DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhao (US 20190327724 A1).
Zhao disclose a method and apparatus for feedback information carried in SCI with the following features: regarding claim 1, a first user equipment (UE) device comprising: a receiver configured to receive, from a base station, configuration information instructing the first UE device to randomize selection of a discovery resource pool for discovery transmissions; and a controller configured to randomly select the discovery resource pool from a plurality of discovery resource pools, at least one of the plurality of discovery resource pools is a discovery resource pool that is separate from a data resource pool, at least one of the plurality of discovery resource pools is a shared discovery and data resource pool (Fig. 1, shows a D2D communication transmission mechanism, see teachings in [0004-0006, 0045-0046, 0117] summarized as “a first user equipment (UE) device comprising: a receiver configured to receive, from a base station, configuration information instructing the first UE device to randomize selection of a discovery resource pool for discovery transmissions (i.e. the D2D technology is discussed in 3GPP. In long term evolution (LTE) Rel. 12, data is transmitted through broadcast in the D2D technology, and the D2D technology includes two features: discovery and communication. The discovery means that a terminal periodically broadcasts information, so that a terminal surrounding the terminal can detect the information and discover the user. The communication means that direct data transmission is performed between two terminals, and a mechanism of scheduling assignment (SA)+data is used, as shown in fig. 1. The SA is state information used to indicate data sent from a transmit end. The SA carries sidelink control information (SCI). The SCI includes time-frequency resource information of the data, a modulation and coding scheme (MCS), and the like. A receive end can receive the data based on an indication of the SCI. A communication mode of a D2D system is further divided into two working modes. Mode 1 is shown in fig. 1(a) , and Mode 2 is shown in fig. 1(b). In Mode 1, a base station allocates a determined time-frequency resource in a resource pool to each D2D terminal for D2D transmission of the terminal. In Mode 2, a terminal randomly selects an SA resource from an SA resource pool, and randomly selects a data resource from a data resource pool for D2D transmission. A receive terminal blindly detects SA in the SA resource pool, and then detects data on a corresponding resource in the data resource pool by using time-frequency resource information indicated in the SA. Wherein the base station may configure different resource pools such as a discovery resource pool, an SA resource pool, and a data resource pool. A transmission resource used for the data is indicated by the SCI in the SA [0004-0006, 0045]), and a controller configured to randomly select the discovery resource pool from a plurality of discovery resource pools, at least one of the plurality of discovery resource pools is a discovery resource pool that is separate from a data resource pool, at least one of the plurality of discovery resource pools is a shared discovery and data resource pool (i.e. if the D2D terminal is in a coverage area of a cell, a transmission resource pool is allocated to the D2D terminal in a manner of configuration by a base station or in a pre-configuration manner for data transmission of the D2D terminal. The resource pool is a set of transmission resources, and is time-frequency resource information that is configured by the base station or is preconfigured for D2D transmission. As shown in fig. 3, the base station may configure different resource pools such as a discovery resource pool, an SA resource pool, and a data resource pool. A transmission resource used for the data is indicated by the SCI in the SA. The terminal transmits a signal or listens for a signal in a corresponding resource pool based on resource pool information broadcast by the base station or based on preconfigured resource pool information, to implement D2D transmission. The D2D terminal randomly selects an SA resource from an SA resource pool, and randomly selects a data resource from a data resource pool for D2D transmission. A D2D receive terminal blindly detects SA in the SA resource pool, and then detects data on a corresponding time-frequency resource by using data time-frequency resource information indicated by SCI in the SA. The apparatus (terminal) may include the transceiver 1001 (fig. 9b) and a processor 1002 (controller). The processor 1002 is configured to control an operation of the apparatus, including: performing time-frequency resource mapping (including receiving and/or sending) by using the transceiver 1001 [0045-0046, 0117])’).
