DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-7, 12, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakata (JP 2020-050822A), wherein the machine English translation is used for citation.
Regarding claims 1, 4, 5, and 12; Sakata teaches, in a preferred embodiment, a laser transmissive resin composition comprising 100 parts by weight PBT (polybutylene terephthalate resin; polyester-based resin (A)), 0.26 parts by weight of Pigment Yellow 180, and glass fiber (inorganic filler (C)) [Table1, Ex2]. Sakata teaches the CIE L* value is preferably 17 or less [032] and the transmittance of a molded product having a thickness of 1mm is preferably 25% or more (overlaps with 40% or greater) [033].
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990), see MPEP §2144.05. At the time of filing, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to employ a resin composition having a transmittance 40% or greater, and would have been motivated to do so since Sakata teaches it suitable that the resin composition has a transmittance of 25% or more in order to achieve particulars of the present invention.
Regarding claim 6; Sakata teaches the composition may include a mixture of thermoplastic resins in addition to polybutylene terephthalate resin, such as polyetherimide (amorphous resin) [011]. It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions (in this case compounds) each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose; the idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art. See In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980), see MPEP §2144.06.
Regarding claims 7, 19, and 20; Sakata teaches a molded article formed using the laser transmissive resin [043-044].
Claim(s) 2, 3, 9-11, and 13-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakata (JP 2020-050822A), wherein the machine English translation is used for citation, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cole et al. (US Serial No. 2008/0124498).
Sakata teaches the basic claimed composition, as set forth above, with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claims 2-3; Sakata teaches the composition may further include pigments, e.g. yellow, green, and red, to achieve a blacker appearance, however fails to explicitly require, in addition to Pigment Yellow 180 [Table1, Ex2], Pigment Blue 15:3 or 16, and Pigment Red 149. Cole et al. teaches laser markings of pigmented substrates, wherein a coating or film comprising a polymer and a colorant selected from Pigment Red 149, Pigment Yellow 180, Pigment Blue 15:3, and/or Pigment Blue 16 [0033-0036]. Sakata and Cole et al. are analogous art because they are both concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely resin composition that allows for laser marking. At the time of filing, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to add Pigment Red 149 and Pigment Blue 15:3 or Pigment Blue 16, as taught by Cole et al., to the composition of Sakata, and would have been motivated to do so in order to achieve a desired color of said composition. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that choosing a “color” (e.g. adding a specific pigment or combination of pigments), is an aesthetic design choice, and adding a colorant in order to achieve a desired color is well within the knowledge of ordinary skill in the art. See MEPE 2144.04 (I); Seid, 161 F.2d 229, 73 USPQ 431 (CCPA 1947).
Regarding claims 8-11; Sakata teaches, in a preferred embodiment, a laser transmissive resin composition comprising PBT (polybutylene terephthalate resin; polyester-based resin (A)), and glass fiber (inorganic filler (C)) [Table1, Ex2].
Regarding claims 13-16; Sakata teaches the composition may include a mixture of thermoplastic resins in addition to polybutylene terephthalate resin, such as polyetherimide (amorphous resin) [011]. It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions (in this case compounds) each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose; the idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art. See In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980), see MPEP §2144.06.
Regarding claims 17 and 18; Sakata teaches a molded article formed using the laser transmissive resin [043-044].
Correspondence
/JESSICA M ROSWELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767