DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 5, 8 – 12, 15 – 19, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Braunstein, et. al. (US 20140163779 A1), hereinafter referred to as Braunstein.
Regarding Claim 1:
A control method comprising:
an obtaining step of obtaining first work information that indicates a content of work to be carried out by a first work machine and position information that pertains to the first work machine;
Braunstein discloses “For example, an autonomous haul truck may include on-board systems that determine the position and heading of the machine, and control steering, propulsion, and braking to follow a route provided by an off-board path planning system and to avoid obstacles in the machine's path.” (Braunstein, [0018]).
Braunstein discloses “determine the position and heading of the machine” (Braunstein, [0018]), which is the “position information” disclosed by the applicant. Braunstein additionally discloses “follow[ing] a route provided by an off-board path planning system” (Braunstein, [0018]), which is the “first work information” disclosed by the applicant.
range specifying step of specifying, in accordance with the content of the work which content is indicated by the first work information, a first range that includes a range in which the first work machine operates and a vicinity of the range; and
Braunstein discloses “Machine 10 may also be equipped with one or more sensors 22, mounted at different locations on machine 10, for detecting information regarding one or more conditions of the machine 10, such as a load carried by machine 10, a maintenance state of machine 10, and/or a location of machine 10. In an exemplary embodiment, sensors 22 may include one or more of a speed sensor 24, a steering angle sensor 26, a load weight sensor 28, a load distribution sensor 30, an orientation sensor 32, and a location and heading sensor 34” (Braunstein, [0022]) and “Position sensor 58 may embody any type of sensor configured to detect a position of a work tool 48 relative to a known position on machine 42 (for example, relative to locating device 56), and generate a corresponding signal… Based on signals generated by position sensors 58 and based on known kinematics of machines 42, each on-board controller 60 may be configured to determine, in real time, a location of the associated work tool 48 relative to the known position of machine 42 and communicate the location to on-board controller 60 for further processing.” (Braunstein, [0038]).
Braunstein discloses “position… relative to a known position on machine” (Braunstein, [0038]), which is the “range” and the “vicinity of the range” disclosed by the applicant.
a motion controlling step of controlling a motion of the first work machine with reference to the first range and the position information that pertains to the first work machine,
Braunstein discloses “On-board controller 20 may cause machine 10 to autonomously follow a route generated by a path planner associated with worksite 11.” (Braunstein, [0020]) and “Machine 10 may safely and efficiently autonomously follow recommended calibration routes 580 by relying on data input from one or more sensors 18... As shown in FIG. 1, sensors 18 may be mounted to body 14 and may be used for object detection. The objects detected by sensors 18 may include... other autonomous or human-operator-controlled machines on the worksite” (Braunstein, [0021]).
through (c) beinq carried out by at least one processor.
Braunstein discloses “An "autonomous" machine refers to an unmanned machine that includes on-board and/or off-board computers, processors, and/or other electronic controllers which, based on input from various machine sensors, stored data, and control algorithms, provides outputs to control various machine systems such as steering, braking and propulsion to accomplish desired tasks.” (Braunstein, [0018]).
Regarding Claim 2:
The control method as set forth in claim 1, wherein, in the range specifying step, the at least one processor specifies the first range in accordance with the content of the work which content is indicated by the first work information and an operation range of an operation part that is included in the first work machine.
Braunstein discloses “Position sensor 58 may embody any type of sensor configured to detect a position of a work tool 48 relative to a known position on machine 42 (for example, relative to locating device 56), and generate a corresponding signal. In one example, position sensor 58 may be an acoustic, magnetic, or optical-type sensor associated with actuators 50 and/or one or more linkages that move work tool 48. In another example, position sensor 58 may be a local and/or global positioning sensor configured to communicate with off-board devices (for example, local laser systems, radar systems, satellites, etc.) to directly determine local and/or global coordinates of work tool 48. It should be noted that any number and/or type of position sensors 58 may be included and positioned at any location on or near work tool 48. Based on signals generated by position sensors 58 and based on known kinematics of machines 42, each on-board controller 60 may be configured to determine, in real time, a location of the associated work tool 48 relative to the known position of machine 42 and communicate the location to on-board controller 60 for further processing.” (Braunstein, [0038]).
