CONTINUING DATA
This application is a 371 of PCT/GB2022/050956 04/19/2022
FOREIGN APPLICATIONS
UNITED KINGDOM 212105576.9 04/19/2021
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, claims 31-32, 34, and 41 in the reply filed on April 9, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-2, 5, 10, 12, 25-26, 42-43, 45, 47-48, 56, and 66-68 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on April 9, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 31-32 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 31 recites ameliorating a SARS-CoV-2 pneumonia, but then further recites that the pneumonia is of bacterial or viral origin. It is unclear whether a SARS-CoV-2 pneumonia is required, or whether any bacterial or viral pneumonia is encompassed by the claim. Claim 32 depends from claim 31 and incorporates the same limitation by reference.
Claim 34 recites a coronavirus such as SARS-COV-2. The phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 31-32 and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Coldguard (cited on IDS).
Coldguard teaches that Flavobac Cold & Flu Guard is an oral and nasal barrier against SARS-CoV-2. It is supplied as a spray. Administration of a nasal spray would necessarily result in inhalation to the lung. Flavobac prevents viruses from entering the body and effectively deactivates them, and kills SARS-CoV-2. See page 1.
Amelioration encompasses prophylaxis (see paragraph [0030] of the current specification), so the claims do not require that the subject has SARS-CoV-2 pneumonia or cytokine storm.
Flavobac inherently meets the limitations of the composition recited in the claims because it is the same composition used in the current specification, which contains 52% naringin and 27.8% neohesperidin.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 31-32, 34, and 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coldguard (cited on IDS) in view of Flavobac (internet article, https://web.archive.org/web/20201201013909/https://www.oralscience.ca/fr/ingredients/flavobac/, dated December 2020), and Dabaghian (cited on IDS).
Coldguard teaches that Flavobac Cold & Flu Guard is an oral and nasal barrier against SARS-CoV-2. It is supplied as a spray. Administration of a nasal spray would necessarily result in inhalation to the lung. Flavobac prevents viruses from entering the body and effectively deactivates them, and kills SARS-CoV-2. See page 1.
Flavobac is used to kill and prevent viruses from entering the body. Coldguard does not teach administration of Flavobac to a subject suffering from SARS-CoV-2 pneumonia, a cytokine storm caused by infection by a coronavirus, or a subject having a SARS-CoV-2 infection wherein active viremia has been brought under control.
Flavobac teaches that the main components of Flavobac are naringin and neohesperidin. Page 2.
Dabaghian teaches that naringin and neohesperidin may be used to manage and prevent COVID-19. See all four paragraphs.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to administer Flavobac to a patient suffering from SARS-CoV-2 in order to manage the infection because Flavobac kills SARS-CoV-2. Furthermore, the main components of Flavobac are taught to not only prevent, but to manage COVID-19, so the skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to administer Flavobac after the onset of symptoms in order to manage the condition as suggested by the cited references.
Amelioration encompasses prophylaxis (see paragraph [0030] of the current specification), so the claims do not require that the subject has pneumonia or is experiencing a cytokine storm or has adverse effects of an infection.
Flavobac inherently meets the limitations of the composition recited in the claims because it is the same composition used in the current specification, which contains 52% naringin and 27.8% neohesperidin.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/LAYLA D BERRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1693