DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the embedded gear reducer, as set forth in claim 13, line 2, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.84(a) because Figures 11, 13, and 16 are not of sufficient quality such that all details in the drawings are reproducible in black and white in the printed patent.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.84 for including extraneous written matter in Figures 11, 14, and 15. Written matter is reserved the specification, wherein the description of the drawings is used to describe the drawing views. See MPEP 608.01(F).
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.84(h)(1) because Figures 2 and 4 include an exploded view, on the same page as other views, where the separated parts of the invention are not embraced by a bracket.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.84(h) and 37 CFR 1.84(u) because Figures 11, 13a, 13b, and 16 include multiple views without their own labels, and therefore the views are not “clearly separated from one another”. Further, “[t]he different views must be numbered in consecutive Arabic numerals”.
Specification
The abstract is objected to for including a phrase which can be implied. See “Disclosed is” in line 1. See MPEP 608.01(b). The Examiner notes simply removing the phrase and beginning the abstract with --A reconfigurable rotary series elastic element…-- would place the abstract in proper form and overcome the objection. Appropriate correction is required.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-7, and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DE 2246449 (Frost; the citations of which are taken from the attached translation).
Regarding claim 1, Frost discloses a reconfigurable rotary series elastic element (see Figures 1 and 2) comprising:
an inner tension spring mount (11, 12);
an outer tension spring mount (8, 9); and
a plurality of tension springs (10a, 10b) connected between the inner tension spring mount and outer tension spring mount (see Figures 1 and 2), wherein a position at which each spring connects to one or both of the inner tension spring mount and outer tension spring mount:
can be changed to adjust a relationship between an output torque and deflection angle of the RSEE (see paragraphs [0004] and [0007]); and
is configured such that, during relative rotation of the inner tension spring mount and outer tension spring mount, an amount of tension in at least one said tension spring differs from an amount of tension in at least one other said tension spring (see paragraphs [0004] and [0007]).
Regarding claim 3, Frost discloses the outer tension spring (8, 9) mount comprises a plurality of spaced hitching holes (shown accepting 9 in Figure 2) defining locations at which the tension springs can be selected to connect to the outer tension spring mount (see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 4, Frost discloses each tension spring (10a, 10b) connects to the outer tension spring mount by a connecting shaft (9; see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 5, Frost discloses each tension spring (10a, 10b) defines an angle between the inner tension spring mount (11, 12) and outer tension spring mount (8, 9; see Figure 1), and wherein the relationship can be adjusted by offsetting the angle of one or more of the tension springs (see paragraph [0004]).
Regarding claim 6, Frost discloses the relationship can be adjusted by changing a pretension length of one or more of the tension springs (10a, 10b; see paragraph [0007]).
Regarding claim 7, Frost discloses the relationship can be adjusted by changing adding or removing tension springs (10a, 10b) between the inner tension spring mount (11, 12) and outer tension spring mount (8, 9; see paragraph [0007]).
Regarding claim 9, Frost discloses a series elastic actuator (see Figures 1 and 2) comprising:
a RSEE according to claim 1 (see rejection above); and
a driving assembly (see paragraph [0005]) for driving one of the inner tension spring mount (11, 12) and outer tension spring mount (8, 9).
Regarding claim 10, Frost discloses the driving assembly drives the inner tension spring mount (11, 12; see paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 11, Frost discloses a housing for housing the RSEE (see, e.g., 17 in Figure 2).
Claims 1, 7, and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2015/0174762 (Ko).
Regarding claim 1, Ko discloses a reconfigurable rotary series elastic element (see Figures 1-5) comprising:
an inner tension spring mount (300);
an outer tension spring mount (100); and
a plurality of tension springs (500) connected between the inner tension spring mount and outer tension spring mount, wherein a position at which each spring connects to one or both of the inner tension spring mount and outer tension spring mount (see Figure 1):
can be changed to adjust a relationship between an output torque and deflection angle of the RSEE (see paragraph [0023]); and
is configured such that, during relative rotation of the inner tension spring mount and outer tension spring mount, an amount of tension in at least one said tension spring differs from an amount of tension in at least one other said tension spring (see paragraphs [0023], [0028], [0029], [0035]).