Regarding Claim 3:
The control method as set forth in claim 2, wherein:
the first work machine includes a plurality of operation parts;
Braunstein discloses “In particular, control system 46 may include a power source 54 used to power actuators 50 and traction devices 52, a locating device 56, a tool position sensor 58, and/or an on-board controller 60.” (Braunstein, [0034]).
in the range specifying step, the at least one processor selects at least one of the plurality of operation parts in accordance with the content of the work which content is indicated by the first work information, and specifies the first range in accordance with an operation range of the at least one of the plurality of operation parts that has been selected.
Braunstein discloses “Position sensor 58 may embody any type of sensor configured to detect a position of a work tool 48 relative to a known position on machine 42 (for example, relative to locating device 56), and generate a corresponding signal… Based on signals generated by position sensors 58 and based on known kinematics of machines 42, each on-board controller 60 may be configured to determine, in real time, a location of the associated work tool 48 relative to the known position of machine 42 and communicate the location to on-board controller 60 for further processing.” (Braunstein, [0038]).
Regarding Claim 4:
The control method as set forth in claim 1, wherein the first work information includes information that pertains to a direction of an operation part that is included in the first work machine.
Braunstein discloses “Worksite management system 38, based on various user inputs and location information from locating device 56 and position sensor 58, may be configured to execute instructions stored on computer readable medium to perform various methods of excavation planning and control for machines 42. Such excavation planning methods may include, among other things, determining a required number, location, size, and/or shape of a plurality of cuts into an intended work surface 68 at calibration site 40. Additional excavation planning methods may include grouping the cuts into a plurality of spaced apart locations known as "slots," determining a spacing between, a size of, and/or a trajectory of such slots, and determining a sequence of particular cuts that should be excavated in order.” (Braunstein, [0041]).
Regarding Claim 5:
The control method as set forth in claim 1, wherein:
in the obtaining step, the at least one processor sequentially obtains the first work information; and
Braunstein discloses “a control system 46 associated with machine 42 may include on-board components that interact to affect operation of machine 42 in response to instructions received from worksite management system 38 and/or positional information received from one or more satellites” (Braunstein, [0035]).
in the range specifying step, the at least one processor sequentially changes the first range in accordance with the first work information.
“On-board controller 60 may include components configured to monitor, record, store, index, process, and/or communicate the location of machine 42 and position of work tool 48. In addition, such components may be configured to automatically control operations of machine 42 based on instructions received from worksite management system” (Braunstein, [0039]).
Regarding Claim 8:
A control system comprising:
at least one processor,
Braunstein discloses “An "autonomous" machine refers to an unmanned machine that includes on-board and/or off-board computers, processors, and/or other electronic controllers which, based on input from various machine sensors, stored data, and control algorithms, provides outputs to control various machine systems such as steering, braking and propulsion to accomplish desired tasks.” (Braunstein, [0018]).
the at least one processor carrying out:
an obtaining process of obtaining first work information that indicates a content of work to be carried out by a first work machine and position information that pertains to the first work machine;
Braunstein discloses “For example, an autonomous haul truck may include on-board systems that determine the position and heading of the machine, and control steering, propulsion, and braking to follow a route provided by an off-board path planning system and to avoid obstacles in the machine's path.” (Braunstein, [0018]).
Braunstein discloses “determine the position and heading of the machine” (Braunstein, [0018]), which is the “position information” disclosed by the applicant. Braunstein additionally discloses “follow[ing] a route provided by an off-board path planning system” (Braunstein, [0018]), which is the “first work information” disclosed by the applicant.
a range specifying process of specifying, in accordance with the content of the work which content is indicated by the first work information, a first range that includes a range in which the first work machine operates and a vicinity of the range; and
Braunstein discloses “Machine 10 may also be equipped with one or more sensors 22, mounted at different locations on machine 10, for detecting information regarding one or more conditions of the machine 10, such as a load carried by machine 10, a maintenance state of machine 10, and/or a location of machine 10. In an exemplary embodiment, sensors 22 may include one or more of a speed sensor 24, a steering angle sensor 26, a load weight sensor 28, a load distribution sensor 30, an orientation sensor 32, and a location and heading sensor 34” (Braunstein, [0022]) and “Position sensor 58 may embody any type of sensor configured to detect a position of a work tool 48 relative to a known position on machine 42 (for example, relative to locating device 56), and generate a corresponding signal… Based on signals generated by position sensors 58 and based on known kinematics of machines 42, each on-board controller 60 may be configured to determine, in real time, a location of the associated work tool 48 relative to the known position of machine 42 and communicate the location to on-board controller 60 for further processing.” (Braunstein, [0038]).