Regarding claim 7:
Zhao disclose a method and apparatus for feedback information carried in SCI with the following features: regarding claim 7, a method comprising: receiving, at a first user equipment (UE) device from a base station, configuration information instructing the first UE device to randomize selection of a discovery resource pool for discovery transmissions; and randomly selecting the discovery resource pool from a plurality of discovery resource pools, at least one of the plurality of discovery resource pools is a discovery resource pool that is separate from a data resource pool, at least one of the plurality of discovery resource pools is a shared discovery and data resource pool (Fig. 1, shows a D2D communication transmission mechanism, see teachings in [0004-0006, 0045-0046, 0117] summarized as “a method comprising: receiving, at a first user equipment (UE) device from a base station, configuration information instructing the first UE device to randomize selection of a discovery resource pool for discovery transmissions (i.e. the D2D technology is discussed in 3GPP. In long term evolution (LTE) Rel. 12, data is transmitted through broadcast in the D2D technology, and the D2D technology includes two features: discovery and communication. The discovery means that a terminal periodically broadcasts information, so that a terminal surrounding the terminal can detect the information and discover the user. The communication means that direct data transmission is performed between two terminals, and a mechanism of scheduling assignment (SA)+data is used, as shown in fig. 1. The SA is state information used to indicate data sent from a transmit end. The SA carries sidelink control information (SCI). The SCI includes time-frequency resource information of the data, a modulation and coding scheme (MCS), and the like. A receive end can receive the data based on an indication of the SCI. A communication mode of a D2D system is further divided into two working modes. Mode 1 is shown in fig. 1(a) , and Mode 2 is shown in fig. 1(b). In Mode 1, a base station allocates a determined time-frequency resource in a resource pool to each D2D terminal for D2D transmission of the terminal. In Mode 2, a terminal randomly selects an SA resource from an SA resource pool, and randomly selects a data resource from a data resource pool for D2D transmission. A receive terminal blindly detects SA in the SA resource pool, and then detects data on a corresponding resource in the data resource pool by using time-frequency resource information indicated in the SA. Wherein the base station may configure different resource pools such as a discovery resource pool, an SA resource pool, and a data resource pool. A transmission resource used for the data is indicated by the SCI in the SA [0004-0006, 0045]), and randomly selecting the discovery resource pool from a plurality of discovery resource pools, at least one of the plurality of discovery resource pools is a discovery resource pool that is separate from a data resource pool, at least one of the plurality of discovery resource pools is a shared discovery and data resource pool (i.e. if the D2D terminal is in a coverage area of a cell, a transmission resource pool is allocated to the D2D terminal in a manner of configuration by a base station or in a pre-configuration manner for data transmission of the D2D terminal. The resource pool is a set of transmission resources, and is time-frequency resource information that is configured by the base station or is preconfigured for D2D transmission. As shown in fig. 3, the base station may configure different resource pools such as a discovery resource pool, an SA resource pool, and a data resource pool. A transmission resource used for the data is indicated by the SCI in the SA. The terminal transmits a signal or listens for a signal in a corresponding resource pool based on resource pool information broadcast by the base station or based on preconfigured resource pool information, to implement D2D transmission. The D2D terminal randomly selects an SA resource from an SA resource pool, and randomly selects a data resource from a data resource pool for D2D transmission. A D2D receive terminal blindly detects SA in the SA resource pool, and then detects data on a corresponding time-frequency resource by using data time-frequency resource information indicated by SCI in the SA. The apparatus (terminal) may include the transceiver 1001 (fig. 9b) and a processor 1002 (controller). The processor 1002 is configured to control an operation of the apparatus, including: performing time-frequency resource mapping (including receiving and/or sending) by using the transceiver 1001 [0045-0046, 0117])’).
Claim(s) 2 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (US 20190327724 A1) in view of Kim et al. (US 2016/0278003 A1).
Zhao discloses the claimed limitations as described in paragraph 4 above. Zhao does not expressly disclose the following features: regarding claim 2, wherein the receiver is further configured to receive the configuration information via System Information Block (SIB) messaging; regarding claim 8, wherein the discovery resource pool selection criteria is received via System Information Block (SIB) messaging.
