Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election of Group I, claims 1-5, in the reply filed on June 16, 2026 is acknowledged. Applicant argues that US 6,045,944 does not disclose or render obvious that the spot-shaped or tail-shaped welding trajectory beginning portion is formed on an inner side of the circular welding trajectory of the battery exterior cap. This is not found persuasive because Hosokawa discloses a method of manufacturing a secondary battery (abstract). The method includes inserting a battery assembly 11 into a battery casing (outer can 12; ¶¶ 3, 53, 55); injecting an electrolyte solution into the battery casing (¶¶ 3, 55); arranging a battery exterior cap with an electrode in an opening of the battery casing (¶¶ 3, 15, 55-57; figs 2A-B; 3B); welding and sealing the battery exterior cap along a circular trajectory (¶¶ 8, 15-16, 51, 82-87); the sealing including forming a welding trajectory beginning portion on the battery exterior cap and performing welding along the circular trajectory from the welding trajectory beginning portion (¶¶ 27-28, 74-48, 82, 87; figs. 5A-C); wherein the welding trajectory beginning portion is spot-shaped or tail-shaped (marks 32B-C; ¶¶ 75-78); and wherein the welding trajectory beginning portion that is spot-shaped or tail-shaped is formed on an inner side of the circular welding trajectory of the battery exterior cap (¶¶ 16, 27, 57, 77; figs. 3B-D, 5B, 8A).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hosokawa (US 2011/0240613).
Claim 1: Hosokawa discloses a method of manufacturing a secondary battery (abstract). The method includes inserting a battery assembly 11 into a battery casing (outer can 12; ¶¶ 3, 53, 55); injecting an electrolyte solution into the battery casing (¶¶ 3, 55); arranging a battery exterior cap with an electrode in an opening of the battery casing (¶¶ 3, 15, 55-57; figs 2A-B; 3B); welding and sealing the battery exterior cap along a circular trajectory (¶¶ 8, 15-16, 51, 82-87); the sealing including forming a welding trajectory beginning portion on the battery exterior cap and performing welding along the circular trajectory from the welding trajectory beginning portion (¶¶ 27-28, 74-48, 82, 87; figs. 5A-C); wherein the welding trajectory beginning portion is spot-shaped or tail-shaped (marks 32B-C; ¶¶ 75-78); and wherein the welding trajectory beginning portion that is spot-shaped or tail-shaped is formed on an inner side of the circular welding trajectory of the battery exterior cap (¶¶ 16, 27, 57, 77; figs. 3B-D, 5B, 8A).
Claim 2: Hosokawa discloses laser welding is used in the sealing (¶¶ 3, 15, 55-58, 75).
Claim 3: Hosokawa discloses an ambient temperature of the welding trajectory beginning portio of the battery exterior cap is approximately 660 C (¶¶ aluminum-based weld marks; ¶¶ 17-18, 28, 53, 65, 75-77).
Claim 5: Hosokawa discloses the laser energy being 5.7-57 J (¶¶ 22, 61-76).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosokawa (US 2011/0240613), as applied to claim 2 above, in view of Trinh (Trinh, L.N.; Lee, D. The Characteristics of Laser Welding of a Thin Aluminum Tab and Steel Battery Case for Lithium-Ion Battery. Metals 2020, 10, 842).
Hosokawa discloses laser welding but is silent as to the laser wavelength range of laser used in the welding being 100 nm to 1500 nm. However, Trinh teaches laser welding of a lithium-ion battery case with a fiber laser having a wavelength of 1064 nm (section 2.2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to have used a 1064 nm fiber laser as Hosokawa’s laser welding equipment, as taught by Trihn, because it is a conventional, commercially available source for laser welding battery cases with predictable results, as taught by Trihn (sections 1, 2.2).
Conclusion
/LARRY W THROWER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1754