Braunstein discloses “position… relative to a known position on machine” (Braunstein, [0038]), which is the “range” and the “vicinity of the range” disclosed by the applicant.
a motion controlling process of controlling a motion of the first work machine with reference to the first range and the position information that pertains to the first work machine.
Braunstein discloses “On-board controller 20 may cause machine 10 to autonomously follow a route generated by a path planner associated with worksite 11.” (Braunstein, [0020]) and “Machine 10 may safely and efficiently autonomously follow recommended calibration routes 580 by relying on data input from one or more sensors 18... As shown in FIG. 1, sensors 18 may be mounted to body 14 and may be used for object detection. The objects detected by sensors 18 may include... other autonomous or human-operator-controlled machines on the worksite” (Braunstein, [0021]).
Regarding Claim 9:
The control system as set forth in claim 8, wherein, in the range specifying process, the at least one processor specifies the first range in accordance with the content of the work which content is indicated by the first work information and an operation range of an operation part that is included in the first work machine.
Braunstein discloses “Position sensor 58 may embody any type of sensor configured to detect a position of a work tool 48 relative to a known position on machine 42 (for example, relative to locating device 56), and generate a corresponding signal. In one example, position sensor 58 may be an acoustic, magnetic, or optical-type sensor associated with actuators 50 and/or one or more linkages that move work tool 48. In another example, position sensor 58 may be a local and/or global positioning sensor configured to communicate with off-board devices (for example, local laser systems, radar systems, satellites, etc.) to directly determine local and/or global coordinates of work tool 48. It should be noted that any number and/or type of position sensors 58 may be included and positioned at any location on or near work tool 48. Based on signals generated by position sensors 58 and based on known kinematics of machines 42, each on-board controller 60 may be configured to determine, in real time, a location of the associated work tool 48 relative to the known position of machine 42 and communicate the location to on-board controller 60 for further processing.” (Braunstein, [0038]).
Regarding Claim 10:
The control system as set forth in claim 9, wherein:
the first work machine includes a plurality of operation parts;
Braunstein discloses “In particular, control system 46 may include a power source 54 used to power actuators 50 and traction devices 52, a locating device 56, a tool position sensor 58, and/or an on-board controller 60.” (Braunstein, [0034]).
in the range specifying process, the at least one processor selects at least one of the plurality of operation parts in accordance with the content of the work which content is indicated by the first work information, and specifies the first range in accordance with an operation range of the at least one of the plurality of operation parts that has been selected.
Braunstein discloses “Position sensor 58 may embody any type of sensor configured to detect a position of a work tool 48 relative to a known position on machine 42 (for example, relative to locating device 56), and generate a corresponding signal… Based on signals generated by position sensors 58 and based on known kinematics of machines 42, each on-board controller 60 may be configured to determine, in real time, a location of the associated work tool 48 relative to the known position of machine 42 and communicate the location to on-board controller 60 for further processing.” (Braunstein, [0038]).
Regarding Claim 11:
The control system as set forth in claim 8,wherein the first work information includes information that pertains to a direction of an operation part that is included in the first work machine.
Braunstein discloses “Worksite management system 38, based on various user inputs and location information from locating device 56 and position sensor 58, may be configured to execute instructions stored on computer readable medium to perform various methods of excavation planning and control for machines 42. Such excavation planning methods may include, among other things, determining a required number, location, size, and/or shape of a plurality of cuts into an intended work surface 68 at calibration site 40. Additional excavation planning methods may include grouping the cuts into a plurality of spaced apart locations known as "slots," determining a spacing between, a size of, and/or a trajectory of such slots, and determining a sequence of particular cuts that should be excavated in order.” (Braunstein, [0041]).
Regarding Claim 12:
The control system as set forth in claim 8, wherein:
in the obtaining process, the at least one processor sequentially obtains the first work information; and
Braunstein discloses “a control system 46 associated with machine 42 may include on-board components that interact to affect operation of machine 42 in response to instructions received from worksite management system 38 and/or positional information received from one or more satellites” (Braunstein, [0035]).
in the range specifying process, the at least one processor sequentially changes the first range in accordance with the first work information.
“On-board controller 60 may include components configured to monitor, record, store, index, process, and/or communicate the location of machine 42 and position of work tool 48. In addition, such components may be configured to automatically control operations of machine 42 based on instructions received from worksite management system” (Braunstein, [0039]).
