DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/30/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding the argument the Evans does not disclose the cores being bent only in the same third direction, which is a direction either toward or away from the third surface: The claim further says, “at least once”, which means there can be more than one bend wherein each of the bends are bent only in the same third direction. Given the claims recites multiple bends, Evans does read on this limitation since Evans shows a first bend at the beginning of SZ in Fig. 1H wherein the cores are only bent in the same third direction (up towards 104 for some cores and down towards 103 for other cores) and the cores are bent again only in the same third direction (down for the top cores, up for the bottom cores).
Also, it is unclear as to what “connecting the first surface and the second surface each other” could mean.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The dependent claims are included because they include the indefinite language of claim 1. Claim recites “connecting the first surface and the second surface each other”, which can not be interpreted as written. There may be a typo or missing word.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3, 5, 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Evans et al (US 2021/0011229 A1). Evans teaches:
1. An optical connection component (100’, Figs. 1G-H) comprising:
a plurality of cores (110, cores 1 through 7) that transmit optical signals along a first direction (left to right);
a clad (100) having a smaller refractive index than a refractive index of the plurality of cores (110) and integrally surrounding the plurality of cores (P0063, 0069);
a first surface (101) extending in a second direction intersecting the first direction and in a third direction intersecting both the first direction and the second direction (see Fig. 1G); and
a second surface (102) extending in the second direction and the third direction and arranged with the first surface along the first direction (see Fig. 1G), and
a third surface (top/bottom) connecting the first surface (101) and the second surface (102) [[to]]? each other and extending in the first direction (left to right) and the second direction (top to bottom), wherein
each of the plurality of cores (1 through 7) extends from the first surface (101) to the second surface (102) along the first direction and is each bent only in same third direction (up for some, down for others, see Fig. 1H), which is a direction either toward (up) or away (down) form the third surface, at least once, while extending from first surface and the second surface (see Figs. 1G-H; P0075-0076),
the plurality of cores (110) are arranged in a single row along the second direction on each of the first surface (101) and the second surface (102) (see Figs. 1G-H), and
an order in which the plurality of cores (110) are arranged on the first surface (101) as a whole and an order in which the plurality of cores (110) are arranged on the second surface (102) as a whole are different from each other (see the indexing numbers 1-7 on each side in Fig. 1G).
3. The optical connection component according to claim 1, wherein the number of times that each of the plurality of cores (110) is bent in the third direction is the same for all of the cores (see Fig. 1G-H; one bends each).
5. The optical connection component according to claim 1, wherein the number of times that each of the plurality of cores (110) is bent in the third direction is 1 (see Fig. 1G).
10 and 11. An optical wiring (Fig. 2A) comprising:
the optical connection component (100’) according to claim 1; and
a plurality of optical fiber arrays (part of 220; one array can be two fibers, the second array can be the next two fibers and a third array can be the next two fibers) that holds a plurality of optical fibers (235) optically connected to the plurality of cores (110) of the optical connection component (100’).
12. The optical connection component according to claim 1, wherein the optical connection component (100’) is rectangular plate-shaped (see Figs. 1G-H).
13. The optical connection component according to claim 1, wherein each core in the first group (top group in Fig. 1H) is bent in the third direction (up) at a first position (left end of SZ), and each core in the second group (bottom group in Fig. 1H) is bent in the third direction (up) at a second position (right end of SZ) different from the first position (left end of SZ).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Evans.
Evans teaches the optical connection component of claim 1 and also:
2. The optical connection component according to claim 1, further comprising:
wherein a first distance from the third surface (104) to the plurality of cores (110) on the first surface (101) and a second distance from the third surface (104) to the plurality of cores (101) on the second surface (102) are different from each other (see Fig. 1H at SZ).
Evans does not teach expressly a difference between the first distance and the second distance is 10 µm or more.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to try a distance a of 10 µm or more since this and since it has been held that “it is obvious to try - choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success” is a rationale for arriving at a conclusion of obviousness. In re KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. A distance 10 µm or more from the top of the component would a predictable distance for the cores to be in line to be able to couple to the cores of the external fibers.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 6-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and if the 112 rejection is overcome.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
These claims would be allowable over the prior art of record if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims because the latter, either alone or in combination, does not disclose nor render obvious an optical connection components with the claimed cores, first through third defined directions, first through third defined surfaces, the claim core bends and orders in combination with the claimed core groups that constitute a first group including at least one core but not all of the plurality of cores, and a second group including the cores that do not belong to the first group among the plurality of cores, an order in which the cores of the first group are arranged on the first surface along the second direction extending from one end toward another end of the optical connection component is the same as an order in which the cores of the first group are arranged on the second surface along the second direction extending from the one end toward the another end, and an order in which the cores of the second group are arranged on the first surface along the second direction extending from the one end toward the another end is the same as an order in which the cores of the second group are arranged on the second surface along the second direction extending from the one end toward the another end,
in combination with the rest of the claimed limitations.
Conclusion
/RYAN A LEPISTO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874