DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
2. Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, and species of 3-
in the reply filed on April 1, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the claims are linked by a special technical feature, which is the mixture of claim 16. This argument has been considered, however, it is not found to be persuasive. Claim 16 is generic to a core structure of 3-pyrazole and also to a polymerizable compound. Moreover, the claims were rejected under prior art in this office action.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
3. Examination followed guidelines provided by MPEP 803.02. The elected species was obvious over the prior art. Therefore, the Markush claims were rejected and nonelected species were withdrawn from further consideration. The claims were searched to the extent of the elected species.
4. Claims 27-30 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected subject matter. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on January 8, 2026.
Status of Claims
5. Claims 16-30 are pending. Claims 16-26 are elected. Claim 16 is independent.
Priority
6. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
7. The information disclosure statements (dated November 3, 2023 and November 21, 2023) were in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 37 CFR 1.98. The statements were considered. Signed copies of form 1449 are enclosed herewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claim(s) 16-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2007063031 (see also machine translation of the reference). The reference has a publication date of 2007 which antedates the present claims having an effective filing date of April 11, 2022 and priority claim to foreign application dated April 20, 2021.
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art
The reference teaches mixtures of polymerizable compounds and stabilizers that inhibit polymerization. Paragraph [0003] of machine translation. The reference teaches that these inhibitors are, for example, acrylic acid and methacrylic acid as their esters. Paragraph [0007] machine translation. The polymerizable compounds are ethylene-unsaturated compounds or mixtures thereof, including the compounds of structure
, wherein W, X and Y are H, NR1R2, OR3, C1-20 alkyl, C2-20 alkenyl, halogen. Machine translation paragraph [0006], abstract.
Specific embodiments include various compounds such as
(Example 6, page 19) which correspond to the core structure of the present claims of 4-hydroxy pyrazole and variable R5 of alkyl of the present claims.
Specific embodiments include various compounds such as
(Example 11, page 21) which corresponds to variable R1 being C1-6 alkyl of the present claims.
Specific embodiments include various compounds such as
(Example 19, page 24) which corresponds to variable R2 of alkyl of the present claims.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue
The difference between the prior art and the present claims including the elected species is the specific substituent to the pyrazole ring.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art - considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness
MPEP 2143 B provides basic requirements of prima facie case of obviousness including examples of rationale of the simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. To reject a claim based on this rationale the following is considered below and applied to the present claims:
A finding that the prior art method differs from claimed method by the substitution of some component with another component
WO2007063031 does not teach the specific substituents of the elected species.
A finding that the substituted components and their functions were known in the art
WO2007063031 teaches generically the claimed substituent corresponding to the elected species of R1=methyl, R2=ethyl; R3=methyl; 4-hydroxy; R5=methyl. The reference further teaches specific embodiments containing these substitutions.
a finding that one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted one known element for another, and the results of the substitution would have been predictable
One of ordinary skill has the knowledge that the variables to the core pyrazole ring are substituents that predictably lead to the compounds that are polymerization inhibitors.
Paragraph [0098] teach total amount of inhibitor compound that is 0.1% of the weight based on the total amount of polymerizable compounds – corresponding to claim 21.
Moreover, the optimization of amounts is within routine experimentation – corresponding to claims 22, 24, and 26.
For the reasons provided above, the present claims to the elected species are found to be prima facie obvious over the prior art.
Double Patenting
9. Claims 16-26 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 14, 17-23 and 27-32 of copending Application No. 17,780,573 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the reasons provided below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Determination of Scope and Contents of the Copending Application
The claims are drawn to a mixture comprising one or more compounds of general formula (II)
Embodiments of the compounds of Formula II include, for example,
(page 64)
(page 66).
Ascertaining the differences between claims of patent and claims at issue
The difference between the claims of the copending application and the present claims including the elected species is the specific substituent to the pyrazole ring.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art - Prima Facie Case of
Obviousness
MPEP 2144.08.11.A.4(c) states "...consider teachings of a preferred species within the
genus. If such a species is structurally similar to that claimed, its disclosure may
motivate on of ordinary skill in the art to choose the claimed species or subgenus from
the genus, based on the reasonable expectation that structurally similar species usually
have similar properties." This is a "Genus-Species Guidelines” for the examination
based on 35 USC 103. An analogous guideline was followed here for the analysis of
obviousness type double patenting, moreover, the following guidelines of MPEP 2143 B.
MPEP 2143 B provides basic requirements of prima facie case of obviousness including examples of rationale of the simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. To reject a claim based on this rationale the following is considered below and applied to the present claims:
A finding that the prior art method differs from claimed method by the substitution of some component with another component
The specific embodiments of the copending application does not teach the specific substituents of the elected species.
A finding that the substituted components and their functions were known in the art
The copending application generically the claimed substituent corresponding to the elected species of R1=methyl, R2=ethyl; R3=methyl; 4-hydroxy; R5=methyl. The copending application further teaches specific embodiments containing these substitutions.
a finding that one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted one known element for another, and the results of the substitution would have been predictable
One of ordinary skill has the knowledge that the variables to the core pyrazole ring are substituents that predictably lead to the compounds that are polymerization inhibitors.
Claims 18-21 are directed to the amount of inhibitor corresponding to claims 21, 22, 24, and 26.
For the reasons provided above, the present claims to the elected species are prima facie obvious over the claims of the copending application.
Conclusion
/SUN JAE YOO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1621