Kim et al. disclose a method for transmitting a discovery message in a wireless communication system supporting communication between user equipments and an apparatus supporting the same with the following features: regarding claim 2, wherein the receiver is further configured to receive the configuration information via System Information Block (SIB) messaging (Fig. 23, is a diagram illustrating a method for sensing a D2D discovery message according to an embodiment of the present invention, see teachings in [0423-0424, 0426, ] summarized as “UE receives discovery resource area configuration information from an eNB at step S2301. The discovery resource area means a candidate region, which is sensed in order for the UE to select a discovery resource in a discovery resource pool based on measured cell measurement information and in which the UE selects the discovery resource. In other words, the discovery resource pool means a resource area which is used by UEs, grouped based on cell measurement information, for a discovery procedure by group. Such a discovery resource area may be dynamically configured for each discovery resource pool. Configuration information about a discovery resource area configured as described above may be periodically broadcasted to UE as system information, such as a System Information Block (SIB) or a Master Information Block (MIB). Furthermore, the configuration information may be transmitted to the UE through RRC signaling or a physical layer channel (e.g., a PDCCH or PDSCH)”); regarding claim 8, wherein the discovery resource pool selection criteria is received via System Information Block (SIB) messaging (Fig. 23, is a diagram illustrating a method for sensing a D2D discovery message according to an embodiment of the present invention, see teachings in [0423-0424, 0426, ] summarized as “UE receives discovery resource area configuration information from an eNB at step S2301. The discovery resource area means a candidate region, which is sensed in order for the UE to select a discovery resource in a discovery resource pool based on measured cell measurement information and in which the UE selects the discovery resource. In other words, the discovery resource pool means a resource area which is used by UEs, grouped based on cell measurement information, for a discovery procedure by group. Such a discovery resource area may be dynamically configured for each discovery resource pool. Configuration information about a discovery resource area configured as described above may be periodically broadcasted to UE as system information, such as a System Information Block (SIB) or a Master Information Block (MIB). Furthermore, the configuration information may be transmitted to the UE through RRC signaling or a physical layer channel (e.g., a PDCCH or PDSCH)”).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Zhao by incorporating the features as taught by Kim et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of receiving the configuration information via System Information Block (SIB) messaging. The motivation is to support an improved method to various vehicle services using autonomous vehicle technologies (see [0001]).
Claim(s) 3 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (US 2019/0327724 A1) in view of Hoang et al. (US 2024/0306145 A1).
Zhao discloses the claimed limitations as described in paragraph 4 above. Zhao does not expressly disclose the following features: regarding claim 3, wherein the controller is further configured to select a discovery resource pool that is separate from a data resource pool, based on whether a second UE device has knowledge of a discovery transmission power that will be used by the first UE device, regardless of whether the randomly selected discovery resource pool is a shared discovery and data resource pool; regarding claim 9, wherein a discovery resource pool that is separate from a data resource pool is selected, based on whether a second UE device has knowledge of a discovery transmission power that will be used by the first UE device, regardless of whether the randomly selected discovery resource pool is a shared discovery and data resource pool.