Regarding Claim 15:
A control apparatus comprising:
at least one processor,
Braunstein discloses “An "autonomous" machine refers to an unmanned machine that includes on-board and/or off-board computers, processors, and/or other electronic controllers which, based on input from various machine sensors, stored data, and control algorithms, provides outputs to control various machine systems such as steering, braking and propulsion to accomplish desired tasks.” (Braunstein, [0018]).
the at least one processor carrying out:
an obtaining process of obtaining first work information that indicates a content of work to be carried out by a first work machine and position information that pertains to the first work machine;
Braunstein discloses “For example, an autonomous haul truck may include on-board systems that determine the position and heading of the machine, and control steering, propulsion, and braking to follow a route provided by an off-board path planning system and to avoid obstacles in the machine's path.” (Braunstein, [0018]).
Braunstein discloses “determine the position and heading of the machine” (Braunstein, [0018]), which is the “position information” disclosed by the applicant. Braunstein additionally discloses “follow[ing] a route provided by an off-board path planning system” (Braunstein, [0018]), which is the “first work information” disclosed by the applicant.
a range specifying process of specifying, in accordance with the content of the work which content is indicated by the first work information, a first range that includes a range in which the first work machine operates and a vicinity of the range; and
Braunstein discloses “Machine 10 may also be equipped with one or more sensors 22, mounted at different locations on machine 10, for detecting information regarding one or more conditions of the machine 10, such as a load carried by machine 10, a maintenance state of machine 10, and/or a location of machine 10. In an exemplary embodiment, sensors 22 may include one or more of a speed sensor 24, a steering angle sensor 26, a load weight sensor 28, a load distribution sensor 30, an orientation sensor 32, and a location and heading sensor 34” (Braunstein, [0022]) and “Position sensor 58 may embody any type of sensor configured to detect a position of a work tool 48 relative to a known position on machine 42 (for example, relative to locating device 56), and generate a corresponding signal… Based on signals generated by position sensors 58 and based on known kinematics of machines 42, each on-board controller 60 may be configured to determine, in real time, a location of the associated work tool 48 relative to the known position of machine 42 and communicate the location to on-board controller 60 for further processing.” (Braunstein, [0038]).
Braunstein discloses “position… relative to a known position on machine” (Braunstein, [0038]), which is the “range” and the “vicinity of the range” disclosed by the applicant.
a motion controlling process of controlling a motion of the first work machine with reference to the first range and the position information that pertains to the first work machine.
Braunstein discloses “On-board controller 20 may cause machine 10 to autonomously follow a route generated by a path planner associated with worksite 11.” (Braunstein, [0020]) and “Machine 10 may safely and efficiently autonomously follow recommended calibration routes 580 by relying on data input from one or more sensors 18... As shown in FIG. 1, sensors 18 may be mounted to body 14 and may be used for object detection. The objects detected by sensors 18 may include... other autonomous or human-operator-controlled machines on the worksite” (Braunstein, [0021]).
Regarding Claim 16:
The control apparatus as set forth in claim 15, wherein, in the range specifying process, the at least one processor specifies the first range in accordance with the content of the work which content is indicated by the first work information and an operation range of an operation part that is included in the first work machine.
Braunstein discloses “Position sensor 58 may embody any type of sensor configured to detect a position of a work tool 48 relative to a known position on machine 42 (for example, relative to locating device 56), and generate a corresponding signal. In one example, position sensor 58 may be an acoustic, magnetic, or optical-type sensor associated with actuators 50 and/or one or more linkages that move work tool 48. In another example, position sensor 58 may be a local and/or global positioning sensor configured to communicate with off-board devices (for example, local laser systems, radar systems, satellites, etc.) to directly determine local and/or global coordinates of work tool 48. It should be noted that any number and/or type of position sensors 58 may be included and positioned at any location on or near work tool 48. Based on signals generated by position sensors 58 and based on known kinematics of machines 42, each on-board controller 60 may be configured to determine, in real time, a location of the associated work tool 48 relative to the known position of machine 42 and communicate the location to on-board controller 60 for further processing.” (Braunstein, [0038]).
Regarding Claim 17:
The control apparatus as set forth in claim 16, wherein:
the first work machine includes a plurality of operation parts;
Braunstein discloses “In particular, control system 46 may include a power source 54 used to power actuators 50 and traction devices 52, a locating device 56, a tool position sensor 58, and/or an on-board controller 60.” (Braunstein, [0034]).
in the range specifying process, the at least one processor selects at least one of the plurality of operation parts in accordance with the content of the work which content is indicated by the first work information, and specifies the first range in accordance with an operation range of the at least one of the plurality of operation parts that has been selected.