Regarding claim 7, Ko discloses the relationship can be adjusted by changing adding or removing tension springs (500) between the inner tension spring mount (300) and outer tension spring mount (100; see paragraph [0031])..
Regarding claim 9, Ko discloses a series elastic actuator (SEA) comprising:
a RSEE according to claim 1 (see rejection above); and
a driving assembly for driving one of the inner tension spring mount (300) and outer tension spring mount (100; via movable link, see paragraph [0034]).
Regarding claim 10, Ko discloses the driving assembly (movable link, see paragraph [0034]) drives the inner tension spring mount (300).
Regarding claim 11, Ko discloses a housing for housing the RSEE (formed by the actuator and link shown in Figure 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frost.
Frost discloses a RSEE according to claim 1, wherein the inner tension spring mount (11, 12) is an inner plate, and the inner plate being disposed in the interior of the outer plate (e.g., between parts of outer plate (see Figures 1 and 2), but does not expressly disclose the outer tension spring mount (8, 9) comprises two outer plates
Applicant is reminded that it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Gazda, 219 F.2d 449, 104 USPQ 400 (CCPA 1955). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the RSEE of Frost such that the inner tension spring mount is an inner plate, and wherein the outer tension spring mount comprises two outer plates, the inner plate being disposed between the outer plates, as such a modification would involve only routine skill in the art via reversal of the essential working parts of the device of Frost such that there are two outer plates and a single inner plate instead of two inner plates and a single outer plate.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frost in view of US 5,385,018 (Kohno).
Frost teaches a RSEE according to claim 2, but does not expressly disclose two bearings disposed on opposite sides of the inner plate, between the inner plate and outer plates.
Kohno teaches two bearings (43) disposed on opposite sides of the inner plate, between the inner plate (42) and outer plates (41) in order to position the inner plate and outer plates relative to each other while permitting relative angular displacement (see Figure 2 and column 5, lines 25-47). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the RSEE of Frost such that two bearings are disposed on opposite sides of the inner plate, between the inner plate and outer plates, as taught in Kohno, in order to position the inner plate and outer plates relative to each other while permitting relative angular displacement.
Claims 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frost in view of US 2020/0139562 (Schmitz).
Regarding claim 12, Frost discloses a SEA according to claim 9, but does not expressly disclose a first angle measurer for measuring changes in an angle of the inner tension spring mount (11, 12), and a second angle measurer for measuring changes in an angle of the outer tension spring mount (8, 9).
Schmitz teaches a first angle measurer (17A) for measuring changes in an angle of an inner mount (e.g. 23), and a second angle measurer (17B) for measuring changes in an angle of an outer mount (e.g. 21, 22; see Figure 1) in order to ensure safe operating conditions in the event of an abnormal situation (see paragraph [0028]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the RSEE of Frost such that first angle measurer for measuring changes in an angle of the inner tension spring mount, and a second angle measurer for measuring changes in an angle of the outer tension spring mount, as taught in Schmitz, in order to ensure safe operating conditions in the event of an abnormal situation.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Frost and Schmitz teaches the driving assembly comprises a motor for providing driving force (see paragraph [0005] of Frost), an embedded gear reducer (an inherent feature of a stepper motor; see US 8,869,964 to Barry column 3, lines 54-63), an output shaft (6 of Frost) connected to the inner tension spring mount (11, 12 of Frost) and the first angle measurer (17A of Schmitz).
Regarding claim 14, Frost teaches a shaft sleeve (see, e.g., 17 or the unnumbered sleeved on top of 6 in Figure 2) to fix a position of the output shaft (6) along an axis of rotation of the inner tension spring mount (11, 12; see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 15, Schmitz teaches each angle measurer is an encoder (see paragraph [0028]).
Regarding claim 16, Schmitz teaches each encoder is a rotary encoder (see paragraph [0028]).
Conclusion
The prior art set forth in the attached Notice of References Cited (PTO-892) made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Josh Skroupa/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678
September 9, 2025