Hoang et al. disclose methods, devices and systems for sidelink discovery associated with relays with the following features: regarding claim 3, wherein the controller is further configured to select a discovery resource pool that is separate from a data resource pool, based on whether a second UE device has knowledge of a discovery transmission power that will be used by the first UE device, regardless of whether the randomly selected discovery resource pool is a shared discovery and data resource pool (Fig. 2, illustrates an example of a user plane radio protocol stack for layer 2 evolved WTRU-to-Network relay, see teachings in [0181, 0188, 0197] summarized as “A WTRU may be (pre)configured with multiple (e.g., two) resource pools. One resource pool may be used for data transmission and the other resource pool may be used for discovery transmission. The WTRU may be configured with one priority threshold for the data resource pool and another priority threshold for the discovery resource pool. The WTRU may perform resource selection for a (e.g., one) TB in the data resource pool. The WTRU may exclude (e.g., all) the overlapping time/frequency resources with the discovery resource pool, for example, if the priority of the TB is larger/smaller than the (pre)configured priority. A WTRU may perform resource selection for a discovery message in the discovery resource pool. The WTRU may exclude all the overlapping time/frequency resources with the data resource pool, for example, if the priority of the discovery message is larger/smaller than the (pre)configured priority of the discovery resource pool. The WTRU may implicitly/explicitly send the WTRU's transmission power information using one or more (e.g., any combination) of the following: a first SCI; a second SCI; an SL MAC CE; an SL RRC message; a higher layer message; and/or the like. A WTRU may send the WTRU's discovery transmission power (e.g., in an SL RRC message), for example, if the WTRU changes the power of the WTRU's discovery message transmissions (e.g., as a result of one or more triggers, such as described herein). The WTRU may perform resource selection in a shared resource pool between discovery and other data. A WTRU may perform resource selection for discovery transmission in a shared resource pool between discovery and data”); regarding claim 9, wherein a discovery resource pool that is separate from a data resource pool is selected, based on whether a second UE device has knowledge of a discovery transmission power that will be used by the first UE device, regardless of whether the randomly selected discovery resource pool is a shared discovery and data resource pool (Fig. 2, illustrates an example of a user plane radio protocol stack for layer 2 evolved WTRU-to-Network relay, see teachings in [0181, 0188, 0197] summarized as “A WTRU may be (pre)configured with multiple (e.g., two) resource pools. One resource pool may be used for data transmission and the other resource pool may be used for discovery transmission. The WTRU may be configured with one priority threshold for the data resource pool and another priority threshold for the discovery resource pool. The WTRU may perform resource selection for a (e.g., one) TB in the data resource pool. The WTRU may exclude (e.g., all) the overlapping time/frequency resources with the discovery resource pool, for example, if the priority of the TB is larger/smaller than the (pre)configured priority. A WTRU may perform resource selection for a discovery message in the discovery resource pool. The WTRU may exclude all the overlapping time/frequency resources with the data resource pool, for example, if the priority of the discovery message is larger/smaller than the (pre)configured priority of the discovery resource pool. The WTRU may implicitly/explicitly send the WTRU's transmission power information using one or more (e.g., any combination) of the following: a first SCI; a second SCI; an SL MAC CE; an SL RRC message; a higher layer message; and/or the like. A WTRU may send the WTRU's discovery transmission power (e.g., in an SL RRC message), for example, if the WTRU changes the power of the WTRU's discovery message transmissions (e.g., as a result of one or more triggers, such as described herein). The WTRU may perform resource selection in a shared resource pool between discovery and other data. A WTRU may perform resource selection for discovery transmission in a shared resource pool between discovery and data”).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Zhao by incorporating the features as taught by Hoang et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of selecting a discovery resource pool that is separate from a data resource pool, based on whether a second UE device has knowledge of a discovery transmission power that will be used by the first UE device, regardless of whether the randomly selected discovery resource pool is a shared discovery and data resource pool. The motivation is to support an improved method for sidelink discovery associated with relays (see [0003]).
Claim(s) 4 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (US 2019/0327724 A1) in view of Hoang et al. (US 2024/0306145 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 7 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2016/0278003 A1).
Zhao and Hoang et al. disclose the claimed limitations as described in paragraphs 4 and 5 above. Zhao and Hoang et al. do not expressly disclose the following features: regarding claim 4, wherein the first UE device is in-coverage of the base station and the second UE device is out-of-coverage of the base station; regarding claim 10, wherein the first UE device is in-coverage of the base station and the second UE device is out-of-coverage of the base station.