Braunstein discloses “Position sensor 58 may embody any type of sensor configured to detect a position of a work tool 48 relative to a known position on machine 42 (for example, relative to locating device 56), and generate a corresponding signal… Based on signals generated by position sensors 58 and based on known kinematics of machines 42, each on-board controller 60 may be configured to determine, in real time, a location of the associated work tool 48 relative to the known position of machine 42 and communicate the location to on-board controller 60 for further processing.” (Braunstein, [0038]).
Regarding Claim 18:
The control apparatus as set forth in claim 15, wherein the first work information includes information that pertains to a direction of an operation part that is included in the first work machine.
Braunstein discloses “Worksite management system 38, based on various user inputs and location information from locating device 56 and position sensor 58, may be configured to execute instructions stored on computer readable medium to perform various methods of excavation planning and control for machines 42. Such excavation planning methods may include, among other things, determining a required number, location, size, and/or shape of a plurality of cuts into an intended work surface 68 at calibration site 40. Additional excavation planning methods may include grouping the cuts into a plurality of spaced apart locations known as "slots," determining a spacing between, a size of, and/or a trajectory of such slots, and determining a sequence of particular cuts that should be excavated in order.” (Braunstein, [0041]).
Regarding Claim 19:
The control apparatus as set forth in claim 15, wherein:
in the obtaining process, the at least one processor sequentially obtains the first work information; and
Braunstein discloses “a control system 46 associated with machine 42 may include on-board components that interact to affect operation of machine 42 in response to instructions received from worksite management system 38 and/or positional information received from one or more satellites” (Braunstein, [0035]).
in the range specifying process, the at least one processor sequentially changes the first range in accordance with the first work information.
“On-board controller 60 may include components configured to monitor, record, store, index, process, and/or communicate the location of machine 42 and position of work tool 48. In addition, such components may be configured to automatically control operations of machine 42 based on instructions received from worksite management system” (Braunstein, [0039]).
Regarding Claim 22:
A non-transitory recording medium in which a program for causing a computer to function as the control apparatus recited in claim 15 is recorded,
the program causing the computer to carry out the obtaining process, the range specifying process, and the motion controlling process.
Braunstein discloses “For example, an autonomous haul truck may include on-board systems that determine the position and heading of the machine, and control steering, propulsion, and braking to follow a route provided by an off-board path planning system and to avoid obstacles in the machine's path.” (Braunstein, [0018]), “Machine 10 may also be equipped with one or more sensors 22, mounted at different locations on machine 10, for detecting information regarding one or more conditions of the machine 10, such as a load carried by machine 10, a maintenance state of machine 10, and/or a location of machine 10. In an exemplary embodiment, sensors 22 may include one or more of a speed sensor 24, a steering angle sensor 26, a load weight sensor 28, a load distribution sensor 30, an orientation sensor 32, and a location and heading sensor 34” (Braunstein, [0022]), “On-board controller 20 may cause machine 10 to autonomously follow a route generated by a path planner associated with worksite 11.” (Braunstein, [0020]) and “Machine 10 may safely and efficiently autonomously follow recommended calibration routes 580 by relying on data input from one or more sensors 18... As shown in FIG. 1, sensors 18 may be mounted to body 14 and may be used for object detection. The objects detected by sensors 18 may include... other autonomous or human-operator-controlled machines on the worksite” (Braunstein, [0021]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 7, 13, and 14 are rejected under U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Braunstein, et. al. (US 20140163779 A1), hereinafter referred to as Braunstein, in view of Mitchell, et. al. (US 20180170369 A1), hereinafter referred to as Mitchell.
Regarding Claim 6:
The control method as set forth in claim 1, wherein:
in the obtaining step, the at least one processor further obtains which indicates a second range that includes a range in which a second work machine that differs from the first work machine operates and a vicinity of the range; and
Braunstein discloses “Worksite management system 38 may include components configured to monitor, record, condition, store, index, process, and/or communicate information received from sensors 18, sensors 22, and/or on-board controller 20 of all machines 10 at worksite 11.” (Braunstein, [0031]) and “an autonomous haul truck may include on-board systems that determine the position and heading of the machine, and control steering, propulsion, and braking to follow a route provided by an off-board path planning system and to avoid obstacles in the machine's path.” (Braunstein, [0018]).
