first stage natural clarifying treatment of the clarified liquid into the second-stage inclined plate settling zone 17, through agent spray device 15 medicine adding chemical phosphorous removal and co-coagulating sedimentation treatment. the L type hydraulic mixing device 16 under the hydraulic action, suspending sludge layer 18 slowly rotate to generate sufficient contact flocculation reaction so as to precipitate the fine particulate contaminants of the further precipitate removed in the inclined plate sedimentation component of middle layer 19.; [0044] …the suspended sludge layer 18 slowly rotate to generate sufficient contact flocculation reaction to settle, clear fine particulate contaminants remaining in the inclined plate sedimentation component of middle layer 19 removed in further precipitation, after precipitation from the secondary reservoir 20 to overflow.) in order to, for example, facilitate pooling the sludge at the bottom of the sedimentation tank and returning at least a portion of the sludge to biochemical reaction tank ([0044] …the suspension mud layer 18 deposited at the bottom of the sludge lift pump returns to the biochemical treatment system is composed of a water inlet through mud return pipe 21.).
Accordingly, it would have been readily obvious for the skilled artisan to modify the system of Li et al. such that it comprises the plate sedimentation tank is an inclined plate sedimentation tank, an inclined device is provided inside the plate sedimentation tank, wherein the inclined device is configured to promote polymerization of tiny flocculent suspended matters into large flocs in order to, for example, facilitate pooling the sludge at the bottom of the sedimentation tank and returning at least a portion of the sludge to biochemical reaction tank.
Per claim 10, Li et al. do not disclose wherein the inclined plate device
comprises a plurality of inclined plates or inclined pipes arranged in parallel, an inclined direction of each of the plurality of inclined plates or inclined pipes is oriented towards an effluent direction of the inclined plate sedimentation tank, and a clarification-separation zone is formed among the plurality of inclined plates or inclined pipes;
an agent-feeding port is formed at a top of the inclined plate sedimentation tank, and an agent-feeding device communicating with the agent-feeding port is provided outside the inclined plate sedimentation tank;
a plurality of vertical plates are provided inside the inclined plate sedimentation tank, the plurality of vertical plates are arranged below the agent-feeding port, the plurality of vertical plates and a wall of the inclined plate sedimentation tank enclose agent mixing zones, and the agent mixing zones are located at a front part of the inclined plate device;
a corresponding agent-feeding port is formed above each of the agent mixing zones; and
a surplus sludge discharge port configured to discharge surplus sludge in a system is provided at a bottom of the inclined plate sedimentation tank.
Liu et al. disclose wherein the inclined plate device comprises a plurality of inclined plates or inclined pipes arranged in parallel, an inclined direction of each of the plurality of inclined plates or inclined pipes is oriented towards an effluent direction of the inclined plate sedimentation tank (Figs. 2, 7; [0044] clear fine particulate contaminants remaining in the inclined plate sedimentation component of middle layer 19 removed in further precipitation), and a clarification-separation zone is formed among the plurality of inclined plates or inclined pipes ([0044] clear fine particulate contaminants remaining in the inclined plate sedimentation component of middle layer 19 removed in further precipitation);
an agent-feeding port is formed at a top of the inclined plate sedimentation tank (Fig. 7; in communication with device 15), and an agent-feeding device (15) communicating with the agent-feeding port is provided outside the inclined plate sedimentation tank (Fig. 7);
a plurality of vertical plates are provided inside the inclined plate sedimentation tank (Fig. 7), the plurality of vertical plates are arranged below the agent-feeding port (Fig. 7), the plurality of vertical plates and a wall of the inclined plate sedimentation tank enclose agent mixing zones (Fig. 7, [0044] 5, inclined plate settling zone 17, through first-stage natural clarifying clear liquid enters the inclined plate depositing of the second stage 17, through agent spray device 15 medicine adding chemical phosphorous removal and co-coagulating sedimentation treatment. the L type hydraulic mixing device 16 under the water, the suspended sludge layer 18 slowly rotate to generate sufficient contact flocculation reaction to settle, clear fine particulate contaminants remaining in the inclined plate sedimentation component of middle layer 19 removed in further precipitation,), and the agent mixing zones are located at a front part of the inclined plate device (Fig. 7); and
a surplus sludge discharge port (Fig. 2, in communication with line 21) configured to discharge surplus sludge in a system is provided at a bottom of the inclined plate sedimentation tank in order to, for example, facilitate pooling the sludge at the bottom of the sedimentation tank and returning at least a portion of the sludge to biochemical reaction tank.
Accordingly, it would have been readily obvious for the skilled artisan to modify the system of Li et al. such that it includes a plurality of inclined plates or inclined pipes arranged in parallel, an inclined direction of each of the plurality of inclined plates or inclined pipes is oriented towards an effluent direction of the inclined plate sedimentation tank, and a clarification-separation zone is formed among the plurality of inclined plates or inclined pipes; an agent-feeding port is formed at a top of the inclined plate sedimentation tank, and an agent-feeding device communicating with the agent-feeding port is provided outside the inclined plate sedimentation tank; a plurality of vertical plates are provided inside the inclined plate sedimentation tank, the plurality of vertical plates are arranged below the agent-feeding port, the plurality of vertical plates and a wall of the inclined plate sedimentation tank enclose agent mixing zones, and the agent mixing zones are located at a front part of the inclined plate device; and a surplus sludge discharge port configured to discharge surplus sludge in a system is provided at a bottom of the inclined plate sedimentation tank in order to, for example, facilitate pooling the sludge at the bottom of the sedimentation tank and returning at least a portion of the sludge to biochemical reaction tank.
Regarding a corresponding agent-feeding port is formed above each of the agent mixing zones, it is submitted that it would have been well within the purview of the skilled artisan to provide an agent-feeding port is formed above each of the agent mixing zones in order to, for example, ensure adequate agent is in each of the zones to enhance flocculation of sludge particles.
Conclusion
/FRED PRINCE/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1779