Kim et al. disclose a method for transmitting a discovery message in a wireless communication system supporting communication between user equipments and an apparatus supporting the same with the following features: regarding claim 4, wherein the first UE device is in-coverage of the base station and the second UE device is out-of-coverage of the base station (Fig. 9, shows an example of component carriers and a carrier aggregation in a wireless communication system to which an embodiment of the present invention may be applied, see teachings in [0337, 0351, 0360] summarized as “a discovery resource may be used for a single UE to send a discovery MAC PDU. The transmission of an MAC PDU transmitted by a single UE may be repeated within a discovery cycle (i.e., a radio resource pool) continuously or discontinuously (e.g., four times). UE may randomly select a first discovery resource in a discovery resource set which may be used for the repetitive transmission of an MAC PDU and may determine the remaining discovery resources in relation to the first discovery resource. For example, a specific pattern may be previously determined, and a next discovery resource may be determined according to the predetermined specific pattern depending on the position of a discovery resource first selected by UE. Alternatively, UE may randomly select each discovery resource within a discovery resource set which may be used for the repetitive transmission of an MAC PDU. If UE 1 has a role of sending a discovery message, the UE 1 sends a discovery message, and UE 2 receives the discovery message. The transmission and reception roles of the UE 1 and the UE 2 may be changed. Transmission from the UE 1 may be received by one or more UE(s), such as the UE 2. From fig. 19(b), it may be seen that UE1 placed within network coverage and UE2 placed out of the network coverage perform communication”); regarding claim 10, wherein the first UE device is in-coverage of the base station and the second UE device is out-of-coverage of the base station (Fig. 9, shows an example of component carriers and a carrier aggregation in a wireless communication system to which an embodiment of the present invention may be applied, see teachings in [0337, 0351, 0360] summarized as “a discovery resource may be used for a single UE to send a discovery MAC PDU. The transmission of an MAC PDU transmitted by a single UE may be repeated within a discovery cycle (i.e., a radio resource pool) continuously or discontinuously (e.g., four times). UE may randomly select a first discovery resource in a discovery resource set which may be used for the repetitive transmission of an MAC PDU and may determine the remaining discovery resources in relation to the first discovery resource. For example, a specific pattern may be previously determined, and a next discovery resource may be determined according to the predetermined specific pattern depending on the position of a discovery resource first selected by UE. Alternatively, UE may randomly select each discovery resource within a discovery resource set which may be used for the repetitive transmission of an MAC PDU. If UE 1 has a role of sending a discovery message, the UE 1 sends a discovery message, and UE 2 receives the discovery message. The transmission and reception roles of the UE 1 and the UE 2 may be changed. Transmission from the UE 1 may be received by one or more UE(s), such as the UE 2. From fig. 19(b), it may be seen that UE1 placed within network coverage and UE2 placed out of the network coverage perform communication”).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Zhao with Hoang et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Kim et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of having the first UE device is in-coverage of the base station and the second UE device is out-of-coverage of the base station. The motivation is to support an improved method for transmitting a discovery message in a wireless communication system (see [0001]).
Claim(s) 5 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (US 2019/0327724 A1) in view of Hur (US 2021/0331701 A1).
Zhao discloses the claimed limitations as described in paragraph 4 above. Zhao does not expressly disclose the following features: regarding claim 5, further comprising: a transmitter configured to transmit discovery transmissions utilizing the discovery resource pool randomly selected by the controller; regarding claim 11, further comprising: transmitting, by the first UE device, discovery transmissions utilizing the randomly selected discovery resource pool.