Mitchell discloses “the machine 100 is shown located in proximity to an external object 302, as shown in the form of another machine, in the worksite” (Mitchell, [0028]) and “to avoid collision by limiting articulation of the machine 100 or mitigate the force of impact of the collision by reducing the articulation rate of the machine 100” (Mitchell, [0029]).
in the motion controlling step, the at least one processor controls the motion of the first work machine further with reference to the second range.
Braunstein discloses “a control system 46 associated with machine 42 may include on-board components that interact to affect operation of machine 42 in response to instructions received from worksite management system 38 and/or positional information received from one or more satellites” (Braunstein, [0035]).
Braunstein discloses a method by which to control a work machine to avoid obstacles, however does not disclose comparing the range of two work machines. Mitchell however, does disclose the ability to detect proximity between a main work machine and an external work machine.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the applicant’s effective filing date to combine the “worksite management system” taught by Braunstein with the “limiting articulation of the machine” taught by Mitchell because Mitchell discloses one specific method of a work machine avoiding obstacles, and this method would have been “obvious to try”, as Braunstein teaches “avoid[ing] obstacles”.
Regarding Claim 7:
The control method as set forth in claim 6, wherein, in the motion controlling step, in a case where the first range and the second range at least partially overlap each other, the at least one processor controls the motion of the first work machine.
Braunstein discloses “On-board controller 20 may receive the position signal from sensors 18 (S, M, L) and, using a calibrated vehicle model, may operate machine 10 to avoid a collision with the sensed object. For example, on-board controller 20 may steer machine 10 to the left or right to avoid an object that is detected by sensors 18 (S, M, L).” (Braunstein, [0021]).
Regarding Claim 13:
The control system as set forth in claim 8, wherein:
in the obtaining process, the at least one processor further obtains information that indicates a second range that includes a range in which a second work machine that differs from the first work machine operates and a vicinity of the range; and
Braunstein discloses “Worksite management system 38 may include components configured to monitor, record, condition, store, index, process, and/or communicate information received from sensors 18, sensors 22, and/or on-board controller 20 of all machines 10 at worksite 11.” (Braunstein, [0031]) and “an autonomous haul truck may include on-board systems that determine the position and heading of the machine, and control steering, propulsion, and braking to follow a route provided by an off-board path planning system and to avoid obstacles in the machine's path.” (Braunstein, [0018]).
Mitchell discloses “the machine 100 is shown located in proximity to an external object 302, as shown in the form of another machine, in the worksite” (Mitchell, [0028]) and “to avoid collision by limiting articulation of the machine 100 or mitigate the force of impact of the collision by reducing the articulation rate of the machine 100” (Mitchell, [0029]).
in the motion controlling process, the at least one processor controls the motion of the first work machine further with reference to the second range.
Braunstein discloses “a control system 46 associated with machine 42 may include on-board components that interact to affect operation of machine 42 in response to instructions received from worksite management system 38 and/or positional information received from one or more satellites” (Braunstein, [0035]).
Braunstein discloses a method by which to control a work machine to avoid obstacles, however does not disclose comparing the range of two work machines. Mitchell however, does disclose the ability to detect proximity between a main work machine and an external work machine.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the applicant’s effective filing date to combine the “worksite management system” taught by Braunstein with the “limiting articulation of the machine” taught by Mitchell because Mitchell is discloses one specific method of a work machine avoiding obstacles, and this method would have been “obvious to try”, as Braunstein teaches “avoid[ing] obstacles”.
Regarding Claim 14:
The control system as set forth in claim 13, wherein, in a case where the first range and the second range at least partially overlap each other, the at least one processor controls the motion of the first work machine in the motion controlling process.
Braunstein discloses “On-board controller 20 may receive the position signal from sensors 18 (S, M, L) and, using a calibrated vehicle model, may operate machine 10 to avoid a collision with the sensed object. For example, on-board controller 20 may steer machine 10 to the left or right to avoid an object that is detected by sensors 18 (S, M, L).” (Braunstein, [0021]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Inoue (US 20160073275 A1)
Inoue discloses “Disclosed are a work machine and a communication monitoring method… There is provided a control section (71) configured to transmit work information to a server” however, does not teach a method of avoiding obstacles, and was therefore not used as prior art.
Keisuke (JP 2003105807 A)
Keisuke discloses “The position detection means 21 detects the position and orientation of each object such as the work vehicle 1, the workers A and B, and the obstacle C.” however, does not teach a method of receiving information regarding autonomous control, and was therefore not used as prior art.
/J.B.C./
Examiner, Art Unit 3656
/WADE MILES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3656