Hur discloses a method and system for an autonomous vehicle capable of linking valet parking to various vehicle services using autonomous vehicle technologies with the following features: regarding claim 5, further comprising: a transmitter configured to transmit discovery transmissions utilizing the discovery resource pool randomly selected by the controller (Fig. 37, shows various scenarios of a sidelink, see teachings in [0501, 0526] summarized as “the scenario of sidelink may be divided into (1) out-of-coverage network, (2) partial-coverage network, and (3) in-coverage network (1) depending on whether UE 1 and UE 2 are located in-coverage or out-of-coverage. A discovery transmit UE randomly selects a specific resource in the radio resource pool and then transmits a discovery message. This periodic discovery resource pool may be allocated for discovery signal transmission in a semi-static manner. Configuration information of the discovery resource pool for discovery transmission includes a discovery period and subframe set and a resource block set information that may be used for the transmission of the discovery signal in the discovery period. Such configuration information of the discovery resource pool may be transmitted to the UE by RRC signaling. In the case of an in-coverage UE, the discovery resource pool for the discovery transmission may be established by the BS and informed to the UE using RRC signaling (e.g., SIB (system information block)). The discovery resource pool allocated for discovery in one discovery period may be multiplexed to time-frequency resource blocks having the same size by TDM and/or FDM, and the time-frequency resource blocks having the same size may be referred to as “discovery resource”. The discovery resource may be divided into one subframe unit, and each subframe may include two resource blocks (RBs) per slot. One discovery resource may be used by a UE for the transmission of a discovery MAC PDU. In addition, the UE may repeatedly transmit the discovery signal within the discovery period for transmission of one transport block. Transmission of the MAC PDU transmitted by one UE may be repeated (e.g., four times) in a discovery cycle (i.e., the radio resource pool) in a contiguous or non-contiguous manner. The number of transmissions of the discovery signal for one transport block may be sent to the UE by higher layer signaling. The UE may randomly select a first discovery resource from a discovery resource set that may be used for repeated transmission of MAC PDUs and other discovery resources may be determined in conjunction with the first discovery resource. For example, a predetermined pattern may be previously set and a next discovery resource may be determined according to the preset pattern according to a location of the first selected discovery resource. In addition, the UE may randomly select each discovery resource within a discovery resource set that the UE may use for repeated transmission of MAC PDUs”); regarding claim 11, further comprising: transmitting, by the first UE device, discovery transmissions utilizing the randomly selected discovery resource pool (Fig. 37, shows various scenarios of a sidelink, see teachings in [0501, ] summarized as “the scenario of sidelink may be divided into (1) out-of-coverage network, (2) partial-coverage network, and (3) in-coverage network (1) depending on whether UE 1 and UE 2 are located in-coverage or out-of-coverage. A discovery transmit UE randomly selects a specific resource in the radio resource pool and then transmits a discovery message. This periodic discovery resource pool may be allocated for discovery signal transmission in a semi-static manner. Configuration information of the discovery resource pool for discovery transmission includes a discovery period and subframe set and a resource block set information that may be used for the transmission of the discovery signal in the discovery period. Such configuration information of the discovery resource pool may be transmitted to the UE by RRC signaling. In the case of an in-coverage UE, the discovery resource pool for the discovery transmission may be established by the BS and informed to the UE using RRC signaling (e.g., SIB (system information block)). The discovery resource pool allocated for discovery in one discovery period may be multiplexed to time-frequency resource blocks having the same size by TDM and/or FDM, and the time-frequency resource blocks having the same size may be referred to as “discovery resource”. The discovery resource may be divided into one subframe unit, and each subframe may include two resource blocks (RBs) per slot. One discovery resource may be used by a UE for the transmission of a discovery MAC PDU. In addition, the UE may repeatedly transmit the discovery signal within the discovery period for transmission of one transport block. Transmission of the MAC PDU transmitted by one UE may be repeated (e.g., four times) in a discovery cycle (i.e., the radio resource pool) in a contiguous or non-contiguous manner. The number of transmissions of the discovery signal for one transport block may be sent to the UE by higher layer signaling. The UE may randomly select a first discovery resource from a discovery resource set that may be used for repeated transmission of MAC PDUs and other discovery resources may be determined in conjunction with the first discovery resource. For example, a predetermined pattern may be previously set and a next discovery resource may be determined according to the preset pattern according to a location of the first selected discovery resource. In addition, the UE may randomly select each discovery resource within a discovery resource set that the UE may use for repeated transmission of MAC PDUs”).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Zhao by incorporating the features as taught by Hur in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of transmitting discovery transmissions utilizing the discovery resource pool randomly selected by the controller. The motivation is to support an improved method for using autonomous vehicle technologies (see [0001]).
Claim(s) 6 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (US 2019/0327724 A1) in view of Hur (US 2021/0331701 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 7 above, and further in view of Agiwal et al. (US 2018/0020339 A1).
Zhao and Hur disclose the claimed limitations as described in paragraphs 4 and 5 above. Zhao and Hur do not expressly disclose the following features: regarding claim 6, wherein the discovery transmissions are selected from one of the following: unsolicited discovery transmissions, and solicited discovery transmissions; regarding claim 12, wherein the discovery transmissions are selected from one of the following: unsolicited discovery transmissions, and solicited discovery transmissions.
Agiwal et al. disclose an apparatus and method for enabling device to device discovery message transmission in a wireless communication network with the following features: regarding claim 6, wherein the discovery transmissions are selected from one of the following: unsolicited discovery transmissions, and solicited discovery transmissions (Fig. 7, is a schematic diagram illustrating a wireless communication device 700 of a D2D wireless communication system, according to an embodiment of the present disclosure, see teachings in [0071] summarized as “D2D UE can send discovery transmission resource request in RRC signaling message to the serving cell (i.e. primary serving cell or Pcell). In an embodiment of the present disclosure, the RRC signaling message can be, but not limited to, D2D UE Information message, and the like, and the person having ordinarily skilled in the art can understand that any of the known RRC signaling message can be used to transmit discovery transmission resource request, without departing from the scope of the disclosure. It is to be noted that RRC signaling message can be sent in RRC connected state. For each carrier/frequency on which the D2D UE wants to transmit discovery message, the D2D UE indicates number of discovery messages for which it requests network to assign dedicated discovery resources in the discovery transmission resource request (i.e. solicited discovery transmissions). It also indicates the carrier/frequency on which the D2D UE wants to transmit the discovery messages, if different from primary carrier/frequency. The D2D UE can also include the cell ID and/or PLMN ID in discovery transmission resource request. The Serving cell can provide discovery resources (contention based discovery resource pool(s) and/or dedicated discovery resources) for discovery message transmission on one or more carrier/frequency and indicates in dedicated RRC signaling”); regarding claim 12, wherein the discovery transmissions are selected from one of the following: unsolicited discovery transmissions, and solicited discovery transmissions (Fig. 7, is a schematic diagram illustrating a wireless communication device 700 of a D2D wireless communication system, according to an embodiment of the present disclosure, see teachings in [0071] summarized as “D2D UE can send discovery transmission resource request in RRC signaling message to the serving cell (i.e. primary serving cell or Pcell). In an embodiment of the present disclosure, the RRC signaling message can be, but not limited to, D2D UE Information message, and the like, and the person having ordinarily skilled in the art can understand that any of the known RRC signaling message can be used to transmit discovery transmission resource request, without departing from the scope of the disclosure. It is to be noted that RRC signaling message can be sent in RRC connected state. For each carrier/frequency on which the D2D UE wants to transmit discovery message, the D2D UE indicates number of discovery messages for which it requests network to assign dedicated discovery resources in the discovery transmission resource request (i.e. solicited discovery transmissions). It also indicates the carrier/frequency on which the D2D UE wants to transmit the discovery messages, if different from primary carrier/frequency. The D2D UE can also include the cell ID and/or PLMN ID in discovery transmission resource request. The Serving cell can provide discovery resources (contention based discovery resource pool(s) and/or dedicated discovery resources) for discovery message transmission on one or more carrier/frequency and indicates in dedicated RRC signaling”)
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Zhao with Hur by incorporating the features as taught by Agiwal et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of selecting a discovery transmissions of solicited discovery transmissions. The motivation is to support an improved method for enabling device to device (D2D) discovery message transmission in a wireless communication network (see [0002]).
Conclusion
/SYED M BOKHARI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2473
9/24/2025
/KWANG B YAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2473